DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the lateral walls”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the breathing channel”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat Pub No. 20220040495 to Hwang et al. (hereinafter “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 1. (Original) Hwang discloses a phototherapy device (para 0025, “stomatitis treatment device 1”) for delivering phototherapy to an oral cavity (para 0001-0003, 0011, 0018, 0026, etc.), the phototherapy device including: a main body configured to be receiving within the oral cavity (para 0025-0026, “body 10”, figs. 1-4); a light source configured to emit light and mechanically supported by the main body (para 0026, 0031 “cell restoration lamp 122”), such that when the main body is positioned within the oral cavity the light source is located within the oral cavity and the emitted light illuminates tissues of the oral cavity (fig. 4); wherein the main body includes: a shell separating the light source from the oral cavity (fig. 2, para 0029-0030, “housing 110”); an air gap located between the light source and the shell for improving delivery of the emitted light to the tissues (fig. 2, space provided between lamps 122 and light inducing grooves 113”, para 0032, see figs 2 and 4).
Hwang does not explicitly disclose the device illuminating pharyngeal tissues. However, Hwang discloses the device is configured to emit light outward from the uvula evasion portion 115 to provide treatment to uvula and tonsils (para 0032). As such, it is understood that at least a portion of the light is at least capable of reaching the pharyngeal tissue. It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang to further emit light to the pharyngeal and provide treatment to the pharyngeal tissues.
Regarding claim 2. (Original) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein: the main body further includes an upper portion (para 0025, “body 10”), a lower portion (para 0025, “coupling module 20”), a connecting portion joining the upper portion and the lower portion (para 0033, 0034, etc., “coupling groove 114”), and a channel located between the upper portion and the lower portion (fig. 2, para 0034); the channel is shaped to receive a tongue when inserted into the oral cavity (fig. 2, para 0034);; the upper portion is shaped to overlie the tongue when the tongue is received in the channel (fig. 2, para 0027, 0034); and the lower portion is shaped to underlie the tongue when the tongue is received in the channel (fig. 2, para 0034).
Regarding claim 3. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1substitution would be obvious. “Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results”.
Regarding claim 8. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein the light source includes light emitters for generating the emitted light (para 0031 “a light emitting diode (LED)”).
Regarding claim 9. (Original) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 8, wherein: the light emitters include distal light emitters and lateral light emitters (fig. 2); the distal light emitters are positioned along a distal end of the main body, such that light emitted by the distal light emitters illuminates the pharyngeal tissues when the main body is positioned within the oral cavity (see rejection of claim 1); and the lateral light emitters are positioned along lateral walls of the main body, such that light emitted by the lateral light emitters illuminates buccal tissues of the oral cavity when the main body is positioned within the oral cavity (para 0032, fig 1; it is understood that at least a portion of the light could be emitted “laterally”).
Regarding claim 10. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein: the main body includes a proximal end having a top bite location located along a top surface of the main body (fig. 4, para 0005, 0034), and a bottom bite location located along a bottom surface of the main body (fig. 4, para 0005, 0034); the top bite location is configured to interact with top teeth of the oral cavity when the main body is located within the oral cavity (fig. 4, para 0005, 0034); and the bottom bite location is configured to interact with bottom teeth of the oral cavity when the main body is located within the oral cavity (fig. 4, para 0005, 0034).
Regarding claim 11. (Original) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 10, wherein light emitted from the light source via the lateral walls of the main body is configured to illuminate buccal tissues of the oral cavity via an opening between the upper teeth and the lower teeth formed by the main body portion being located between the upper teeth and the bottom teeth of the oral cavity (para 0017, 0032).
Regarding claim 15. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein the main body includes a protrusion extending from a top surface of the main body, such that: the protrusion interacts with a roof of the oral cavity when the main body is positioned within the oral cavity; and a gag reflex caused by the main body being positioned within the oral cavity is reduced (para 027, at least a portion of the top surface that is at the peak of the “convex upward” is understood to be the “protrusion”, providing the same functionality and benefit).
Regarding claim 16. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein the main body includes tongue protrusions extending from a bottom surface of the main body, such that when the main body is positioned within the oral cavity the tongue protrusions depress a tongue of the oral cavity (para 0011-0013, 0027 “a first lower portion 112 formed to be concave downward to be mounted on a top side of a tongue”).
Regarding claim 17. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein the main body comprises a memory forming material configured to conform to a shape of the oral cavity when positioned within the oral cavity (para 0029 “flexible material” See MPEP 2143 “(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;”).
Regarding claim 18. (Currently Amended) T Hwang renders obvious the he phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein: the main body includes location features comprising irregularities in a surface of the main body; the location features are configured to, when the main body is located within the oral cavity: engage with at least one of the teeth, lips, or palate; and ensure that the main body is placed in a particular position and orientation within the oral cavity when the location features are positioned adjacent the corresponding structures of the oral cavity (figs. 1 and 4, any portion of the device could be considered as the “irregularities” that engage the teeth, lips, palate).
Regarding claim 19. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, further comprising processor circuitry mechanically supported by the main body, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to control emission of the light by the light source (para 0042 “control panel”).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang as applied to claims 1-3, 8-11, 15-19 above, and further in view of US Pat Pub No. 20210228900 to Kothari et al. (hereinafter “Kothari ‘900”)
Regarding claim 4. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1:wherein the main body includes lateral walls and a distal end located between the lateral walls (fig 1, side walls and uvula evasion portion 115); but fails to disclose further comprising a camera located along the distal end configured to image tissues of the oral cavity being illuminated by the emitted light when the main body is inserted into the oral cavity.
Kothari ‘900, from a similar field of endeavor teaches having a camera to distinguish different tissues in the oral cavity (para 0082). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang with the teachings of Kothari to provide the predictable result of distinguish different tissues in the oral cavity.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang as applied to claims 1-3, 8-11, 15-19 above, and further in view of US Pat Pub No. 20040116985 to Black.
Regarding claim 6. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, Hwang discloses the body to be flexible which would allow it to bend and deform as desired but fails to disclose wherein: the main body is articulable along a point of articulation to form an angle of articulation between a proximal plane of the main body and a distal plane of the main body , such that a portion of the emitted light is targeted onto the pharyngeal tissues; the proximal plane extends between lateral walls of the main body, a proximal end of the main body, and the point of articulation; and the distal plane extends between the lateral walls of the main body, a distal end of the main body, and the point of articulation.
Black from a similar field of endeavor teaches using a material that are bendable and formable to provide a pre-arranged angle or bendable or formable material(s) is (are) used then the user could manipulate the element to create any desired angle of the element (para 0006). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang with the teachings of Black to provide the predictable result of allowing the user to manipulate the element to create any desired angle of the element to provide the desired treatment.
Regarding claim 7. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, Hwang discloses the body to be flexible which would allow it to bend and deform as desired but fails to disclose wherein: the main body is articulable along a distal point of articulation and a proximal point of articulation, such that a portion of the emitted light is targeted onto the pharyngeal tissues the distal point of articulation is configured to form a distal angle of articulation between a central plane of the main body and a distal plane of the main body; the proximal point of articulation is configured to form a proximal angle of articulation between a central plane of the main body and a proximal plane of the main body; the proximal plane extends between lateral walls of the main body, a proximal end of the main body, and the proximal point of articulation; the central plane extends between the lateral walls of the main body, the distal point of articulation, and the proximal point of articulation; and the distal plane extends between the lateral walls of the main body, a distal end of the main body, and the distal point of articulation.
Black from a similar field of endeavor teaches using a material that are bendable and formable to provide a pre-arranged angle or bendable or formable material(s) is (are) used then the user could manipulate the element to create any desired angle of the element (para 0006). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang with the teachings of Black to provide the predictable result of allowing the user to manipulate the element to create any desired angle of the element to provide the desired treatment.
Claim(s) 5, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang as applied to claims 1-3, 8-11, 15-19 above, and further in view of US 20220226667 A1 to Kothari et al. (hereinafter “Kothari”).
Regarding claim 5. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, wherein: the shell includes lateral walls and a distal end located between the lateral walls (fig 1, side walls and uvula evasion portion 115); but fails to disclose the distal end includes lensing configured to alter a trajectory of the emitted light, such that the pharyngeal tissues are illuminated by the emitted light.
Kothari, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches a having lenses to alter the distribution of light exiting the distal surface (para 0077, fig. 20). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang with the teachings of Kothari to provide the predictable result of altering the distribution of light exiting the distal surface and improving treatment.
Regarding claim 12. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising side wings located adjacent the lateral walls of the main body, wherein: the side wings each include a light emitting surface configured to emit light; when the main body is located within the oral cavity the side wings are positioned relative to the main body, such that: the side wings are located between teeth and buccal tissues of the oral cavity; the light emitting surface of the side wings faces the buccal tissues; and the light emitted from the light emitting surfaces illuminates the buccal tissues.
Kothari, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches a having side wings to emit light and bite pads for engagement by teeth of the patient to secure the side wings 14 in place when the main body portion 12 is inserted into the oral cavity of the patient (para 0052, 0056, 0064, 0077). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang with the teachings of Kothari to provide the predictable result of further securing the device when the device is inserted into the oral cavity of the patient.
Regarding claim 13. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the main body includes a breathing channel comprising an opening extending between the distal end and the proximal end of the main body, such that when positioned within the oral cavity the breathing channels extends between the oral cavity and an external environment allowing for exchange of air between the oral cavity and the external environment.
Kothari, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches a having breathing tube to provide air path to improve patient breathing during treatment (para 0007, 0041, 0072-0074). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang with the teachings of Kothari to provide the predictable result of improving patient breathing during treatment.
Regarding claim 14. (Currently Amended) Hwang renders obvious the phototherapy device of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising a breathing apparatus mechanically supported by an exterior surface of the main body, wherein: the breathing channel includes an oral cavity opening, an external environment opening, and a breathing channel extending between the oral cavity opening and the external environment opening, such that when positioned within the oral cavity the breathing channel extends between the oral cavity and an external environment allowing for exchange of air between the oral cavity and the external environment.
Kothari, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches a having breathing tube to provide air path to improve patient breathing during treatment (para 0007, 0041, 0072-0074). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hwang with the teachings of Kothari to provide the predictable result of improving patient breathing during treatment.
Conclusion
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796