Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2022-0093797, filed on 07/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/359,689 filed on 07/26/2023.
Claims 1-5, 6-10, 11-15, 16-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-3, 5, 6, 7-8, 10, 11, 12-13, 15, 16, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vesely et al. ( US 20230096763, hereinafter, Vesely’s 763) in view of LING et al. ( US 20230300572, hereinafter, LING’s 572 ), and further in view of FUJISHIRO ( US 20240155733, hereinafter, FUJISHIRO’s 733 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20230096763 teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
identifying that a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) service of a first broadcast MBS session is not available ( the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network ) (The AMF 110 checks if any of the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network and should be removed from the UE 108. The AMF 110 makes a new MB Session Status parameter and includes in the Registration Accept NAS message (step 21 of TS 23.501 clause 4.2.2.2.2) where the AMF 110 includes all valid MB Sessions/TMGIs out of the ones the UE 108 listed in the MB Session Status in step 1202 and 1206. The UE 108 removes locally any internal resources related to MB Sessions that are not marked as established in the received MB Session Status.) [see Paragraph 0175] ;
identifying a second broadcast MBS session (new MBS session) which is different from the first broadcast MBS session for the MBS service (identifying a second broadcast MBS session which is different from the first broadcast MBS session for the MBS service) [see Paragraph 0175] ;
transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, information on the second broadcast MBS session (transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, information on the second broadcast MBS session) [see Paragraph 0175 ] ;
receiving, from the AMF entity, information on a broadcast MBS session allocated based on the information on the second broadcast MBS session (receiving, from the AMF entity, information on a broadcast MBS session allocated based on the information on the second broadcast MBS session) [see Paragraphs 0175 & 0166 & 0152 ] ;
However, US 20230096763 does not explicitly teach receiving, from a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) entity, an MBS data of the MBS service, wherein the information on the broadcast MBS session is transmitted to the MB-UPF via a multicast/broadcast-session management function (MB-SMF) entity.
US 20230300572, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) entity, an MBS data of the MBS service, wherein the information on the broadcast MBS session is transmitted to the MB-UPF via a multicast/broadcast-session management function (MB-SMF) entity ( 0210] Step 739.A: In case AMF detects some UE previously joined are out of the service area defined by location criteria, it sends MB Session Join Cancel to those UEs, so that UEs will know they will not be served the MB Session. Along with that NAS message, AMF also sends an N2 message: MB Session Modify (NGAP ID to be removed, TMGI). NG-RAN will remove the UE(s) from the MB Session Context, so that NG-RAN will not deliver the MB Session data to the UE(s). For other UEs within the coverage of the service area defined by location criteria, they will be served by NG-RAN and 5GC for the MB Session data delivery.) [see Figure 7a and Figure 7b and Paragraphs 0186-0215].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230096763 in view of US 20230300572 because US 20230300572 suggests that one of the objects of the disclosure is to provide a solution for supporting local multicast/broadcast service.
However, US 20230096763 and US 20230300572 do not explicitly teach the shared base station.
US 20240155733, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the base station is a shared base station for the MBS service ( [0008] In a third aspect, a communication control method is used in a mobile communication system. The communication control method includes transmitting, at a base station shared by a plurality of core networks, control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks; and transmitting, at the base station, MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs.
[0009] In a fourth aspect, a base station is shared by a plurality of core networks in a mobile communication system. The base station includes a wireless communicator that transmits control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks. The wireless communicator transmits MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify combined system ( US 20230096763 and US 20230300572), and further in view of US 20240155733 because US 20240155733 suggests that One base station or one cell may be shared by a plurality of core networks belonging to operators (Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs)) different from each other. In such a scenario, the following method has been proposed in which, when the same MBS service is provided from respective core networks via the base station, the base station transmits MBS data using radio resources common to a plurality of operators, to thereby reduce a use amount of radio resources for the MBS.
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20230096763 further teaches wherein the second broadcast MBS session is identified in case that the first broadcast MBS session is released or in case that a reception of the MBS data via the first broadcast MBS session fails (wherein the second broadcast MBS session is identified in case that the first broadcast MBS session is released or in case that a reception of the MBS data via the first broadcast MBS session fails) [see Paragraph 0175 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20230096763 further teaches wherein the information on the second broadcast MBS session includes an identity of the second broadcast MBS session and information on a downlink tunnel associated with the second broadcast MBS session ( wherein the information on the second broadcast MBS session includes an identity of the second broadcast MBS session and information on a downlink tunnel associated with the second broadcast MBS session ) [see Paragraph 0175 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20230096763 further teaches wherein the first broadcast MBS session is associated with at least one of a core network operating the base station, a core network with a largest number of subscribed UEs in a MBS service area, or a core network with a highest facility contribution (wherein the first broadcast MBS session is associated with at least one of a core network operating the base station, a core network with a largest number of subscribed UEs in a MBS service area, or a core network with a highest facility contribution) [see Paragraph 0175 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20230096763 teaches a method performed by a multicast and broadcast-session management function (MB-SMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, information on a second broadcast multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session which is different from a first broadcast MBS session for a MBS service in case that the MBS service of a first broadcast MBS session is not available (the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network ) ( The AMF 110 checks if any of the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network and should be removed from the UE 108. The AMF 110 makes a new MB Session Status parameter and includes in the Registration Accept NAS message (step 21 of TS 23.501 clause 4.2.2.2.2) where the AMF 110 includes all valid MB Sessions/TMGIs out of the ones the UE 108 listed in the MB Session Status in step 1202 and 1206. The UE 108 removes locally any internal resources related to MB Sessions that are not marked as established in the received MB Session Status.) [see Paragraph 0175];
allocating a broadcast MB S session based on the information on the second broadcast MBS session (new broadcast MBS session) ( The AMF 110 checks if any of the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network and should be removed from the UE 108. The AMF 110 makes a new MB Session Status parameter and includes in the Registration Accept NAS message (step 21 of TS 23.501 clause 4.2.2.2.2) where the AMF 110 includes all valid MB Sessions/TMGIs out of the ones the UE 108 listed in the MB Session Status in step 1202 and 1206. The UE 108 removes locally any internal resources related to MB Sessions that are not marked as established in the received MB Session Status.) [see Paragraph 0175];
However, US 20230096763 does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to MB-user plane function (UPF) entity, information on the broadcast MBS session, wherein an MBS data of the MBS service is transmitted based on the information on the broadcast MBS session.
US 20230300572, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmitting, to MB-user plane function (UPF) entity, information on the broadcast MBS session, wherein an MBS data of the MBS service is transmitted based on the information on the broadcast MBS session ( 0210] Step 739.A: In case AMF detects some UE previously joined are out of the service area defined by location criteria, it sends MB Session Join Cancel to those UEs, so that UEs will know they will not be served the MB Session. Along with that NAS message, AMF also sends an N2 message: MB Session Modify (NGAP ID to be removed, TMGI). NG-RAN will remove the UE(s) from the MB Session Context, so that NG-RAN will not deliver the MB Session data to the UE(s). For other UEs within the coverage of the service area defined by location criteria, they will be served by NG-RAN and 5GC for the MB Session data delivery.) [see Figure 7a and Figure 7b and Paragraphs 0186-0215].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230096763 in view of US 20230300572 because US 20230300572 suggests that one of the objects of the disclosure is to provide a solution for supporting local multicast/broadcast service.
However, US 20230096763 and US 20230300572 do not explicitly teach the shared base station.
US 20240155733, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the base station is a shared base station for the MBS service ( [0008] In a third aspect, a communication control method is used in a mobile communication system. The communication control method includes transmitting, at a base station shared by a plurality of core networks, control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks; and transmitting, at the base station, MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs.
[0009] In a fourth aspect, a base station is shared by a plurality of core networks in a mobile communication system. The base station includes a wireless communicator that transmits control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks. The wireless communicator transmits MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify combined system ( US 20230096763 and US 20230300572), and further in view of US 20240155733 because US 20240155733 suggests that One base station or one cell may be shared by a plurality of core networks belonging to operators (Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs)) different from each other. In such a scenario, the following method has been proposed in which, when the same MBS service is provided from respective core networks via the base station, the base station transmits MBS data using radio resources common to a plurality of operators, to thereby reduce a use amount of radio resources for the MBS.
Regarding to the claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20230096763 teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
identify that a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) service of a first broadcast MBS session is not available ( the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network ) (The AMF 110 checks if any of the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network and should be removed from the UE 108. The AMF 110 makes a new MB Session Status parameter and includes in the Registration Accept NAS message (step 21 of TS 23.501 clause 4.2.2.2.2) where the AMF 110 includes all valid MB Sessions/TMGIs out of the ones the UE 108 listed in the MB Session Status in step 1202 and 1206. The UE 108 removes locally any internal resources related to MB Sessions that are not marked as established in the received MB Session Status.) [see Paragraph 0175] ;
identify a second broadcast MBS session (new MBS session) which is different from the first broadcast MBS session for the MBS service (identifying a second broadcast MBS session which is different from the first broadcast MBS session for the MBS service) [see Paragraph 0175] ;
transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, information on the second broadcast MBS session (transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, information on the second broadcast MBS session) [see Paragraph 0175 ] ;
receive, from the AMF entity, information on a broadcast MBS session allocated based on the information on the second broadcast MBS session (receiving, from the AMF entity, information on a broadcast MBS session allocated based on the information on the second broadcast MBS session) [see Paragraphs 0175 & 0166 & 0152 ] ;
However, US 20230096763 does not explicitly teach receive, from a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) entity, an MBS data of the MBS service, wherein the information on the broadcast MBS session is transmitted to the MB-UPF via a multicast/broadcast-session management function (MB-SMF) entity.
US 20230300572, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive, from a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) entity, an MBS data of the MBS service, wherein the information on the broadcast MBS session is transmitted to the MB-UPF via a multicast/broadcast-session management function (MB-SMF) entity ( 0210] Step 739.A: In case AMF detects some UE previously joined are out of the service area defined by location criteria, it sends MB Session Join Cancel to those UEs, so that UEs will know they will not be served the MB Session. Along with that NAS message, AMF also sends an N2 message: MB Session Modify (NGAP ID to be removed, TMGI). NG-RAN will remove the UE(s) from the MB Session Context, so that NG-RAN will not deliver the MB Session data to the UE(s). For other UEs within the coverage of the service area defined by location criteria, they will be served by NG-RAN and 5GC for the MB Session data delivery.) [see Figure 7a and Figure 7b and Paragraphs 0186-0215].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230096763 in view of US 20230300572 because US 20230300572 suggests that one of the objects of the disclosure is to provide a solution for supporting local multicast/broadcast service.
However, US 20230096763 and US 20230300572 do not explicitly teach the shared base station.
US 20240155733, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the base station is a shared base station for the MBS service ( [0008] In a third aspect, a communication control method is used in a mobile communication system. The communication control method includes transmitting, at a base station shared by a plurality of core networks, control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks; and transmitting, at the base station, MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs.
[0009] In a fourth aspect, a base station is shared by a plurality of core networks in a mobile communication system. The base station includes a wireless communicator that transmits control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks. The wireless communicator transmits MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify combined system ( US 20230096763 and US 20230300572), and further in view of US 20240155733 because US 20240155733 suggests that One base station or one cell may be shared by a plurality of core networks belonging to operators (Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs)) different from each other. In such a scenario, the following method has been proposed in which, when the same MBS service is provided from respective core networks via the base station, the base station transmits MBS data using radio resources common to a plurality of operators, to thereby reduce a use amount of radio resources for the MBS.
Regarding to the claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Regarding to the claim 16, US 20230096763 teaches a multicast/broadcast-session management function (MB-SMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the MB-SMF entity comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, information on a second broadcast multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session which is different from a first broadcast MBS session for a MBS service in case that the MBS service of a first broadcast MBS session is not available (the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network ) ( The AMF 110 checks if any of the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network and should be removed from the UE 108. The AMF 110 makes a new MB Session Status parameter and includes in the Registration Accept NAS message (step 21 of TS 23.501 clause 4.2.2.2.2) where the AMF 110 includes all valid MB Sessions/TMGIs out of the ones the UE 108 listed in the MB Session Status in step 1202 and 1206. The UE 108 removes locally any internal resources related to MB Sessions that are not marked as established in the received MB Session Status.) [see Paragraph 0175];
allocate a broadcast MB S session based on the information on the second broadcast MBS session (new broadcast MBS session) ( The AMF 110 checks if any of the MB Sessions/TMGIs in the MB Session Status have been deleted in the network and should be removed from the UE 108. The AMF 110 makes a new MB Session Status parameter and includes in the Registration Accept NAS message (step 21 of TS 23.501 clause 4.2.2.2.2) where the AMF 110 includes all valid MB Sessions/TMGIs out of the ones the UE 108 listed in the MB Session Status in step 1202 and 1206. The UE 108 removes locally any internal resources related to MB Sessions that are not marked as established in the received MB Session Status.) [see Paragraph 0175];
However, US 20230096763 does not explicitly disclose transmit, to MB-user plane function (UPF) entity, information on the broadcast MBS session, wherein an MBS data of the MBS service is transmitted based on the information on the broadcast MBS session.
US 20230300572, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmit, to MB-user plane function (UPF) entity, information on the broadcast MBS session, wherein an MBS data of the MBS service is transmitted based on the information on the broadcast MBS session ( 0210] Step 739.A: In case AMF detects some UE previously joined are out of the service area defined by location criteria, it sends MB Session Join Cancel to those UEs, so that UEs will know they will not be served the MB Session. Along with that NAS message, AMF also sends an N2 message: MB Session Modify (NGAP ID to be removed, TMGI). NG-RAN will remove the UE(s) from the MB Session Context, so that NG-RAN will not deliver the MB Session data to the UE(s). For other UEs within the coverage of the service area defined by location criteria, they will be served by NG-RAN and 5GC for the MB Session data delivery.) [see Figure 7a and Figure 7b and Paragraphs 0186-0215].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230096763 in view of US 20230300572 because US 20230300572 suggests that one of the objects of the disclosure is to provide a solution for supporting local multicast/broadcast service.
However, US 20230096763 and US 20230300572 do not explicitly teach the shared base station.
US 20240155733, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the base station is a shared base station for the MBS service ( [0008] In a third aspect, a communication control method is used in a mobile communication system. The communication control method includes transmitting, at a base station shared by a plurality of core networks, control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks; and transmitting, at the base station, MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs.
[0009] In a fourth aspect, a base station is shared by a plurality of core networks in a mobile communication system. The base station includes a wireless communicator that transmits control information used for reception of an MBS traffic channel and/or reception of an MBS control channel to a plurality of user equipments belonging to a plurality of PLMNs corresponding to the plurality of core networks. The wireless communicator transmits MBS data to the plurality of user equipments through multicast or broadcast by using the MBS traffic channel. The control information includes a PLMN identifier of each of the plurality of PLMNs ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify combined system ( US 20230096763 and US 20230300572), and further in view of US 20240155733 because US 20240155733 suggests that One base station or one cell may be shared by a plurality of core networks belonging to operators (Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs)) different from each other. In such a scenario, the following method has been proposed in which, when the same MBS service is provided from respective core networks via the base station, the base station transmits MBS data using radio resources common to a plurality of operators, to thereby reduce a use amount of radio resources for the MBS.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 14, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412