DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The functional limitations associated with ‘acquirer’ and ‘units’ in claim(s) 1-15.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 15, and 16 is/are objected to because of the following informalities; appropriate correction is required:
In claim(s) 1, 15, and 16, the second instance of ‘a measurement device’ should be amended to recite ‘the measurement device’. Mutatis mutandis for each subsequent instance of ‘an amount of walking’ (change an to the).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 3 recites
“wherein the measurement value of the stride length is a ratio of an average stride length to the height of the subject measured”
It is not clear, in the context of the claim(s), how a stride length can itself be defined by the average of its values — such a definition being a circular definition (i.e., ‘where the measure of a value is the average of the value divided by…’). Further, the claim(s) does not make clear whether this (otherwise circular definition) is a calculation / computation performed by the system or an inherent / conditional property of a claimed value. The same issue arises mutatis mutandis with claim(s) 4.
Claim(s) 5-6 recites the following limitation
“adding a weight to the ratio of the subject's stride-height ratio to an average stride-height ratio of a corresponding attributed level, and a value of the ratio of the subject's cadence to an average cadence of the corresponding attributed level”
This limitation reads as a run-on clause that does not make clear which specific elements / parameters are being combined and by what order. It is not clear, in the context of the claim(s), whether a weight is being added to a ratio or a ratio of another two ratios (i.e., there’s confusion as to what elements are being formed into what ratios for weighting) — the language following ‘and a value of…’ also reads as a fragmentary clause where it is not clear how this phrase is being modified by the preceding language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Each of claim(s) 1 and 15 recite a device ‘worn’ by a subject which recites the body of the subject in active tense as the device contacts the subject. Thus the claim(s) encompass the body of the subject as part of the invention. Examiner suggests amending claim(s) 1 and 15 to recite the device ‘configured to be worn’ by the subject and interprets the claim(s) as such.
Claim(s) 2-14 are rejected due to their dependence on claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Representative claim(s) 1 recites
A gait evaluation system, comprising:
a quantitative measurement value acquirer that acquires a measurement value of a quantitative parameter indicating an amount of walking, measured by a measurement device worn by a subject;
a qualitative measurement value acquirer that acquires at least measurement values of a stride length and a cadence as qualitative parameters indicating a walking form, measured by a measurement device worn by the subject;
a quantitative result determination unit that determines an evaluation result regarding an amount of walking, based on a measurement value of the quantitative parameter;
a qualitative result determination unit that determines an evaluation result regarding a walking form, based on a predetermined evaluation model that reflects the degree of approximation to a form tendency with which a walking exercise effect is likely to be achieved, and measurement values of the qualitative parameters;
and an output unit that outputs walking result information including the evaluation result regarding the amount of walking and the evaluation result regarding the walking form.
(abstract portions shown in emphasis)
Step 2A Prong One
The recitation of a system that acquires values, determines results, and then outputs results encompasses performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of mere extrasolutionary activity (i.e., mere data gathering and/or nominal output) and/or otherwise nominal and generic computer elements (2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance – hereafter ‘2019 PEG’ - p. 55; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a), (d) and (g)) (e.g., processing ‘units’).
For example, but for the recitation of obtaining/acquiring data and/or generic processing ‘units’ / functional steps to perform abstract limitations, the steps of ‘acquiring’ values to then ‘determine’ and ‘output’ results encompasses a clinician (mentally) reviewing sensor data to (mentally) determine and (mentally) output one or more results.
If a claim, under BRI, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the mere recitation of extrasolutionary activity (and/or otherwise generic computing elements) then the claim falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under step 2A prong one of the Mayo framework as set forth in the 2019 PEG.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 only recites additional elements of extrasolutionary activity — in particular, acquiring values measured by a worn device — and/or generic computing structures / elements without further sufficient detail that would tie the abstract portions of the claim into a specific practical application (2019 PEG p. 55 - the instant claim, for example, does not tie into a particular machine, a sufficiently particular form of data or signal collection — via the claimed data obtaining, or a sufficiently particular form of display or computing/processing architecture / structure).
Independent claim(s) 15 and 16 encounter the same issues as claim(s) 1 mutatis mutandis.
Dependent claim(s) 2-14 merely add detail to the abstract portions of the claim but do not otherwise encompass any additional elements which tie the claim(s) into a particular application / integration (the dependent claim(s) reciting generic ‘units’ or ‘steps’ which encompass mere computer instructions to carry out an otherwise wholly abstract idea).
Accordingly, the claim(s) are not integrated into a practical application under step 2A prong two.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of extrasolutionary activity (data gathering and display outputting) and generic computing elements cannot amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
For the independent claim portions and dependent claims which provide additional elements of extrasolutionary data gathering, MPEP § 2106.05(g) establishes that mere data gathering for determining a result does not amount to significantly more:
2106.05(g) Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity
Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more in Step 2B is whether the additional elements add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent.
As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ 193, 196 (1978). In Flook, the Court reasoned that "[t]he notion that post-solution activity, no matter how conventional or obvious in itself, can transform an unpatentable principle into a patentable process exalts form over substance. A competent draftsman could attach some form of post-solution activity to almost any mathematical formula". 437 U.S. at 590; 198 USPQ at 197; Id. (holding that step of adjusting an alarm limit variable to a figure computed according to a mathematical formula was "post-solution activity"). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 79, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1968 (2012) (additional element of measuring metabolites of a drug administered to a patient was insignificant extra-solution activity).
Examiners should carefully consider each claim on its own merits, as well as evaluate all other relevant considerations, before making a determination of whether an element (or combination of elements) is insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, evaluation of the particular machine and particular transformation considerations (see MPEP § 2106.05(b) and (c), respectively), the well-understood, routine, conventional consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)), and the field of use and technological environment consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) may assist examiners in making a determination of whether an element (or combination of elements) is insignificant extra-solution activity. Note, however, that examiners should not evaluate the well-understood, routine, conventional consideration in the Step 2A Prong Two analysis, because that consideration is only evaluated in Step 2B.
This consideration is similar to factors used in past Office guidance (for example, the now superseded Bilski and Mayo analyses) that were described as mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea. When determining whether an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity, examiners may consider the following:
(1) Whether the extra-solution limitation is well known. See Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611-12, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) (well-known random analysis techniques to establish the inputs of an equation were token extra-solution activity); Flook, 437 U.S. at 593-95, 198 USPQ at 197 (a formula would not be patentable by only indicating that is could be usefully applied to existing surveying techniques); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (the use of a well-known XML tag to form an index was deemed token extra-solution activity). Because this overlaps with the well-understood, routine, conventional consideration, it should not be considered in the Step 2A Prong Two extra-solution activity analysis.
(2) Whether the limitation is significant (i.e. it imposes meaningful limits on the claim such that it is not nominally or tangentially related to the invention). See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715-16, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1755 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (restricting public access to media was found to be insignificant extra-solution activity); Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1242, 120 USPQ2d 1844, 1855 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (in patents regarding electronic menus, features related to types of ordering were found to be insignificant extra-solution activity). This is considered in Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
(3) Whether the limitation amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting, (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output). See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering). This is considered in Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity:
Mere Data Gathering:
i. Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989);
Some cases have identified insignificant computer implementation as an example of insignificant extra-solution activity. See e.g., Fort Props., Inc. v. Am. Master Lease LLC, 671 F.3d 1317, 1323-24, 101 USPQ2d 1785, 1789-90 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assur. Co. of Canada, 687 F.3d 1266, 1280-81, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1434-35 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Other cases have considered these types of limitations as mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) for more information about insignificant computer implementation.
For claim limitations that add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea), examiners should explain in an eligibility rejection why they do not meaningfully limit the claim. For example, an examiner could explain that adding a final step of storing data to a process that only recites computing the area of a space (a mathematical relationship) does not add a meaningful limitation to the process of computing the area. For more information on formulating a subject matter eligibility rejection, see MPEP § 2106.07(a).
The extrasolutionary activity/step(s) of acquiring data from a body-worn measurement device as presently recited, cannot provide an inventive concept which amounts to significantly more than the recited abstract idea.
For the independent claims as well as the dependent claims merely reciting generic computer elements and activity (memory/storage, processing units), MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) establishes computer-based elements which are considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when recited at a high level of generality
II. ELEMENTS THAT THE COURTS HAVE RECOGNIZED AS WELL-UNDERSTOOD, ROUTINE, CONVENTIONAL ACTIVITY IN PARTICULAR FIELDS
Because examiners should rely on what the courts have recognized, or those of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, as elements that describe well‐understood, routine activities, the following section provides examples of elements that have been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in particular fields. It should be noted, however, that many of these examples failed to satisfy other considerations (e.g., because they were recited at a high level of generality and thus were mere instructions to apply an exception, or were insignificant extra-solution activity). Thus, examiners should carefully analyze additional elements in a claim with respect to all relevant Step 2B considerations, including this consideration, before making a conclusion as to whether they amount to an inventive concept.
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.");
iii. Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225, 110 USPQ2d 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining "shadow accounts"); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log);
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
v. Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348, 113 USPQ2d 1354, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (optical character recognition); and
vi. A Web browser’s back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1418 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Accordingly, the computer elements, as presently limited, cannot provide an inventive concept since they fall under a generic structure and/or function that does not add a meaningful additional feature to the judicial exception(s) of the claim(s). The claim(s) are not patent eligible under step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mobbs (US 20240350035 A1).
For claim(s) 1, 15, and 16, Mobbs teaches
A gait evaluation system, comprising:
a quantitative measurement value acquirer [Fig. 1 MMC in Fig. 3] that acquires a measurement value of a quantitative parameter indicating an amount of walking, measured by a measurement device worn by a subject; [¶¶100-110]
a qualitative measurement value acquirer [relevant portion(s) of software / controller in Figs. 1-3] that acquires at least measurement values of a stride length [¶116], a cadence [¶16], and a pelvic movement [trunk and upper body (thereby including pelvic movement) in ¶¶142-145] as qualitative parameters indicating a walking form, measured by a measurement device worn by the subject;
a quantitative result determination unit that determines an evaluation result regarding an amount of walking, based on a measurement value of the quantitative parameter; a qualitative result determination unit that determines an evaluation result regarding a walking form, based on a predetermined evaluation model that reflects the degree of approximation to a form tendency with which a walking exercise effect is likely to be achieved, and measurement values of the qualitative parameters; [qualitative and quantitative evaluation of walking is/are central inventive feature(s) detailed throughout the majority (if not the entirety) of the disclosure of Mobbs – see at least abstract, Figs. 3-4 which show the use of step count and velocity (amount-quantitative parameter) and any number of qualitative parameters (variability, WORM metric) as detailed in at least ¶¶132-170 specifically ¶¶132-149]
and an output unit that outputs walking result information including the evaluation result regarding the amount of walking and the evaluation result regarding the walking form. [¶129]
For claim(s) 2, Mobbs teaches
wherein the qualitative result determination unit determines the evaluation result regarding the walking form using, as the predetermined evaluation model, an evaluation formula set such that a weight is added at least to a measurement value of the stride length. [¶¶171-175]
For claim(s) 3-4, Mobbs teaches
wherein the measurement value of the stride length is a ratio of an average stride length to the height of the subject measured. [see §112b rejection above — consider at least ¶¶190-191]
For claim(s) 5-6, Mobbs teaches
wherein the qualitative result determination unit determines the evaluation result regarding the walking form using, as the predetermined evaluation model, an evaluation formula for obtaining the sum of a value obtained by adding a weight to the ratio of the subject's stride-height ratio to an average stride-height ratio of a corresponding attributed level, and a value of the ratio of the subject's cadence to an average cadence of the corresponding attributed level. [see § 112b rejection above – consider weighting of ¶¶171-175 and ¶191 with Table 5]
For claim(s) 7-10, Mobbs teaches
the qualitative measurement value acquirer further acquires a measurement value of pelvic movement and arm swing angle as the qualitative parameters, and
the qualitative result determination unit determines the evaluation result regarding the walking form using, as the predetermined evaluation model, an evaluation formula set such that a weight is added at least to a measurement value of the pelvic movement and arm swing angle. [¶¶142-170 WORM score including upper body and upper limb movement in ¶142 (i.e., arm swing angle) and trunk in ¶¶142-145 (and pelvis thereby) then weighted in ¶¶171-175]
For claim(s) 11-14, Mobbs teaches
wherein the output unit outputs the walking result information including information regarding whether or not at least one of the evaluation result regarding the amount of walking or the evaluation result regarding the walking form has satisfied a predetermined target achievement condition; [personalized scoring in ¶¶128-129 (a form of target achievement condition evaluation) for CMOS score in ¶133]
wherein the output unit outputs the walking result information including information regarding an exercise effect on each body part based on the evaluation result regarding the amount of walking and the evaluation result regarding the walking form. [graded scoring in Fig(s). 4 per ¶¶129-133 including effects on foot movement (feet being ‘each body part’ under BRI)]
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791