DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 3:
The recitation “lines include_a high-voltage power supply line” (l. 2) is believed to be in error for – lines include a high-voltage power supply line –.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulcher 2022/0307910 in view of Narita 2022/0371577.
Regarding Claim 1, Fulcher teaches a control system 2, 20 for an electrical power harness 3 disposed within an enclosure 502 of an aircraft 500 (aircraft 500 seen in Fig. 5), the system comprising ([0006; 0039; 0049; 0084]; Figs. 1-2 & 5):
a temperature sensor 8, 14 disposed within the enclosure 502 (cables and temperature [sensors] may be located in a wing portion 502) (Figs. 1 & 5);
and an electronic processor 20, 23 configured to ([0057-58]; Fig. 1):
monitor, via the temperature sensor 8, 14, a temperature (within the enclosure 502) ([0055; 0057-58; 0067, 0069; 0084]; Figs. 1-2 & 5);
compare the temperature to a predetermined threshold (temperature is determined to be above a temperature limit); and adjust a power output provided (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) to one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of the harness 3 in response to the temperature exceeding the predetermined threshold (temperature … above a threshold value) ([0045-46; 0069]. Fulcher teaches control system 2, 20 that detects the temperature of the cables when temperature of the cable, received form the sensors, is above the threshold value – the threshold value is the temperature rating for the cables. When the temperature is above the limit, command is sent to reduce the current in the cables until the temperature falls below the threshold values).
Fulcher does not teach the adjustment of power output being proportional to an amount in which the temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the monitored temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the electronic processor reduces the power output.
Narita teaches
the adjustment (via controller 7) of power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) being proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax, seen in Fig. 2) ([0032-33; 0044, 0047-48; 0056-57]; Figs. 1-2. Temperature change in the temperature of the harness 81 is determined and inherently monitored by controller 7, and the proportional amount of power output is reduced based on how much temperature exceeds the limit, until power output is zero, when temperature reaches Tmax.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the control system 2, 20 of Fulcher to include Narita’s controller 7 that makes the adjustment (via controller 7) of power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) being proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold Tth, the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax), in order to protect the harness by preventing the heatproof temperature of the front harnesses (heatproof temperature of the harness coatings) from being exceeded (Narita [0041]).
Regarding Claim 10, Fulcher teaches a method of controlling (via 20, 23) an electrical power harness 3 disposed within an enclosure 502 of an aircraft 500 (aircraft 500 seen in Fig. 5), the method including:
monitoring, via the temperature sensor 8, 14, a temperature within the enclosure 502 (cables and temperature [sensors] may be located in a wing portion 502); ([0055; 0057-58; 0067, 0069; 0084]; Figs. 1-2 & 5);
comparing, via an electronic processor 20, 23, the temperature to a predetermined threshold (temperature is determined to be above a temperature limit); and adjusting a power output provided (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) to one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of the electrical power harness 3 in which the temperature (temperature) exceeds the predetermined threshold (temperature … above a threshold value) ([0045-46, and 0069]. Fulcher teaches control system 2, 20 that detects the temperature of the cables when temperature of the cable, received form the sensors, is above the threshold value – the threshold value is the temperature rating for the cables. When the temperature is above the limit, command is sent to reduce the current in the cables until the temperature falls below the threshold values.).
Fulcher does not teach adjusting a power output provided to one or more power supply lines of the electrical power harness proportional to an amount in which the temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the monitored temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the electronic processor reduces the power output.
Narita teaches
adjusting (via controller 7) a power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) provided to one or more power supply lines (front harness 81) of the electrical power harness 81 proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax, seen in Fig. 2) ([0032-33; 0044, 0047-48; 0056-57]; Figs. 1-2. Temperature change in the temperature of the harness 81 is determined and inherently monitored by controller 7, and the proportional amount of power output is reduced based on how much temperature exceeds the limit, until power output is zero, when temperature reaches Tmax.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the control system 2, 20 of Fulcher to include Narita’s controller 7 for adjusting a power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) provided to one or more power supply lines (front harness 81) of the electrical power harness 81 proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax), for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Fulcher in view of Narita teaches the invention and the method, as claimed and as discussed above for claims 1 and 10, respectively, and Fulcher further teaches
the one or more power supply lines 4, 10 include a high-voltage power supply line (high voltage and/or high current electrical energy distribution networks 3 comprised of cables 4, 10) ([0004, 0006, 0008], Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Fulcher in view of Narita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Fulcher further teaches
the electronic processor 20, 23 is configured to adjust the power output (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) by adjusting a duty cycle of the power output (current carried by cables 4, 10) ([0045-46] . Processor 20, 23 detects imbalance in cables 4, 10 based on the temperature being above limit, then takes action to adjust balance by turning off or reducing power in one cable [aka. adjusting a duty cycle of the power output], and providing more power to the other cable to restore current balance. Therefore, the adjustment of the duty cycle of the power output is performed in order to prevent damage to the cables.).
Regarding Claim 16,
Fulcher in view of Narita teaches the method as claimed and as discussed above for claim 10, and Fulcher further teaches
adjusting the power output (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) includes adjusting a duty cycle (implicit) of the power output (current carried by cables 4, 10) ([0045-46] . Processor 20, 23 detects imbalance in cables 4, 10 based on the temperature being above limit, then takes action to adjust balance by turning off or reducing power in one cable [aka. adjusting a duty cycle of the power output], and providing more power to the other cable to restore current balance. Therefore, it is implicit that the adjustment of the duty cycle of the power output is performed in order to prevent damage to the cables.).
Regarding Claim 17, Fulcher teaches an electronic controller 20, 23 installed in an aircraft 500 (aircraft 500 seen in Fig. 5), the electronic controller 20, 23 comprising ([0057-58]; Fig. 1):
an input-output interface 22 configured to receive a signal (signal) from a temperature sensor 8, 14 disposed within an enclosure 502 of the aircraft 500 including an electrical power harness 3 ([0006; 0039; 0049; 0084]; Figs. 1-2 & 5);
an electronic processor 23 configured to:
monitor (temperature monitoring), via the signal (signal) received from the temperature sensor 8, 14, a temperature (temperature) within the enclosure 502 ([0055; 0057-58; 0067, 0069; 0084]; Figs. 1-2 & 5);
compare (implicit) the temperature (temperature of cables 4, 10) to a predetermined threshold (temperature is determined to be above a temperature limit); and adjust a power output provided (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) to one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of the harness 3 in which the temperature (temperature) exceeds the predetermined threshold (temperature … above a threshold value) ([0045-46; 0069]. Fulcher teaches control system 2, 20 that detects the temperature of the cables when temperature of the cable, received form the sensors, is above the threshold value – the threshold value is the temperature rating for the cables. When the temperature is above the limit, command is sent to reduce the current in the cables until the temperature falls below the threshold values.).
Fulcher does not teach adjust a power output provided to one or more power supply lines of the harness proportional to an amount in which the temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the monitored temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the electronic processor reduces the power output.
Narita teaches
adjust (via controller 7) a power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) provided to one or more power supply lines (front harness 81) of the harness 81 proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax, seen in Fig. 2) ([0032-33; 0044, 0047-48; 0056-57]; Figs. 1-2. Temperature change in the temperature of the harness 81 is determined and inherently monitored by controller 7, and the proportional amount of power output is reduced based on how much temperature exceeds the limit, until power output is zero, when temperature reaches Tmax. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the control system 2, 20 of Fulcher to include Narita’s controller 7 that adjusts a power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) provided to one or more power supply lines (front harness 81) of the harness 81 proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax), for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulcher in view of Narita, and further in view of Berenger 2007/0259545.
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Fulcher in view of Narita teaches the invention and the method, as claimed and as discussed above for claims 3 and 12, respectively. However, Fulcher in view of Narita does not teach the high-voltage power supply line is a 270 VDC line.
Berenger teaches
a high-voltage power supply line 30 in an aircraft that can provide 270 Vdc ([0032]; Figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the high-voltage power supply line 4, 10 of Fulcher in view of Narita with Berenger’s high-voltage power supply line 30 that can provide 270 Vdc, because it has been held that “Use of known products”, in this case, using a high-voltage power supply line that provides 270 Vdc, “to improve similar devices (products)”, in this case, Fulcher’s electrical power harness 3, “in the same way”, in this case, provide higher limit of the amount of voltage between electronic components via the electrical power harness, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143 I (C).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulcher in view of Narita, and further in view of Studer 2020/0168363.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Fulcher in view of Narita teaches the invention and the method, as claimed and as discussed above for claims 1 and 10, respectively. However, Fulcher in view of Narita does not teach the temperature sensor is disposed within the electrical power harness.
Studer teaches
an aircraft having a harness with a temperature sensor (at least one sensor … purpose of measuring temperature) is disposed within (integrated into at least one conductor 18, conductor inside cable 40) the electrical power harness 40 ([0049; 0053]; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature sensor 8, 14 of Fulcher in view of Narita and dispose the temperature sensors (at least one sensor … purpose of measuring temperature) within (integrated into at least one conductor 18, conductor inside cable 40) the electrical power harness 40, as taught by Struder, in order to save space.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulcher in view of Narita, and further in view of Brodnicki 2019/0383382.
Regarding Claim 18, Fulcher in view of Narita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Fulcher in view of Narita does not teach the enclosure is a housing of a rotor gearbox.
Brodnicki teaches a temperature sensor 337 that are disposed within a rotor gearbox 160 or within a gearbox housing 161 (seen in Figs. 4-5a) used for measuring a surface temperature of an internal stationary component in order to “provide accurate temperatures to the pilot so the pilot can correctly determine the length of time to safely land the aircraft 100 prior to failure of the insufficiently lubricated high-speed components” ([0055,0057-0059]; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure 502 of Fulcher in view of Narita and arrange Fulcher’s temperature sensors 8, 14 inside and against the gearbox housing 161, making gearbox housing 161 the enclosure, as taught by Brodnicki, in order to “provide accurate temperatures to the pilot so the pilot can correctly determine the length of time to safely land the aircraft 100 prior to failure of the insufficiently lubricated high-speed components” (Brodnicki, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 19, Fulcher in view of Narita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Fulcher in view of Narita does not teach the enclosure is disposed within a housing of a rotor gearbox.
Brodnicki teaches a temperature sensor 337 that are disposed within a rotor gearbox 160 or within a gearbox housing 161 (seen in Figs. 4-5a) used for measuring a surface temperature of an internal stationary component in order to “provide accurate temperatures to the pilot so the pilot can correctly determine the length of time to safely land the aircraft 100 prior to failure of the insufficiently lubricated high-speed components” ([0055,0057-0059]; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure 502 of Fulcher in view of Narita and arrange Fulcher’s temperature sensors 8, 14 within a housing 161 of a rotor gearbox 160a gearbox housing 161, making the enclosure be disposed within the housing of a rotor gearbox, as taught by Brodnicki, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 18 above.
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker in view of Fulcher and further in view of Narita.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Tucker teaches an aircraft 100 (seen in Fig. 1) comprising:
a control system (control computer) for an electrical power harness 406 disposed within an enclosure 316, 304 of the aircraft 100, and a temperature sensor 402 disposed within the enclosure 316, 304 ([0005-6; 0025]; Fig. 3. The enclosure is the tube 316 within rotor shaft 304 with the cable 406 and temperature sensor 402 disposed within the enclosure).
Tucker does not teach control system comprising: an electronic processor configured to: monitor, via the temperature sensor, a temperature within the enclosure; compare the temperature to a predetermined threshold; and adjust a power output provided to one or more power supply lines of the harness in response to the temperature exceeding the predetermined threshold.
Fulcher teaches an aircraft 500 having a control system 20, electrical power harness 3, temperature sensor 8, 14, and
the control system 20 comprising:
an electronic processor 20, 23 configured to ([0057-58]; Fig. 1):
monitor, via the temperature sensor 8, 14, a temperature within the enclosure 502 ([0055; 0057-58; 0067, 0069; 0084]; Figs. 1-2 & 5);
compare the temperature to a predetermined threshold (temperature is determined to be above a temperature limit); and adjust a power output provided (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) to one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of the harness 3 in response to the temperature exceeding the predetermined threshold (temperature … above a threshold value), ([0045-46; 0069]. Fulcher teaches control system 2, 20 that detects the temperature of the cables when temperature of the cable, received form the sensors, is above the threshold value – the threshold value is the temperature rating for the cables. When the temperature is above the limit, command is sent to reduce the current in the cables until the temperature falls below the threshold values.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the control system (control computer) of Tucker to include Fulcher’s control system 20 comprising: an electronic processor 20, 23 configured to monitor, via the temperature sensor 8, 14, a temperature within the enclosure 502; and compare the temperature to a predetermined threshold (temperature is determined to be above a temperature limit); and adjust a power output provided (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) to one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of the harness 3 in response to the temperature exceeding the predetermined threshold (temperature … above a threshold value),in order provide current imbalance detection based on the temperature of the power supply lines and “mitigate fire risk in case of a fault such as a short.” ([Fulcher, [0069]).
Tucker in view of Fulcher does not teach the adjustment of power output being proportional to an amount in which the temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the monitored temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the electronic processor reduces the power output.
Narita teaches
the adjustment (via controller 7) of power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) being proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax, seen in Fig. 2) ([0032-33; 0044, 0047-48; 0056-57]; Figs. 1-2. Temperature change in the temperature of the harness 81 is determined and inherently monitored by controller 7, and the proportional amount of power output is reduced based on how much temperature exceeds the limit, until power output is zero, when temperature reaches Tmax.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the control system (control computer, 2, 20) of Tucker in view of Fulcher to include Narita’s controller 7 that makes the adjustment (via controller 7) of power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) being proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold Tth, the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax), in order to protect the harness by preventing the heatproof temperature of the front harnesses (heatproof temperature of the harness coatings) from being exceeded (Narita [0041]).
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, Tucker teaches a method of controlling (via control system (control computer)) an electrical power harness 406 disposed within an enclosure 316, 304 of the aircraft 100, and a temperature sensor 402 disposed within the enclosure 316, 304 ([0005-6; 0025]; Fig. 3. The enclosure is the tube 316 within rotor shaft 304 with the cable 406 and temperature sensor 402 disposed within the enclosure).
Tucker does not teach the method including: monitoring, via a temperature sensor, a temperature within the enclosure; comparing, via an electronic processor, the temperature to a predetermined threshold; and adjusting a power output provided to one or more power supply lines of the electrical power harness proportional to an amount in which the temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold.
Fulcher teaches method including:
monitoring (by controller 20,23), via the temperature sensor 8, 14, a temperature within the enclosure 502 ([0055; 0057-58; 0067, 0069; 0084]; Figs. 1-2 & 5);
comparing, via an electronic processor 20, 23, the temperature to a predetermined threshold (temperature is determined to be above a temperature limit); and adjusting a power output provided (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) to one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of the electrical power harness 3 in which the temperature (temperature) exceeds the predetermined threshold (temperature … above a threshold value) ([0045-46, and 0069]. Fulcher teaches control system 2, 20 that detects the temperature of the cables when temperature of the cable, received form the sensors, is above the threshold value – the threshold value is the temperature rating for the cables. When the temperature is above the limit, command is sent to reduce the current in the cables until the temperature falls below the threshold values.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the method of controlling (via control system (control computer)) of Tucker to include Fulcher’s method including: monitoring (by controller 20,23), via the temperature sensor 8, 14, a temperature within the enclosure 502; comparing, via an electronic processor 20, 23, the temperature to a predetermined threshold (temperature is determined to be above a temperature limit); and adjusting a power output provided (triggering the reduction in current carried by the cables 4, 10) to one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of the electrical power harness 3 in which the temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold (temperature … above a threshold value), in order provide current imbalance detection based on the temperature of the power supply lines and “mitigate fire risk in case of a fault such as a short.” ([Fulcher, [0069]).
Tucker in view of Fulcher does not teach adjusting a power output provided to one or more power supply lines of the electrical power harness proportional to an amount in which the temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the monitored temperature exceeds the predetermined threshold, the more the electronic processor reduces the power output.
Narita teaches
adjusting (via controller 7) a power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) provided to one or more power supply lines (front harness 81) of the electrical power harness 81 proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax, seen in Fig. 2) ([0032-33; 0044, 0047-48; 0056-57]; Figs. 1-2. Temperature change in the temperature of the harness 81 is determined and inherently monitored by controller 7, and the proportional amount of power output is reduced based on how much temperature exceeds the limit, until power output is zero, when temperature reaches Tmax.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the control system (control computer, 2, 20) of Tucker in view of Fulcher to include Narita’s controller 7 for adjusting a power output (power supplied to batteries 61, 62 and rear drive motor 5) provided to one or more power supply lines (front harness 81) of the electrical power harness 81 proportional (seen in Fig. 2) to an amount in which the temperature (temperature of the front harness 81 … is greater) exceeds the predetermined threshold (Tth, seen in Fig. 2), the more the monitored temperature (temperature of the front harness 81) exceeds the predetermined threshold (if the temperature … continues to rise; Temperature going from Tth to Tmax – seen in Fig. 2), the more the electronic processor (central processing device CPU of controller 7) reduces the power output (electric power outputted … is thereby reduced as temperature … increases … in the range from Tth to Tmax), for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita, and further in view of Berenger.
Regarding Claim 5, Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2. However, Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita does not teach the electrical power harness provides power to a de-icing system of a rotor of the aircraft.
Berenger teaches
one power supply line 39 of the electrical power harness 30 in an aircraft provides power to a de-icing system (de-icing the pod of the engine or the wing) of the aircraft (helicopter) ([0002, 0033, 0037]; Figs. 2-4).
Tucker in view of Fulcher, Narita, and Berenger, as discussed so far, does not teach the electrical power harness provides power to a de-icing system of a rotor of the aircraft.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the electrical power harness 406 of Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita to include Berenger’s one power supply line 39 of the electrical power harness 30 and have the one power supply line 39 provide power to a de-icing system (de-icing the pod of the engine or the wing) of Tucker’s rotor 304 of the aircraft, because it has been held that “Use of known technique”, in this case, using one power supply line 39 of the electrical power harness 30 to provide power to a de-icing system (de-icing the pod of the engine or the wing), “to improve similar devices (method or products)”, in this case, Tucker in view of Fulcher’s electrical power harness 406 comprising power supply lines 4, 10 used for the de-icing system, “in the same way”, in this case, using power supply lines 4, 10 to provide power for the de-icing system to prevent freezing of Tucker’s rotor 304, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143 I (C).
Regarding Claim 14, Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita teaches the method as claimed and as discussed above for claim 10. However, Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita does not teach the one or more power supply lines of the electrical power harness provides power to a de-icing system of a rotor of the aircraft.
Berenger teaches
one power supply line 39 of the electrical power harness 30 in an aircraft provides power to a de-icing system (de-icing the pod of the engine or the wing) of the aircraft (helicopter) ([0002, 0033, 0037]; Figs. 2-4).
Tucker in view of Fulcher, Narita, and Berenger, as discussed so far, does not teach the one or more power supply lines of the electrical power harness provides power to a de-icing system of a rotor of the aircraft.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the one or more power supply lines 4, 10 of harness 406 of Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita to include Berenger’s one power supply line 39 of the electrical power harness 30 and have the one power supply line 39 provide power to a de-icing system (de-icing the pod of the engine or the wing) of Tucker’s rotor 304 of the aircraft, because it has been held that “Use of known technique”, in this case, using one power supply line 39 of the electrical power harness 30 to provide power to a de-icing system (de-icing the pod of the engine or the wing), “to improve similar devices (method or products)”, in this case, Tucker in view of Fulcher’s electrical power harness 406 comprising power supply lines 4, 10 used for the de-icing system, “in the same way”, in this case, using power supply lines 4, 10 to provide power for the de-icing system to prevent freezing of Tucker’s rotor 304, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143 I (C).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita, and further in view of Aubert 2019/0084682.
Regarding Claim 9, Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita does not teach the electronic processor is configured to adjust the power output by adjusting a power usage profile of a de-icing system of a rotor of the aircraft.
Aubert teaches
an electronic processor (controller 127 that can be programed to automatically manage power, and can include a computer, the programed controller has an electronic processor) is configured to adjust the power output (manage power, the power is cycled) by adjusting a power usage profile (power usage profiles are the preset duty cycles and the controller determines which duty cycles to use based on the operation of the aircraft which adjusts the power usage profiles based on different cycles for the deicing system 153, 155) of a de-icing system 153, 155 of the aircraft 101 ([0066]; Figs. 1 & 4B).
Tucker in view of Fulcher, Narita, and Aubert, as discussed so far, does not teach the electronic processor is configured to adjust the power output by adjusting a power usage profile of a de-icing system of a rotor of the aircraft.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the control system (control computer, 2, 20) of Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita to include Aubert’s electronic processor (controller 127 that can be programed to automatically manage power, and can include a computer, the programed controller has an electronic processor) configured to adjust the power output (manage power, the power is cycled) by adjusting a power usage profile (power usage profiles are the preset duty cycles and the controller determines which duty cycles to use based on the operation of the aircraft which adjusts the power usage profiles based on different cycles for the deicing system 153, 155) of a de-icing system 153, 155 of Tucker’s rotor 304 of the aircraft, because it has been held that “Use of known technique”, in this case, adding Aubert’s electronic processor (controller 127 that can be programed to automatically manage power, and can include a computer, the programed controller has an electronic processor) to adjust the power output by adjusting a power usage profile (power usage profiles are the preset duty cycles and the controller determines which duty cycles to use based on the operation of the aircraft which adjusts the power usage profiles based on different cycles for the deicing system 153, 155) of a de-icing system 153, 155, “to improve similar devices (method or products)”, in this case, Tucker in view of Fulcher and Narita’s electrical power harness 406 comprising power supply lines 4, 10 used for the de-icing system, “in the same way”, in this case, using power supply lines 4, 10 to provide power for the de-icing system by selectively control deicing by using duty cycles to prevent ice accumulation to prevent freezing of Tucker’s rotor 304, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143 I (C).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed on 12/15/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 rejections of claims 1-7 and 9-19 have been considered, but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combination of references used in the current rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JACEK LISOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741