DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and/or arguments submitted on 05/13/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-20 are pending:
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 103 art rejections by Zhang (US 11,523,473), Hall (US 10,292,212), Ahn (US 6,653,610), and Buck (US 4,162,381) have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts, page 11, that Zhang fails to disclose the amended scope of independent claims 1 and 16.
The office agrees. The office notes that the amended claim limitations most closely correspond to that of examined claim 3 which was rejected based on Zhang in view of Ahn.
Applicant asserts, page 11, that Hall fails to disclose the amended scope of independent claims 1 and 16.
The office agrees. The office notes that the amended claim limitations most closely correspond to that of examined claim 3 which was rejected based on Zhang in view of Ahn.
Applicant asserts, page 11, that “Zhang, Hall, Ahn, and Buck, alone or in any suitable combination, fails to disclose suggest or teach the subject matter of the amended claims.”
The office respectfully disagrees. The combination of Zhang in view of Ahn as applied in the prior office action reads upon the amended claim language, please see the corresponding rejections below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 11,523,473) in view of Ahn (US 6,653,610)
Claim 1
Zhang discloses:
“An over-the-range (Fig2, microwave oven 10, over-the-range arrangement seen in cabinetry 114/108 over countertop 116) microwave (microwave oven 10 seen by embodiment of Fig1-22) defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction (Fig1 best shows three-dimensional arrangement of oven 10 via isometric view), the over-the-range microwave comprising:
a cabinet (best seen Fig5-8, outer wrapper 80, top wall 12, right wall 14, left wall 16, bottom wall 20) having a top panel vertically spaced above a bottom panel (top wall 12 is vertically above bottom wall 20), the bottom panel defining a first exhaust vent opening (Fig10, bottom inlets 54/56), a first side panel laterally spaced from a second side panel (Fig8, right wall 14 laterally spaced from left wall 16), and a front panel transversely spaced from a back panel (Fig1/7, door 18 transversely spaced from rear wall 19), the cabinet further defining a cabinet exhaust vent (Fig11/12, outlet 52/44/46);
a first microwave oven enclosure (Fig8/16, cooking cavity 34) supported in the cabinet (Fig8, cooking cavity 34 supported within outer wrapper 80), the first microwave oven enclosure (Fig8/16, cooking cavity 34) defining a first cavity intake vent (Fig16, cavity inlet 96) and a first cavity exhaust vent (Fig16, cavity outlet 98);
a first exhaust duct (C9L14-17/ Fig10-12, air paths 92/93, with internal ducting regions best seen in Fig13-17 with internal flow arrows shown, duct voids also seen well in Fig9B/8) extending between the first exhaust vent opening (bottom inlets 54/56) and the cabinet exhaust vent (outlet 52/44/46);
a cooling discharge duct fluidly coupling (airflows 94) the first cavity exhaust vent and the … (Fig15/16, cavity outlet 98 fluidly connected to cavity inlet 96, which is fluidly connected to fan 70 which [C8L49-53] pulls air in from air outside oven wrapper);
a fan assembly (fans 66/70/74) comprising a first intake fan (cooling fan 70) fluidly coupled to the first cavity intake vent (Fig15-17, cooling fan 70 fluidly coupled to cavity inlet 96) and an exhaust fan (hood fan 66/74) fluidly coupled to the first exhaust duct (C8L67-45/ Fig7/8, hood fans 66/74 coupled to bottom inlets 54/56 of first exhaust duct), wherein the fan assembly is operable in a first cooling flow state where the first intake fan (cooling fan 70) operates to discharge a first flow of cooling air (flow 94 discharges outlet 44) through the … and in an exhaust flow state (Fig10-12) where the first intake fan (cooling fan 70) and the exhaust fan (hood fan 66/74) operate to discharge the first flow of cooling air (flow 94) and a first flow of exhaust air (flow 92/93) through the cabinet exhaust vent (outlet 52/44/46); and
a first electronics chamber (best seen Fig8, electronics cavity corresponding to region 84) … , whereby the first intake fan (cooling fan 70) urges cooling air from the first cavity intake vent (Fig15-17, cooling fan 70 fluidly coupled to cavity inlet 96), through the first electronics chamber (C8L50-53 / Fig15-17, cooling fan 70, cooking components 64, flow 94), and into the first microwave oven enclosure (Fig15-17, flow 94).”
Zhang discloses that cooling air flow 94 has an inlet 48 on top wall 12 and an outlet 44 on top wall 12.
Zhang is silent to the inlet for cooling air flow 94 being located on the bottom wall and thus part of “the first exhaust vent opening”. Zhang is further silent to the electronics cavity being located positioned directly, vertically, above the oven enclosure.
Zhang teaches (C10L24-37) that alternative airflow pathways by changing the inlet/outlet locations on wrapper 80 is within the scope of the disclosure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to merge airflow pathways of 92/93/94 with the wrapper fluid inlets of bottom inlets 54/56 and inlet 48, as Zhang teaches that such a modification is within the scope of the disclosure of Zhang even if that explicit combination is not shown in the particularly presented drawing embodiment, and the resulting arrangement has reasonable expectation of successfully providing Zhang with a working alternative airflow where the inlet 48 is moved from the top wall 12 to bottom wall 20 with bottom inlets 54/56.
The modified arrangement of Zhang is still silent to the electronics cavity being located positioned directly, vertically, above the oven enclosure.
Ahn teaches (Fig8, magnetron 8, transformer 6, cooking cavity 1, plate 4) that it is known in the art that a magnetron and a transformer are conventional electrical components in a microwave oven to produce microwaves, and that it is a known in the art arrangement selection to arrange the transformer and the magnetron vertically above the cooking cavity.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Zhang to include a transformer with the magnetron of Zhang, as such an addition of a transformer is merely adding a conventional microwave oven components in order to produce microwaves for cooking as taught by Ahn and as desired by Zhang, and to further arrange the conventional electrical components in a microwave oven to produce microwaves vertically above the cooking cavity as Ahn teaches that such a vertical arrangement location is a known in the art arrangement selection for a microwave oven, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing Zhang with known in the art conventional electrical components for a microwave oven to produce microwaves as taught by Ahn and in a known in the art arrangement location selection as taught by Ahn.
Claim 2
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn discloses:
“The over-the-range microwave of claim 1, wherein the first microwave oven enclosure (Zhang: Fig8/16, cooking cavity 34) comprises:
a first side wall laterally spaced from the first side panel (Fig8, cavity left wall spaced near left wall 16);
a second side wall laterally spaced from the first side wall (Fig8, cavity right wall spaced near right wall 14), the second side wall defining the first cavity … vent (Fig16, cavity right wall has cavity inlets 96);
an upper wall (Fig8, cavity top wall) extending laterally from the first side panel to the second side panel (Fig8, cavity top wall extends full left-right span) and spaced vertically below the top panel (Fig8, cavity top wall vertically below top wall 12), the upper wall forming a top wall of the first microwave oven enclosure (Fig8, cavity top wall); and
a lower wall (Fig8, cavity bottom wall, with turntable indention 76) extending laterally from the first side panel to the second side panel (Fig8, cavity bottom wall extends left-right direction) and spaced vertically above the bottom panel (Fig8, cavity bottom wall vertically above bottom wall 20), the lower wall forming a bottom wall of the first microwave oven enclosure (Fig8, cavity bottom wall, with turntable indention 76); and wherein the first exhaust duct is partially defined by the first side panel and the first side wall (best seen Fig13, flow 92 along left wall 16 and cavity left wall around left fan 74); and the cooling discharge duct is partially defined by the second side wall and the second side panel (best seen Fig8/15, flow 94 along right wall 14 and cavity right wall around fan 70).”
Zhang teaches (C10L24-37) that alternative airflow pathways by changing the inlet/outlet locations is within the scope of the disclosure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow cavity flow path to have the cavity outlet on the cavity right wall, as Zhang teaches that such a modification is within the scope of the disclosure of Zhang even if that explicit combination is not shown in the particularly presented drawing embodiment, and the resulting arrangement has reasonable expectation of successfully providing Zhang with a working alternative airflow.
Claim 3
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 1, wherein the first electronics chamber (Ahn: Fig8, magnetron 8, transformer 6, cooking cavity 1, plate 4) comprises: a first transformer (Ahn: Fig8, transformer 6) compartment positioned vertically above the first microwave oven enclosure (Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of transformer 6 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4); a first cavity air inlet (Zhang: Fig15-17, cavity inlets 96); and a first magnetron (Zhang: C8L6-7, magnetron is part of component area 64; Ahn: Fig8, magnetron 8) compartment positioned vertically above the first microwave oven enclosure (Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of magnetron 8 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4); and wherein the first intake fan fluidly couples the first transformer compartment and the first magnetron compartment (Zhang: C8L50-53 / Fig15-17, cooling fan 70, cooking components 64, flow 94).”
Claim 4
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 1, wherein the fan assembly (Zhang: fans 66/70/74) operating in the exhaust flow state urges the first flow of exhaust air into the cabinet through the first exhaust vent opening (limitation is within the bounds of the modification discussed in claim 1).”
Claim 5
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 4, wherein the exhaust fan (Zhang: hood fan 66/74) urges the first flow of exhaust air through an exhaust flow path comprising the first exhaust vent opening (Zhang: Fig10, bottom inlets 54/56), the first exhaust duct (Zhang: paths of flows 92/93), and the cabinet exhaust vent (Zhang: Fig11/12, outlet 52/44/46).”
Claim 6
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 5, wherein the cabinet exhaust vent is fluidly coupled to an external atmosphere (Zhang: best seen Fig10-12/21, flow arrows).”
Claim(s) 7-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 11,523,473) in view of Ahn (US 6,653,610), and in further view of Hall (US 10,292,212)
Claim 7
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn discloses the arrangement of claim 2.
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn is silent to a second microwave oven enclosure laterally spaced from cooking cavity 34, as claimed.
Hall teaches (Fig8a, cooking cavities 801/802; C9L23-27/Fig9a, first/second magnetron 903/904) that it is known in the art to form a microwave oven with two laterally spaced cooking cavities by duplicating the supporting/functioning structures for each cooking cavities.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn to have two laterally spaced cooking cavities with duplicated support structures for each cooking cavity, as Hall teaches that such a duplicated cooking cavity arrangement is a known in the art alternative arrangement to a single cooking cavity microwave oven, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement with two known and separately working microwave oven cooking cavities in a single arrangement, with duplicated support structures for each cooking cavity including duplicated electrical support, ie magnetron, and duplicated ducting / airflow of the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn to extend the known working of the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn to the second duplicated cooking cavity.
Claim 8
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 7, wherein the cooling discharge duct (Zhang: flow 94) is fluidly coupled to the second cavity exhaust vent (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7. Duplication of Zhang Fig16, cavity outlet 98 for second cooking cavity 34).”
Claim 9
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 8, wherein the cabinet further defines a second exhaust vent opening (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 2/7; Zhang inlet 48 moved to bottom wall 20 in Claim 2 mapping and duplicated in Claim 7 mapping, with duplicated bottom inlets 54/56).”
Claim 10
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 9 wherein the cooling discharge duct (Zhang: flow 94) is fluidly coupled to the second exhaust vent opening (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7. Duplication of Zhang Fig10-12/15-17, flow 94 to moved inlet 48 and bottom inlets 54/56 for second cooking cavity 34).”
Claim 11
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 9, further comprising a second exhaust duct (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7. Duplication of C9L14-17/ Fig10-12, air paths 92/93, with internal ducting regions best seen in Fig13-17 with internal flow arrows shown, duct voids also seen well in Fig9B/8) extending between the second exhaust vent opening (Zhang: Fig10, moved bottom inlet 48 / inlets 54/56) and the cabinet exhaust vent (Zhang: Fig11/12, outlet 52/44/46).”
Claim 12
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses:
“The over-the-range microwave of claim 11 wherein:
the fan assembly (Zhang: fans 66/70/74) further comprises a second intake fan (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7. Duplication of Zhang cooling fan 70 for second cooking cavity 34) fluidly coupled (Zhang: Cooling fan 70 inlet 48) to the second cavity intake vent (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7; Zhang cavity inlet 96 duplicated in Claim 7 mapping);
the exhaust fan (Zhang: hood fan 66/74) is fluidly coupled to the second exhaust duct (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7; duplication of Zhang, flow 92/93 for second cooking cavity 34); and
the fan assembly (Zhang: fans 66/70/74 and duplicates) is operable in a second cooling flow state where the second intake fan (duplicate cooling fan 70) operates to discharge a second flow of cooling air (Zhang: duplicate flow 94) through the second exhaust vent opening (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 2/7; Zhang inlet 48 moved to bottom wall 20 in Claim 2 mapping and duplicated in Claim 7 mapping with duplicated bottom inlets 54/56) and in a second exhaust flow state where the second intake fan (Zhang: duplicate cooling fan 70) and the exhaust fan (Zhang: duplicate hood fans 66/74) operate to discharge the second flow of cooling air (Zhang: duplicate flow 94) and a second flow of exhaust air (Zhang: duplicate flow 92/93) through the cabinet exhaust vent (Zhang: outlets 52/44/46 and duplicates).”
Claim 13
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 12, wherein the fan assembly (Zhang: fans 66/70/74 and duplicates) operating in the second exhaust flow state urges the second flow of exhaust air (Zhang: duplicate flow 92/93) into the cabinet (Zhang: wrapper 80) through the second exhaust vent opening (Zhang: duplicate bottom inlets 54/56 with moved bottom inlet 48).”
Claim 14
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses: “The over-the-range microwave of claim 12, wherein the second (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7. Duplication of Zhang Fig16, duplication of cooking cavity 34 and corresponding supporting/functioning structures) intake fan (Zhang: duplicate cooling fan 70) urges the second flow of cooling air (Zhang: duplicate flow 94) through a second electronics chamber (duplicate of: Zhang: cooking components 64; C8L50-53 / Fig15-17; Ahn: Fig8, magnetron 8, transformer 6, cooking cavity 1, plate 4) and the second microwave oven enclosure (Zhang: duplicate cooking cavity 34); and wherein the second electronics chamber (duplicate as taught above: Ahn: Fig8, magnetron 8, transformer 6, cooking cavity 1, plate 4) comprises: a second transformer (duplicate as taught above: Ahn: Fig8, transformer 6) compartment positioned vertically above the second microwave oven enclosure (duplicate as taught above: Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of transformer 6 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4); a second magnetron (duplicate as taught above: Zhang: C8L6-7, magnetron is part of component area 64; Ahn: Fig8, magnetron 8) compartment positioned vertically above the second microwave oven enclosure (duplicate as taught above: Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of magnetron 8 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4); a second cavity air inlet (duplicate as taught above: Zhang: Fig15-17, cavity inlets 96); and further wherein the second intake fan fluidly couples the second transformer compartment and the second magnetron compartment (duplicate as taught above: Zhang: C8L50-53 / Fig15-17, cooling fan 70, cooking components 64, flow 94).”
Claim 15
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses:
“The over-the-range microwave of claim 11, wherein the second microwave oven enclosure (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7; duplication of Zhang second cooking cavity 34) comprises:
a third side wall laterally spaced from the second side wall (Hall: best seen Fig8A, first cavity 801 has first and second side walls spaced laterally, with second cavity 802 having third and fourth side walls further spaced laterally with respect to each other and the first and second side walls);
a fourth side wall laterally spaced from the third side wall (Hall: best seen Fig8A, first cavity 801 has first and second side walls spaced laterally, with second cavity 802 having third and fourth side walls further spaced laterally with respect to each other and the first and second side walls);
and wherein:
the upper wall (Fig8, duplicate cavity top wall extension) forms a top wall (Fig8, duplicate cavity top wall extension) of the second microwave oven enclosure (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7; duplication of Zhang second cooking cavity 34);
the lower wall (Fig8, cavity bottom wall, with turntable indention 76) forms a bottom wall (Fig8, cavity bottom wall, with turntable indention 76) of the second microwave oven enclosure (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7; duplication of Zhang second cooking cavity 34);
the second exhaust duct (Zhang: flow 92/93) is partially defined by the second side panel and the fourth side wall (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7; duplication of Zhang second cooking cavity 34 duplicates the internal flow 92/93 ducting); and
the cooling discharge duct (Zhang: flow 94) is partially defined by the second side wall and the third side wall (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 7; duplication of Zhang flow 94 ducting regions on third side wall in a duplicated manner as discussed in the context of flow on second side wall for claim 2).”
Claim 16
Zhang discloses:
“An over-the-range dual (Fig2, microwave oven 10, over-the-range arrangement seen in cabinetry 114/108 over countertop 116) microwave (microwave oven 10 seen by embodiment of Fig1-22) defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction (Fig1 best shows three-dimensional arrangement of oven 10 via isometric view), the over-the-range dual microwave comprising:
a cabinet (best seen Fig5-8, outer wrapper 80, top wall 12, right wall 14, left wall 16, bottom wall 20) having a top panel vertically spaced above a bottom panel (top wall 12 is vertically above bottom wall 20), the bottom panel (bottom wall 20) defining a first exhaust vent opening (Fig10, bottom inlets 54/56) and …, a first side panel laterally spaced from a second side panel (Fig8, right wall 14 laterally spaced from left wall 16), and a front panel transversely spaced from a back panel (Fig1/7, door 18 transversely spaced from rear wall 19), the cabinet further defining a cabinet exhaust vent (Fig11/12, outlet 52/44/46);
a first microwave oven enclosure (Fig8/16, cooking cavity 34) supported in the cabinet (Fig8, cooking cavity 34 supported within outer wrapper 80), the first microwave oven enclosure defining a first cavity intake vent (Fig16, cavity inlet 96) and a first cavity exhaust vent (Fig16, cavity outlet 98);
…;
a first exhaust duct (C9L14-17/ Fig10-12, air paths 92/93, with internal ducting regions best seen in Fig13-17 with internal flow arrows shown, duct voids also seen well in Fig9B/8) extending between the first exhaust vent opening (bottom inlets 54/56) and the cabinet exhaust vent (outlet 52/44/46) and …;
a cooling discharge duct (flow 94) fluidly coupling the first cavity exhaust vent, … (Fig15/16, cavity outlet 98 fluidly connected to cavity inlet 96, which is fluidly connected to fan 70 which [C8L49-53] pulls air in from air outside oven wrapper) …;
a fan assembly (fans 66/70/74) comprising a first intake fan (cooling fan 70) fluidly coupled to the first cavity intake vent (Fig15-17, cooling fan 70 fluidly coupled to cavity inlet 96), …, and an exhaust fan (hood fan 66/74) fluidly coupled to the first exhaust duct (C8L67-45/ Fig7/8, hood fans 66/74 coupled to bottom inlets 54/56 of first exhaust duct) and …,
a first electronics chamber (best seen Fig8, electronics cavity corresponding to region 84) … , whereby the first intake fan (cooling fan 70) urges cooling air from the first cavity intake vent (Fig15-17, cooling fan 70 fluidly coupled to cavity inlet 96), through the first electronics chamber (C8L50-53 / Fig15-17, cooling fan 70, cooking components 64, flow 94), and into the first microwave oven enclosure (Fig15-17, flow 94); and
…
wherein the first intake fan (cooling fan 70) is operable to discharge a first flow of cooling air (flaw 94) through…, …; and the exhaust fan (hood fan 66/74) is operable to discharge one or more of the first flow of cooling air (flow 94) and … with a flow of exhaust air (flow 92/93) through the cabinet exhaust vent (outlet 52/44/46) in an exhaust flow state.”
Zhang discloses that cooling air flow 94 has an inlet 48 on top wall 12 and an outlet 44 on top wall 12.
Zhang is silent to the inlet for cooling air flow 94 being located on the bottom wall and thus part of “the first exhaust vent opening”.
Zhang teaches (C10L24-37) that alternative airflow pathways by changing the inlet/outlet locations on wrapper 80 is within the scope of the disclosure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to merge airflow pathways of 92/93/94 with the wrapper fluid inlets of bottom inlets 54/56 and inlet 48, as Zhang teaches that such a modification is within the scope of the disclosure of Zhang even if that explicit combination is not shown in the particularly presented drawing embodiment, and the resulting arrangement has reasonable expectation of successfully providing Zhang with a working alternative airflow where the inlet 48 is moved from the top wall 12 to bottom wall 20 with bottom inlets 54/56.
The modified arrangement of Zhang is still silent to the electronics cavity being located positioned directly, vertically, above the oven enclosure.
Ahn teaches (Fig8, magnetron 8, transformer 6, cooking cavity 1, plate 4) that it is known in the art that a magnetron and a transformer are conventional electrical components in a microwave oven to produce microwaves, and that it is a known in the art arrangement selection to arrange the transformer and the magnetron vertically above the cooking cavity.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Zhang to include a transformer with the magnetron of Zhang, as such an addition of a transformer is merely adding a conventional microwave oven components in order to produce microwaves for cooking as taught by Ahn and as desired by Zhang, and to further arrange the conventional electrical components in a microwave oven to produce microwaves vertically above the cooking cavity as Ahn teaches that such a vertical arrangement location is a known in the art arrangement selection for a microwave oven, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing Zhang with known in the art conventional electrical components for a microwave oven to produce microwaves as taught by Ahn and in a known in the art arrangement location selection as taught by Ahn.
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn is further silent to a second microwave oven enclosure laterally spaced from the first cooking cavity 34, as claimed above, and the corresponding second duplications of “second” exhaust duct/vent opening as claimed above.
Hall teaches (Fig8a, cooking cavities 801/802; C9L23-27/Fig9a, first/second magnetron 903/904) that it is known in the art to form a microwave oven with two laterally spaced cooking cavities by duplicating the supporting structures for each cooking cavities.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn to have two laterally spaced cooking cavities with duplicated support structures for each cooking cavity, as Hall teaches that such a duplicated cooking cavity arrangement is a known in the art alternative arrangement to a single cooking cavity microwave oven, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement with two known and separately working microwave oven cooking cavities in a single arrangement, with duplicated support structures for each cooking cavity including duplicated electrical support, ie magnetron, and duplicated ducting / airflow of the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn to extend the known working of the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn to the second duplicated cooking cavity.
Claim 20
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall discloses:
“The over-the-range dual microwave of claim 16, further comprising:
a mullion (Hall: Fig8A, mullion between cooking cavities 801/802) separating the first and second microwave oven enclosures at the front panel of the cabinet (Hall: Fig8A, mullion between cooking cavities 801/802);
a first door (Hall: Fig8a, first door for cavity 801) comprising a first end (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 pivot mounted on left wall 16) rotatably mounted to the cabinet at a first side (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 pivot mounted on left wall 16) for rotation between a closed position (Zhang: Fig3/7, door 18 closed) in which the first door encloses the first microwave oven enclosure (Zhang: Fig3/7, door 18 closed encloses cooking cavity 34) and a second end (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 hook/slot feature on end of right wall 14) of the first door engages a portion of the mullion (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 hook/slot feature in mullion on end of right wall 14), and an open position (Zhang: Fig4, door 18 open); and
a second door (Hall: Fig8a, second door for cavity 802; duplicate door of Zhang within the scope of the combination as discussed above in Claim 16) comprising a first end (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 pivot mounted on left wall 16) rotatably mounted to the cabinet at a second side (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 pivot mounted on left wall 16) for rotation between a closed position (Zhang: Fig3/7, door 18 closed) in which the second door encloses the second microwave oven enclosure (Zhang: Fig3/7, door 18 closed encloses cooking cavity 34 duplicate) and a second end (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 hook/slot feature on end of right wall 14) of the second door (Zhang: duplicate door 18) engages a portion of the mullion (Zhang: Fig3/4/7, door 18 hook/slot feature in mullion on end of right wall 14), and an open position (Zhang: Fig4, door 18 open).”
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 11,523,473) in view of Ahn (US 6,653,610) and Hall (US 10,292,212), and in further view of Buck (US 4,162,381)
Claim 17
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall as discussed in Claim 16 above, discloses:
“The over-the-range dual microwave of claim 16, further comprising:
a first … duct (Zhang Fig11/15-17, duct of flow 94 between cavity outlet 98 and wrapper outlet 44) having a first end in fluid communication with the first microwave oven enclosure (Zhang: Fig11/15-17, first end of duct at cavity outlet 98), a second end in fluid communication with an external atmosphere (Zhang: Fig11/15-17, second end of duct at wrapper 80 outlet 44) through a first … duct exhaust (Zhang: Fig11/15-17, outlet 44) formed in the front panel vertically above (Zhang Fig17, outlet 44 is formed with front panel and is located vertically above the cooking cavity 34) the second microwave oven enclosure (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 16. Duplication of Zhang cooking cavity 34.), and … ; and
a second … duct (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 16. Duplication of (Zhang Fig11/15-17, duct of flow 94 between cavity outlet 98 and wrapper outlet 44) having a first end in fluid communication with the second microwave oven enclosure (duplicate Zhang: Fig11/15-17, first end of duct at cavity outlet 98), a second end in fluid communication with the external atmosphere (duplicate Zhang: Fig11/15-17, second end of duct at wrapper 80 outlet 44) through a second … duct exhaust (duplicate Zhang: Fig11/15-17, outlet 44) formed in the front panel vertically above (duplicate Zhang Fig17, outlet 44 is formed with front panel and is located vertically above the cooking cavity 34. Vertical location is above both first/second cooking cavity 34 due to lateral arrangement of the two cooking cavities 34) the first microwave oven enclosure (Zhang: cooking cavity 34), and …; and
wherein a portion of the first flow of cooling air (Zhang: flow 94) is urged to flow through the first … duct in the first cooling flow state (Zhang: Fig15-17/11, flow 94 in duct downstream of cavity outlet 98) and a portion of the second flow of cooling air (Zhang: duplicate flow 94) is urged to flow through the second … duct in the second cooling flow state (duplicate Zhang: Fig15-17/11, flow 94 in duct downstream of cavity outlet 98).”
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall as discussed in Claim 16 above is silent to a humidity sensor in the first/second duct of flow 94 between cavity outlet 98 and wrapper outlet 44 as seen in Zhang.
Buck teaches (Fig1/7/5/4, humidity sensor 32, heating cavity 30 exit ports ventilation holes 36, flow arrows, top ventilation holes 38, hood duct 42) that it is known to locate humidity sensor 32 within hood duct 42 that defines a cooling duct fluidly between the top ventilation holes 38 and heating cavity 30 exit ports ventilation holes 36. Buck teaches (C2L3-13) that the application of humidity sensors provides the advantage of improved control of the heating cavity of the microwave oven due to sense the active humidity conditions thus allowing improved cooking algorithms.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall to add a humidity sensor within the respective first and second cooling air 94 duct that fluidly connects the cooking cavity 34 outlets 98 with the wrapper outlet 44 for each of the cooking cavities 34 as taught by Buck, as such a modification would provide the advantage of improved control of the heating cavity of the microwave oven due to sense the active humidity conditions thus allowing improved cooking algorithms, as taught by Buck, for each of the two cooking cavities, and the resulting arrangement has reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall as discussed in Claim 16 above with improved function due to improved sensing from the humidity sensor as taught by Buck.
Claim 18
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall as discussed in Claim 16 above, discloses:
“The over-the-range dual microwave of claim 16, further comprising:
a first transformer (Ahn: Fig8, transformer 6) positioned in a first transformer compartment above the first microwave oven enclosure (Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of transformer 6 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4);
a first magnetron (Zhang: C8L6-7, magnetron is part of component area 64; Ahn: Fig8, magnetron 8) positioned in a first magnetron compartment above the first microwave oven enclosure (Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of magnetron 8 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4);
a first waveguide (Zhang: best seen Fig7, unlabeled waveguide to the left of component area 64 along the top wall of cooking cavity 34) … ;
… ;
a second transformer (duplicate as taught above: Ahn: Fig8, transformer 6) positioned in a second transformer compartment above the second microwave oven enclosure (duplicate as taught above: Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of transformer 6 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4);
a second magnetron (duplicate as taught above: Zhang: C8L6-7, magnetron is part of component area 64; Ahn: Fig8, magnetron 8) positioned in a second magnetron compartment above the second microwave oven enclosure (duplicate as taught above: Ahn: Fig8, arrangement of magnetron 8 above cooking cavity 1, plate 4);
a second waveguide (limitation is within the bounds of the modification as discussed in claim 16. Duplication of Zhang Fig7 unlabeled waveguide to the left of component area 64 along the top wall of cooking cavity 34) … ;
… ; and
wherein the first intake fan (Zhang: cooling fan 70) further urges the first flow of cooling air (Zhang: flow 94) through … and the first magnetron compartment (Zhang: C8L50-53 / Fig15-17, cooling fan 70, cooking components 64, flow 94), and the second intake fan (Zhang: duplicate cooling fan 70) further urges the second flow of cooling air (Zhang: duplicate flow 94) through … and the second magnetron compartment (Zhang: duplicate C8L50-53 / Fig15-17, cooling fan 70, cooking components 64, flow 94).”
Zhang discloses (C8L3-23) that cooking component area 64 has conventional microwave oven components in order to produce microwaves for cooking cavity 34.
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Hall and Ahn is silent to the first/second mode stirrer coupled to the waveguide.
Buck teaches (Fig3-5, waveguide 52, magnetron 50, mode stirrer 54, mode stirrer motor 56) that it is known to form a waveguide 50 between the magnetron 52, on the side of the cooking cavity 30, and the mode stirrer 54, on top of the cooking cavity 30. Buck further teaches (C5L7-12) that these structures are known conventional microwave oven components in order to produce microwaves for the cooking cavity.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall to apply a waveguide between the magnetron of modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall and add a mode stirrer arrangement to modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall for each of the first/second cooking cavities, as such an addition/modification would merely be a continuation of including conventional microwave oven components in order to produce microwaves for the cooking cavity that one of ordinary skill in the art would have to add in order to practice the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall with a mode stirrer and waveguide along the vertical side wall of the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall for each of the first/second cooking cavities, as Buck teaches that the stirrer/waveguide/magnetron arrangement is to be located on the top and side wall of the cooking cavity, and the modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn and Hall has selected to locate the first/second magnetrons on the top of the cooking cavities thus leaving the first/second stirrer/waveguide location to be on the respective sidewalls, as such an arrangement is a known in the art arrangement selection as taught by Buck.
Claim 19
The modified arrangement of Zhang by the teachings of Ahn, Hall, and Buck discloses: “The over-the-range dual microwave of claim 18, wherein the first mode stirrer is coupled to a first side wall of the first microwave oven enclosure (limitation is within the scope of the combination as discussed in Claim 18) and the second mode stirrer is coupled to a fourth side wall of the second microwave oven enclosure (limitation is within the scope of the combination as discussed in Claim 18).”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761