Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Abstract amendment is accepted and thus specification objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers (USPGPN 20220402390; hereinafter Smole) in view of Yang et al (USPGPN 20130069429) and Ziegler et al (USPGPN 20180041062).
Independent Claim 19, Smole teaches a power supply for a device (abstract, ¶’s [02, 69] describes the device being powered includes an electric power tool, i.e. device {200 in Figs. [20, 22] or 750 in Fig. 24}), the power supply (Figs. [1-25, esp. 1, 16-18, 20, 22, 24, particularly 20, 22, 24]) comprising:
a direct-current (DC) bus having a first DC voltage (bus at node A in each of at least Figs. [20, 22, 24]), the device (200 in Fig. 20 via 101 & 613; 200 in Fig. 22 via 101 & 622; 200 via 751 & 752 in Fig. 24) being configured to receive power from the DC bus;
first power electronics (610 in Fig. 20, 620 in Fig. 22, 700 in Fig. 24, each are AC-DC converter electronic circuits) configured to provide power from an alternating-current (AC) power source (105 in Figs. [18, 22, 24]) to the DC bus;
second power electronics (611 in Fig. 20, 621 in Fig. 22, 730a & 730b in Fig. 24 as a DC-DC converter which one of ordinary skill in the art understands is electronic) configured to provide power from at least one battery pack (104 in Fig. 20, 624 in Fig. 22, 104a & 104b in Fig. 24, see ¶’s [73, 297, 316, 336] for description of these components as battery pack; ¶’s [301, 311, 328] at least describes this converter as bidirectional) to the DC bus; and
a controller (300 of Fig. 1 is described in description of Figs. [20, 22, 24], see ¶’s [301, 311, 312, 315, 325, 329]) configured to:
in a first operating mode, operate the first power electronics to provide power from the AC power source to the DC bus, at least one load of the device being provided with power from the DC bus in the first operating mode (¶[301] in Fig. 20, ¶[314] in Fig.22, ¶[325] in Fig.24); and
in a second operating mode, operate the second power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the DC bus, at least one load of the device being provided with power from the DC bus in the second operating mode (¶’s [301, 302] in Fig. 20, ¶’s [311, 312, 314, 315, 317, 318] in Fig. 22, ¶’s [324, 325] in Fig. 24 describes provision of power from the respective pack to the device/vehicle/power-tool);
the first power electronics including a bidirectional AC/DC converter configured to (i) provide power from the AC power source to the first DC bus by converting an AC voltage of the AC power source into the first DC voltage and (ii) provide power from the first DC bus to the AC accessory connected to the electrical outlet by converting the first DC voltage from the first DC bus into an AC voltage (assuming the claimed accessory is connected to/indistinct from the AC power source, ¶’s [295, 303, 328, 329]), and an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the claimed accessory is connected to/indistinct from the AC power source, ¶’s [295, 303, 328, 329]);
in a third operating mode, (i) operate the second power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the DC bus and (ii) operate the first power electronics to provide AC power from the DC bus to the AC accessory connected to the power supply (again, assuming the grid and the AC-accessory receive the same power, in light of the bidirectional ability of the converters and switches, it is capable).
Smole is silent to a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source; an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the AC-Accessory is distinct from the AC grid).
Yang teaches an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (Fig. 1 shows AC accessory/load 4 connected to a different output than the grid 3 on an analogous circuit). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by being able to provide both power to both the grid and a distinct AC accessory, it provide improved versatility/flexibility/convenience for users, esp. if there is a fault with the grid (¶’s [55-59]; thus further improving reliability that the load will be able to be provided)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole with Yang to provide improved convenience, flexibility, reliability, and versatility.
Smole is silent to power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source.
Ziegler teaches a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source (¶[23] describes the power plug 101 connection to AC-DC converter 50 is over a connection cable[i.e. power cord] in analogous circuit of Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a power cable implies an insulated wiring arrangement which provides improved safety/protection benefits over wiring which lacks such arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole in view of Yang with Ziegler to provide improved protection/safety.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers (USPGPN 20220402390; hereinafter Smole) in view of Lucas et al (USPGPN 20080089674), Yang et al (USPGPN 20130069429), and Ziegler et al (USPGPN 20180041062).
Independent Claim 20, Smole teaches an apparatus/product/system/device (abstract, ¶’s [02, 69] describes the device being powered includes an electric power tool, i.e. device {200 in Figs. [20, 22] or 750 in Fig. 24};
Figs. [1-25, esp. 1, 16-18, 20, 22, 24, particularly 20, 22, 24]) comprising:
a direct-current (DC) bus having a DC voltage (bus at node A in each of at least Figs. [20, 22, 24]), the device (200 in Fig. 20 via 101 & 613; 200 in Fig. 22 via 101 & 622; 200 via 751 & 752 in Fig. 24) being operably connected to receive power from the DC bus;
first power electronics (610 in Fig. 20, 620 in Fig. 22, 700 in Fig. 24, each are AC-DC converter electronic circuits) configured to provide power from an alternating-current (AC) power source (105 in Figs. [18, 22, 24]) to the DC bus;
second power electronics (611 in Fig. 20, 621 in Fig. 22, 730a & 730b in Fig. 24 as a DC-DC converter which one of ordinary skill in the art understands is electronic) configured to provide power from at least one battery pack (104 in Fig. 20, 624 in Fig. 22, 104a & 104b in Fig. 24, see ¶’s [73, 297, 316, 336] for description of these components as battery pack; ¶’s [301, 311, 328] at least describes this converter as bidirectional) to the DC bus; and
a controller configured to:
in a first operating mode, operate the first power electronics to provide power from the AC power source to the DC bus, at least one load of the device being provided with power from the DC bus in the first operating mode (¶[301] in Fig. 20, ¶[314] in Fig.22, ¶[325] in Fig.24); and
in a second operating mode, operate the second power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the DC bus, at least one load of the device being provided with power from the DC bus in the second operating mode (¶’s [301, 302] in Fig. 20, ¶’s [311, 312, 314, 315, 317, 318] in Fig. 22, ¶’s [324, 325] in Fig. 24 describes provision of power from the respective pack to the device/vehicle/power-tool).
the first power electronics including a bidirectional AC/DC converter configured to (i) provide power from the AC power source to the first DC bus by converting an AC voltage of the AC power source into the first DC voltage and (ii) provide power from the first DC bus to the AC accessory connected to the electrical outlet by converting the first DC voltage from the first DC bus into an AC voltage (assuming the claimed accessory is connected to/indistinct from the AC power source, ¶’s [295, 303, 328, 329]), and an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the claimed accessory is connected to/indistinct from the AC power source, ¶’s [295, 303, 328, 329]);
in a third operating mode, (i) operate the second power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the DC bus and (ii) operate the first power electronics to provide AC power from the DC bus to the AC accessory connected to the power supply (again, assuming the grid and the AC-accessory receive the same power, in light of the bidirectional ability of the converters and switches, it is capable).
Smole is silent to a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source; an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the AC-Accessory is distinct from the AC grid).
Smole is silent to a power tool comprising (noted as the power tool seems to be external to the main circuits of Smole): an electric motor configured to drive a tool (the power tools of Smole appears to describe a motor, including the power electric vehicle tool, but again, it appears to be external to the system in the figures); a direct-current (DC) bus having a DC voltage, the electric motor being operably connected to receive power from the DC bus; the electric motor being provided with power from the DC bus in the first operating mode; and the electric motor being provided with power from the DC bus in the second operating mode.
Lucas teaches a power tool (Figs. [1-10], with Figs. [1-5] showing the tool housing, with Figs. [6-10] showing more of the power circuitry), an electric motor configured to drive a tool (M1/M shown as 56 in Figs. [6, 8-10] is the motor, tool is the tool of Figs. [1-5]);
a direct-current (DC) bus having a DC voltage (node between 21, output of [100, 31, 56, 28], see Figs. [6, 8-10], at least ¶[13]), the electric motor being operably connected to receive power from the DC bus;
the electric motor being provided with power from the DC bus in the first operating mode; and the electric motor being provided with power from the DC bus in the second operating mode (mode is chosen by switching selection switch 21/21a, see ¶’s [16, 17, 23, 25-29, 32, 33, esp. 25-29], where 100 is shown to output DC, battery is known to output DC
{even though Figs. [6, 8-10] show the switch SW1 referring to 21/21a as a AC/DC switch, what it means to one of ordinary skill in the art is the source of the power is external AC or internal DC}). Lucas teaches that this operation serves to improve user convenience/satisfaction in being able to choose between extension cord or battery powered operation (¶[25: “A user selectable alternative power supply or power selection switch 21 is provided in order that the DC motor 56 may be user switchable from power sources, namely from an AC 120 volt 60 Hz power input representing line voltage should an extension cord or line voltage be readily accessible or alternatively, to a battery pack DC voltage provided on board of the mower, both power supplies selectable by the operator and both power supplies driving the same motor mounted on the lawnmower housing or deck 50. Such an option is highly desirable and unique in that the user may selectively operate the mower from various user selectable inputs representing alternative power inputs, a first power input being provided at the power selection switch 21 representing a power input line from a battery pack 52, and a second power input being provided at the power selection switch 21 representing the AC line 22”]). Thus, this is analogous to Smole and the present application. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having the components in a single housing which is portable, rather than a potential stationary housing paired with a mobile housing [and/or plural housings requiring an arm to pick up each housing], it serves to improve the convenience of the system by allowing the user to transport it around and improves satisfaction by making easier for the user to use it in more than one location.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole with Lucas to provide improved convenience and satisfaction
Smole is silent to a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source; an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the AC-Accessory is distinct from the AC grid).
Yang teaches an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (Fig. 1 shows AC accessory/load 4 connected to a different output than the grid 3 on an analogous circuit). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by being able to provide both power to both the grid and a distinct AC accessory, it provide improved versatility/flexibility/convenience for users, esp. if there is a fault with the grid (¶’s [55-59]; thus further improving reliability that the load will be able to be provided)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole in view of Lucas with Yang to provide improved convenience, flexibility, reliability, and versatility.
Smole is silent to power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source.
Ziegler teaches a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source (¶[23] describes the power plug 101 connection to AC-DC converter 50 is over a connection cable[i.e. power cord] in analogous circuit of Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a power cable implies an insulated wiring arrangement which provides improved safety/protection benefits over wiring which lacks such arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole in view of [Yang and Lucas] with Ziegler to provide improved protection/safety.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers (USPGPN 20220402390; hereinafter Smole) in view of Schumann et al (USPGPN 20240305128; hereinafter Schum), Yang et al (USPGPN 20130069429), and Ziegler et al (USPGPN 20180041062).
Independent Claim 1, Smole teaches a power supply for a device (abstract, ¶’s [02, 69] cites the device being powered includes an electric power tool, i.e. the claimed device {200 in Figs. [20, 22] or 750 in Fig. 24}), the power supply (Figs. [1-25, esp. 1, 16-18, 20, 22, 24, particularly 20, 22, 24]) comprising:
a first direct-current (DC) bus having a first DC voltage (bus at node A in each of at least Figs. [20, 22, 24]), the device (200 in Fig. 20 via 101 & 613; 200 in Fig. 22 via 101 & 622; 200 via 751 & 752 in Fig. 24) being configured to receive power from the first DC bus;
first power electronics (610 in Fig. 20, 620 in Fig. 22, 700 in Fig. 24, each are AC-DC converter electronic circuits) configured to provide power from an alternating-current (AC) power source (105 in Figs. [18, 22, 24]) to the DC bus;
second power electronics(611 in Fig. 20, 621 in Fig. 22, 730a & 730b in Fig. 24 as a DC-DC converter which one of ordinary skill in the art understands is electronic) configured to provide power from at least one battery pack (104 in Fig. 20, 624 in Fig. 22, 104a & 104b in Fig. 24, see ¶’s [73, 297, 316, 336] for description of these components as battery pack; ¶’s [301, 311, 328] at least describes this converter as bidirectional) to the DC bus;
a controller configured to:
in a first operating mode, operate the first power electronics to provide power from the AC power source to the first DC bus, at least one load of the device being provided with power from the first DC bus in the first operating mode (¶[301] describing Fig. 20, ¶[314] describing Fig.22, ¶[325] describing Fig.24); and
in a second operating mode, operate the second power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the first DC bus, at least one load of the device being provided with power from the first DC bus in the second operating mode (¶’s [301, 302] in Fig. 20, ¶’s [311, 312, 314, 315, 317, 318] in Fig. 22, ¶’s [324, 325] in Fig. 24 describes provision of power from the respective pack to the device/vehicle/power-tool);
the first power electronics including a bidirectional AC/DC converter configured to (i) provide power from the AC power source to the first DC bus by converting an AC voltage of the AC power source into the first DC voltage and (ii) provide power from the first DC bus to the AC accessory connected to the electrical outlet by converting the first DC voltage from the first DC bus into an AC voltage (assuming the claimed accessory is connected to/indistinct from the AC power source, ¶’s [295, 303, 328, 329]), and an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the claimed accessory is connected to/indistinct from the AC power source, ¶’s [295, 303, 328, 329]).
Smole is silent to a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source; an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the AC-Accessory is distinct from the AC grid); in a fourth operating mode, (i) operate the second power electronics and the third power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the first DC bus and (ii) operate the first power electronics to provide AC power from the first DC bus to the AC accessory connected to the power supply.
Smole is silent to a second DC bus having a second DC voltage, the second DC voltage being less than the first DC voltage; second power electronics configured to provide power from the second DC bus to the first DC bus; third power electronics configured to provide power from at least one battery pack to the second DC bus; and operate the second power electronics and the third power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the first DC bus.
Smole is silent to a second DC bus having a second DC voltage, the second DC voltage being less than the first DC voltage; second power electronics configured to provide power from the second DC bus to the first DC bus; third power electronics configured to provide power from at least one battery pack to the second DC bus; and operate the second power electronics and the third power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the first DC bus.
Schum teaches (in Figs. [1-11, esp. 11] a second DC bus having a second DC voltage, the second DC voltage being less than the first DC voltage (1st bus being 800V in Fig. 11, 2nd bus is ~240V in Fig. 11, 3rd bus is ~24-118V in Fig. 11, with 2nd bus being between 104 and 204);
second power electronics configured to provide power from the second DC bus to the first DC bus (104 is a DC-DC converter);
third power electronics configured to provide power from at least one battery pack to the second DC bus (204 is a DC-DC Converter, pack is 202 ¶[68]); and
operate the second power electronics and the third power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the first DC bus (¶’s [65-67] has these converters being bidirectional, as further evidenced by the two way arrows shown in Fig. 11). ¶[66] describes the extra converter 204 between the battery converter and the DC-DC converter 104 serves to improve the flexibility of the system in being able to accommodate more battery types. Analogous to the present application and Smole, Fig. 11 shows the provision of power from either the battery 202 or the grid[via 105] to the load 300.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole with Schum to provide improved flexibility.
The combination of Smole and Schum in a fourth operating mode, (i) operate the second power electronics and the third power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the first DC bus and (ii) operate the first power electronics to provide AC power from the first DC bus to the AC accessory connected to the power supply (again, assuming the grid and the AC-accessory receive the same power, in light of the bidirectional ability of the converters and switches, it is capable)
Smole is silent to a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source; an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (assuming the AC-Accessory is distinct from the AC grid).
Yang teaches an electrical outlet configured to connect the power supply to an AC accessory (Fig. 1 shows AC accessory/load 4 connected to a different output than the grid 3 on an analogous circuit). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by being able to provide both power to both the grid and a distinct AC accessory, it provide improved versatility/flexibility/convenience for users, esp. if there is a fault with the grid (¶’s [55-59]; thus further improving reliability that the load will be able to be provided)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole in view of Schum with Yang to provide improved convenience, flexibility, reliability, and versatility.
Smole is silent to power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source.
Ziegler teaches a power cord configured to connect the power supply to an alternating-current (AC) power source (¶[23] describes the power plug 101 connection to AC-DC converter 50 is over a connection cable[i.e. power cord] in analogous circuit of Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a power cable implies an insulated wiring arrangement which provides improved safety/protection benefits over wiring which lacks such arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole in view of [Yang and Schum] with Ziegler to provide improved protection/safety.
Dependent Claims 2 and 3, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the controller is configured to automatically switch to the first operating mode in response to the device being activated while the power supply is connected to the AC power source and the controller is configured to automatically switch to the second operating mode in response to the device being activated while the power supply is disconnected from the AC power source (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that theses limitations recite commonly used UPS [uninterruptible power supply] control algorithms, which many devices such as phones, laptops, and other battery powered devices which can operate based on both the battery and the grid emulate, where Schum specifically the system working as UPS, see ¶’s [41, 66, 67], official notice taken that these controlled functions are common for UPS and other analogous power supplies;
Smole and Schum’s converters/controllers are capable of performing this function, thus they are configured to do so).
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the controller being further configured to: in a third operating mode, (i) operate the first power electronics and the second power electronics to provide power from the AC power source to the second DC bus and (ii) operate the third power electronics to charge the at least one battery pack from the second DC bus (as described in ¶’s [65-67] of Schum, the provision of power bidirectionally causes the battery to be charged,
with Smole teaching similar limitations excluding the extra DC-DC converter)
Dependent Claim 5, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the controller is configured to automatically switch to the third operating mode in response to the device being deactivated while the power supply is connected to the AC power source (Smole and Schum’s converters/controllers are capable of performing this function, thus they are configured to do so).
Dependent Claim 7 the combination of Smole, Schum, Yang, and Ziegler teaches the controller is configured to automatically switch to the fourth operating mode in response to the power supply being connected to the AC accessory (Smole and Schum’s converters/controllers are capable of performing this function, thus they are configured to do so, Yang’s first switch 30 allows this capability).
Dependent Claim 8, the combination of Smole, Schum, Yang, and Ziegler teaches the AC accessory is a power tool (while Smole teaches an AC load as a power tool ¶[69], Yang teaches the AC power output can be provided to both a AC power supply/grid, and a distinct load, as described above, with the reasons provided above in Claim 1).
Dependent Claim 9, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the controller being further configured to: in a fifth operating mode, (i) operate the first power electronics to provide power from the AC power source to the first DC bus and (ii) operate the second power electronics and the third power electronics to provide power from the at least one battery pack to the first DC bus, at least one load of the device being provided with power from the first DC bus in the fifth operating mode (see at least Smole: ¶[301: “If the EV 200 can accept more power than output of the ACDC converter 610 can provide (in this example, 50 kW), then DCDC converter 611 may supplement the output by drawing energy from further DC source attached at DC input 102 (in this example, ESS 104) and performing a bidirectional DCDC conversion. In this example, DCDC converter 611 is rated to 125 kW so therefore the 400V combined output maximum is 175 kW. If the vehicle 200 communicates it has an onboard DC charger able to accept the voltage and parameters of ESS 104, then controller 300 can act to close switch 612 so that EV 200 may charge directly from the unregulated voltage source of ESS 104, which may be supplemented by converter 610 with switches 613 and 614 (if fitted) closed”]).
Dependent Claim 10, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the controller is configured to automatically switch to the fifth operating mode in response to a power requirement of the device exceeding a predetermined threshold while the power supply is connected to the AC power source (see at least ¶[301] of Smole, where as 300 provides the control of the converter the process is automatic, and
it describes a being over a set output [e.g. 50 kW]).
Dependent Claim 14, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the first power electronics include a bidirectional AC/DC converter configured to (i) provide power from the AC power source to the first DC bus by converting an AC voltage of the AC power source into the first DC voltage and (ii) provide power from the first DC bus to an AC accessory connected to the power supply by converting the first DC voltage from the first DC bus into an AC voltage (at least ¶[295] for Smole for bidirectional AC power provision;
where the grid is an accessory;
Schum further teaches the converter 105 is bidirectional).
Dependent Claim 16, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the second power electronics include a bidirectional DC/DC converter configured to (i) provide power from the second DC bus to the first DC bus by converting the second DC voltage of the second DC bus into the first DC voltage of the first DC bus and (ii) provide power from the first DC bus to the second DC bus by converting the first DC voltage of the first DC bus into the second DC voltage of the second DC bus (see esp. Schum, which has the converters being bidirectional in Fig. 11;
Smole further has bidirectional converters).
Dependent Claim 17, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the bidirectional DC/DC converter of the second power electronics is electrically isolated from the first DC bus and the second DC bus (¶[302] has DC/DC converter 611 of Fig. 20 being isolated, similarly converters[s] 730 of Fig. 24 is described as being isolate, ¶[330] in Smole, which would be analogous to the split converters of Schum, as described above).
Dependent Claim 18, the combination of Smole and Schum teaches the third power electronics include at least one bidirectional DC/DC converter configured to (i) provide power from the at least one battery pack to the second DC bus by converting a DC voltage of the at least one battery pack into the second DC voltage of the second DC bus and (ii) provide power from the second DC bus to the at least one battery pack by converting the second DC voltage of the second DC bus into the DC voltage of the at least one battery pack (204 of Schum is shown to be bidirectional).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smole in view of [Schum, Yang, and Ziegler], further in view of Lucas et al (USPGPN 20080089674)
Dependent Claims 11-13, Smole is silent to the power supply is integrated with the device (with respect to [wrt] Claim 11); the first DC bus provides power to an electric motor of the device (wrt Claim 12); and the device is a power tool (wrt Claim 13).
Lucas teaches a power tool (Figs. [1-10], with Figs. [1-5] showing the tool housing, with Figs. [6-10] showing more of the power circuitry), an electric motor configured to drive a tool (M1/M shown as 56 in Figs. [6, 8-10] is the motor, tool is the tool of Figs. [1-5]);
a direct-current (DC) bus having a DC voltage (node between 21, output of [100, 31, 56, 28], see Figs. [6, 8-10], at least ¶[13]), the electric motor being operably connected to receive power from the DC bus;
the power supply is integrated with the device (Figs. [1-10] showing the power tool integrated, with Figs. [1-5] showing the housing of the power tool, and Figs. [6-10] showing the circuit of the device including internal power supply).
Lucas teaches that this operation serves to improve user convenience/satisfaction in being able to choose between extension cord or battery powered operation (¶[25: “A user selectable alternative power supply or power selection switch 21 is provided in order that the DC motor 56 may be user switchable from power sources, namely from an AC 120 volt 60 Hz power input representing line voltage should an extension cord or line voltage be readily accessible or alternatively, to a battery pack DC voltage provided on board of the mower, both power supplies selectable by the operator and both power supplies driving the same motor mounted on the lawnmower housing or deck 50. Such an option is highly desirable and unique in that the user may selectively operate the mower from various user selectable inputs representing alternative power inputs, a first power input being provided at the power selection switch 21 representing a power input line from a battery pack 52, and a second power input being provided at the power selection switch 21 representing the AC line 22”]). Thus, this is analogous to Smole and the present application. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having the components in a single housing which is portable, rather than a potential stationary housing paired with a mobile housing [and/or plural housings requiring an arm to pick up each housing], it serves to improve the convenience of the system by allowing the user to transport it around and improves satisfaction by making easier for the user to use it in more than one location.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole in view of [Schum, Yang, and Ziegler] with Lucas to provide improved convenience and satisfaction
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smole in view of [Schum, Yang, and Ziegler], further in view of Swamy et al (USPGPN 20220200303)
Dependent Claim 15, Smole is silent to the bidirectional AC/DC converter has a totem-pole power factor correction topology.
Swamy teaches the bidirectional AC/DC converter has a totem-pole power factor correction topology (¶[71], Figs. [5-6D] describes the use of Totem pole PFC in the AC-DC converter 500 for the purposes of improved efficiency).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smole in view of [Schum, Yang, and Ziegler] with Swamy to provide improved efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859