The instant application having Application No. 18/359,332 filed on 7/26/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekino (JP 2011158552 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Sekino discloses a camera actuator, in at least Figure 3, comprising:
a lens module (50 “lens unit”, Figure 3);
a carrier (32 “frame portion”, Figure 3) accommodating the lens module (50 “lens unit”, page 5, paragraph 6 of translation states "The second frame 32 holding the lens unit 50 movably in the optical axis direction");
a guiding unit (16 "base frame", Figure 3) disposed between the lens module (50 “lens unit”) and the carrier (32 “frame portion”, abstract states "a lens unit 50 held by the second frame 32 ", Figure 3 shows that 16 "base frame" is disposed between 50 "lens unit" and 32 "frame portion");
a housing (55 "shutter unit", Figure 3) accommodating the carrier (32 “frame portion”, page 5, paragraph 3 of translation states "A shutter unit 55 is assembled to the second frame 32 so as to cover the second frame 32 and the front surface of the lens unit 50", Figure 3);
a first actuator (22 "first actuator", Figure 3) disposed between the lens module (50 “lens unit”) and the guiding unit (16 "base frame", Figure 3 shows that 22 "first actuator" is disposed between 50 "lens unit" and 16 "base frame"), comprising a first portion (22b "piezo element", Figure 3) attached to the guiding unit (16 "base frame", page 3, paragraph 3 of translation states "the first actuator 22 is incorporated into a frame portion 16", page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states "The first actuator 22 includes a piezo element 22b"), and moving the lens module (50 “lens unit”) along a first direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the lens (page 6, paragraph 4 of translation); and
a second actuator (34 "second actuator", Figure 3) disposed on the carrier (32 “frame portion”, Figure 3), comprising a second portion (34b "piezo element", Figure 3) attached to the guiding unit (16 "base frame", page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states "the second actuator 34 includes a piezo element 34b", page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states "the second actuator 34 is incorporated into a frame portion 32 a integrally formed with the second frame 32 … A driving pulse is input to the piezo element 34b through the flexible printed board, and its mechanical expansion and contraction motion is transmitted to the first frame 20 through the driving shaft 34c"), and moving the lens module (50 “lens unit”) along a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis (page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states “Similar to the first actuator 22, the second actuator 34 includes a piezo element 34b having a weight 34a fixed to the rear end thereof, and a drive shaft 34c having a circular cross section bonded to the piezo element 34b and extending vertically upward. A driving pulse is input to the piezo element 34b through the flexible printed board, and its mechanical expansion and contraction motion is transmitted to the first frame 20 through the driving shaft 34c. The first frame 20 is horizontally guided by the guide shafts 18a and 18b”, page 5, paragraph 6 of translation states “The second frame 32 holding the lens unit 50 movably in the optical axis direction is perpendicular to the first frame 20 by a pair of guide shafts 31 a and 31 b provided between the first frame 20 and the second frame 32”).
However, Sekino does not disclose a plurality of lenses and the second actuator disposed between the guiding unit and the carrier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a lens such that a lens module contains a plurality of lenses, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the second actuator, the guiding unit, and the carrier such that the second actuator disposed between the guiding unit and the carrier, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 2, Sekino discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first actuator (22 "first actuator") comprises a first piezoelectric member (22b "piezo element", page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states "The first actuator 22 includes a piezo element 22b", Figure 3), and the second actuator (34 "second actuator") comprises a second piezoelectric member (34b "piezo element", page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states "the second actuator 34 includes a piezo element 34b", Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Sekino discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the first portion (22b "piezo element") is the first piezoelectric member (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states "The first actuator 22 includes a piezo element 22b"), and the second portion (34b "piezo element") is the second piezoelectric member (page 4, paragraph 2 of translation states "the second actuator 34 includes a piezo element 34b").
Claims 8, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekino (JP 2011158552 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sekino discloses all the limitations of claim 2, however Sekino does not disclose wherein the first actuator further comprises a first friction pad, and the second actuator further comprises a second friction pad.
Hosokawa teaches wherein the first actuator (200 “X-axis movable element”, Figure 9) further comprises a first friction pad (201 “X-axis friction engagement part”, paragraph 0067 states "The X-axis movable element 200 has an X-axis friction engagement part 201 frictionally engaged with the X-axis drive shaft 133 of the X-axis piezoelectric actuator 130", Figure 9), and the second actuator (300 “Y-axis movable element”, Figure 9) further comprises a second friction pad (201 “Y-axis friction engagement part”, paragraph 0087 states "the Y-axis movable element 300 has a Y-axis friction engagement part 301 frictionally engaged with the Y-axis drive shaft 233 of the Y-axis piezoelectric actuator 230", Figure 9).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by wherein the first actuator further comprises a first friction pad, and the second actuator further comprises a second friction pad, as taught by Hosokawa, in order to frictionally engage components in order to facilitate movement (paragraphs 0075 and 0090).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sekino and Hosokawa disclose all the limitations of claim 8, however Sekino does not disclose wherein the first portion is one of the first piezoelectric member and the first friction pad, and the second portion is one of the second piezoelectric member and the second friction pad.
Hosokawa teaches wherein the first portion is one of the first piezoelectric member (130 “X-axis piezoelectric actuator”, Figure 9) and the first friction pad (201 “X-axis friction engagement part”, paragraph 0067 states "The X-axis movable element 200 has an X-axis friction engagement part 201 frictionally engaged with the X-axis drive shaft 133 of the X-axis piezoelectric actuator 130", Figure 9), and the second portion is one of the second piezoelectric member (230 “Y-axis piezoelectric actuator”, Figure 9) and the second friction pad (301 “Y-axis friction engagement part”, paragraph 0087 states "the Y-axis movable element 300 has a Y-axis friction engagement part 301 frictionally engaged with the Y-axis drive shaft 233 of the Y-axis piezoelectric actuator 230", Figure 9).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by wherein the first portion is one of the first piezoelectric member and the first friction pad, and the second portion is one of the second piezoelectric member and the second friction pad, as taught by Hosokawa, in order to frictionally engage components in order to facilitate movement (paragraphs 0075 and 0090).
Regarding claim 17, Sekino discloses a camera actuator, in at least Figure 3, comprising:
a carrier (32 "frame portion", Figure 3) configured to move in an optical axis direction (last paragraph of page 3 of translation states "A second frame 32 is movably supported by a first frame 20 supported by the base frame 16 so as to be movable in the horizontal direction via a pair of guide shafts 31a and 31b extending vertically") to focus a lens disposed on the optical axis (page 5, paragraph 2 of translation states “the signal unit 53 is photoelectrically monitored by a reflective photosensor 54 fixed to the second frame 32, so that the lens unit 50 is in a home position for focusing”);
a guiding unit (16 "base frame", Figure 3) disposed on the carrier (32 "frame portion", abstract states "a lens unit 50 held by the second frame 32 ", Figure 3 shows that 16 "base frame" is disposed between 50 "lens unit" and 32 "frame portion") and configured to be movable in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation states "the first actuator 22 is incorporated into a frame portion 16", page 3, paragraph 4 of translation);
a lens module (50 “lens unit”, Figure 3), disposed on the guiding unit (16 “base frame”, Figure 3 shows that 50 “lens unit” is disposed on 16 “base frame”); and
an actuator (22 “first actuator”, Figure 3) disposed between the guiding unit (16 "base frame") and the carrier (32 "frame portion", Figure 3 shows that 22 “first actuator” is disposed between 16 "base frame" and 32 "frame portion"), the actuator (22 “first actuator”) comprising a piezoelectric member (22b "piezo element", page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states "The first actuator 22 includes a piezo element 22b") configured to move the guiding unit (16 "base frame") in the first direction (page 3, paragraph 3 of translation states "the first actuator 22 is incorporated into a frame portion 16", page 3, paragraph 4 of translation).
However, Sekino does not disclose a plurality of lenses and a lens module configured to be movable in a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate a lens such that a lens module contains a plurality of lenses, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Hosokawa teaches a lens module configured to be movable in a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis (paragraph 0052 states “The Y-axis direction is orthogonal to the direction of the optical axis L and orthogonal to the X-axis direction”, paragraph 0054 states “The lens carrier 400 is arranged to be stacked on the Y-axis movable element 300”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by a lens module configured to be movable in a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis, as taught by Hosokawa, in order to allow the lens to be movable in all directions.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekino (JP 2011158552 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1), and further in view of Seo (US 20210271049 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sekino and Hosokawa disclose all the limitations of claim 9, however Sekino does not disclose first and second rolling members disposed between the lens module and the carrier.
Seo teaches first (700 “first ball members”, Figure 2) and second rolling members (800 "second ball members", Figure 2) disposed between the lens module (200 “lens barrel”) and the carrier (300 "focus adjustment unit", Figure 2 shows that 700 “first ball members” and 800 "second ball members" are disposed between 200 “lens barrel” and 300 "focus adjustment unit").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by first and second rolling members disposed between the lens module and the carrier, as taught by Seo, in order to guide the movement of the lens module (paragraphs 0119 and 0120).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sekino and Hosokawa disclose all the limitations of claim 17, however Sekino does not disclose a rolling member disposed between the guiding unit and the carrier.
Seo teaches a rolling member (700 "first ball member") disposed between the guiding unit (400 "shake correction unit") and the carrier (300 "focus adjustment unit", Figure 2 shows that 700 "first ball member" is disposed between 300 "focus adjustment unit" and 400 "shake correction unit").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by a rolling member disposed between the guiding unit and the carrier, as taught by Seo, in order to guide the movement of the lens module (paragraphs 0119 and 0120).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Sekino discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses wherein the first piezoelectric member (22b "piezo element") is attached to the upper surface of the guiding unit (16 "base frame", Figure 3 shows that 22b "piezo element" is attached to the upper surface of 16 "base frame").
However, Sekino (JP 2011158552 A), Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1), and Seo (US 20210271049 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest the second piezoelectric member is attached to the bottom surface of the guiding unit.
Claims 5-7 depend on claim 4, so they are allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sekino and Hosokawa disclose all the limitations of claim 9 and Sekino further discloses wherein the first portion (22b "piezo element") is attached to the upper surface of the guiding unit (16 "base frame", Figure 3 shows that 22b "piezo element" is attached to the upper surface of 16 "base frame").
However, Sekino (JP 2011158552 A), Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1), and Seo (US 20210271049 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest the second portion is attached to the bottom surface of the guiding unit facing the carrier.
Claim 11 depends on claim 10, so it is allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sekino, Hosokawa, and Seo disclose all the limitations of claim 12, however Sekino does not disclose wherein the bottom surface of the lens module has a first guide groove, the upper surface of the guiding unit has a second guide groove, the bottom surface of the guiding unit has a third guide groove, the upper surface of the carrier has a fourth guide groove, the first rolling member moves along the first guide groove and the second guide groove, and the second rolling member moves along the third guide groove and the fourth guide groove.
Sekino (JP 2011158552 A), Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1), and Seo (US 20210271049 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest wherein the bottom surface of the lens module has a first guide groove, the upper surface of the guiding unit has a second guide groove, the bottom surface of the guiding unit has a third guide groove, the upper surface of the carrier has a fourth guide groove, the first rolling member moves along the first guide groove and the second guide groove, and the second rolling member moves along the third guide groove and the fourth guide groove.
Claim 14 depends on claim 13, so it is allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Sekino discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Sekino does not disclose a stopper coupled with the carrier and an upper guiding unit and an elasticity unit disposed between the stopper and the lens module.
Hosokawa teaches a stopper (402 “rotation-stopping projection”, Figure 2) coupled with the carrier (400 “lens carrier”, paragraph 0102 states "The lens carrier 400 has a rotation-stopping projection 402. The rotation-stopping projection 402 is fitted into a cutout portion 302 provided on the side wall portion 304 of the Y-axis movable element 300. Fitting the rotation-stopping projection 402 into the cutout portion 302 suppresses the rotation of the lens carrier 400 with the optical axis L as a rotation axis").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by a stopper coupled with the carrier, as taught by Hosokawa, in order to suppress the rotation of the lens carrier (paragraph 0102).
However, Sekino (JP 2011158552 A), Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1), and Seo (US 20210271049 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest an upper guiding unit and an elasticity unit disposed between the stopper and the lens module.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15, so it is allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sekino and Hosokawa discloses all the limitations of claim 17 and further discloses wherein the actuator further comprises the piezoelectric member (22b “piezo element”, Figure 3) disposed on one of a bottom surface of the guiding unit (16 "base frame") and an upper surface of the carrier (32 "frame portion", Figure 3 shows that 22b “piezo element” is located between 16 "base frame" and 32 "frame portion"). However, Sekino does not disclose a friction pad disposed on the other of the bottom surface of the guiding unit and the upper surface of the carrier.
Hosokawa teaches a friction pad (201 “X-axis friction engagement part”, Figure 9).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by a friction pad, as taught by Hosokawa, in order to frictionally engage components in order to facilitate movement (paragraphs 0075 and 0090).
However, Sekino (JP 2011158552 A), Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1), and Seo (US 20210271049 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest a friction pad disposed on the other of the bottom surface of the guiding unit and the upper surface of the carrier.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sekino and Hosokawa disclose all the limitations of claim 17, however Sekino does not disclose a stopper coupled with the carrier; and an upper guiding unit and an elasticity unit disposed between the stopper and the lens module.
Hosokawa teaches a stopper (402 “rotation-stopping projection”, Figure 2) coupled with the carrier (400 “lens carrier”, paragraph 0102 states "The lens carrier 400 has a rotation-stopping projection 402. The rotation-stopping projection 402 is fitted into a cutout portion 302 provided on the side wall portion 304 of the Y-axis movable element 300. Fitting the rotation-stopping projection 402 into the cutout portion 302 suppresses the rotation of the lens carrier 400 with the optical axis L as a rotation axis").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the camera actuator of Sekino modified by a stopper coupled with the carrier, as taught by Hosokawa, in order to suppress the rotation of the lens carrier (paragraph 0102).
However, Sekino (JP 2011158552 A), Hosokawa (US 20180113276 A1), and Seo (US 20210271049 A1), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest an upper guiding unit and an elasticity unit disposed between the stopper and the lens module
Contact Information
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872