DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-21, 23-27 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou et al (US 2024/0107512, hereinafter Gou), in view of Rastegardoost et al (US 2023/0189232, hereinafter Rastegardoost), in view of Liu et al (US 2022/0321313, hereinafter Liu) and in view of Grant et al (US 2025/0254018, hereinafter Grant, claiming priority date of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 1, Gou discloses a user equipment (UE, Fig. 2) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more antennas and one or more processors (UE antenna, Para [0047], memory and processor, Fig. 2), coupled to the one or more memories, that are individually or collectively configured to: receive a first configuration of at least one of an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) or a downlink BWP (receiving indication of the BWP configuration by a UE, Para [0057], BWP is configured for a UE by a BS, Para [0055], UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039]); receive a second configuration of at least one of an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band (receiving indication of the sub-band BWP configuration by a UE, Para [0057], sub-band within the BWP is configured for a UE by the BS, Para [0055], UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067]); and identify at least one of frequency resources associated with transmitting an uplink communication or frequency resources associated with receiving a downlink communication based at least in part on the first configuration and the second configuration (the BWP configuration specifies a frequency range of the BWP, Para [0058], the sub-band configuration specifies a frequency sub-band within the BWP frequency range, Para [0059], first and second sub-band can be configured for DL and UL transmission, Para [0064], UE identifies frequency limits of a configured BWP and sub-band BWP and determine if sub-band is a DL or UL sub-band, Para [0071]); but does not disclose the second configuration includes a parameter identifying an offset of the at least one of the uplink sub-band or downlink sub-band from a common reference point and determine the location of the at least one uplink sub-band or the downlink sub-band using the offset. Rastegardoost discloses configuration parameters can indicate plurality of sub-bands and starting RB position predefined from offset with respect to point A, Para [0290] and an offset in frequency domain from point A, Para [0310]. Liu discloses configuration of BWP may include frequency domain position of a common reference point (point A), where an RB starts from an offset relative to the common reference point, Para [0157]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rastegardoost and Liu in the system of Gou in order to improve uplink performance by providing frequency diversity and interference averaging and to improve cooperation between terminals for better reliability of receiving data; and does not disclose the UL or DL sub-band is of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol. Grant discloses new parameter enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RB, called RB sets (i.e. sub-bands) for each symbol configured for SBFD operation, the configuration consists of start RB index, Para [0092] or see Para [0035] from the provisional, the UL and DL sub-band in the SBFD symbol can be offset as in view of Rastegardoost and Liu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Grant in the system of Gou in view of Rastegardoost and Liu in order to improve efficiency of resources and configure UE with subbands of different directions.
Regarding claim 3, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first configuration includes a configuration of the uplink BWP, wherein the second configuration includes a configuration of the uplink sub-band, and wherein frequency resources associated with the uplink BWP contain frequency resources associated with the uplink sub-band (UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039] and UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067], in this case the BWP and sub-band is an UL BWP and sub-band, sub-band is within the frequency of the BWP, Para [0005]).
Regarding claims 4 and 31, Gou discloses the UE/method of claim 1/29, wherein the first configuration includes a configuration of the uplink BWP, wherein the second configuration includes a configuration of the uplink sub-band, and wherein frequency resources associated with the uplink BWP at least partially overlap with frequency resources associated with the uplink sub-band (UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039] and UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067], in this case the BWP and sub-band is an UL BWP and sub-band, sub-band is within (i.e. overlaps) the frequency of the BWP, Para [0005]. Rastegardoost discloses sub-band 2 partially overlaps with BWP, Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 5, Gou discloses the UE of claim 4, wherein the frequency resources associated with the uplink BWP at least partially overlap with the frequency resources associated with the uplink sub-band by at least a minimum overlap amount (sub-band is within (i.e. overlaps) the frequency of the BWP, Para [0005], obvious that it overlaps by a minimal amount).
Regarding claim 6, Gou discloses the UE of claim 4, but not wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the uplink communication using a subset of the frequency resources associated with the uplink sub-band that overlap with the frequency resources associated with the uplink BWP. Rastegardoost discloses the sub-band may partially overlap with the BWP and the UE will determine one or more RBs of the first sub-band as available PRBs of the BWP to transmit, where the UE will not transmit on the PRBs that do not overlap with the sub-band, Para [0282], only the RBs of the sub-band that overlap with the BWP are available RBs, Para [0297]/Fig. 18.
Regarding claims 8 and 32, Gou discloses the UE/method of claim 1/29, but not wherein the first configuration includes a configuration of the uplink BWP, wherein the second configuration includes a configuration of the uplink sub-band, and wherein frequency resources associated with the uplink BWP do not overlap with frequency resources associated with the uplink sub-band. Rastegardoost discloses configuring sub-bands and BWP, where sub-band 1 does not overlap with the BWP, Fig. 18.
Regarding claim 10, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first configuration includes a configuration of the downlink BWP, wherein the second configuration includes a configuration of the downlink sub-band, and wherein frequency resources associated with the downlink BWP contain frequency resources associated with the downlink sub-band (UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039] and UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067], in this case the BWP and sub-band is an DL BWP and sub-band, sub-band is within the frequency of the BWP, Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Gou disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the first configuration includes a configuration of the downlink BWP, wherein the second configuration includes a configuration of the downlink sub-band, and wherein frequency resources associated with the downlink BWP at least partially overlap with frequency resources associated with the downlink sub-band (UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039] and UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067], in this case the BWP and sub-band is an UL BWP and sub-band, sub-band is within (i.e. overlaps) the frequency of the BWP, Para [0005]. Rastegardoost discloses sub-band 2 partially overlaps with BWP, Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 12, Gou discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the frequency resources associated with the downlink BWP at least partially overlap with the frequency resources associated with the downlink sub-band by at least a minimum overlap amount (sub-band is within (i.e. overlaps) the frequency of the BWP, Para [0005], obvious that it overlaps by a minimal amount).
Regarding claim 13, Gou discloses the UE of claim 11, but not wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the downlink communication using a subset of the frequency resources associated with the downlink sub-band that overlap with the frequency resources associated with the downlink BWP. Rastegardoost discloses the sub-band may partially overlap with the BWP and the UE will determine one or more RBs of the first sub-band as available PRBs of the BWP to receive, where the UE will not receive on the PRBs that do not overlap with the sub-band, Para [0282], only the RBs of the sub-band that overlap with the BWP are available RBs, Para [0297]/Fig. 18.
Regarding claim 15, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, but not wherein the first configuration includes a configuration of the downlink BWP, wherein the second configuration includes a configuration of the downlink sub-band, and wherein frequency resources associated with the downlink BWP do not overlap with frequency resources associated with the downlink sub-band. Rastegardoost discloses configuring sub-bands and BWP, where sub-band 1 does not overlap with the BWP, Fig. 18.
Regarding claim 17, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, but not wherein the second configuration is based at least in part on a specific subcarrier spacing. Rastegardoost discloses sub-bands are configured based on numerology/SCS, Para [0283].
Regarding claim 18, Gou discloses the UE of claim 17, but not wherein the second configuration is further based at least in part on an offset from an absolute frequency position of a reference resource block. Rastegardoost discloses an offset in frequency domain from point A, Para [0310], point A is the absolute frequency position of a reference resource block, Para [0309].
Regarding claim 19, Gou discloses the UE of claim 17, but not wherein the specific subcarrier spacing is based at least in part on a frequency band associated with the at least one of the uplink BWP or the downlink BWP. Rastegardoost discloses sub-bands configured and associated with a first carrier based on first numerology/SCS, Para [0311] and the BWP can be based on second numerology/SCS that may be the same as the first numerology/SCS, Para [0296].
Regarding claim 20, Gou discloses the UE of claim 17, but not wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a configuration of the specific subcarrier spacing. Rastegardoost discloses sub-bands are configured based on a given (i.e. specific) SCS, Para [0292].
Regarding claim 21, Gou discloses the UE of claim 20, wherein the configuration of the specific subcarrier spacing is based at least in part on a common subcarrier spacing parameter associated with a master information block. Rastegardoost discloses configuring a SCS specific to the carrier, Para [0309] and master information block includes system information which are used by the UEs to obtain information about how the cell is configured, Para [0079].
Regarding claim 23, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the second configuration is based at least in part on an offset parameter associated with a subcarrier spacing associated with the at least one of the uplink BWP or the downlink BWP. Rastegardoost discloses the starting RB of the sub-band may be pre-defined with an offset, Para [0290].
Regarding claim 24, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, but not wherein the at least one of the uplink sub-band or the downlink sub-band is associated with at least a minimum number of frequency resources. Rastegardoost discloses the sub-band comprises PRBs, Para [0282], obvious that the sub-band comprises frequency resources and therefore has a minimum number of them.
Regarding claim 25, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, but not fully wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a configuration of the downlink BWP; and receive a configuration of multiple downlink sub-bands, wherein the multiple downlink sub-bands are associated with at least a minimum number of downlink resource blocks. Rastegardoost discloses there are multiple sub-bands configured, Fig. 18, in this case DL, the sub-band comprises PRBs, Para [0282], obvious that the sub-band comprises frequency resources and therefore has a minimum number of them.
Regarding claim 26, Gou discloses the UE of claim 1, but not wherein the one or more processors are further configured to perform at least one of transmitting the uplink communication outside of the uplink sub-band or receiving the downlink communication outside of the downlink sub-band. Rastegardoost discloses there are multiple sub-bands within the BWP, Fig. 18, in this case “the sub-band” can be subband 2 and the UE can transmit or receive with subband 3 and 4, which are outside subband 2.
Regarding claim 27, Gou discloses a network node (BS, Fig. 2) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories and one or more processors (memory and processor, Fig. 2), coupled to the one or more memories, that are individually or collectively configured to: transmit a first configuration of at least one of an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) or a downlink BWP (transmitting indication of the BWP configuration to a UE, Para [0057], BWP is configured for a UE by a BS, Para [0055], UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039]); transmit a second configuration of at least one of an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band (transmitting indication of the sub-band BWP configuration to a UE, Para [0057], sub-band within the BWP is configured for a UE by the BS, Para [0055], UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067]); and identify at least one of frequency resources associated with receiving an uplink communication or frequency resources associated with transmitting a downlink communication based at least in part on the first configuration and the second configuration (the BWP configuration specifies a frequency range of the BWP, Para [0058], the sub-band configuration specifies a frequency sub-band within the BWP frequency range, Para [0059], first and second sub-band can be configured for DL and UL transmission, Para [0064], UE identifies frequency limits of a configured BWP and sub-band BWP and determine if sub-band is a DL or UL sub-band, Para [0071]); but does not disclose the second configuration includes a parameter identifying an offset of the at least one of the uplink sub-band or downlink sub-band from a common reference point and determine the location of the at least one uplink sub-band or the downlink sub-band using the offset. Rastegardoost discloses configuration parameters can indicate plurality of sub-bands and starting RB position predefined from offset with respect to point A, Para [0290] and an offset in frequency domain from point A, Para [0310]. Liu discloses configuration of BWP may include frequency domain position of a common reference point (point A), where an RB starts from an offset relative to the common reference point, Para [0157]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rastegardoost and Liu in the system of Gou in order to improve uplink performance by providing frequency diversity and interference averaging and to improve cooperation between terminals for better reliability of receiving data; and does not disclose the UL or DL sub-band is of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol. Grant discloses new parameter enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RB, called RB sets (i.e. sub-bands) for each symbol configured for SBFD operation, the configuration consists of start RB index, Para [0092] or see Para [0035] from the provisional, the UL and DL sub-band in the SBFD symbol can be offset as in view of Rastegardoost and Liu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Grant in the system of Gou in view of Rastegardoost and Liu in order to improve efficiency of resources and configure UE with subbands of different directions.
Regarding claim 29, Gou discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a first configuration of at least one of an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) or a downlink BWP (receiving indication of the BWP configuration by a UE, Para [0057], BWP is configured for a UE by a BS, Para [0055], UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039]); receiving a second configuration of at least one of an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band (receiving indication of the sub-band BWP configuration by a UE, Para [0057], sub-band within the BWP is configured for a UE by the BS, Para [0055], UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067]); and identifying at least one of frequency resources associated with transmitting an uplink communication or frequency resources associated with receiving a downlink communication based at least in part on the first configuration and the second configuration (the BWP configuration specifies a frequency range of the BWP, Para [0058], the sub-band configuration specifies a frequency sub-band within the BWP frequency range, Para [0059], first and second sub-band can be configured for DL and UL transmission, Para [0064], UE identifies frequency limits of a configured BWP and sub-band BWP and determine if sub-band is a DL or UL sub-band, Para [0071]); but does not disclose the second configuration includes a parameter identifying an offset of the at least one of the uplink sub-band or downlink sub-band from a common reference point and determine the location of the at least one uplink sub-band or the downlink sub-band using the offset. Rastegardoost discloses configuration parameters can indicate plurality of sub-bands and starting RB position predefined from offset with respect to point A, Para [0290] and an offset in frequency domain from point A, Para [0310]. Liu discloses configuration of BWP may include frequency domain position of a common reference point (point A), where an RB starts from an offset relative to the common reference point, Para [0157]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rastegardoost and Liu in the system of Gou in order to improve uplink performance by providing frequency diversity and interference averaging and to improve cooperation between terminals for better reliability of receiving data; and does not disclose the UL or DL sub-band is of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol. Grant discloses new parameter enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RB, called RB sets (i.e. sub-bands) for each symbol configured for SBFD operation, the configuration consists of start RB index, Para [0092] or see Para [0035] from the provisional, the UL and DL sub-band in the SBFD symbol can be offset as in view of Rastegardoost and Liu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Grant in the system of Gou in view of Rastegardoost and Liu in order to improve efficiency of resources and configure UE with subbands of different directions.
Regarding claim 30, Gou discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: transmitting a first configuration of at least one of an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) or a downlink BWP (transmitting indication of the BWP configuration to a UE, Para [0057], BWP is configured for a UE by a BS, Para [0055], UL BWP and/or DL BWP, Para [0039]); transmitting a second configuration of at least one of an uplink sub-band or a downlink sub-band (transmitting indication of the sub-band BWP configuration to a UE, Para [0057], sub-band within the BWP is configured for a UE by the BS, Para [0055], UL or DL sub-band, Para [0067]); and identifying at least one of frequency resources associated with receiving an uplink communication or frequency resources associated with transmitting a downlink communication based at least in part on the first configuration and the second configuration (the BWP configuration specifies a frequency range of the BWP, Para [0058], the sub-band configuration specifies a frequency sub-band within the BWP frequency range, Para [0059], first and second sub-band can be configured for DL and UL transmission, Para [0064], UE identifies frequency limits of a configured BWP and sub-band BWP and determine if sub-band is a DL or UL sub-band, Para [0071]); but does not disclose the second configuration includes a parameter identifying an offset of the at least one of the uplink sub-band or downlink sub-band from a common reference point and determine the location of the at least one uplink sub-band or the downlink sub-band using the offset. Rastegardoost discloses configuration parameters can indicate plurality of sub-bands and starting RB position predefined from offset with respect to point A, Para [0290] and an offset in frequency domain from point A, Para [0310]. Liu discloses configuration of BWP may include frequency domain position of a common reference point (point A), where an RB starts from an offset relative to the common reference point, Para [0157]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rastegardoost and Liu in the system of Gou in order to improve uplink performance by providing frequency diversity and interference averaging and to improve cooperation between terminals for better reliability of receiving data; and does not disclose the UL or DL sub-band is of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol. Grant discloses new parameter enables indication of at least two sets of contiguous RB, called RB sets (i.e. sub-bands) for each symbol configured for SBFD operation, the configuration consists of start RB index, Para [0092] or see Para [0035] from the provisional, the UL and DL sub-band in the SBFD symbol can be offset as in view of Rastegardoost and Liu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Grant in the system of Gou in view of Rastegardoost and Liu in order to improve efficiency of resources and configure UE with subbands of different directions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 14, 16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues the Guo and Rastegardoost do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues the references do not disclose the uplink and downlink sub-bands are in a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461