DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment and remarks, filed 17 Aug 2026, in which claims 429 and 432 are amended to change the scope and breadth of the claim, claims 430-431 are canceled, withdrawn claims 439 and 442 are amended, and withdrawn claims 434-437, 440-441, 444-447, and 450 are canceled.
This application is a domestic application, filed 26 July 2023; and claims benefit as a CON of 16/979,108, which is a 371 of PCT/US2019/021168, filed 07 March 2019, now abandoned; which claims benefit of provisional application 62/639,725, filed 07 March 2018.
Claims 429, 432-433, 438-439, 442-443, and 448-449 are pending in the current application. Claims 439, 442-443, and 448-449, drawn to non-elected inventions, are withdrawn. Claims 429, 432-433, and 438 are examined on the merits herein.
The following are modified grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment, filed 17 Aug 2026, in which claims 429 and 432 are amended to change the scope and breadth of the claim, and claims 430-431 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Amended Claims 429, 432-433, and 438 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2016/134054 A1, published 25 Aug 2016, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 22 Jan 2024) in view of Meier et al. (Antiviral Research, 2006, 71, p282-292, of record) and Mayes et al. (WO 2014/099941 A1, published 26 June 2014, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 22 Jan 2024).
Chen et al. teaches compounds such as the nucleotide of formula (I) effective in inhibiting HCV polymerase (abstract). Chen et al. teaches in one aspect the compound formula (I) such as Compound No. 54 where X is O, R1 is H, R2 is OH, R3 is OH, R4 is H, and R5 is F (page 1, paragraph 4, and Table 1 at page 3), corresponding to the claimed Formula XXVIII where R2 is OH and R3 is OH. In another aspect of the invention the compound has Formula III, as well as prodrugs thereof,
, where the variables X, R1, R2, R3, R4, and R5 are as defined in Table 1 (page 7, paragraph 7). In another aspect of the invention the compound has formula VI’’,
, where the variables X, R1, R2, R3, R4, and R5 are as defined in Table 1, and P1 is a protected monophosphate prodrug substitution (paragraph 13, spanning pages 8-9).
Chen et al. does not specifically disclose the compound of claimed Formula XXVIII wherein R1 is
( claim 429 and elected species).
Meier et al. teaches pronucleotides represent a promising tool to improve the biological activity of nucleoside analogs in antiviral and cancer chemotherapy. The cycloSal-approach is one of several conceptually different pronucleotide systems. This approach can be applied to various nucleoside analogs. A salicyl alcohol as a cyclic bifunctional masking unit is used, and shown to afford a chemically driven release of the particular nucleotide from the lipophilic phosphate triester precursor molecule (page 282, abstract). Meier et al. teaches the proof-of-principle example of the anti-HIV active 2’,3’-dideoxy-2’,3’-didehydrothymidine (d4T) cycloSal triesters 2a-2h (page 283, figure 2), where the cycloSal substituents of compounds 2c, 2d, 2e, 2a, and 2g correspond to the corresponding substituents of the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 6th, and 7th compound recited in claim 433, respectively. Meier et al. teaches the structure activity relationship of the cycloSal triesters is known (page 286, section 6 and figure 5). Meier et al. teaches the cycloSal-approach may be applied to different nucleoside analogs (section 7 spanning pages 286-288, and page 287, figure 6).
Mayes et al. teaches 4’-fluoro nucleoside compounds, compositions and methods for the treatment of Flaviviridae infections, including HCV infections (abstract). Mayes et al. teaches the working embodiment of the compound 2b
and the known synthesis thereof (Example 1 at page 98). Mayes et al. teaches the compound 102
shown to have inhibitory activity against HCV polymerase (example 2 at pages 124-125). Mayes et al. generally teaches the use of compound including prodrugs thereof (page 76, paragraphs 214-217).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen et al. in view of Meier et al. and Mayes et al. in order to select the prodrug form of the Chen et al. compound where X is O, R1 is H, R2 is OH, R3 is OH, R4 is H, and R5 is F to be the cycloSal prodrug taught by Meier et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Chen et al. in view of Meier et al. and Mayes et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because all of cited prior art are drawn to the antiviral activity of nucleoside analogs, Chen et al. teaches an embodiment of the compound as a protected monophosphate prodrug encompassing the claimed compound, Meier et al. teaches the cycloSal prodrug as a known approach to improve the biological activity of antiviral nucleoside analogs, and Mayes et al. provides further guidance to select the particular embodiment from within the scope taught by Chen et al. with the expectation that this compound has activity inhibiting HCV polymerase.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s remarks, filed 17 Aug 2026, have been fully considered and not found to be persuasive.
Applicant remarks appear to interpret the requirements of the “lead compound” analysis to limit the selection of the “lead compound” to embodiments of compounds disclosed only within the four corners of the Chen et al. reference alone. However, MPEP 2143 at I.B. discussing Eisai Co. Ltd. v. Dr. Reddy’s Labs., Ltd., 533 F.3d 1353, 87 USPQ2d 1452 (Fed. Cir. 2008) in the context of the “lead compound” analysis provides “The Federal Circuit in Eisai makes it clear that from the perspective of the law of obviousness, any known compound might possibly serve as a lead compound: “Obviousness based on structural similarity thus can be proved by identification of some motivation that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to select and then modify a known compound (i.e. a lead compound) in a particular way to achieve the claimed compound.” Eisai, 533 F.3d at 1357, 87 USPQ2d at 1455.” Applicant further notes that Chen et al. provides no data on the antiviral activity of any of the compounds that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to select and then modify a known compound (i.e. a lead compound). However, as detailed in the rejection of record, Mayes et al. teaches the compound 102
(which is encompassed within the scope of the genus taught by Chen et al.) is shown to have inhibitory activity against HCV polymerase as provided in example 2 at pages 124-125 of Mayes et al. Insofar as Applicant is asserting that the skilled person is required to select a compound “from Chen” as a basis for modification, Mayes et al. teaches the embodiment of a compound that is which is encompassed within the scope of the genus taught by Chen et al. and provides evidence of this compound’s inhibitory activity against HCV polymerase, which is the desired activity of the genus of compounds taught by Chen et al.
Further, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2145 at IV. provides “Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually.” In this case Applicant’s remarks appear to interpret the requirements of the “lead compound” analysis to be limited to embodiments of compounds disclosed only within the four corners of the Chen et al. reference alone and guidance found only within the four corners of the Chen et al. reference alone, which is interpreted as arguments against the Chen et al. reference individually. In this case the rejection is based on the combinations of references in which the Mayes et al. reference discloses an embodiment of a compound which falls within the scope of the Chen et al. and provides guidance for selecting this embodiment from within the scope of the Chen et al. as the “lead compound”.
Applicant notes that the compound 103 or compounds 3a and 3b disclosed in Mayes et al. are also found to have the best activities of the embodiments disclosed in Mayes et al. However, MPEP 2143.01 at I. provides that the disclosure of desirable alternatives does not necessarily negate a suggestion for modifying the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention, and citing In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004) provides “The court stated that “the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” Id. In affirming the Board’s obviousness rejection, the court held that the prior art as a whole suggested the desirability of the combination of shoe sole limitations claimed, thus providing a motivation to combine, which need not be supported by a finding that the prior art suggested that the combination claimed by the applicant was the preferred, or most desirable combination over the other alternatives.” In this case, the combination of Chen et al. in view of Meier et al. and Mayes et al. need not be supported by a finding that the prior art suggested that the combination claimed by the applicant was the preferred, or most desirable combination over the other alternatives; further, the disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the selection of the compound 102 which, among the compounds tested, is demonstrated to have the second highest activity to inhibit HCV polymerase for the wild-type enzyme, and the only other compound shown to have activity to inhibit HCV polymerase for the enzyme with the S828T mutation and which is equivalent to the activity of the compound 103. By analogous reasoning, the disclosure of the nucleoside prodrug compounds 2b, 3a and 3b disclosed in Mayes et al. at page 127, table 2 as noted by Applicant also does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the selection of the compound having the uracil nucleobase (compound 102 or prodrug compound 2b).
Applicant remarks that the combination of the cited reference provides only a generic research plan without clear guidance. However, MPEP 2145 at X.B. provides ““[A] person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007)” In this case Chen et al. teaches compounds such as the nucleotide of formula (I) effective in inhibiting HCV polymerase as well as prodrugs thereof such as protected monophosphate prodrug substitution; Meier et al. teaches the cycloSal-approach is one of several conceptually different pronucleotide systems, the structure activity relationship of the cycloSal triesters is known, and the cycloSal-approach may be applied to different nucleoside analogs; and Mayes et al. provides guidance for selecting the compound 102 as a “lead compound” for modification based on its demonstrated activity as an HCV polymerase inhibitor. Therefore the prior art does not provide merely a “general approach” to a promising field of experimentation, but rather teaches the pursuit of known options within the POSITA’s technical grasp with Meier et al. suggesting a reasonable expectation of success for the cycloSal-approach (a protected monophosphate prodrug substitution) based on its known structure activity relationship and its known application to different nucleoside analogs.
Applicant remarks that the conclusion of obviousness is dependent on improper hindsight reconstruction based on the Applicant’s disclosure. However, as detailed above, the cited teachings of the prior art demonstrate that the rejection of record takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made. While it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning, the reconstruction is proper because it does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
For the reasons discussed above, Applicant’s amendment and remarks are not persuasive, and the rejection is made FINAL.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN S LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693