Claims 1-12 & 14-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14, 15 & 17-20 have been amended.
Objection to claim 14 has been withdrawn based on amendments to claim 14.
Rejection to claims 2 & 15 under 35 USC 112(a) have been maintained and rejections to claims 1, 4, 7-9, 12, 14 & 20 under 35 USC 112(a) have been made.
Rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn based on amendments to this claim.
Rejection to claims 1-12 & 14-20 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1-2, 4-12, 14, 15 & 17-20. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections have been made to claims 1-12 & 14-20 under 35 USC 103 based on new references Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) and Papasakellariou et al. (US 20210014026)(herein after “Papasakellariou”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the objection of claim 14 has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to claim 14 has been withdrawn based on amendments to this claim.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 112(b) has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn based on amendments to this claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claims 2 & 15 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendment to clarify that the “third information” is received “on a fourth cell” and “indicat[es] an RS resource” still recites “a fourth” cell which is not disclosed in the current application specification, and none of the figures shows a fourth cell.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-12 & 14-20 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections have been made in view of new references Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) and Papasakellariou et al. (US 20210014026)(herein after “Papasakellariou”).
Applicant submits that claims 1-12 & 14-20 are patentable based on amendments to claims 1-2, 4-12, 14, 15 & 17-20. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that amendments to this claim traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”). Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 8 & 14, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026 due to similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 8 & 14 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 8 & 14 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Zhang.
Regarding claims 2-7, 9-12 & 15-20, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026 due to amendments and arguments made for claims 1, 8 & 14 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 8 or 14. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 2-7, 9-12 & 15-20 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 1/21/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 2-7, 9-12 & 15-20 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Zhang and Papasakellariou (regarding claims 4 & 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-9, 12, 14, 15 & 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, this claim recites the limitations “wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the first information bits using a first channel on the second cell from the set of cells” and “the processor configured to determine: the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells” and wherein “first information bits that indicate the first operation state”. [0005] of the current application specification discloses transmission of first information bits that indicate a first operation state on a first PUCCH of a first cell, but examiner is not able to find where the current application discloses that the first information bits are transmitted by the UE on a first channel on a second cell. [0122] of the current application specification discloses that the UE can be provided resources for PUCCH transmission with STR information on a secondary cell, but there is no indication that the STR information represents first information bits that indicate a first operation state of a first cell.
Regarding claim 2, this claim recites “wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive: second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states for a third cell from the set of cells, wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) on the third cell, and third information on a fourth cell from the set of cells, the third information indicating an RS resource”. [0005] in the current application specification discloses second information for a set of values for a power control parameter, and [0089] discloses a second NW operation state can be associated with a second value of a parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower (i.e. a power control parameter), but examiner is not able to find in the current application specification disclosure that the second information is for, or associated with, a third cell from the set of cells, nor that the third information, indicating the RS, is on a fourth cell. Further, none of the figures even show a fourth cell. Claim 2 further recites “wherein the second operation state is associated with third information for an RS resource on a fourth cell from the respective set of cells”. [0085] in the current application specification discloses a second NW operation state, but examiner is not able to find in the current application specification disclosure that the second operation state is associated with third information for an RS resource on a fourth cell, and none of the figures even shows a fourth cell. Claim 2 further recites “wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) on the third cell”. [0085] in the current application specification discloses a second NW operation state that may correspond to no use of power domain resources (e.g. absence of reception of RS), but examiner is not able to find in the current application specification disclosure that the second operation state associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) is on the third cell.
Regarding claim 4, this claim recites “wherein: the determination of the power is based on a first number of transmit power control (TPC) command values when the first operation state for the first cell is the second operation state from the set of operation states, and the determination of the power is not based on a TPC command value when the first operation state for the first cell is not the second operation state from the set of operation states.”. [0137] of the current application specification discloses a UE uses TPC commands when an eNB in not in a sleep state and does not use TPC commands when the eNB is in a sleep mode, but examiner is unable to find in the current application specification disclosure that the UE determination of the power is based on a first number of transmit power control (TPC) command values when a first operation state for the first cell is the second operation state and the determination of the power is not based on a TPC command value when the first operation state for the first cell is not the second operation state. Further, being in a sleep state or not a sleep state is not equivalent to two different operation states per claim 1, upon which claim 4 is dependent, which recites that operation states consist of at least one of time domain, frequency domain and spatial domain parameters.
Regarding claim 7, this claim recites “the processor is further configured to determine: second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells, and a power based on the second information bits; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit a second channel with the second information bits based on the power.”. [0146] of the current application specification discloses that a DCI format can indicate use of a TPC command which determines the transmission power of a channel that is not associated with the DCI format, but examiner interprets this as the channel not being associated with the DCI format, which does not disclose second information bits not associated with an indication of an operation state.
Regarding claim 8, this claim recites the limitations “a transceiver configured to: receive a first channel with the first information bits on the second cell from the respective set of cells” and “a processor configured to determine the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells based on the first information bits”. [0006] of the current application specification discloses a base station receiving transmission of first information bits that indicate a first operation state on a first PUCCH of a first cell, but examiner is not able to find where the current application discloses that the first information bits are received by the base station on a first channel on a second cell. [0122] of the current application specification discloses that the UE can be provided resources for PUCCH transmission, that may be received by the base station, with STR information on a secondary cell, but there is no indication that the STR information represents first information bits that indicate a first operation state of a first cell.
Regarding claim 9, this claim recites “wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit: second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states for a third cell from the set of cells, wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) on the third cell, and third information on a fourth cell from the set of cells, the third information indicating an RS resource”. [0005] in the current application specification discloses second information for a set of values for a power control parameter, and [0089] discloses a second NW operation state can be associated with a second value of a parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower (i.e. a power control parameter), but examiner is not able to find in the current application specification disclosure that the second information is for, or is associated with, a third cell, nor that the third information, indicating the RS, is on a fourth cell. Further, none of the figures show a fourth cell.
Regarding claim 12, this claim recites “the transceiver is further configured to receive a second channel, wherein the second channel provides second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells.”. [0146] of the current application specification discloses that a DCI format can indicate use of a TPC command which determines the transmission power of a channel that is not associated with the DCI format, but examiner interprets this as the channel not being associated with the DCI format, which does not disclose receiving second information bits not associated with an indication of an operation state.
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites the limitations “transmitting the first information bits using a first channel on the second cell from the set of cells” and “determining the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells” and wherein “first information bits that indicate the first operation state”. [0005] of the current application specification discloses transmission of first information bits that indicate a first operation state on a first PUCCH of a first cell, but examiner is not able to find where the current application discloses that the first information bits are transmitted by the UE on a first channel on a second cell. [0122] of the current application specification discloses that the UE can be provided resources for PUCCH transmission with STR information on a secondary cell, but there is no indication that the STR information represents first information bits that indicate a first operation state of a first cell.
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites “receiving second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states for a third cell from the set of cells, wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) on the third cell, and third information on a fourth cell from the set of cells, the third information indicating an RS resource”. [0005] in the current application specification discloses second information for a set of values for a power control parameter, and [0089] discloses a second NW operation state can be associated with a second value of a parameter ss-PBCH-BlockPower (i.e. a power control parameter), but examiner is not able to find in the current application specification disclosure that the second information is for, or associated with, a third cell from the set of cells, nor that the third information, indicating the RS, is on a fourth cell. Claim 15 further recites “wherein the second operation state is associated with third information for an RS resource on a fourth cell from the respective set of cells”. [0085] in the current application specification discloses a second NW operation state, but examiner is not able to find in the current application specification disclosure that the second operation state is associated with third information for an RS resource on a fourth cell. Further, none of the figures show a fourth cell. Claim 15 further recites “wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) on the third cell”. [0085] in the current application specification discloses a second NW operation state that may correspond to no use of power domain resources (e.g. absence of reception of RS), but examiner is not able to find in the current application specification disclosure that the second operation state associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) is on the third cell.
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites “determining second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells; determining a power based on the second information bits; and transmitting a second channel with the second information bits based on the power.”. [0146] of the current application specification discloses that a DCI format can indicate use of a TPC command which determines the transmission power of a channel that is not associated with the DCI format, but examiner interprets this as the channel not being associated with the DCI format, which does not disclose second information bits not associated with an indication of an operation state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive first information for a set of operation states for a set of cells including a first cell and a second cell (Fig 2 and [0025]-[0026] & [0029] discloses a UE 204 with a UE transceiver module 230 that can communicate with a base station transceiver module 210 over wireless data communication link 250. Fig 7 & [0048]-[0049] discloses that the UE can receive, through RRC signaling, N sets of parameters (i.e. N operation states) related to different TCI states for different spatial beams corresponding to different sets of neighboring cells, including cell 1 (a first cell) and cell 2 (a second cell) in fig 7.),
wherein each operation state from the set of operation states defines parameters for receptions by the UE on the set of cells, the parameters specified in at least one or more domains selected from the group consisting of a time domain, a frequency domain, and a spatial domain (Fig 7 & [0049]-[0050] discloses that each set of parameters from N sets of parameters includes sets of parameters associated with an activated TCI state for spatial relationship (i.e. spatial domain) of the spatial beams corresponding to the different sets of neighboring cells. [0040] discloses that in some implementations, each set of parameters of the N sets of parameters may be associated with a BWP and CORESET pool (i.e. time/frequency domain resources).),
wherein the set of operation states includes a first operation state and a second operation state (Fig 7 & [0049] discloses N sets of parameters, so for the case of N greater than or equal to 2, the N sets of parameters would include a first set of parameters (i.e. a first operation state) and a second set of parameters (i.e. a second operation state).); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (Fig 2 & [0025]-[0026] disclose that UE 204 includes a UE processor module 236 coupled and interconnected with transceiver module 230.), the processor configured to determine:
the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells, and
first information bits that indicate the first operation state ([0048] discloses that a UE may determine N sets of parameters selected from X sets of parameters for a gNB. In the case of N=1 and X>1, the UE would determine a first set of parameters from the set of X sets of parameters for the gNB. [0048] discloses that the UE would determine a bitmap with X bits indicating the N sets of parameters (and for the case of N=1, the X bits would be first information bits that indicate the first set of parameters).),
Zhang fails to disclose but Gunnarsson teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit the first information bits using a first channel on the second cell from the respective set of cells (Fig 1 & [0002] discloses a set of cells. Fig 2 & [0049] discloses a UE receiving a temporary identifier (i.e. operation state information) of a first node. Fig 3 & [0053] disclose the UE receiving an identifier black list from the first node containing a list of cell or beam identities of nodes known to be neighbors of the first node. Fig 3 & [0055]-[0056] disclose the UE establishing a connection with a second node (i.e. establishing a first channel on a second cell from the set of cells) that is unknown to the first node (i.e. is not on a black list sent from the first node to the UE) and sending the temporary identifier for the first node and/or the temporary identifier for the mobility beam of the first node (i.e. sending the operation state information) to the second node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a UE comprising: a transceiver configured to receive first information for a set of operation states for a set of cells including a first cell and a second cell, wherein each operation state from the set of operation states defines parameters for receptions by the UE on the set of cells, the parameters specified in at least one or more domains selected from the group consisting of a time domain, a frequency domain, and a spatial domain, wherein the set of operation states includes a first operation state and a second operation state; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine: the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells, and first information bits that indicate the first operation state, as disclosed by Zhang, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit the first information bits using a first channel on the second cell from the set of cells, as taught by Gunnarsson. The motivation to do so would be to enable a UE to assist a first cell in the establishment of neighbor cell relations with a second cell previously unknown to the fist cell by having the first cell send a set of operation states for the first cell to a UE, the UE determining a first operation state of the set of operation states to communication with the first cell such as a cell or beam identifier from the first cell, the UE then sending the cell or beam identifier information to the second cell previously unknown to the first cell, so that the second cell can initiate contact with the first cell to establish neighbor relations in order to enable timely handovers between the first and second cell.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a base station (BS) comprising:
a transceiver configured to: transmit first information for a set of operation states for a set of cells including a first cell and a second cell (Fig 2 and [0025]-[0026] & [0029] discloses a BS 202 with a BS transceiver module 210 that can communicate with a UE transceiver module 230 over wireless data communication link 250. Fig 7 & [0048]-[0049] discloses that the UE can receive, through RRC signaling, N sets of parameters (i.e. N operation states) related to different TCI states for different spatial beams corresponding to different sets of neighboring cells, including cell 1 (a first cell) and cell 2 (a second cell) in fig 7. [0075] discloses that the RRC signaling may be transmitted from the BS.),
wherein each operation state from the set of operation states comprises parameters for receptions on the set of cells, in one or more of a time, a frequency, and a spatial domains (Fig 7 & [0049]-[0050] discloses that each set of parameters from N sets of parameters includes sets of parameters associated with an activated TCI state for spatial relationship (i.e. spatial domain) of the spatial beams corresponding to the different sets of neighboring cells. [0040] discloses that in some implementations, each set of parameters of the N sets of parameters may be associated with a BWP and CORESET pool (i.e. time/frequency domain resources).),
wherein the set of operation states includes a first operation state and a second operation state (Fig 7 & [0049] discloses N sets of parameters, so for the case of N greater than or equal to 2, the N sets of parameters would include a first set of parameters (i.e. a first operation state) and a second set of parameters (i.e. a second operation state).); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (Fig 2 & [0025]-[0026] disclose that BS 202 includes a BS processor module 214 coupled and interconnected with transceiver module 210.), the processor configured to determine:
the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells, and
first information bits that indicate the first operation state ([0048] discloses that a UE may determine N sets of parameters selected from X sets of parameters for a gNB based on RRC signaling. In the case of N=1 and X>1, the UE would determine a first set of parameters from the set of X sets of parameters for the gNB. [0048] discloses that the UE would determine a bitmap with X bits indicating the N sets of parameters (and for the case of N=1, the X bits would indicate the first set of parameters) based on second signaling. A broadest reasonable interpretation is that the gNB must have determined the N sets of parameters selected from the X sets of parameters and the X bits indicating the N sets of parameters in order to be able to send this information to the UE through RRC and second signaling.),
Zhang fails to disclose but Gunnarsson teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a first channel with first information bits on the second cell from the respective set of cells (Fig 1 & [0002] discloses a set of cells. Fig 2 & [0049] discloses a UE receiving a temporary identifier (i.e. operation state information) of a first node. Fig 3 & [0053] disclose the UE receiving an identifier black list from the first node containing a list of cell or beam identities of nodes known to be neighbors of the first node. Fig 3 & [0055]-[0056] disclose the UE establishing a connection with a second node (i.e. establishing a first channel on a second cell from the set of cells) that is unknown to the first node (i.e. is not on a black list sent from the first node to the UE) and sending the temporary identifier for the first node and/or the temporary identifier for the mobility beam of the first node (i.e. sending the operation state information) to the second node (i.e. the second cell receives the temporary identifier for the first node on the first channel.).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a base station (BS) comprising: a transceiver configured to: transmit first information for a set of operation states for a set of cells including a first cell and a second cell, wherein each operation state from the set of operation states comprises parameters for receptions on the set of cells, in one or more of a time, a frequency, and a spatial domains, wherein the set of operation states includes a first operation state and a second operation state; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine: the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells, and first information bits that indicate the first operation state, as disclosed by Zhang, wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a first channel with first information bits on the second cell from the respective set of cells, as taught by Gunnarsson. The motivation to do so would be to enable a first cell to establish neighbor cell relations with a second cell previously unknown to the fist cell by having the first cell send a set of operation states for the first cell to a UE, the UE determining a first operation state of the set of operation states to communication with the first cell such as a cell or beam identifier from the first cell, the UE then sending the cell or beam identifier information to the second cell previously unknown to the first cell, so that the second cell can initiate contact with the first cell to establish neighbor relations in order to enable timely handovers between the first and second cell.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a method of operating a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving first information for a set of operation states for a set of cells including a first cell and a second cell (Fig 2 and [0025]-[0026] & [0029] discloses a UE 204 with a UE transceiver module 230 that can communicate with a base station transceiver module 210 over wireless data communication link 250. Fig 7 & [0048]-[0049] discloses that the UE can receive, through RRC signaling, N sets of parameters (i.e. N operation states) related to different TCI states for different spatial beams corresponding to different sets of neighboring cells, including cell 1 (a first cell) and cell 2 (a second cell) in fig 7.),
wherein each operation state from the set of operation states comprises parameters for receptions on the set of cells in one or more of a time, a frequency, and a spatial domains (Fig 7 & [0049]-[0050] discloses that each set of parameters from N sets of parameters includes sets of parameters associated with an activated TCI state for spatial relationship (i.e. spatial domain) of the spatial beams corresponding to the different sets of neighboring cells. [0040] discloses that in some implementations, each set of parameters of the N sets of parameters may be associated with a BWP and CORESET pool (i.e. time/frequency domain resources).), and
wherein the set of operation states includes a first operation state and a second operation state (Fig 7 & [0049] discloses N sets of parameters, so for the case of N greater than or equal to 2, the N sets of parameters would include a first set of parameters (i.e. a first operation state) and a second set of parameters (i.e. a second operation state).);
determining the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells ([0048] discloses that a UE may determine N sets of parameters selected from X sets of parameters for a gNB. In the case of N=1 and X>1, the UE would determine a first set of parameters from the set of X sets of parameters for the gNB.); and
determining first information bits that indicate the first operation state ([0048] discloses that the UE would determine a bitmap with X bits indicating the N sets of parameters (and for the case of N=1, the X bits would indicate the first set of parameters).),
Zhang fails to disclose but Gunnarsson teaches transmitting the first information bits using a first channel on the second cell from the set of cells (Fig 1 & [0002] discloses a set of cells. Fig 2 & [0049] discloses a UE receiving a temporary identifier (i.e. operation state information) of a first node. Fig 3 & [0053] disclose the UE receiving an identifier black list from the first node containing a list of cell or beam identities of nodes known to be neighbors of the first node. Fig 3 & [0055]-[0056] disclose the UE establishing a connection with a second node (i.e. establishing a first channel on a second cell from the set of cells) that is unknown to the first node (i.e. is not on a black list sent from the first node to the UE) and sending the temporary identifier for the first node and/or the temporary identifier for the mobility beam of the first node (i.e. sending the operation state information) to the second node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method of operating a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving first information for a set of operation states for a set of cells including a first cell and a second cell, wherein each operation state from the set of operation states comprises parameters for receptions on the set of cells in one or more of a time, a frequency, and a spatial domains, and wherein the set of operation states includes a first operation state and a second operation state; determining the first operation state from the set of operation states for the first cell from the set of cells; and determining first information bits that indicate the first operation state, as disclosed by Zhang, and transmitting the first information bits using a first channel on the second cell from the set of cells, as taught by Gunnarsson. The motivation to do so would be to have a method to enable a UE to assist a first cell in the establishment of neighbor cell relations with a second cell previously unknown to the fist cell by having the first cell send a set of operation states for the first cell to a UE, the UE determining a first operation state of the set of operation states to communication with the first cell such as a cell or beam identifier from the first cell, the UE then sending the cell or beam identifier information to the second cell previously unknown to the first cell, so that the second cell can initiate contact with the first cell to establish neighbor relations in order to enable timely handovers between the first and second cell.
Claims 7, 12 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”), as applied to claims 1, 8 & 14, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0343622)(herein after “Kim”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson disclose the UE of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells, and a power based on the second information bits ([0142] discloses a PUCCH format including a number of payload bits per subframe which are not associated with an indication of an operation state (i.e. second information bits not associated with an indication of an operation state). [0261]-[0262] & [0280] discloses a UE calculating PUCCH transmit power based on the PUCCH format (i.e. based on the payload bit size which represents the second information bits).); and
the transceiver is further configured to transmit a second channel with the second information bits based on the power ([0068] & [0280] disclose the UE transmitting a PUCCH (e.g. where the payload bits are the second information bits) based on the calculated PUCCH transmit power.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson, wherein the processor is further configured to determine: second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells, and a power based on the second information bits; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit a second channel with the second information bits based on the power, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would be to enable a UE to perform power control independent of an operation state indicated by the UE’s serving base station (BS) through first information bits, and transmit second information bits, on a second channel on the serving BS different than a first channel on a neighboring BS, that indicate power headroom available at the UE so that the serving BS can determine if further power increases are possible in the UE or if the serving BS should look to handover the UE to a neighboring BS.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson disclose the BS of claim 8.
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive a second channel wherein the second channel provides second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells ([0142] discloses a PUCCH format including a number of bits per subframe for carrying payload on the PUCCH (i.e. bits which are not associated with an indication of an operation state). [0068] & [0280] disclose a BS receiving, from a UE, a PUCCH (e.g. where the payload bits are the second information bits).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the BS of claim 8, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive a second channel wherein the second channel provides second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would be to enable a BS, serving a UE, to assist the UE in performing power control independent of an operation state indicated by the BS through first information bits, and receive second information bits, on a second channel on the BS different than a first channel on a neighboring BS, that indicate power headroom available at the UE so that the BS can determine if further power increases are possible in the UE or if the BS should look to handover the UE to a neighboring BS.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson disclose the method of claim 14.
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches further comprising: determining second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells ([0142] discloses a PUCCH format including a number of payload bits per subframe which are not associated with an indication of an operation state (i.e. second information bits not associated with an indication of an operation state).);
determining a power based on the second information bits ([0261]-[0262] & [0280] discloses a UE calculating PUCCH transmit power based on the PUCCH format (i.e. based on the payload bit size which represents the second information bits).); and
transmitting a second channel with the second information bits based on the power ([0068] & [0280] disclose the UE transmitting a PUCCH (e.g. where the payload bits are the second information bits) based on the calculated PUCCH transmit power.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 14, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson, further comprising: determining second information bits that are not associated with an indication of an operation state from the set of operation states, for a cell from the set of cells; determining a power based on the second information bits; and transmitting a second channel with the second information bits based on the power, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would be to have a method to enable a UE to perform power control independent of an operation state indicated by the UE’s serving base station (BS) through first information bits, and transmit second information bits, on a second channel on the serving BS different than a first channel on a neighboring BS, that indicate power headroom available at the UE so that the serving BS can determine if further power increases are possible in the UE or if the serving BS should look to handover the UE to a neighboring BS.
Claims 2, 3, 15 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”), as applied to claims 1 & 14, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0343622)(herein after “Kim”) and MolavianJazi et al. (US 10887843)(herein after “MolavianJazi”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson discloses the UE of claim 1.
Zhang discloses wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive: second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states (Fig 5 & [0046] disclose a UE receiving a response from the gNB confirming the use of M sets of parameters (i.e. in the case of M=1, the gNB response is second information for the second operation state).); and
the processor is further configured to determine the first information bits ([0048] discloses that a UE may determine N sets of parameters selected from X sets of parameters for a gNB. In the case of N=1 and X>1, the UE would determine a first set of parameters from the set of X sets of parameters for the gNB. [0048] discloses that the UE would determine a bitmap with X bits indicating the N sets of parameters (and for the case of N=1, the X bits would be first information bits that indicate the first set of parameters).).
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine:
a pathloss based on the RS resource ([0245] discloses a pathloss based on referenceSignalPower.); and
a power for the first channel based on the pathloss ([0280] disclose the UE calculating PUCCH transmit power (i.e. the first power) based on pathloss values.); and
the transceiver is further configured to transmit the first channel based on the power ([0068] disclose the UE transmitting the PUCCH on one of the cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive: second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states, and the processor is further configured to determine the first information bits, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson, wherein the processor is further configured to determine: a pathloss based on the RS resource; and a power for the first channel based on the pathloss; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the first channel based on the power, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE receive second information for a second operation state for communication, wherein the UE determines a power to transmit on a first channel based on a pathloss so that the UE can determine an optimal power to transmit that minimizes interference a network of cells.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs).
However, MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) (col 2, lines 11-27 disclose determining a transmission power based on pathloss from an RS associated with a second service cell (i.e. secondary cell) and transmitting on the first serving cell (i.e. primary cell) based on the determined pathloss. Col 6, lines 51-67 & col 7, Table 1 disclose that the RS field of the primary cell may be absent.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1 receive: second information for a second operation state from the set of operation states; and the processor is further configured to determine the first information bits; and the processor is further configured to determine a pathloss based on the RS resource; and a power for the first channel based on the pathloss; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the first channel based on the power, as disclosed by Zhang and Kim and Gunnarsson, and wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs), as further taught by MolavianJazi. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE that can reduce signaling overhead in cross-carrier scheduling by providing beam indications to a primary cell based on reference signals sent only by a secondary cell.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states is for a third cell from the set of cells, wherein the second operation state associated with the absence of reception of reference signals (RSs) in on the third cell, and wherein the BS transceiver transmits third information on a fourth cell from the respective set of cells, the third information indicating an RS resource. However, see 35 USC 112(a) claim rejection regarding the written description requirement for this limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi disclose the UE of claim 2 (except for the limitations related to the 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claim 2 discussed in this office action).
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches wherein: the determination of the power is not based on a transmit power control (TPC) command value ([0259] discloses determination of a power where the UE ignores TPC commands (i.e. not based on a TPC command).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 2, as discloses by Zhang and Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi, wherein: the determination of the power is not based on a transmit power control (TPC) command value, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE receive second information for a second operation state for communication on a third cell and third information indicating a RS resource, wherein the UE determines a power to transmit on a first channel on the third cell based on a pathloss based on the RS resources indicated in the third information, and not based on a TPC command, so that the UE can determine an optimal power to transmit on the third cell that minimizes interference to other cells in the absence of TPC commands.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson discloses the Method of claim 14.
Zhang discloses further comprising:
receiving second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states (Fig 5 & [0046] disclose a UE receiving a response from the gNB confirming the use of M sets of parameters (i.e. in the case of M=1, the gNB response is second information for the second operation state).); and
determining the first information bits ([0048] discloses that a UE may determine N sets of parameters selected from X sets of parameters for a gNB. In the case of N=1 and X>1, the UE would determine a first set of parameters from the set of X sets of parameters for the gNB. [0048] discloses that the UE would determine a bitmap with X bits indicating the N sets of parameters (and for the case of N=1, the X bits would be first information bits that indicate the first set of parameters).).
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches determining a pathloss based on the RS resource ([0245] discloses a pathloss based on referenceSignalPower.);
determining a power for the first channel based on the pathloss ([0280] disclose the UE calculating PUCCH transmit power (i.e. the first power) based on pathloss values.); and
transmitting the first channel based on the power ([0068] disclose the UE transmitting the PUCCH on one of the cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states, and determining the first information bits, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson, and determining a pathloss based on the RS resource; determining a power for the first channel based on the pathloss; and transmitting the first channel based on the power, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a UE to receive second information for a second operation state for communication, wherein the UE determines a power to transmit on a first channel based on a pathloss so that the UE can determine an optimal power to transmit that minimizes interference a network of cells.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs).
However, MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) (col 2, lines 11-27 disclose determining a transmission power based on pathloss from an RS associated with a second service cell (i.e. secondary cell) and transmitting on the first serving cell (i.e. primary cell) based on the determined pathloss. Col 6, lines 51-67 & col 7, Table 1 disclose that the RS field of the primary cell may be absent.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 14 and receiving second information for a second operation state from the set of operation states; determining the first information bits; determining a pathloss based on the RS resource; determining a power for the first channel based on the pathloss; and transmitting the first channel based on the power, as disclosed by Zhang and Kim and Gunnarsson, and wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs), as further taught by MolavianJazi. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for a UE that can reduce signaling overhead in cross-carrier scheduling by providing beam indications to a primary cell based on reference signals sent only by a secondary cell.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states is for a third cell from the set of cells, wherein the second operation state associated with the absence of reception of reference signals (RSs) in on the third cell, and wherein the BS transceiver transmits third information on a fourth cell from the respective set of cells, the third information indicating an RS resource. However, see 35 USC 112(a) claim rejection regarding the written description requirement for this limitation.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi disclose the method of claim 15 (except for the limitations related to the 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claim 15 discussed in this office action).
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches wherein the determination of the power is not based on a transmit power control (TPC) command value ([0259] discloses determination of a power where the UE ignores TPC commands (i.e. not based on a TPC command).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 15, as discloses by Zhang and Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi, wherein the determination of the power is not based on a transmit power control (TPC) command value, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a UE to receive second information for a second operation state for communication on a third cell and third information indicating a RS resource, wherein the UE determines a power to transmit on a first channel on the third cell based on a pathloss based on the RS resources indicated in the third information, and not based on a TPC command, so that the UE can determine an optimal power to transmit on the third cell that minimizes interference to other cells in the absence of TPC commands.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”), as applied to claim 8, and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 10887843)(herein after “MolavianJazi”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson discloses the BS of claim 8.
Zhang discloses wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive: second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states (Fig 5 & [0046] disclose a UE receiving a response from the gNB confirming the use of M sets of parameters (i.e. in the case of M=1, the gNB response is second information for the second operation state).).
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs).
However, MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs) (col 2, lines 11-27 disclose determining a transmission power based on pathloss from an RS associated with a second service cell (i.e. secondary cell) and transmitting on the first serving cell (i.e. primary cell) based on the determined pathloss. Col 6, lines 51-67 & col 7, Table 1 disclose that the RS field of the primary cell may be absent.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the BS of claim 8 transmit: second information for a second operation state from the set of operation states, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson, and wherein the second operation state is associated with an absence of receptions of reference signals (RSs), as further taught by MolavianJazi. The motivation to do so would be to have a BS that can reduce signaling overhead in cross-carrier scheduling by receiving beam indications from a UE based on reference signals sent only by a secondary cell.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the second information for the second operation state from the set of operation states is for a third cell from the set of cells, wherein the second operation state associated with the absence of reception of reference signals (RSs) in on the third cell, and wherein the BS transceiver transmits third information on a fourth cell from the respective set of cells, the third information indicating an RS resource. However, see 35 USC 112(a) claim rejection regarding the written description requirement for this limitation.
Claims 4 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”) and Kim et al. (US 2018/0343622)(herein after “Kim”) and MolavianJazi et al. (US 10887843)(herein after “MolavianJazi”), as applied to claims 2 & 15, and further in view of Papasakellariou et al. (US 20210014026)(herein after “Papasakellariou”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi disclose the UE of claim 2 (except for the limitation related to the 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claim 2 discussed in this office action).
Zhang fails to disclose but Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the determination of the power is based on a first number of transmit power control (TPC) command values when the first operation state for the first cell is the second operation state from the set of operation states, and the determination of the power is not based on a TPC command value when the first operation state for the first cell is not the second operation state from the set of operation states (Fig 1 & [0130] discloses that a UE 116 may ignore TPC commands for determining PUCCH transmission power when PDSCH receptions from TRPs use different TCI states that a TCI state from a first TRP. Thus, the UE would determine power based on TPC commands when in the TCI state of the first TRP (i.e. a first operation state), and would ignore TPC commands for determining power when in a different TCI state for a different TRP (i.e. a second operation state).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 2, as discloses by Zhang and Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi, wherein: the determination of the power is based on a first number of transmit power control (TPC) command values when the first operation state for the first cell is the second operation state from the set of operation states, and the determination of the power is not based on a TPC command value when the first operation state for the first cell is not the second operation state from the set of operation states, as further taught by Papasakellariou. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE base power on TPC commands when in a closed loop beamforming TCI state, where following TPC commands can improve performance, but nor when in an instantaneous beam switching TCI state, where spatial path length and signal attenuation change instantaneously and the TPC command can represent the “old’ path and thus degrade performance.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi disclose the method of claim 15 (except for the limitation related to the 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claim 15 discussed in this office action).
Zhang fails to disclose but Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the determination of the power is based on a first number of transmit power control (TPC) command values when the first operation state for the first cell is the second operation state from the set of operation states, and the determination of the power is not based on a TPC command value when the first operation state for the first cell is not the second operation state from the set of operation states (Fig 1 & [0130] discloses that a UE 116 may ignore TPC commands for determining PUCCH transmission power when PDSCH receptions from TRPs use different TCI states that a TCI state from a first TRP. Thus, the UE would determine power based on TPC commands when in the TCI state of the first TRP (i.e. a first operation state), and would ignore TPC commands for determining power when in a different TCI state for a different TRP (i.e. a second operation state).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 15, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson and Kim and MolavianJazi, wherein: the determination of the power is based on a first number of transmit power control (TPC) command values when the first operation state for the first cell is the second operation state from the set of operation states, and the determination of the power is not based on a TPC command value when the first operation state for the first cell is not the second operation state from the set of operation states, as further taught by Papasakellariou. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a UE to base power on TPC commands when in a closed loop beamforming TCI state, where following TPC commands can improve performance, but nor when in an instantaneous beam switching TCI state, where spatial path length and signal attenuation change instantaneously and the TPC command can represent the “old’ path and thus degrade performance.
Claims 5, 10 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”), as applied to claims 1, 8 & 14, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0343622)(herein after “Kim”) and Zhu et al. (US 2015/0049649)(herein after “Zhu”).
Regarding claims 5, 10 & 18, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson discloses the UE of claim 1, the BS of claim 8 and the method of claim 14.
Zhang fails to disclose but Kim further teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, or further comprising the method of receiving, second information for reception of synchronization signals on a third cell from the set of cells ([0063] & [0090]-[0091] discloses a plurality of PDCCHs and Primary & Secondary Synchronization Channels P-SCH & S-SCH (i.e. synchronization signals) received by a UE. [0276]-[0277] disclose the UE and two or more cells may configure multi-connectivity mode so that the UE may receive signals from two or more cells (e.g. a primary cell being a first cell, a first secondary cell being a second cell and a second secondary cell being a third cell). Thus disclosed is a scenario where a plurality of PDCCHs may be received by a UE from a primary cell (i.e. first cell) containing first information including resource allocation and transport format for a first operation state of the primary cell (i.e. the first cell) and second information including P-SCH & S-SCH synchronization signals for both the first secondary cell (i.e. the second cell) and the second secondary cell (i.e. the third cell).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1, the BS of claim 8, or the method of claim 14, as disclosed by Zhang and Gunnarsson, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, or further comprising the method of receiving, second information for reception of synchronization signals, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, or a method for a UE, capable of receiving first information, transmitted by a BS, for allocation of resources for a first operation state on a primary cell, and receive second information, transmitted by the BS, including P-SCH & S-SCH synchronization signals for both a first secondary cell and a secondary cell, so that beamforming transmissions from the primary and secondary cells can be jointly optimized.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the second information indicates: a first periodicity associated with the second operation state from the set of operation states, on the third cell, and a second periodicity associated with a third operation state from the set of operation states, on the third cell.
However, Zhu further teaches wherein the second information indicates: a first periodicity associated with a second operation state, from the set of operation states, on the third cell, and a second periodicity associated with a third operation state, from the set of operation states, on the third cell. ([0057] discloses transmissions (i.e. second information) for receiving synchronizations that indicate a first periodicity associated with an active sate (i.e. second operation state on the third cell) and a second periodicity associated with an off state (i.e. third operation state on the third cell).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1, the BS of claim 8 or the method of claim 14, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, or further comprising the method of receiving, second information for reception of synchronization signals on a third cell from the set of cells, as disclosed by Zhang in view of Gunnarsson, wherein the second information indicates: a first periodicity associated with the second operation state from the set of operation states, on the third cell, and a second periodicity associated with a third operation state from the set of operation states, on the third cell, as further taught by Zhu. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE, a method for a UE, or a BS that can switch to an active operating state when needing to send or receive a PUCCH, and otherwise switch to an off operating state, on a third secondary cell of a set of secondary cells associated with a primary cell, to save battery life on the third secondary cell.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2015/0223234)(herein after “Seo”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson discloses the UE of Claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: the second operation state from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel, the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state.
However, Seo further teaches wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: the second operation state from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel, the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state ([0127] discloses a UE transmitting a PUCCH (i.e. a first channel) on a secondary cell, wherein the secondary cell may be a second cell with a second operation state that is not based on a predetermined rule (e.g. cells capable of ignoring delay time) or the secondary cell may be a third cell with a second operation state that is based on a predetermined rule (e.g. cells that must consider delay time).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1, as disclosed by Zhang in view of Gunnarsson, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: the second operation state from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel, the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state, as further taught by Seo. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE that can transmit a PUCCH on different secondary cells based on whether an operation state is based on a predetermined rule, such as a delay between the primary and secondary cell, or is not based on the predetermined rule (i.e. can ignore delay between the primary and secondary cell) in order to avoid excessive delay issues when selecting a secondary cell on which to transmit the PUCCH.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”), as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2015/0223234)(herein after “Seo”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson discloses the BS of Claim 8.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: the second operation state from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel, the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state.
However, Seo teaches wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: the second operation state, from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel, the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state ([0127] discloses a UE transmitting a PUCCH (i.e. a first channel) on a secondary cell, wherein the secondary cell may be a second cell with a second operation state that is not based on a predetermined rule (e.g. cells capable of ignoring delay time) or the secondary cell may be a third cell with a second operation state that is based on a predetermined rule (e.g. cells that must consider delay time).); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the BS of claim 8, as disclosed by Zhang in view of Gunnarsson, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine: the second operation state, from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel, the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state, as taught by Seo. The motivation to do so would be to have a BS transmit a set of operation states to a UE so that the UE can transmit a PUCCH on different secondary cells based on whether an operation state is based on a predetermined rule, such as a delay between the primary and secondary cell, or is not based on the predetermined rule (i.e. can ignore delay between the primary and secondary cell) in order to avoid excessive delay issues when selecting a secondary cell on which to transmit the PUCCH.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0155433)(herein after “Zhang”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 2018/0288675)(herein after “Gunnarsson”) and Zhu et al. (US 2015/0049649)(herein after “Zhu”), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2015/0223234)(herein after “Seo”).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Gunnarsson and Zhu discloses the method of Claim 18.
Zhang fails to disclose further comprising: determining the second operation state from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel; and determining the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and determining a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state.
However, Seo teaches further comprising: determining the second operation state, from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel ([0127] discloses a UE transmitting a PUCCH (i.e. a first channel) on a secondary cell (i.e. a second cell); and
determining the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states ([0127] discloses the secondary cell may be a second cell with a second operation state that is not based on a predetermined rule (e.g. cells capable of ignoring delay time).), and determining a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state ([0127] discloses the secondary cell may be a third cell with a second operation state that is based on a predetermined rule (e.g. cells that must consider delay time).); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method of claim 18, as disclosed by Zhang in view of Gunnarsson and Zhu, further comprising: determining the second operation state from the set of operation states, for the second cell during the transmission of the first channel; and determining the second cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is not a predetermined operation state from the set of operation states, and determining a third cell for the transmission of the first channel when the second operation state is the predetermined operation state, as taught by Seo. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for a UE to transmit a PUCCH on different secondary cells based on whether an operation state is based on a predetermined rule, such as a delay between the primary and secondary cell, or is not based on the predetermined rule (i.e. can ignore delay between the primary and secondary cell) in order to avoid excessive delay issues when selecting a secondary cell on which to transmit the PUCCH.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Raghavan et al. (US 11337203) discloses Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) State Switching for 5G NR.
Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2024/0430068) discloses Transmission Configuration State Selection for Periodic Wireless Communications with Multiple Beam Indicators.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409