DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 1/20/2026.
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending.
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to Applicant’s reply filed under 3 CFR 1.111 on 1/20/2026. Claims 1,6,8-10,14,19, and 20 were amended, claim 7 is canceled, claim 21 was added and claims 1-6 and 8-21 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,12,14-18,20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. 2018/0249341)(P1 hereafter) in view of Wan et al. (US Pub. 2020/0186266)(W1 hereafter) in further view of Udeshi et al. (US Pub. 2017/0215085)(U1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1,14 and 20, P1 teaches a computing system (i.e. electronic device)[refer Fig. 1; 101] comprising: a memory [refer Fig. 1; 130]; and one or more processor devices (i.e. processor)[refer Fig. 1; 120] coupled to the memory [refer Fig. 1; 110] to:
identify a plurality of candidate locations (i.e. several locations) for deployment of a wireless base station (i.e. the second base station) within a particular area (i.e. specific location)[paragraph 0094];
evaluate a set of information to obtain predicted signal information comprising a respective plurality of signal strength predictions associated with deployment of the wireless base station at the plurality of candidate locations (the electronic device may predict, based on a value related to communication state that includes RSSI or link speed, a value that is used to determine whether positioning an access point to a location is suitable)[paragraph 0094],
the set of information comprises signal strength measurements (i.e. RSSI) reported by wireless devices (i.e. access points) while located within the particular area [paragraph 0094]; and
based on the predicted signal information, determine a particular candidate location (i.e. optimal location) of the plurality of candidate locations for deployment of the wireless base station [paragraph 0095].
However, P1 fails to disclose evaluate a set of information with a signal prediction model to obtain predicted signal information.
W1, in the field of installation of customer premises equipment for wireless service [refer paragraph 0002], discloses statistical models that provide signal strength prediction for geographical regions organized as a grid [paragraph 0021].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate a statistical model for signal strength prediction as taught by W1. One would be motivated to do so to provide reasonable accurate predictions so as to lead to installation success [refer W1; paragraph 0022].
However, P1 in view of W1 fails to disclose the deployment is within a particular area by a first network service provider, and communicating with one or more existing wireless base stations, the wireless devices and the one or more existing base stations being within either the particular area or another area, and a first existing wireless base station of the one or more existing wireless base stations is deployed by a second network service provider different from the first network service provider.
U1, in the same field of endeavor [refer Abstract], discloses using usage, business and land information to identify regions where it is beneficial to install new access points for a service provider, TWC, [paragraph 0047], the service provider TWC can collect the usage information from subscribers to determine how much non-TWC wireless resources from additional service providers (i.e. existing wireless base stations deployed by second network provider)[paragraph 0188] in order to determine whether the TWC service provider can install one or more access points in geographical regions to expand current coverage [paragraph 0224].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate analyzing a cost of installing a wireless access point in a geographical location serviced by another service provider as taught by U1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying a location that can provide optimal wireless coverage [refer U1; paragraph 0007].
Regarding claims 2 and 15, P1 fails to disclose evaluating the set of information with the signal prediction model to obtain the predicted signal information comprises: generating the signal prediction model based at least in part on high-resolution geographic information for the area, the high-resolution geographic information is descriptive of terrain within the area and dimensions for buildings located within the area.
W1, in the field of installation of customer premises equipment for wireless service [refer paragraph 0002], discloses statistical models that provide signal strength prediction for geographical regions organized as a grid [paragraph 0021], image date representative of locations determined can be actual images of geographic locations that display objects such as buildings and other structures [paragraph 0032][refer Fig. 1A; 100A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate a statistical model for signal strength prediction that includes the use of image data for obstructions as taught by W1. One would be motivated to do so to provide reasonable accurate predictions so as to lead to installation success [refer W1; paragraph 0022].
Regarding claims 3 and 16, P1 fails to disclose evaluating the set of information with the signal prediction model to obtain the predicted signal information comprises: processing the set of information with the signal prediction model to obtain the predicted signal information, the predicted signal information comprises, for each of the plurality of candidate locations:
a predicted signal strength map indicative of a predicted signal strength for signaling received at each portion of a map of the particular area from a wireless base station deployed at the candidate location; and
a predicted interference map indicative of a predicted interference for signaling received at each portion of the map of the particular area from the wireless base station deployed at the candidate location.
W1, in the field of installation of customer premises equipment for wireless service [refer paragraph 0002], discloses statistical models that provide signal strength prediction for geographical regions organized as a grid (i.e. portion of a map of the particular area)[paragraph 0021], image date representative of locations determined can be actual images of geographic locations that display objects that obstruct lone of site and causes NLOS conditions (i.e. interference) such as buildings and other structures [paragraph 0032][refer Fig. 1A; 100A], foliage and terrain blocking data can provide information for the statistical model to provide a probability of the signal being blocked (i.e. interference)[paragraph 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate a statistical model for signal strength prediction that includes the use of image data for obstructions (i.e. interference) as taught by W1. One would be motivated to do so to provide reasonable accurate predictions so as to lead to installation success [refer W1; paragraph 0022].
Regarding claims 4 and 17, P1 in view of W1 teaches processing the set of information with the signal prediction model further comprises: for each of the plurality of candidate locations (i.e. for several locations), determining an estimated value (i.e. value related to communication state) associated with deployment of the wireless base station to the candidate location [paragraph 0094], the estimated value is based at least in part on the predicted signal information (i.e. RSSI) for the candidate location [paragraph 0094].
However, P1 fails to disclose a cost associated with deployment of the wireless base station to the candidate location.
U1, in the field of determining wireless access point installation, discloses estimating a cost of installing a wireless access point within a geographical region [paragraph 0072].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate analyzing a cost of installing a wireless access point in a geographical location as taught by U1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying a location that can provide optimal wireless coverage [refer U1; paragraph 0007].
Regarding claims 5 and 18, P1 in view of W1 fails to disclose determining the particular candidate location of the plurality of candidate locations for the deployment of the wireless base station comprises: determining the particular candidate location based on the estimated value associated with deployment of the wireless base station at the particular candidate location being higher than the estimated value associated with deployment of the wireless base station at any other candidate location.
U1, in the field of determining wireless access point installation, discloses estimating a cost of installing a wireless access point within a geographical region [paragraph 0072], a map can indicate geographical locations that are good candidates, some predicted as being better value than others [paragraph 0231].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate analyzing a cost of installing a wireless access point in a geographical location as taught by U1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying a location that can provide optimal wireless coverage [refer U1; paragraph 0007].
Regarding claim 12, P1 teaches identifying the plurality of candidate locations for deployment of the wireless base station within a particular area [paragraph 0094] comprises: obtaining, by the computing system, field reporting information (i.e. map information), for each of the plurality of candidate locations [paragraph 0127], the field reporting information is descriptive of at least one of: coordinates for the candidate location [paragraph 0125]; and
the set of information comprises the field reporting information (the device acquires map information of a space to perform measurements, the absolute location (e.g. coordinates) are based on the map of the location)[paragraph 0125].
Regarding claim 21, P1 fails to disclose that each of the one or more existing wireless base stations is located at a location different than any of the plurality of candidate locations.
U1, in the same field of endeavor [refer Abstract], discloses using usage, business and land information to identify regions where it is beneficial to install new access points for a service provider, TWC, [paragraph 0047], the service provider TWC can collect the usage information from subscribers to determine how much non-TWC wireless resources from additional service providers (i.e. existing wireless base stations deployed by second network provider)[paragraph 0188] in order to determine whether the TWC service provider can install one or more access points in geographical regions to expand current coverage [paragraph 0224].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate analyzing a cost of installing a wireless access point in a geographical location serviced by another service provider as taught by U1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying a location that can provide optimal wireless coverage [refer U1; paragraph 0007].
Claims 6,8,9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over P1 in view of W1 in further view of U1, as applied to claims 1 and 14, in further view of Randall et al. (US Pub. 2016/0157106)(R1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, P1 fails to disclose prior to evaluating the set of information, the one or more processor devices are to: obtain base station configuration information for one or more existing wireless base stations within the particular area; and
the set of information further comprises the base station configuration information.
R1, in the field of providing a recommendation for deployment of one or more base stations based on simulation analysis [refer Abstract], discloses defining cells and coordinating radio link protocols in which for a small cell can comprise of configuration parameters for controlling the aspects of the cell site, such parameters can be altered to change network behavior for the deployment of base stations [paragraph 0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate the deployment of base stations by acquiring and changing configuration parameters for a small network cell as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide efficient planning and deployment of wireless communications [refer R1; paragraph 0003].
Regarding claim 8, P1 fails to disclose obtaining the base station configuration information for the one or more existing wireless base stations comprises obtaining second base station configuration information for a second existing wireless base station, the second existing wireless base station is associated with the first network service provider.
R1, in the field of providing a recommendation for deployment of one or more base stations based on simulation analysis [refer Abstract], discloses defining cells and coordinating radio link protocols in which for a small cell can comprise of configuration parameters for controlling the aspects of the cell site, such parameters can be altered to change network behavior for the deployment of base stations that are part of a network controlled by network service providers [paragraph 0064], the communication between network providers and/or subscribers done using known protocols [paragraph 0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate the deployment of base stations that communication between network providers by acquiring and changing configuration parameters for a small network cell as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide efficient planning and deployment of wireless communications [refer R1; paragraph 0003].
Regarding claim 9, P1 teaches obtaining the second base station configuration information for the second existing wireless base station further comprises obtaining, by the computing system, first base station configuration information for the first existing wireless base station.
R1, in the field of providing a recommendation for deployment of one or more base stations based on simulation analysis [refer Abstract], discloses defining cells and coordinating radio link protocols in which for a small cell can comprise of configuration parameters for controlling the aspects of the cell site, such parameters can be altered to change network behavior for the deployment of base stations that are part of a network controlled by network service providers [paragraph 0064], the communication between network providers and/or subscribers done using known protocols [paragraph 0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate the deployment of base stations that communication between network providers by acquiring and changing configuration parameters for a small network cell as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide efficient planning and deployment of wireless communications [refer R1; paragraph 0003].
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over P1 in view of W1 in further view of U1, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Tabet et al. (US Pub. 2017/0273031)(T1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 10, P1 fails to disclose that prior to evaluating the set of information, the method comprises: obtaining, by the computing system, information indicative of a link budget for network services provided in the first network service provider within the particular area; and the set of information further comprises the information indicative of the link budget for the network services provided by the first network service provider within the particular area.
T1 discloses, for a network that defines a communication area served by a base station (i.e. service provider within a particular area)[paragraph 0065], radio link monitoring using link-budget limited devices in which a network can use an agreed upon protocol and the network can enable special link budget features for UEs for that network [paragraph 0090].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate radio monitoring using link budget devices within a network as taught by T1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improved wireless communication services for devices that can be link-budget limited [refer T1; paragraph 0009].
Regarding claim 11, P1 fails to disclose obtaining the information indicative of the link budget for the network services provided by the first network service provider within the particular area comprises: determining, by the computing system, the information indicative of the link budget for the network services provided by the first network service provider within the particular area based at least in part on at least one of: an estimated transmit power for wireless devices within the particular area.
T1 discloses, for a network that defines a communication area served by a base station (i.e. service provider within a particular area)[paragraph 0065], radio link monitoring using link-budget limited devices in which a network can use an agreed upon protocol and the network can enable special link budget features for UEs for that network [paragraph 0090], for networks performing using link budget characteristics, devices operate using an expected power spectrum or range for transmission of control and data signaling [paragraph 0085].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate radio monitoring using link budget devices within a network as taught by T1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improved wireless communication services for devices that can be link-budget limited [refer T1; paragraph 0009].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over P1 in view of W1 in further view of U1, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Vankayala et al. (US Pub. 2023/0037893)(V1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 13, P1 teaches obtaining, by the computing system, signal strength measurements for signaling received by wireless devices from a wireless base station deployed at the particular candidate location [paragraph 0094].
However, P1 in view of W1 fails to disclose updating, by the computing system, the signal prediction model based on a difference between the signal strength measurements and the predicted signal information.
V1, in the field of generating a radio coverage map for a network [refer Abstract], discloses that a model can be trained from a plurality of sources in a wireless network and the output of a neural network provides a radio map that is compared with a real radio map collected at a base station and the difference between the two is used to update the model [paragraph 0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] in view of W1 for providing a statistical model for prediction of RF signal quality [refer W1; Abstract] to incorporate the updating of a model for radio coverage as taught by V1. One would be motivated to do so to provide better quality of experience for installing of base stations [refer V1; paragraph 0009].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1,14 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Udeshi et al. (US Pub. 2017/0215085)(U1 hereafter) as noted in the above rejection.
Regarding claims 1,14 and 20, applicant argues that the applied references does not teach newly added claim limitation, namely, “the deployment is within a particular area by a first network service provider, and communicating with one or more existing wireless base stations, the wireless devices and the one or more existing base stations being within either the particular area or another area, and a first existing wireless base station of the one or more existing wireless base stations is deployed by a second network service provider different from the first network service provider”.
In response to the above-mentioned argument, examiner respectively directs the applicant to the new grounds of rejection in view of U1, as noted in the above rejection.
Although P1 in view of W1 fails to disclose the afore mentioned claim limitations, the disclosure of U1 is noted for meeting this deficiency. As noted in the rejection, U1 is noted for identifying geographical locations and resources to support the installation of access points a location of any existing wireless access points already installed [refer Abstract]. U1 notably discloses using usage, business and land information to identify regions where it is beneficial to install new access points for a service provider, TWC, [paragraph 0047], the service provider TWC can collect the usage information from subscribers to determine how much non-TWC wireless resources from additional service providers (i.e. existing wireless base stations deployed by second network provider)[paragraph 0188] in order to determine whether the TWC service provider can install one or more access points in geographical regions to expand current coverage [paragraph 0224].
Accordingly, examiner reasons that based upon this disclosure that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of P1 for predicting a value related to positioning an access point [refer P1; paragraph 0094] to incorporate analyzing a cost of installing a wireless access point in a geographical location serviced by another service provider as taught by U1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying a location that can provide optimal wireless coverage [refer U1; paragraph 0007].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan Kavleski
/R.C.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412