DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 and 11-23 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 11-23 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Mizoguchi, Saunders, and Schneider does not disclose the limitation “a second modular component comprising a set of vacuum valves and a structural member configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves… wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component” recited in claims 1, 15, and 23 (Applicant’s Remarks, p. 7-8). Applicant similarly argues against the rejections of claims 2-9, 11-14, and 16-22 by their dependency on one of the independent claims 1 and 15 (Remarks, p. 9).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Schneider does not explicitly teach this limitation independently, the combination of Mizoguchi, Saunders, and Schneider as a whole teach all of the claim limitations.
Specifically, Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 is both the second modular component and the structural member, and gripper manifold 274 holds each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves [0077]. Mizoguchi further discloses that the “individual manifolds 274 [structural member/second modular component] can include common interfaces and plugs for use with common interfaces and plugs, which may make it possible to add and remove manifolds 274 and components [such as a first modular component] quickly and easily” [0077]. Schneider discloses the vacuum valves—valve modules 57, “arranged as a valve row”—are “releasably fixed” to the distributor module 32 [0052]. The distributor module 32 and suction point group 20 together are equivalent to the first modular component. Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 holding the vacuum valves is similar to Schneider’s valve row, and Schneider teaches releasably fixing the set of vacuum valves—like Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274—to the first modular component. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, in combination, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider teach “a second modular component comprising a set of vacuum valves and a structural member configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves… wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.”
Therefore, Claims 1-9 and 11-23 are rejected over Mizoguchi in view of Saunders and Schneider.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “providing vacuum to a robotic gripper” should read “providing vacuum to the robotic gripper” because the robotic gripper is previously recited in the preamble. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a structural member configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves” in claims 1, 15, and 23.
Claims 1, 15, and 23 recite the generic placeholder “structural member” plus functional language “hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves” linked by “configured to”. In paragraph [0005], the specification discloses “a monolithic component (or multiple monolithic components) that holds the valves”; however, paragraph [0069] states that the monolithic component is comprised in the first modular component, not the second modular component as claimed. In paragraphs [0013] and [0072], the specification discloses the second modular components comprises the structural member “configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves”. Paragraph [0073] further discloses “the set of vacuum valves 708 is positioned in a corresponding set of openings (e.g., circular holes) in the structural member 704” as shown in Fig. 7A. A component with openings in which the vacuum valves fit has been interpreted as the corresponding structure performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9, 11-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2-9 and 11-13 each recite “The robotic gripper of claim 0”, and claims 16-20 each recite “The method of claim 0”. These are invalid dependencies. For the purpose of examination, the dependencies present in the Amendment filed 10/06/2025 have been assumed. Specifically, claims 2-4, 6-8, and 11-13 are assumed to depend upon claim 1; claim 5 is assumed to depend upon claim 4; claim 9 is assumed to depend upon claim 8; claims 16-19 are assumed to depend upon claim 15; and claim 20 is assumed to depend upon claim 19.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1-9 and 11-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claims 1, 15, and 23, the limitation “a structural member configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves… wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component” does not have support in the disclosure of application 18359349 as originally filed on 07/26/2023. As stated by Applicant, the closest support is found in paragraphs [0072-0073] of the specification and Figs. 7A and 7B. However, nothing in these paragraphs or figures indicate that “the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component”. Accordingly, claims 1, 15, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 2-9 and 11-14 are rejected for depending upon the rejected claim 1; and claims 16-22 are rejected for depending upon the rejected claim 15.
Examiner notes that the additional limitation “removing one of the first modular component or the structural member of the second modular component from the robotic gripper for individual service” recited in claim 23 is supported in the specification because there is support for removing the second modular component from the robotic gripper for individual service in [00107] and the structural member is comprised in the second modular component [0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizoguchi and Diankov (US 20210053230; hereafter “Mizoguchi”) in view of Saunders et al. (US 20210178579; “Saunders”) and Schneider and Bienger (US 20220395987; hereafter “Schneider”).
Regarding claim 1, Mizoguchi discloses
A robotic gripper comprising: a first modular component comprising a set of deformable members (First modular component: gripper 264 with accompanying sealing members 412 and/or suction elements 416. Multiple first modular components are present in different configurations in Fig. 9-12. Since “The gripper assembly 141 [including grippers 264] can include suction elements, sealing members (e.g., sealing panels), and other components” [0075], see “A lower end 440 of the suction element 416 can include, without limitation, a suction cup or another suitable feature for forming a desired seal... The suction elements 416 can have an undulating or bellowed configuration, as shown, to allow axial compression [deformation] without constricting the airflow passageway 433 therein” [0082]. See also [0078] and [0083].); and
a second modular component comprising a set of vacuum valves (Second modular component: manifold 274. Multiple second modular components are present in different configurations in Fig. 9-12. See “The gripper manifolds 274 can include, without limitation, one or more lines or passages, valves (e.g., check valves, globe valves, three-way valves, etc.), pneumatic cylinders, regulators, orifices, sensors, and/or other components capable of controlling the flow of fluid. Each manifold 274 can be used to distribute suction evenly or unevenly to suction elements or groups of suction elements to produce uniform or nonuniform vacuum gripping forces,” [0077].) and
a structural member configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves (See “The gripper manifolds 274 can include, without limitation, one or more lines or passages, valves (e.g., check valves, globe valves, three-way valves, etc.), pneumatic cylinders, regulators, orifices, sensors, and/or other components capable of controlling the flow of fluid,” [0077]. The gripper manifold 274 is the second modular component and the structural member that holds each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves.).
However, Mizoguchi does not explicitly teach “each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves fluidly connected to at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members, wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.”
Saunders, in the same field of endeavor (vacuum grippers), teaches
each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves fluidly connected to at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members (See vacuum assembly 300 with a single vacuum valve 302 and suction cup assembly 304 in Fig. 3. The vacuum valve is fluidly connected to the suction cup assembly: “Actuating the control valve 308 may open a connection between the cup assembly 304 and a vacuum source 312 through the vacuum valve 302, enabling the suction cup 305 to apply a suction force and attach to a surface” [0092]. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 forming a set of vacuum valves 302 and a set of deformable members 304 (see Fig. 2A-2B). Therefore, each individual vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302 is fluidly connected to at least one suction cup assembly 304 in the set of suction cup assemblies 304. In Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, vacuum valve 302 is held in a structural member. See also [0020], [0032], and [0091]-[0094].),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the end effector of Mizoguchi such that each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves is fluidly connected to at least one suction cup as taught by Saunders. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of “individually addressable vacuum assemblies,” which “increase control and generally enhance the grasping capabilities of a robotic end-effector” (Saunders, [0062]).
However, Mizoguchi/Saunders does not explicitly teach “wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.”
Schneider, in the same field of endeavor (vacuum grippers), teaches
wherein the [set of vacuum valves] is removably coupled to the first modular component (See “the valve modules 57… are arranged as a valve row on the module upper side 36 of the distributor module 32 and are releasably fixed there (see FIG. 1)” by screws or an insertable coupling [0052]. The other side of the distributor module 32 is the suction side 14 with a suction point group 20 composed of suction points 18 (deformable members) [0039]; the distributor module 32 and suction point group 20 together are equivalent to the first modular component. See also [0022], [0051], and [0053-0056].).
As stated above, Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 is both the second modular component and the structural member holding the set of vacuum valves [0077]. Mizoguchi further discloses that the “individual manifolds 274 can include common interfaces and plugs for use with common interfaces and plugs, which may make it possible to add and remove manifolds 274 and components [such as a first modular component] quickly and easily” [0077]. Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 holding the vacuum valves is similar to Schneider’s set of vacuum valves. Since Schneider teaches releasably fixing the set of vacuum valves—like Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274—to the first modular component, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, in combination, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider teach “wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.” Thus, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the end effector of Mizoguchi/Saunders such that the set of valves is removably coupled to the set of deformable members as taught by Schneider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling “the vacuum gripper to be conveniently serviced” (Schneider, [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mizoguchi additionally discloses
wherein the set of deformable members comprises a set of vacuum cups (See “A lower end 440 of the suction element 416 can include, without limitation, a suction cup...” [0082]. Also see suction cup 305 in Fig. 3 of Saunders.).
Regarding claim 3, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mizoguchi additionally discloses
wherein the set of deformable members comprises a set of foam members (See “The sealing member 412 can be made, in whole or part, of compressible materials configured to deform to accommodate surfaces with different geometries, including highly contoured surfaces. The sealing member [deformable member] 412 can be made, in whole or in part, of foam, including closed-cell foam (e.g., foam rubber),” [0083]. See also [0075] and Fig. 15.).
Regarding claim 4, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mizoguchi additionally discloses
wherein the first modular component further comprises a set of channels, each channel in the set of channels defining, at least in part, a fluid connection between… at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members (See “Each manifold 274a can include, without limitation, one or more lines connected to each of the suction elements,” [0077]. These lines form a set of channels, each of which, at least in part, defines a fluid connection to at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members. See also [0075].).
Saunders additionally discloses
…a set of channels, each channel in the set of channels defining, at least in part, a fluid connection between at least one vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves and at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members (See “A vacuum assembly 300 may include a vacuum valve 302 configured to couple to a cup assembly 304. …In some embodiments, a vacuum valve 302 may be coupled to a cup assembly 304 through a suction cup adaptor 310,” [0091]. The suction cup adaptor 310 forms a channel (fluid connection) between the vacuum valve 302 and the suction cup assembly 304. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 (see Fig. 2A-2B), and therefore each individual suction cup adaptor 310 in the set of suction cup adaptors is fluidly connected to at least one suction cup assembly (deformable member) 304 in the set of suction cup assemblies. See also [0092] and the annotated Fig. 3 below.).
When Saunders’s suction cup adaptors are placed in the first modular component (Mizoguchi’s manifold 274) for each suction cup assembly, the set of adaptors is a set of channels, “each channel in the set of channels defining, at least in part, a fluid connection between at least one vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves and at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members.” Therefore, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 4 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein each channel in the set of channels is defined, at least in part, by a monolithic member having a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and a set of bores (See again [0091]-[0092] and the annotated Fig. 3 above. The suction cup adaptor 310 is a monolithic member that defines a channel between the vacuum valve 302 and the suction cup assembly 304. The first surface, at the interface with the vacuum valve 302, is opposite the second surface, at the interface with the suction cup assembly 304. The interior of the suction cup adaptor (the channel) is defined by a set of bores of different diameters.).
Regarding claim 6, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
a controller configured to individually control an amount of vacuum supplied by each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves (See “Any suitable stimulus or input may be used to trigger a controller to adjust the amount of vacuum supplied to a cup assembly. In some embodiments, the amount of vacuum may be adjusted based on the sensed pressure within a cup assembly,” [0103]. See “individual control of each of a plurality of vacuum assemblies in a robotic gripper may be provided. The method may include sensing a pressure level in a cup assembly coupled to a vacuum valve of the vacuum assembly, and controlling a control valve coupled to the vacuum valve to actuate the vacuum valve based, at least in part, on the sensed pressure level,” [0094]. The set of vacuum assemblies comprises the set of vacuum valves. See also Fig. 5, [0023], [0090]-[0103], and [0115].).
Regarding claim 7, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves is configured to actuate to adjust an amount of vacuum in the vacuum valve (See “Any suitable stimulus or input may be used to trigger a controller to adjust the amount of vacuum supplied to a cup assembly. In some embodiments, the amount of vacuum may be adjusted based on the sensed pressure within a cup assembly,” [0103]. See “individual control of each of a plurality of vacuum assemblies in a robotic gripper may be provided. The method may include sensing a pressure level in a cup assembly coupled to a vacuum valve of the vacuum assembly, and controlling a control valve coupled to the vacuum valve to actuate the vacuum valve based, at least in part, on the sensed pressure level,” [0094]. The set of vacuum assemblies comprises the set of vacuum valves configured to actuate to adjust an amount of vacuum in the vacuum valve. See also Fig. 5, [0023], [0092]-[0103], and [0115].).
Regarding claim 8, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
a set of pressure sensors, each pressure sensor in the set of pressure sensors configured to sense a pressure associated with (i) a respective vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves, or (ii) a respective vacuum zone or deformable member (See “a vacuum assembly 300 may include a pressure sensor 306, which may be configured to sense a pressure level in the cup assembly 304,” [0093]. In Fig. 3, a pressure sensor 306 of a vacuum assembly 300 is directly connected to a vacuum valve 302. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 (see Fig. 2A-2B), and therefore comprises a set of pressure sensors 306. Each individual pressure sensor 306 in the set of pressure sensors is configured to sense a pressure associated with a respective vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves [0094]. Similarly, since each vacuum valve 302 is associated with a suction cup assembly (deformable member) 304 in the set of suction cup assemblies 304, each pressure sensor is configured to sense a pressure associated with a respective deformable member or vacuum zone, comprising at least one suction cup assembly 304 [0093]. See also [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0061]-[0062], [0089]-[0090], and [0097].).
Mizoguchi additionally discloses
a set of pressure sensors, each pressure sensor in the set of pressure sensors configured to sense a pressure associated with… (ii) a respective vacuum zone or deformable member (See “A sensor 434 can be positioned to detect a vacuum level and can be in communication, via a wired or wireless connection, with a controller,” [0082]. In Fig. 15, a pressure sensor 434 is fluidly connected to a suction element (deformable member) 416. The gripper manifold 274 may comprise such suction elements 416, and therefore comprises a set of pressure sensors 434 [0075]. Each individual pressure sensor 434 in the set of pressure sensors is configured to sense a pressure associated with a respective deformable member or vacuum zone, comprised of at least one suction element 416. See also [0055]-[0057] and [0077].).
Regarding claim 9, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 8 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein each pressure sensor in the set of pressure sensors is mounted above a respective vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves (“Above” is a relative term. In Fig. 3, a pressure sensor 306 is directly connected to a vacuum valve 302 of a vacuum assembly 300. Rotating Fig. 3 clockwise by 90° or 180°, the pressure sensor 306 is now mounted above its respective vacuum valve 302. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 (see Fig. 2A-2B), and therefore each individual pressure sensor 306 can be mounted above a respective vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves.).
Mizoguchi additionally discloses
wherein each pressure sensor in the set of pressure sensors is mounted above a respective vacuum valve… (In Fig. 15, a pressure sensor 434 is mounted above a respective vacuum valve 437. Though the vacuum valve 437 is not in the set of vacuum valves of the second modular component, such knowledge of where to place a pressure sensor can be applied to the set of vacuum valves of Mizoguchi/Saunders.).
Regarding claim 11, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves is fluidly connected to one corresponding deformable member in the set of deformable members (See vacuum assembly 300 with a vacuum valve 302 and suction cup assembly 304 in Fig. 3. The vacuum valve is fluidly connected to the suction cup assembly: “Actuating the control valve 308 may open a connection between the cup assembly 304 and a vacuum source 312 through the vacuum valve 302, enabling the suction cup 305 to apply a suction force and attach to a surface” [0092]. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 (see Fig. 2A-2B). Therefore, each individual vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302 is fluidly connected to one corresponding suction cup assembly (deformable member) 304 in the set of suction cup assemblies 304. See also [0020], [0032], and [0092].).
Regarding claim 12, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Schneider additionally discloses
wherein each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves is fluidly connected to at least two corresponding deformable members in the set of deformable members (Vacuum valves: valves 56; deformable members: suction points (cups) 18. See “The vacuum gripper also has a plurality of valves, each suction point group being assigned a valve in order to be able to activate and deactivate the suction points of the suction point group in a controlled manner. Each valve has a valve channel and a blocking device for blocking or unblocking the valve channel. By blocking or unblocking the valve channel, the suction chambers can be selectively pressurized with negative pressure, so that the respective suction point groups can be activated or deactivated independently,” [0013]. See “the suction points 18 of a respective suction point group 20 open into the respective suction chamber 22 via corresponding bores 24 of the gripper base body 12; they are accordingly flow-connected to one another,” [0041]. See also Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0039]-[0041], and [0050]-[0053].)
Schneider teaches each vacuum valve 56 is fluidly connected to a suction point group 20 containing at least two suction points 18. Changing the valve-channel-deformable member connections of Saunders/Mizoguchi to follow this teaching gives a gripper in which “each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves is fluidly connected to at least two corresponding deformable members in the set of deformable members.” Thus, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Regarding claim 13, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein the set of deformable members includes a first group of deformable members and a second group of deformable members, and wherein deformable members in the first group of deformable members differ from deformable members in the second group of deformable members in at least one of size, shape, or material (Fig. 2D shows a gripper with a first group of deformable members having a larger cross-sectional area (size) than a second group of deformable members. See “different vacuum assemblies may employ suction cups [deformable members] of different sizes or different materials),” [0088]. See also [0029]-[0030] and [0089].).
Regarding claim 14, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
A robot comprising: a mobile base (Mobile base: body 110, legs 120, and wheels 130. See “FIG. 1A depicts an example of a robot 100, within which generally includes a body 110, at least one leg 120 (e.g., shown as two legs 120, 120a-b), drive wheels 130 coupled to each leg 120, and an arm 150 with an end-effector 160. Although shown with wheels, it should be appreciated that a robot with a stationary base (e.g., without wheels) may also be used,” [0063]. See also [0071] and Fig. 1A-1B.);
a robotic arm coupled to the mobile base (Robotic arm: arm 150 coupled to body 110 in Fig. 1A. See also [0063], [0078], and Fig. 1B.); and
the robotic gripper of claim 1 (See “the end-effector 160 may be a vacuum-based gripper,” such as the gripper of claim 1 [0063]. See the rejection of claim 1 above.),
the robotic gripper coupled to a distal end of the robotic arm (See end-effector 160 at the end of arm 150 in Fig. 1A. See also [0063] and [0080].).
Regarding claim 15, Mizoguchi discloses
A method of using a robotic gripper, the method comprising: providing vacuum to a robotic gripper… (See “When the vacuum source 221 draws a vacuum, air can be drawn (indicated by arrows in FIG. 8) into the bottom 224 of the gripper assembly 141,” [0072]. See also [0088]-[0089] and [0103].)
…a robotic gripper comprising a first modular component comprising a set of deformable members (First modular component: gripper 264 with accompanying sealing members 412 and/or suction elements 416. Multiple first modular components are present in different configurations in Fig. 9-12. Since “The gripper assembly 141 [including grippers 264] can include suction elements, sealing members (e.g., sealing panels), and other components” [0075], see “A lower end 440 of the suction element 416 can include, without limitation, a suction cup or another suitable feature for forming a desired seal... The suction elements 416 can have an undulating or bellowed configuration, as shown, to allow axial compression [deformation] without constricting the airflow passageway 433 therein” [0082]. See also [0078] and [0083].); and
a second modular component comprising a set of vacuum valves (Second modular component: manifold 274. Multiple second modular components are present in different configurations in Fig. 9-12. See “The gripper manifolds 274 can include, without limitation, one or more lines or passages, [a set of vacuum] valves (e.g., check valves, globe valves, three-way valves, etc.), pneumatic cylinders, regulators, orifices, sensors, and/or other components capable of controlling the flow of fluid. Each manifold 274 can be used to distribute suction evenly or unevenly to suction elements or groups of suction elements to produce uniform or nonuniform vacuum gripping forces,” [0077].) and
a structural member configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves (See “The gripper manifolds 274 can include, without limitation, one or more lines or passages, valves (e.g., check valves, globe valves, three-way valves, etc.), pneumatic cylinders, regulators, orifices, sensors, and/or other components capable of controlling the flow of fluid,” [0077]. The gripper manifold 274 is the second modular component and the structural member that holds each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves.),
routing vacuum through the set of vacuum valves to the set of deformable members (See “The manifolds 274 can be operated to distribute the vacuum to one, some, or all of the grippers 264. …Each manifold 274a can include, without limitation, one or more lines connected to each of the suction elements [deformable members]. …The gripper manifolds 274 can include… [a set of vacuum] valves (e.g., check valves, globe valves, three-way valves, etc.)… capable of controlling the flow of fluid. Each manifold 274 can be used to distribute suction evenly or unevenly to suction elements,” [0077]. See also [0082]-[0083].).
However, Mizoguchi does not explicitly teach “each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves fluidly connected to at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members, wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.”
Saunders, in the same field of endeavor (vacuum grippers), teaches
each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves fluidly connected to at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members (See vacuum assembly 300 with a single vacuum valve 302 and suction cup assembly 304 in Fig. 3. The vacuum valve is fluidly connected to the suction cup assembly: “Actuating the control valve 308 may open a connection between the cup assembly 304 and a vacuum source 312 through the vacuum valve 302, enabling the suction cup 305 to apply a suction force and attach to a surface” [0092]. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 forming a set of vacuum valves 302 and a set of deformable members 304 (see Fig. 2A-2B). Therefore, each individual vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302 is fluidly connected to at least one suction cup assembly 304 in the set of suction cup assemblies 304. In Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, vacuum valve 302 is held in a structural member. See also [0020], [0032], and [0091]-[0094].); and
routing vacuum through the set of vacuum valves to… deformable members (See “Actuating the control valve 308 may open a connection between the cup assembly [deformable member] 304 and a vacuum source 312 through the vacuum valve 302, enabling the suction cup 305 to apply a suction force and attach to a surface. The vacuum source 312 may be coupled to both the vacuum valve 302 and the control valve 308,” [0092]. See also [0091] and Fig. 3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the end effector of Mizoguchi such that each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves is fluidly connected to at least one suction cup as taught by Saunders. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of “individually addressable vacuum assemblies,” which “increase control and generally enhance the grasping capabilities of a robotic end-effector” (Saunders, [0062]).
However, Mizoguchi/Saunders does not explicitly teach “wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.”
Schneider, in the same field of endeavor (vacuum grippers), teaches
wherein the [set of vacuum valves] is removably coupled to the first modular component (See “the valve modules 57… are arranged as a valve row on the module upper side 36 of the distributor module 32 and are releasably fixed there (see FIG. 1)” by screws or an insertable coupling [0052]. The other side of the distributor module 32 is the suction side 14 with a suction point group 20 composed of suction points 18 (deformable members) [0039]; the distributor module 32 and suction point group 20 together are equivalent to the first modular component. See also [0022], [0051], and [0053-0056].).
As stated above, Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 is both the second modular component and the structural member holding the set of vacuum valves [0077]. Mizoguchi further discloses that the “individual manifolds 274 can include common interfaces and plugs for use with common interfaces and plugs, which may make it possible to add and remove manifolds 274 and components [such as a first modular component] quickly and easily” [0077]. Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 holding the vacuum valves is similar to Schneider’s set of vacuum valves. Since Schneider teaches releasably fixing the set of vacuum valves—like Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274—to the first modular component, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, in combination, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider teach “wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.” Thus, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the end effector of Mizoguchi/Saunders such that the set of valves is removably coupled to the set of deformable members as taught by Schneider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling “the vacuum gripper to be conveniently serviced” (Schneider, [0022]).
Regarding claim 16, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 15 as addressed above, and Mizoguchi additionally discloses
lifting an object using the robotic gripper by: establishing a vacuum seal between the object and at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members; and controlling a robotic arm coupled to the robotic gripper to lift the object while the vacuum seal is established (See “The vacuum condition [vacuum seal] can be created when the end effector 140 is lowered via the robotic arm 139, thereby pressing the vacuum regions 117 against the surface of the target object and pushing out or otherwise removing gases between the opposing surfaces. When the robotic arm 139 lifts the end effector 140, a difference in pressure between the spaces inside the vacuum regions 117 and the surrounding environment can keep the target object attached to the vacuum regions 117,” [0057]. The end effector 140 includes suction elements 151 between the vacuum regions 117 and the target object, and those suction elements 151 include the previously mentioned suction cup (deformable member) 416; see [0057] and [0082]. See also [0103]-[0108] of Mizoguchi and [0095]-[0109] of Saunders.).
Regarding claim 17, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 15 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
individually controlling each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves (See “individual control of each of a plurality of vacuum assemblies in a robotic gripper may be provided. The method may include sensing a pressure level in a cup assembly coupled to a vacuum valve of the vacuum assembly, and controlling a control valve coupled to the vacuum valve to actuate the vacuum valve based, at least in part, on the sensed pressure level,” [0094]. Since each vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302 is in an individually-controllable vacuum assembly 300, Saunders teaches individually controlling each vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves [0091]. See also [0096], [0119]-[0120], Fig. 3, and claim 12.).
Regarding claim 18, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 15 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein routing vacuum through the set of vacuum valves to the set of deformable members comprises: routing vacuum from a vacuum source to the set of vacuum valves via a connector of the robotic gripper (See “A robotic gripper 200 may include a manifold that couples the vacuum assemblies 300. In some embodiments, a manifold may include a vacuum connection [connector of the robotic gripper] 202… The vacuum connection may be configured to connect to a vacuum pump or any other suitable source of vacuum,” [0089]. The set of vacuum valves 302 are part of the vacuum assemblies 300. See also [0091]-[0092], Fig. 2A, and Fig. 3 of Saunders and [0069] and [0077] of Mizoguchi.); and
routing vacuum from the set of vacuum valves to the set of deformable members via a set of channels… (See “Actuating the control valve 308 may open a connection between the cup assembly [deformable member] 304 and a vacuum source 312 through the vacuum valve 302, enabling the suction cup 305 to apply a suction force and attach to a surface. The vacuum source 312 may be coupled to both the vacuum valve 302 and the control valve 308,” [0092]. The suction cup adaptor 310 forms a channel (fluid connection) between the vacuum valve 302 and the suction cup assembly 304 in vacuum assembly 300. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 (see Fig. 2A-2B), and therefore each individual suction cup adaptor 310 in the set of suction cup adaptors is a channel that routs vacuum to at least one suction cup assembly (deformable member) 304 in the set of suction cup assemblies from a respective vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302. See also [0091] and the annotated Fig. 3 of Saunders above and [0077], [0082], and [0088]-[0089] of Mizoguchi.).
When Saunders’s suction cup adaptors are placed in the first modular component (Mizoguchi’s manifold 274) for each suction cup assembly, the set of adaptors is a set of channels, “defined, at least in part, by the first modular component.” Therefore, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Regarding claim 19, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 15 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
applying a vacuum pulse to each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves (See “The process 800 begins in act 810, where a pulse is applied to the cup assemblies. As described above, pulsing the cup assemblies may include activating the cup assemblies for a short period of time (e.g., 15 milliseconds) before deactivating the cup assemblies again. Cup assemblies may be pulsed individually or in groups. In some embodiments, all cup assemblies of a robotic gripper may be pulsed simultaneously,” [0119]. To reach each cup assembly 304 of the vacuum assemblies 300, the pulse must go through each respective vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302 (see Fig. 3). See also Fig. 8, [0037], and [0118].);
determining, for each of the vacuum valves, while the vacuum pulse is applied to the vacuum valve and using one or more pressure sensors, a pressure measurement for the vacuum valve (See “The process 800 then proceeds to act 820, where a pulse response of each cup assembly is determined. Determining the pulse response of each cup assembly may include detecting a rate of change (e.g., a slope) of the measured pressure signal, such as at act 822, and/or detecting a peak value of the pressure signal, such as at act 824,” [0120]. The measured pressure signal (pressure measurement) comes from a pressure sensor during the pulse [0118]. To reach each cup assembly 304 of the vacuum assemblies 300, the pulse must go through each respective vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302; each pressure measurement is for a respective vacuum valve 302 (see Fig. 3). See also Fig. 8, [0037], [0093], [0097], and [0121].); and
selectively activating one or more of the vacuum valves based, at least in part, on the determined pressure measurements for the vacuum valves (See “The process 800 then proceeds to act 840, where selected cup assemblies are activated. In some embodiments, only those cup assemblies with a normalized [pressure measurement] value (e.g., rate of change, peak value, or both rate of change and peak value) above a threshold value may be activated,” [0122]. To reach each cup assembly 304 of the vacuum assemblies 300, the pulse must go through each respective vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302; each pressure measurement is for a respective vacuum valve 302. See also Fig. 3, Fig. 8, and [0037].).
Regarding claim 20, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 19 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
determining a trajectory for the robotic gripper based, at least in part, on the determined pressure measurements for the vacuum valves (See “In embodiments in which there are multiple sensors, such as… a pressure sensor associated with each vacuum assembly, onboard computation may be used to fuse sensor data [including pressure measurements from the pressure sensor] and inform a controller that determines the trajectory and/or acceleration profile of the robotic arm,” [0110]. The pressure sensor 306 associated with each vacuum assembly 300 supplies pressure measurements for a respective vacuum valve 302 (see Fig. 3). See also Fig. 6 and [0105]-[0110] of Saunders and Fig. 17 of Mizoguchi.).
Regarding claim 21, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 19 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein the pressure measurement comprises a rate of change of a pressure signal measured by the one or more pressure sensors and/or a peak pressure value of a pressure signal measured by the one or more pressure sensors (See “The response of each cup assembly may be analyzed in relation to a peak pressure response, a gradient pressure response, or a combination thereof. The peak pressure response of a cup assembly may include the maximum or minimum pressure [peak pressure value] recorded by a pressure sensor associated with the cup assembly within a particular time range after the initiation of the pulse.… The gradient pressure response of a cup assembly may include the rate of change of the pressure signal within a cup assembly in response to a pulse,” [0118]. The pressure sensor 306 associated with each vacuum assembly 300 supplies the pressure signal for the respective cup assembly 304 when the cup assembly 304 is activated. See also Fig. 3, Fig. 8, [0039]-[0040], and [0120].).
Regarding claim 22, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider discloses the limitations of claim 19 as addressed above, and Saunders additionally discloses
wherein the pressure measurement comprises a time-variant pressure signal measured by the one or more pressure sensors (See Fig. 7C and 7D where pressure signals from pressure sensors associated with each cup assembly are plotted against time; the signals clearly vary with time. See also “The response may include data [pressure signal] related to the pressure level in each cup assembly over time.… The peak pressure response of a cup assembly may include the maximum or minimum pressure recorded by a pressure sensor associated with the cup assembly within a particular time range after the initiation of the pulse,” [0118]. See also Fig. 3, Fig. 8, [0039]-[0040], and [0120].).
Regarding claim 23, Mizoguchi discloses
A method of servicing a robotic gripper, the method comprising: providing a robotic gripper comprising a first modular component comprising a set of deformable members (“Providing a robotic gripper” has been interpreted to mean that the claimed robotic gripper exists. First modular component: gripper 264 with accompanying sealing members 412 and/or suction elements 416. Multiple first modular components are present in different configurations in Fig. 9-12. Since “The gripper assembly 141 [including grippers 264] can include suction elements, sealing members (e.g., sealing panels), and other components” [0075], see “A lower end 440 of the suction element 416 can include, without limitation, a suction cup or another suitable feature for forming a desired seal... The suction elements 416 can have an undulating or bellowed configuration, as shown, to allow axial compression [deformation] without constricting the airflow passageway 433 therein” [0082]. See also [0078] and [0083].); and
a second modular component comprising a set of vacuum valves (Second modular component: manifold 274. Multiple second modular components are present in different configurations in Fig. 9-12. See “The gripper manifolds 274 can include, without limitation, one or more lines or passages, valves (e.g., check valves, globe valves, three-way valves, etc.), pneumatic cylinders, regulators, orifices, sensors, and/or other components capable of controlling the flow of fluid. Each manifold 274 can be used to distribute suction evenly or unevenly to suction elements or groups of suction elements to produce uniform or nonuniform vacuum gripping forces,” [0077].) and
a structural member configured to hold each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves (See “The gripper manifolds 274 can include, without limitation, one or more lines or passages, valves (e.g., check valves, globe valves, three-way valves, etc.), pneumatic cylinders, regulators, orifices, sensors, and/or other components capable of controlling the flow of fluid,” [0077]. The gripper manifold 274 is the second modular component and the structural member that holds each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves.),
removing one of the first modular component or the structural member of the second modular component from the robotic gripper for individual service (See “In one embodiment, individual manifolds 274 [structural member/second modular component] can include common interfaces and plugs for use with common interfaces and plugs, which may make it possible to add and remove manifolds 274 and components [such as a first modular component] quickly and easily, thereby facilitating system [service:] reconfiguration, maintenance, and/or repair” [0077].).
However, Mizoguchi does not explicitly teach “each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves fluidly connected to at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members, wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.”
Saunders, in the same field of endeavor (vacuum grippers), teaches
each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves fluidly connected to at least one deformable member in the set of deformable members (See vacuum assembly 300 with a single vacuum valve 302 and suction cup assembly containing suction cup 305 in Fig. 3. The vacuum valve is fluidly connected to the suction cup assembly: “Actuating the control valve 308 may open a connection between the cup assembly 304 and a vacuum source 312 through the vacuum valve 302, enabling the suction cup 305 to apply a suction force and attach to a surface” [0092]. The gripper 200 comprises such vacuum assemblies 300 (see Fig. 2A-2B), forming a set of vacuum valves 302 and a set of deformable members 304 (see Fig. 2A-2B). Therefore, each individual vacuum valve 302 in the set of vacuum valves 302 is fluidly connected to at least one suction cup assembly 304 in the set of suction cup assemblies 304. In Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, vacuum valve 302 is held in a structural member. See also [0020], [0032], and [0091]-[0094].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the end effector of Mizoguchi such that each vacuum valve in the set of vacuum valves is fluidly connected to at least one suction cup as taught by Saunders. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of “individually addressable vacuum assemblies,” which “increase control and generally enhance the grasping capabilities of a robotic end-effector” (Saunders, [0062]).
However, Mizoguchi/Saunders does not explicitly teach “wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.”
Schneider, in the same field of endeavor (vacuum grippers), teaches
wherein the [set of vacuum valves] is removably coupled to the first modular component (See “the valve modules 57… are arranged as a valve row on the module upper side 36 of the distributor module 32 and are releasably fixed there (see FIG. 1)” by screws or an insertable coupling [0052]. The other side of the distributor module 32 is the suction side 14 with a suction point group 20 composed of suction points 18 (deformable members) [0039]; the distributor module 32 and suction point group 20 together are equivalent to the first modular component. See also [0022], [0051], and [0053-0056].).
As stated above, Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 is both the second modular component and the structural member holding the set of vacuum valves [0077]. Mizoguchi further discloses that the “individual manifolds 274 can include common interfaces and plugs for use with common interfaces and plugs, which may make it possible to add and remove manifolds 274 and components [such as a first modular component] quickly and easily” [0077]. Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274 holding the vacuum valves is similar to Schneider’s set of vacuum valves. Since Schneider teaches releasably fixing the set of vacuum valves—like Mizoguchi’s gripper manifold 274—to the first modular component, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, in combination, Mizoguchi/Saunders/Schneider teach “wherein the structural member is removably coupled to the first modular component.” Thus, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the end effector of Mizoguchi/Saunders such that the set of valves is removably coupled to the set of deformable members as taught by Schneider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling “the vacuum gripper to be conveniently serviced” (Schneider, [0022]).
Conclusion
/MOYA LY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658