DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 9, 16, 19-20 and 22-23 are amended. Claims 7 and 8 are canceled. No new claims are added. Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-16, 19-20 and 22-23 remain pending.
The previously raised objections for Claims 1 and 20 are withdrawn because the issues have been properly corrected.
The previously raised rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-16, 19-20 and 22-23 are withdrawn because the issues have been properly corrected.
The previously raised rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-16, 19-20 and 22-23 are withdrawn because the issues have been properly corrected.
The previously raised rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) for Claim 7 is withdrawn because the issue has been properly corrected.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 101 rejections
On Pages 10-13 of Remarks, Applicant argues that amended Claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea because the claim cannot practically be performed mentally or in the mind. Specifically, Applicant argues that the feature of “evaluating … the first ultrasound image with the deep learning model to determine …”, particularly the “dynamic nature of the age range”, could not be performed mentally. Examiner respectfully disagrees. To have a human radiologist to read an image (either ultrasound or X-ray) and then give a range-based estimate of gestational age (e.g. 20-22 weeks) or other physiological parameters (e.g. length of kidney of 10-12 cm) is the conventional approach routinely used in radiology. In such procedure, radiologists perform assessment either mentally or using ruler to perform some measurements for further estimation.
On Pages 11-12 of Remarks, Applicant further argues that “the sequence of steps involving model evaluation, feedback based on a threshold, physical image acquisition, and model re-evaluation cannot merely be a mental observation or judgment”, but is “an iterative feedback protocol”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The sequence of steps described by Applicant is the same as the routine workflow for most clinical ultrasound scans. In the ultrasound scans, measurements are often performed immediately after an image is acquired, and if image quality is not good, new images, e.g. from a different angle, are acquired. The other elements in the claim include image acquisition, which can be regarded as insignificant extra-solution activity, and evaluation by a deep learning model, which is recited at a very high level of generality.
On Page 12 of Remarks, Applicant further argues that the claimed deep learning model “produce gestational age estimates from arbitrary images without reliance on any predefined anatomical criteria”, which “cannot be replicated by a mental process”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claimed deep learning model cannot be implemented in the mind, but is recited at a very high level of generality to a degree that the claim merely applies such a model. The claimed features for such a model are generic to all deep learning models for image analysis.
On Pages 12-13 of Remarks, Applicant cites Example 39 of the August 2025 Update, and argues that Claim 1 reciting training a neural network. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Claims 1 and 20 recite “deep learning model having been trained”, so model training is performed prior to the claimed method but not a part of the claimed method. Second, Example 39 recites very detailed procedure of training, including “digital facial images”, “applying … transformations”, “creating … set of digital facial images… and a set of digital non-facial images”, and such details can provide inventive concepts that would result in improved training effect. In contrast, the claims of current application merely mention training without any detail.
On Pages 13-15 of Remarks, Applicant argues that the recited machine learning techniques provide improved performance, including forming a real-time iterative control logic (Page 14, Paragraph 1), the deep learning model being capable of operating on any images, the method being operatable by broader population, and reduction of requirement for operator skill. Examiner respectfully disagrees. When viewed as a whole, the claims present a general workflow that is similar to routine ultrasound examination, except that images are evaluated by a deep learning model but not manually by human operators. With little or no detail on the recited deep learning model and its training, performance of the model can vary much. For example, a poorly trained model, e.g. trained with improper data, can perform much worse than a human operator.
Prior-art rejections
On Pages 15-17 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Balicki does not disclose the claimed confidence assessment expressed as a range of ages. This argument is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which relies on reference Alsafadi (US 20060135855 A1) to disclose the claimed limitation.
On Page 17 (regarding Claim 1) and Pages 18-19 (regarding Claim 20) of Remarks, Applicant argues that Balicki does not disclose “the deep learning model … configured to receive … image … and to produce the gestational age estimate …”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Other than the disclosed neural network 128, Balicki does disclose two other networks, image classification network 144 and image quality network 148; it is the disclosed neural network 128 that corresponds to the claimed deep learning model (see Fig. 2 of Balicki).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-16, 19-20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With regard to Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-16 and 19:
Step 1: the claims are drawn to a method/process, one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claims recite the limitations of “evaluating … with the deep learning model”, “comparing … to a predetermined threshold” in Claim 1, “producing a plurality of estimates … and filtering … to select only one or more estimates that meet a predetermined confidence value threshold” in Claim 11, “producing a plurality of estimates … and ranking … based on confidence value” in Claim 12, “arithmetically processing … by averaging the estimates” in Claim 16, and “calculating … from a fetal image obtained at any stage during gestation” in Claim 19. These limitations are, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, limitations that cover performance of the limitation in the mind, and/or mathematical calculations. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or mathematical calculations, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping or the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite additional elements – receiving ultrasound image or processed result, outputting result to a display device or an indication to user, using a trained deep learning model to analyze ultrasound image in Claim 1, training of a deep learning model in Claim 4, outputting a value range from a deep learning model or the training in Claim 5, the deep learning model being a convolutional neural network or a vision transformer in Claim 9, and indicating an operative to acquire more images in Claims 14-15. The above-listed additional elements of receiving data and of outputting result or indication are insignificant extra-solution activities. The above-listed additional elements of using and training deep learning model are recited in a very high level of generality so that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic approach of artificial intelligence. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are either insignificant extra-solution activities, or a generic approach of applying artificial intelligence for image analysis, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
For the reasons set forth above, Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11-16 and 19 are not patent eligible.
With regard to Claims 20, 22 and 23:
Step 1: the claims are drawn to an apparatus, one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claims recite the limitations of “evaluate … ultrasound image … to determine a gestational age estimate … and a corresponding confidence assessment …” and “compare … to a predetermined threshold” in Claim 20, which are, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, limitations that cover performance of the limitation in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements – one or more ultrasound probes, one or more processors, acquiring and receiving ultrasound images, receiving processed result, outputting via a display device the processed result or indication in Claim 20, providing real-time feedback to the user in Claim 22, and implementing the processing on the ultrasound apparatus or on a separate device that receives the images in Claim 23. The ultrasound probes, the processors, the trained machine learning model, the separate device for image processing, and the display device are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e. as a generic ultrasound system to acquire ultrasound images, as a generic machine learning model or processing device to perform image-processing tasks) such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic ultrasound system, a generic processing method and a generic computer. The additional elements of providing real-time feedback to a user and displaying processed result are routinely used in clinical ultrasound scans, so can be regarded as insignificant extra-solution activities. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of providing real-time feedback to a user and display processed result are insignificant extra-solution activities. The additional elements of using a generic ultrasound system, a generic processing method and a generic computer amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic ultrasound system, method and computer. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic ultrasound system, a generic processing method and a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept.
For the reasons set forth above, Claims 20, 22 and 23 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11, 13-15, 20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balicki et al (US 20210177374 A1; hereafter Balicki), in view of Alsafadi et al (US 20060135855 A1; hereafter Alsafadi).
With regard to Claim 1, Balicki discloses a method for estimating a gestational age of a fetus (Balicki, Para 0008; “In some embodiments, the method may further involve determining a gestational age and/or a weight estimate based on the measurement.”), the method comprising:
receiving during a scanning session, by one or more processors (a data processor 126, as shown in Fig. 2), a first ultrasound image (Balicki, Para 0020; “… generate a stream of discrete ultrasound image frames 124 from the ultrasound echoes 118 … The image frames 124 … can be communicated to a data processor 126 …”; Para 0025; “… the inputs 130 may include current fetal measurements and the corresponding ultrasound images 130a obtained in substantially real time during an ultrasound examination”) for input into a deep learning model having been trained with prior ultrasound images obtained via one or more ultrasound probes (Balicki, Para 0024; “… neural network 128 may comprise a deep learning network trained, via imaging data …”; Para 0020; “the data processor 126 can also be coupled, communicatively or otherwise, to a database 127 configured to store various data types, including training data …”), the first ultrasound image comprising a first portion of the fetus (Balicki, Para 0020; “The region 116 may include a developing fetus, as shown, or a variety of other anatomical objects, such as the heart or the lungs …”);
evaluating, by the one or more processors, the first ultrasound image with the deep learning model to determine a gestational age estimate of the fetus and a corresponding confidence assessment (Balicki, Para 0025; “the data processor 126 can be configured to implement a neural network 128 … the inputs 130 may include … the corresponding ultrasound images 130a … neural network 128, which is configured to analyze the inputs 130 and generate one or more outputs 132 based on the inputs. Such outputs 132 can include … a gestational age estimate and the associated confidence level 132b …”), wherein confidence assessment is dynamic and based on a suitability of the first ultrasound image (Balicki, Para 0029; “… the likelihood of the final confidence level output(s) 132 being accurate may be reduced because a measurement that is consistent with the population-wide average, but obtained from a suboptimal image plane, may be inaccurate.” This disclosure indicates that the estimated confidence level would become lower when image is suboptimal);
outputting, by the one or more processors via a display device, the range of ages (Balicki, Para 0037; “The results of an ultrasound scan, including the quality of the obtained measurements embodied in one or more confidence level outputs 132, can be displayed to a user via one or more components of system 100.”);
comparing, by the one or more processors, the confidence assessment to a predetermined threshold (Balicki, Para 0026; “To each output 132 of the neural network 128, a confidence threshold 134 may be applied by the data processor 126 to determine whether the quality of a given measurement is satisfactory, or whether re-measurement is necessary.”);
outputting, by the one or more processors via a display device, at least one of:
the gestational age estimate based on the confidence assessment being within the predetermined threshold, or
an indication, during the scanning session, to obtain a second ultrasound image of the first portion of the fetus, the indication generated based on the confidence assessment being outside the predetermined threshold (Balicki, Para 0026; “… the data processor 126 can be configured to generate a “Retake Measurement” notification 136 for measurements that do not satisfy the threshold, and an “All OK” notification 138 for measurements that do satisfy the threshold 134. … In addition or alternatively, data processor 126 can be configured to generate a report 142, which may include all or select measurements and associated confidence levels determined by neural network 128.”);
receiving, by the one or more processors during the scanning session, the second ultrasound image of the first portion of the fetus in response to the indication (Balicki, Para 0021; “… the data acquisition unit 110 may be configured to utilize the findings obtained by the data processor 126 to refine one or more image planes and or anatomical measurements obtained therefrom. According to such examples, the data acquisition unit 110 can be configured to operate in automated fashion by adjusting one or more parameters of the transducer, signal processor, or beamformer in response to feedback received from the data processor.”); and
evaluating, by the one or more processors, the second ultrasound image with the deep learning model to determine an updated gestational age estimate and an updated corresponding confidence assessment (Balicki, Fig. 2 shows that in response to the indication of “Retake measurement” 136, the method goes back to input 130a, which is “current fetal measurements and the corresponding ultrasound images obtained in substantially real time during an ultrasound examination” (Para 0025). In other words, newly acquired images would be analyzed by the same analysis by the deep learning network 128),
wherein the deep learning model is configured to receive, as a model input, the first ultrasound image depicting at least a part of the fetus, and to produce the gestational age estimate and the corresponding confidence assessment from the first ultrasound image, irrespective of imaging plane, fetal position in the first ultrasound image, and whether a predefined anatomical feature is depicted in the first ultrasound image (Balicki, Para 0017; “… a neural network, for example a deep neural network (DNN), a convolutional neural network (CNN), a recurrent neural network (RNN), an autoencoder neural network, or the like … configured to analyze input data in the form of ultrasound image frames, measurements, and/or statistics and determine the quality of the measurements, which may be embodied in a confidence level output by the network for each measurement.” The disclosed neural networks all have the capability of performing the claimed function, irrespective of the claimed factors).
Balicki does not clearly and explicitly disclose expressing confidence assessment of gestational age estimate as a range of ages and its width.
Alsafadi in the same field of endeavor discloses disclose expressing confidence assessment of gestational age estimate as a range of ages and its width (Alsafadi, Para 0042; “A standard deviation or error is determined … in order to provide a range of the gestational age (Step 24). That is, if the femur length was measured as 2.0 cm, the gestational age provided by the formula would be 15.95 weeks with the deviation of 1.38 weeks so the gestational age range would be 14.57 weeks to 17.33 weeks.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balicki, as suggested by Alsafadi, in order to express an estimate’s estimation confidence or error as a value range such as mean +/- standard deviation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of range-based expression, such as standard deviation, confidence interval or variance, being the most widely used statistical method for quantifying estimation error, and using such popular expression would enable convenient interpretation by medical practitioners and other researchers.
With regard to Claim 3, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 1. Balicki further discloses wherein each fetus of the prior ultrasound images has a known gestational age at the time of imaging (Balicki, Para 0032; “… neural network 128 may comprise a multilayer perceptron (MLP) network configured to perform supervised learning with stochastic dropout. … To train the MLP, medical expert annotations of various fetal images and/or measurements, along with the corresponding fetal outcomes, e.g., birth weight, normal birth, abnormal birth, can be used.” The disclosed “supervised learning” inherently uses the label or ground truth for the gestational age to be estimated.).
With regard to Claim 4, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 3. Balicki further discloses wherein training of the deep learning model is configured to achieve association between each image and its corresponding gestational age value (Balicki, Para 0032; “… neural network 128 may comprise a multilayer perceptron (MLP) network configured to perform supervised learning with stochastic dropout.” The network 128 receives each image as input, and estimates GA value, so its learning is to necessarily achieve association between an image and its GA value).
With regard to Claim 9, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 1. Balicki further discloses wherein the deep learning model is a convolutional neural network, a vision transformer, or a variant thereof (Balicki, Para 0017; “the present disclosure may utilize a neural network, for example a deep neural network (DNN), a convolutional neural network (CNN), a recurrent neural network (RNN), an autoencoder neural network, or the like”).
With regard to Claim 11, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 1. Balicki further discloses wherein the method comprises producing a plurality of estimates with a plurality of corresponding confidence values (Balicki, Para 0025; “Such outputs 132 can include one or more fetal measurements and an associated confidence level 132a for each measurement, a gestational age estimate and the associated confidence level 132b, and a fetal weight estimate 132c.”), and filtering the plurality of estimates to select only one or more estimates that meet a predetermined confidence value threshold (Balicki, Para 0026; “the data processor 126 can be configured to generate a “Retake Measurement” notification 136 for measurements that do not satisfy the threshold, and an “All OK” notification 138 for measurements that do satisfy the threshold 134.”).
With regard to Claim 13, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 1. Balicki further discloses wherein the method includes directing an operative to obtain one or more specific images of the fetus (Balicki, Para 0038; “… the user interface 160 may be interactive, receiving user input 166 indicating … confirmation that a measurement needs to be reacquired.”).
With regard to Claim 14, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 13. Balicki further discloses wherein the operative is instructed to acquire images of a second portion of the fetus (Balicki, Para 0038; “In some examples, the input 166 may include an instruction to raise or lower threshold 134 or adjust one or more image acquisition settings.” Here the disclosure of adjusting image acquisition settings include acquiring images of a different portion of fetus.).
With regard to Claim 15, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 13. Balicki further discloses wherein the operative is dynamically instructed, while scanning, to acquire additional images in response to the acquired images having wide confidence ranges associated with them (Balicki, Para 0037; “the user interface 160 can be configured to display the ultrasound images 162 in real time as an ultrasound scan is being performed, along with one or more notifications 140 … The notifications 140 can include measurements and associated confidence levels … the notifications 140 along with, in some embodiments, one or more instructions for guiding the user to re-acquire a particular measurement.”).
With regard to Claim 20, Balicki discloses an ultrasound apparatus for estimating a gestational age of a fetus (Balicki, Para 0020; “The ultrasound system 100 …”), the ultrasound apparatus comprising:
an ultrasound image capturing device comprising one or more ultrasound probes (Balicki, Para 0020; “The ultrasound data acquisition unit 110 can include an ultrasound probe …”), the ultrasound image capturing device configured to receive a plurality of ultrasound images comprising a portion of the fetus (Balicki, Para 0020; “The region 116 may include a developing fetus, as shown, or a variety of other anatomical objects, such as the heart or the lungs … the ultrasound data acquisition unit 110 can include a beamformer 120 and a signal processor 122, which can be configured to generate a stream of discrete ultrasound image frames 124”), and
an electronic processing device comprising one or more processors (Balicki, Para 0020; “a data processor 126, e.g., a computational module or circuitry …”), the electronic processing device configured to:
receive during a scanning session, by the one or more processors, a first ultrasound image of the plurality of ultrasound images (Balicki, Para 0020; “… generate a stream of discrete ultrasound image frames 124 from the ultrasound echoes 118 … The image frames 124 … can be communicated to a data processor 126 …”; Para 0025; “… the inputs 130 may include current fetal measurements and the corresponding ultrasound images 130a obtained in substantially real time during an ultrasound examination”) for input into a deep learning model having been trained with prior ultrasound images obtained via the one or more ultrasound probes (Balicki, Para 0024; “… neural network 128 may comprise a deep learning network trained, via imaging data …”; Para 0020; “the data processor 126 can also be coupled, communicatively or otherwise, to a database 127 configured to store various data types, including training data …”);
evaluate, by the one or more processors, the first ultrasound image with the deep learning model to determine a gestational age estimate of the fetus and a corresponding confidence assessment (Balicki, Para 0025; “the data processor 126 can be configured to implement a neural network 128 … the inputs 130 may include … the corresponding ultrasound images 130a … neural network 128, which is configured to analyze the inputs 130 and generate one or more outputs 132 based on the inputs. Such outputs 132 can include … a gestational age estimate and the associated confidence level 132b …”), wherein the confidence assessment is dynamic and based on a suitability of the first ultrasound image for estimating the gestational age (Balicki, Para 0029; “… the likelihood of the final confidence level output(s) 132 being accurate may be reduced because a measurement that is consistent with the population-wide average, but obtained from a suboptimal image plane, may be inaccurate.” This disclosure indicates that the estimated confidence level would become lower when image is suboptimal);
output, by the one or more processors via a display device, the confidence assessment (Balicki, Para 0037; “The results of an ultrasound scan, including the quality of the obtained measurements embodied in one or more confidence level outputs 132, can be displayed to a user via one or more components of system 100.”);
compare, by the one or more processors, the confidence assessment to a predetermined threshold (Balicki, Para 0026; “To each output 132 of the neural network 128, a confidence threshold 134 may be applied by the data processor 126 to determine whether the quality of a given measurement is satisfactory, or whether re-measurement is necessary.”);
output, by the one or more processors via the display device (Balicki, Para 0037; “The results can be displayed to a user via one or more components of system 100.”), at least one of:
the gestational age estimate based on the confidence assessment being within the predetermined threshold, or
an indication, during the scanning session, to obtain a second ultrasound image of the portion of the fetus, the indication generated based on the confidence assessment being outside the predetermined threshold (Balicki, Para 0026; “… the data processor 126 can be configured to generate a “Retake Measurement” notification 136 for measurements that do not satisfy the threshold, and an “All OK” notification 138 for measurements that do satisfy the threshold 134. … In addition or alternatively, data processor 126 can be configured to generate a report 142, which may include all or select measurements and associated confidence levels determined by neural network 128.”);
receive, by the one or more processors during the scanning session, the second ultrasound image of the portion of the fetus in response to the indication (Balicki, Para 0021; “… the data acquisition unit 110 may be configured to utilize the findings obtained by the data processor 126 to refine one or more image planes and or anatomical measurements obtained therefrom. According to such examples, the data acquisition unit 110 can be configured to operate in automated fashion by adjusting one or more parameters of the transducer, signal processor, or beamformer in response to feedback received from the data processor.”); and
evaluate, by the one or more processors, the second ultrasound image with the deep learning model to determine an updated gestational age estimate and an updated corresponding confidence assessment (Balicki, Fig. 2 shows that in response to the indication of “Retake measurement” 136, the method goes back to input 130a, which is “current fetal measurements and the corresponding ultrasound images obtained in substantially real time during an ultrasound examination” (Para 0025). In other words, newly acquired images would be analyzed by the same analysis by the deep learning network 128),
wherein the deep learning model is configured to receive, as a model input, the first ultrasound image depicting at least a part of the fetus, and to produce the gestational age estimate and the corresponding confidence assessment from the first ultrasound image, irrespective of imaging plane, fetal position in the first ultrasound image, and whether a predefined anatomical feature is depicted in the first ultrasound image (Balicki, Para 0017; “… a neural network, for example a deep neural network (DNN), a convolutional neural network (CNN), a recurrent neural network (RNN), an autoencoder neural network, or the like … configured to analyze input data in the form of ultrasound image frames, measurements, and/or statistics and determine the quality of the measurements, which may be embodied in a confidence level output by the network for each measurement.” The disclosed neural networks all have the capability of performing the claimed function, irrespective of the claimed factors).
Balicki does not clearly and explicitly disclose expressing confidence assessment of gestational age estimate as a range of ages and its width.
Alsafadi in the same field of endeavor discloses disclose expressing confidence assessment of gestational age estimate as a range of ages and its width (Alsafadi, Para 0042; “A standard deviation or error is determined … in order to provide a range of the gestational age (Step 24). That is, if the femur length was measured as 2.0 cm, the gestational age provided by the formula would be 15.95 weeks with the deviation of 1.38 weeks so the gestational age range would be 14.57 weeks to 17.33 weeks.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balicki, as suggested by Alsafadi, in order to express an estimate’s estimation confidence or error as a value range such as mean +/- standard deviation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of range-based expression, such as standard deviation, confidence interval or variance, being the most widely used statistical method for quantifying estimation error, and using such popular expression would enable convenient interpretation by medical practitioners and other researchers.
With regard to Claim 22, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the ultrasound apparatus of Claim 20. Balicki further discloses wherein the ultrasound apparatus is configured to provide real-time feedback to a user on the confidence assessment, to direct scanning toward more suitable images (Balicki, Para 0037; “the user interface 160 can be configured to display the ultrasound images 162 in real time as an ultrasound scan is being performed, along with one or more notifications 140 … The notifications 140 can include measurements and associated confidence levels … the notifications 140 along with, in some embodiments, one or more instructions for guiding the user to re-acquire a particular measurement.”).
With regard to Claim 23, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the ultrasound apparatus of Claim 20. Balicki further discloses wherein the electronic processing device is implemented directly on the ultrasound apparatus (Balicki, Para 1 shows that the ultrasound system 100 contains the data processor 126.) or on a separate device which either receives a video feed from the ultrasound apparatus (Balicki, Para 0039; “Various portable devices, e.g., laptops, tablets, smart phones, remote displays and interfaces, or the like, may be used to implement one or more functions of the system 100. Some or all of the data processing may be performed remotely, (e.g., in the cloud). In examples that incorporate such devices, the ultrasound sensor array 112 may be connectable via a USB interface”) or captures a copy of one or more of the plurality of ultrasound images via a camera of the separate device.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balicki and Alsafadi, in view of Bunn et al (US 20220133260 A1; hereafter Bunn).
With regard to Claim 5, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 4, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein at least one of the deep learning model or the training are configured to output a value range.
Bunn in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein at least one of the deep learning model or the training are configured to output a value range (Bunn, Para 0030; “Quantile regression, and the like, predict a range the actual answer will likely fall into, rather than merely a single value answer. In various embodiments, any regression system that predicts a range or ranges as opposed to a point value may be used in Image Analysis Logic 130”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balicki and Alsafadi, as suggested by Bunn, in order to output a value range for GA instead of a point value. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of preventing overfitting of trained data that could be imprecisely labelled (Bunn, Para 0030; “Use of a range as an estimation prevents overfitting of the data and is useful when ultrasound images used for training may be mislabeled.’’).
With regard to Claim 12, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the method comprises producing a plurality of estimates, with a plurality of corresponding confidence values, and ranking the plurality of estimates based on confidence value.
Bunn in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the method comprises producing a plurality of estimates, with a plurality of corresponding confidence values, and ranking the plurality of estimates based on confidence value (Bunn, Para 0036; “A regression algorithm outputs one or more values for each percentile chosen. For example, some embodiments use 10%, 25%, 50%, 75%, 90% percentiles for outputs (which represent percentiles of a quantitative prediction), and each of these percentiles may be associated with a probability and/or a confidence measure.” Para 0039; “Calculation Logic 140 may apply a distribution function to the estimates made by Image Analysis Logic 130 and produce a probability distribution therefrom.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balicki and Alsafadi, as suggested by Bunn, in order to produce multiple estimates for GA and rank them based on their confidence values. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of selecting a subset of predictions with high confidence and/or combining this subset to determine a final prediction with high confidence (Bunn, Para 0113; “multiple ultrasound sessions are commonly performed on a single pregnancy. Multiple sessions from a single pregnancy could also be combined when performing a prediction”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balicki and Alsafadi, in view of Gomes et al (arXiv:2203.10139 (2022); hereafter Gomes).
With regard to Claim 16, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose further comprising arithmetically processing each estimation of the gestational age estimate obtained from a plurality of images by averaging the estimates.
Gomes in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising arithmetically processing each estimation of gestational age estimates obtained from a plurality of images by averaging the estimates (Gomes, Page 24, Para 4; “Predictions for all video clips in each case were aggregated together to generate a single prediction for the case. The gestational age model uses an inverse variance weighting procedure to combine the clip-level predictions into a case-level mean gestational age”. Here the disclosure of “inverse variance weighting procedure” is one type of averaging). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balicki and Alsafadi, as suggested by Gomes, in order to combine gestational age estimates from multiple images by averaging them. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of increased estimation precision of gestational age by averaging multiple estimates and therefore reducing the effect of noise.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balicki and Alsafadi, in view of Lee et al (arXiv:2203.11903 (2022); hereafter Lee).
With regard to Claim 19, Balicki and Alsafadi disclose the method of Claim 1, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose obtaining images at any stage during gestation.
Lee in the same field of endeavor discloses obtaining images at any stage during gestation (Lee, Page 4, Para 1; “Among study visits conducted by sonographers, 63 (9.3%) women had at least one visit during the first trimester, 235 (34.7%) women had at least one visit during the second trimester, and 379 (56.0%) had one or more visits in the third trimester.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balicki and Alsafadi, as suggested by Lee, in order to apply the method to a fetal image obtained at any stage of gestation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of accurately estimating GA for fetus at all stages (e.g. trimesters) of pregnancy. Conventional method of estimating GA based on fetal biometric measurements may not be reliable as expected, as such measurements correlate less with GA as pregnancy progresses (Lee, Page 3, Para 2; “while fetal biometric measurements were generally reproducible, there was increased variance later in pregnancy”; Para 3; “The accuracy and efficiency of biometric measurements is dependent on the skill and experience of the sonographer”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.Z./ Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798