This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 12/01/2025. Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are pending. The previously filed claim interpretation in claim 1 and the 35 USC 112(b) rejection in claim 11 have been withdrawn, as necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu (US 2019/0298131).
Regarding claim 1, Hu (US 2019/0298131) discloses a robot cleaner (abstract), comprising:
a main body (defined as outer body of item 1000; fig. 17) including a suction device (pp. [0045]; not explicitly shown, defined as suction inlet in which vacuum suctions dirty air through and into inlet 130 of dust container); and
a dust container (item 100; figs. 8-10) detachably mounted on the main body (pp. [0077]);
wherein the dust container comprises:
a first chamber (designated in annotated fig. 9 below) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced into the dust container from an airflow (defined as arrowed flow in view of fig. 9; pp. [0045], larger dust particles are blocked and collected at bottom of dust container, i.e. first chamber) generated by the suction device,
a second chamber (designated in annotated fig. 9 below) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced into the second chamber from the first chamber (pp. [0045], smaller dirt particles are further separated via item 106 disposed within second chamber),
a dust collecting cover (includes items 106, 126; figs. 10-15) configured to filter dust in air introduced into the second chamber from the first chamber (dust collecting cover is capable of filtering air within first chamber via items 128 that blocks larger particles prior to introducing into the second chamber and via item 106 that filters smaller particles into second chamber), and
an airflow guide (item 144; fig. 12) disposed on an upper portion of the dust collecting cover (defined as upper surface of items 126 and 136; figs. 12 and 15) and configured to guide air flowing above the upper portion of the dust collecting cover toward the second chamber (airflow guide 144 is capable of creating space for airflow to pass from first chamber into second chamber and thereby, acting as a guide for the airflow to pass into second chamber to be further filtered via filter 206),
Annotated Fig. 9.
wherein the dust collecting cover comprises a first cover (designated in annotated fig. 15 below) configured to cover an upper surface of the first chamber (items 128 and 134 of first cover extend over first chamber to separate and cover an upper surface of the first chamber from the second chamber; figs. 9 and 15),
wherein the first cover of the dust collecting cover includes at least one bent portion (designated in annotated fig. 15 below) to increase a surface area of the dust collecting cover (the downward bend of bent portion adds additional material, i.e. wall length, to the dust collecting cover and thereby, defines additional overall surface area of the dust collecting cover), and
Annotated Fig. 15.
wherein the airflow guide comprises a protrusion (designated in annotated fig. 12 below) corresponding to the at least one bent portion (according to Oxford Learner’s Dictionary, “corresponding” is defined matching or connected with something that you have just mentioned; therefore, the protrusion of the airflow guide 144 is directly connected to upper surface of the bent portion and matches the bend shape in order to extend along the upper surface of the bent portion).
Annotated Fig. 12.
Regarding claim 3, Hu discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first chamber and the second chamber are arranged side by side in a left-right direction (left-right direction corresponding to left and right direction in view of fig. 9; first chamber and at least a portion of the second chamber are positioned side by side to one another).
Regarding claim 6, Hu discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust collecting cover includes at a mesh (cover includes a mesh, i.e. filter 106).
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the airflow guides extends in a left-right direction (left-right direction corresponding to left and right direction in view of fig. 9; length of airflow guide 144 extends along the left-right direction along items 126, 128).
Regarding claim 14, Hu discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the protrusion is engaged with the at least one bent portion (protrusion is directly mounted onto and engaged with at least one bent portion; designated in annotated figs. 12 and 15 above), and
wherein the airflow guide prevents air from flowing backward from the second chamber to the first chamber (airflow guide 144 is capable of preventing airflow from flowing backward from the second chamber during operation).
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hyun (US Patent No. 11,330,947).
Regarding claim 1, Hyun (US Patent No. 11,330,947) discloses a robot cleaner (item 1; fig. 1), comprising:
a main body (item 2; fig. 3) including a suction device (via item 4; col. 7, ll. 64-67 and col. 8, ll. 19-22); and
a dust container (item 100; figs. 4-5) detachably mounted on the main body (col. 4, ll. 11-14);
wherein the dust container comprises:
a first chamber (includes items 120d, 115, 190; figs. 5-6A and 7) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced into the dust container (col. 9, 11. 40-41; via spiral, i.e. cyclonic, airflow within and collected within item 190) from an airflow generated by the suction device (defined as arrowed airflow in view of fig. 6B),
a second chamber (defined as internal space within item 120; figs. 5-6A) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced into the second chamber from the first chamber (col. 13, ll. 10-16 and 26-27; via cyclone body 122),
a dust collecting cover (defined as first cover and second cover in annotated fig. 5 below) configured to filter dust in air introduced into the second chamber from the first chamber (col. 11, ll. 17-19; via mesh 130), and
an airflow guide (designated in annotated fig. 5 below) disposed on an upper portion of the dust collecting cover (a portion of airflow guide is disposed on upper surface, i.e. portion, of cover) and configured to guide air flowing above the upper portion of the dust collecting cover toward the second chamber,
wherein the dust collecting cover comprises a first cover (designated in annotated fig. 5 below) configured to cover an upper surface of the first chamber (a portion of the first cover extends over the first chamber and therefore, is capable of covering the upper surface of the first chamber),
wherein the first cover of the dust collecting cover includes at least one bent portion (item 126; fig. 6A) to increase a surface area of the dust collecting cover (at least one bent portion 126 spirally extends from upper surface of first cover and downward into second chamber thereby, adding additional material, i.e. surface area in which the airflow glides along the first cover), and
wherein the airflow guide comprises a protrusion (designated in annotated fig. 5 below) corresponding to the at least one bent portion (according to Oxford Learner’s Dictionary, “corresponding” is defined matching or connected with something that you have just mentioned; therefore, the protrusion is directly connected with the at least one bent portion 126 and further, the protrusion and at least one bent portion share the same axis and circumference).
Regarding claim 4, Hyun discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust collecting cover further comprises:
a second cover (designated in annotated fig. 5 above) extending downwardly from the first cover (second cover extends in a downward direction from first cover) and configured to cover one side of the first chamber facing the second chamber (second cover is capable of covering, i.e. blocking, one side of the first chamber that faces the second chamber; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Hyun discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a cyclone separator (item 122; figs. 5-6A) disposed in the second chamber and configured to separate dust in air introduced into the second chamber by using centrifugal force of a vortex (col. 11, ll. 43-61; cyclonic airflow separates dirt particles from airflow that passes through second chamber),
wherein the cyclone separator comprises:
a cyclone inlet (item 121; fig. 5) disposed on a side surface of the cyclone separator (cyclone inlet 121 is formed in upper-right side portion of cyclone 122 in view of figs. 5 and 6A; col. 12, ll. 18-20) to allow air to flow into the cyclone separator (col. 12, ll. 7-9),
a cyclone dust outlet (item 125; fig. 5) disposed on a lower surface of the cyclone separator (cyclone dust outlet 125 is disposed on lowermost surface of cyclone separator; fig. 5) to allow dust separated from air introduced into the cyclone inlet to be discharged (col. 13, ll. 10-16; cyclone dust outlet 125 allows dust from cyclonic separator to enter into portion of second chamber in which debris is received and stored), and
a cyclone outlet (designated in annotated fig. 6A below) disposed on an upper surface of the cyclone separator (cyclone outlet is disposed on an uppermost surface of cyclone separator 122, i.e. opposite end of cyclone dust outlet 125, figs. 5-6A) to allow dust-separated air after being introduced into the cyclone inlet to be discharged (col. 14, ll. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Hyun discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second chamber comprises:
a dust separation chamber (defined as interior of item 122; fig. 5) into which air passing through the first chamber and the dust collecting cover is introduced (air flows from first chamber into dust separation chamber within item 122; fig. 6B), and
a dust storage chamber (item 129; figs. 5-6A) partitioned from the dust separation chamber (via outer walls of item 122; figs. 5-6A) and disposed at a lower portion of the dust separation chamber (dust storage chamber 129 is disposed below the dust separation chamber, which is within item 122, specifically at the lower portion of the dust separation chamber where dirt exits dust separation chamber to enter the dust storage chamber 129; figs. 5-6A) to store dust separated from the air in the dust separation chamber (col. 13, ll. 26-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 2019/0298131) in view of Amaral (US Patent No. 10,456,002), as provided in IDS filed on 07/26/2023.
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1. Though Hu discloses robot cleaner comprises the suction device to suction dirt into the vacuum and into an inlet of the dust container (item 130 of dust container, fig. 9), Hu is silent on the structural relationship between the dust container relative to the suction device, such as wherein the airflow flow is located closer to the suction device than a point of ½ of a width of the dust container in a front-to-back direction.
However, Amaral teaches an analogous robot cleaner (item 102; figs. 1-2) comprising a main body (item 200; col. 5, ll. 6-12; figs. 1-2) including a suction device (includes items 212a, 212b, 112, fig. 2) configured to intake dust (col. 6, ll. 1-18) and a dust container (item 100; figs. 1-2) detachably mounted on the main body (col. 18, ll. 11-13), wherein the dust container comprises a first chamber (item 116; col. 8, ll. 1-12; figs. 1 and 3A) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced from the suction device (col. 15, ll. 43-47) and a second chamber (includes items 128, 340; fig. 3B) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced from the first chamber (col. 16, ll. 12-31), and an airflow guide (inner wall structure, designated in annotated fig. 3A in previous Office action), wherein the airflow guide is aligned vertically with first chamber (fig. 3A), similar to structure in Hu, and wherein the airflow guide is located closer to the suction device than a point of ½ of a width of the dust container (leftmost edge of airflow guide is positioned closer to the suction device than a halfway point of the overall dust container width; corresponding to leftmost portion of airflow flow and halfway point of dust container in annotated fig. 9 of Hu above) in a front-to-back direction (forward direction defined by arrow 130 in view of fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the robot cleaner, as disclosed in Hu, to include the suction device forward of the dust container with the airflow guide closer to the suction device, as taught in Amaral, in order for the device to function as intended.
Claims 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun (US Patent No. 11,330,947) in view of Amaral (US Patent No. 10,456,002), as provided in IDS filed on 07/26/2023.
Regarding claim 8, Hyun discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dust container further comprises:
a case (defined as outer walls of dust container 100, fig. 4) having an open upper surface (upper surface of case, in view of fig. 5, is open to the user in order for an upper cover to mount onto; similar to applicant’s disclosure) and an open lower surface (defined as open when lower cover, as designated in annotated fig. 6, is removed; similar to applicant’s disclosure) and configured to form the first chamber and the second chamber (first chamber and second chamber are formed within case structure; fig. 4; similar to applicant’s disclosure),
an upper cover (designated in annotated fig. 4 below) configured to cover the open upper surface of the case (upper cover is capable of covering open upper surface when in use; fig. 4), and
a lower cover (designated in annotated fig. 6 above) configured to cover the open lower surface of the case (lower cover is capable of covering open lower surface during use to collect dust within first and second chambers; figs. 6A-7).
Hyun does not explicitly disclose wherein the lower cover includes a dust outlet for discharging dust stored in the first and second chambers.
However, Amaral (US Patent No. 10,456,002) teaches a robot cleaner (item 102; figs. 1-2) comprising a dust container (item 100; figs. 1-2), wherein the dust container comprises a first chamber (item 116; figs. 1 and 3A) configured to separate and store dust (col. 15, ll. 43-47), a second chamber (includes items 128, 340; fig. 3B) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced from the first chamber (col. 16, ll. 12-31), wherein the dust container comprises a case (defined as outer walls of dust container, i.e. items 302a, 302b, 304; fig. 3A) having an upper cover (item 308; fig. 3B) and a lower cover (item 310; fig. 3B), wherein the lower cover includes a dust outlet (item 700; col. 19, ll. 10-17; figs. 6-7) for discharging dust stored in the first chamber and the second chamber (when dust container is mounted to item 600, airflow is generated via arrowed pathway 602a, 602b in view of fig. 6 to discharge dust from first chamber 116 and second chamber 340; col. 1, ll. 26-40; figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust container, as disclosed in Hyun, to include a dust outlet on a lower cover of the dust container case, as taught in Amaral, in order for accumulated debris to be emptied automatically via an evacuation station thereby, reducing the manual operations of a user and improving the cleaning efficiency of the cleaner (Amaral; col. 1, ll. 15-22).
Regarding claim 9, Hyun discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 8, wherein the airflow guide is formed with the upper cover (according to Oxford Languages, “formed” is defined as to bring together parts or combine to create, therefore, the airflow guide, as designated in annotated fig. 5 above, is brought together with the upper cover when in use to a form a suction pathway from the first chamber to the second chamber), and configured to partition a space (item 135; fig. 5) between the dust collecting cover and the upper cover to form a guide passage (airflow guide extends upward from upper portion of dust collecting cover to partition the space 135 between the upper portion of the dust collecting cover and the upper cover in order for the airflow to pass through the space and thereby, form a guide passage for the airflow from the first chamber to the upper portion of the second chamber).
Hyun does not explicitly disclose wherein the airflow guide is integrally formed with the upper cover. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airflow guide and the upper cover, as disclosed in Hyun, to be integrally formed since it has been held that forming in one piece in an article which has been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Please refer to MPEP 2144.01.V-B.
Regarding claim 12, Hyun discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the dust container further comprises: a first dust outlet disposed at a lower portion of the first chamber to allow dust in the first chamber to be discharged, a second dust outlet disposed at a lower portion of the second chamber to allow dust in the second chamber to be discharged, and an outlet door configured to open and close the first dust outlet and the second dust outlet.
However, Amaral teaches a robot cleaner (item 102; figs. 1-2) comprising a dust container (item 100; figs. 1-2), wherein the dust container comprises a first chamber (item 116; figs. 1 and 3A) configured to separate and store dust (col. 15, ll. 43-47), a second chamber (includes items 128, 340; fig. 3B) configured to separate and store dust from air introduced from the first chamber (col. 16, ll. 12-31),
wherein the dust container comprises a first dust outlet (item 700; fig. 6) disposed at a lower portion of the first chamber (first dust outlet 700 is positioned at lower, i.e. bottom, portion of first chamber 116; fig. 7) to allow dust in the first chamber to be discharged (fig. 6; col. 19, ll. 13-19; dust collected within first chamber 116 is capable of being discharged into docking station 600 via first dust outlet 700),
a second dust outlet (item 704a; fig. 7) disposed at a lower portion of the second chamber (second dust outlet 704a is positioned at outer wall of item 128, which is a lower portion of the second chamber; figs. 6-7) to allow dust in the second chamber to be discharged (fig. 6; col. 19, ll. 41-45; dust collected within second chamber, i.e. item 128 of second chamber, is capable of being discharged into docking station 600 via second dust outlet 704a), and
an outlet door (item 502; fig. 5B) configured to open and close the first dust outlet and the second dust outlet (outlet door 502 is capable of opening first dust outlet 700 and second dust outlet 704a to the environment and the user, fig. 5B; outlet door 502 is capable of closing first dust outlet 700 and second dust outlet 704a when mounted in main body and in use to collect dirt and debris).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust container, as disclosed in Hyun, to further include an outlet door between the first and second chambers and a dirt outlet at a bottom surface of the first chamber (corresponding to portion 190 of first chamber in Hyun), as taught in Amaral, in order for the robot cleaner to empty the dust container of ingested debris automatically through a docking station thereby, reducing the operations of a user to continually check and empty the container (col. 1, ll. 15-22 in Amaral).
Regarding claim 13, Hyun discloses the robot cleaner as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a docking station configured to seat the main body, wherein the docking station is configured to charge a battery mounted inside the main body and automatically discharge dust stored in the dust container.
However, Amaral (US Patent No. 10,456,002) teaches a robot cleaner (item 102; figs. 1-2) comprising a dust container (item 100; figs. 1-2), and a docking station (item 600; col. 18, ll. 50-52) configured to seat a main body (item 200; col. 5, ll. 6-12; figs. 1-2) of the robot cleaner (fig. 2 of US 9,462,920 expressly incorporated by reference in Amaral at col. 18, ll. 59-64), and wherein the docking station is configured to charge a battery mounted inside the main body (figs. 1-2 of US ‘920, where US ‘920 discloses the evacuation station 205 is capable of removing debris from robot cleaner and charging the robot cleaner via charging ports; col. 5, ll. 33-36 and 53-55) and automatically discharge dust stored in the dust container (fig. 2 of US ‘920, where US’920 discloses that when main body of robot cleaner is properly mated with docking station 205, the robot issues a command to the docking station to initiate evacuation of the dust container to the docking station, i.e. automatically with no human control; col. 6, ll. 28-49 in US’920).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner, as disclosed in Hyun, to include a docking station, as taught in Amaral, in order for the robot cleaner to empty the dust container of ingested debris automatically thereby, reducing the operations of a user to continually check and empty the container (col. 1, ll. 15-22 in Amaral).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 in view of the prior art of record, Amaral (US Patent No. 10,456,002) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection(s) are made in view of Hu (US 2019/0298131) and Hyun (US Patent No. 11,330,947). Further, Amaral is utilized as a teaching reference for subject matter not specifically challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723