Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on December 29, 2025. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the last limitation has a typographical error and should read “wherein the transceiver [is] further configured…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant now claims determining a first RSRP by multiplying several RSRPs with a factor with a summation. By this amendment, applicant claims that there is support in at least specification paragraph [0111] and [0166]-[0169]. However, these paragraphs describe, L3 filtering of L1-RSRP measurements, but the claim language is not sufficiently represented or described therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, and 20are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0351845), in view of Wang and Guey (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0007659), herein referred to as “Wang”, and further in view of Narasimha et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0214540), herein referred to as “Narasimha.” The reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated February 14, 2024.
Regarding Claim 1,
Davydov discloses: A method for a user equipment (UE) to report a first reference signal received power (RSRP), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), first information (CSI-RS) related to network operation states for a first cell, wherein a network operation state from the network operation states includes a power associated with receptions of reference signals (RSs) from the BS
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
Note: “NZP CSI-RS” is the “operation state” since there is an activated state between the network (cell) and the UE. The “computing” step is state 505.
receiving second information related to first RSs associated with respective first operation states on the first cell, wherein the first RSs include channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) or synchronization signals
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
receiving the first RSs based on the second information
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
transmitting a channel that includes the first RSRP.
[0016] CSI-RS are transmitted using REs otherwise allocated to the PDSCH with a configurable periodicity and spanning the entire transmit band. Up to eight CSI-RS, each corresponding to a different antenna port, may be transmitted by a cell. A UE may use the CSI-RS to estimate the channel and produce a CSI report that is fed back to the serving cell via the PUCCH or PUSCH.
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
Davydov does not disclose the following limitations of Claim 1.
Wang discloses determining a second RSRP based on second RSs, from the first RSs, wherein the second RSs are associated with a second network operation state from the first network operation states.
[0029] In one novel aspect, a CSI-RS resource can be configured with a bursty period in which the same CSI-RS resource is repeatedly transmitted over time. Any two repetitions of the CSI-RS resource are not overlapped in time. For periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For aperiodic CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be indicated by the triggering downlink control information (DCI). In step 322, UE 302 reports the computed CSI to gNB based on the CSI configuration information. The reported CSI parameters may include Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Index (CQI). UE 302 can acquire Doppler-domain information of the downlink channel based on the CSI-RS repetition to facilitate high velocity scenarios.
Wang discloses determining a third RSRP based on third RSs, from the first RSs, wherein the third RSs, are associated with a third network operation state from the first network operation states.
[0029] In one novel aspect, a CSI-RS resource can be configured with a bursty period in which the same CSI-RS resource is repeatedly transmitted over time. Any two repetitions of the CSI-RS resource are not overlapped in time. For periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For aperiodic CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be indicated by the triggering downlink control information (DCI). In step 322, UE 302 reports the computed CSI to gNB based on the CSI configuration information. The reported CSI parameters may include Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Index (CQI). UE 302 can acquire Doppler-domain information of the downlink channel based on the CSI-RS repetition to facilitate high velocity scenarios.
Note: The second and third RSs come from the fact that there are repetitions of the CSI-RS.
Davydov in view of Wang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov to include the concept of including multiple RSRPs based on RS as taught by Wang so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Davydov also does not disclose the following limitation.
However, Narasimha discloses:
determining the first RSRP by:
multiplying the second RSRP with a second factor to obtain a fourth RSRP, wherein the second factor depends on at least a second power associated with the second network operation state,
multiplying the third RSRP with a third factor to obtain a fifth RSRP, wherein the third factor depends on at least a third power associated with the third network operation state,
and summing the fourth RSRP and the fifth RSRP
[0037] FIG. 7 illustrates Layer 1 (L1) signal measurements (M.sub.n-1) averaged over a first measurement averaging period on a carrier frequency and the corresponding generation of a Layer 3 filter output (F.sub.n-1) based on the averaged L1 signal measurement (M.sub.n-1) and based on a prior filtered output (F.sub.n-2) wherein a weighting factor is applied to the filter output (F.sub.n-1) and the averaged signal measurements (M.sub.n-1). Also illustrated are L1 signal measurements (Mn) averaged over a second measurement average period and the corresponding generation of a Layer 3 filter output (F.sub.n) based on the averaged L1 signal measurement (M.sub.n) and based on the prior filtered output (F.sub.n-1) wherein a different weighting factor is applied to the prior filter output (F.sub.n-1) and the averaged signal measurement (M.sub.n) such that the prior filter output is negated or weighted less than the averaged signal measurement (M.sub.n). After at least one iteration using the second measurement averaging period and the different weighting factor, L1 measurements revert to using the first measurement averaging period and a weighting factor that weights prior L3 filter outputs more heavily than does the second weighting factor.
Note: Figure 7, as a whole, is demonstrating the recursive effect to Applicant’s specification [0166-0167], which is L3 filtering based on a mathematical formula.
Davydov in view of Narisimha are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov to include the concept of determining the RSRP by L3 filtering in a recursive manner as taught by Narisimha so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 6,
Davydov does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Wang discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving third information related to transmissions of fourth RSs on a second cell, wherein: the fourth RSs are associated with the first network operation states on the first cell, the receptions of the first RSs on the first cell and of the fourth RSs on the second cell are not overlapping in time, and determining the first RSRP further comprises determining the first RSRP based on receptions of the first RSs on the first cell and of the fourth RSs on the second cell.
[0029] In one novel aspect, a CSI-RS resource can be configured with a bursty period in which the same CSI-RS resource is repeatedly transmitted over time. Any two repetitions of the CSI-RS resource are not overlapped in time. For periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For aperiodic CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be indicated by the triggering downlink control information (DCI). In step 322, UE 302 reports the computed CSI to gNB based on the CSI configuration information. The reported CSI parameters may include Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Index (CQI). UE 302 can acquire Doppler-domain information of the downlink channel based on the CSI-RS repetition to facilitate high velocity scenarios.
Davydov in view of Wang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov to include the concept of having reference signals not overlapping in time as taught by Wang so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the UE.
Davydov discloses: A user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS), first information (CSI-RS) related to network operation states for a first cell, wherein a network operation state from the network operation states includes a power associated with receptions of reference signals (RSs) from the BS
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
Note: “NZP CSI-RS” is the “operation state” since there is an activated state between the network (cell) and the UE. The “computing” step is state 505.
receive second information related to first RSs associated with respective first operation states on the first cell, wherein the first RSs include channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) or synchronization signals
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
receive the first RSs based on the second information
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
wherein the transceiver further configured to transmit a channel that includes the third RSRP.
[0016] CSI-RS are transmitted using REs otherwise allocated to the PDSCH with a configurable periodicity and spanning the entire transmit band. Up to eight CSI-RS, each corresponding to a different antenna port, may be transmitted by a cell. A UE may use the CSI-RS to estimate the channel and produce a CSI report that is fed back to the serving cell via the PUCCH or PUSCH.
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
Davydov does not disclose the following limitations of Claim 1.
Wang discloses determining a second RSRP based on second RSs, from the first RSs, wherein the second RSs are associated with a second network operation state from the first network operation states.
[0029] In one novel aspect, a CSI-RS resource can be configured with a bursty period in which the same CSI-RS resource is repeatedly transmitted over time. Any two repetitions of the CSI-RS resource are not overlapped in time. For periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For aperiodic CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be indicated by the triggering downlink control information (DCI). In step 322, UE 302 reports the computed CSI to gNB based on the CSI configuration information. The reported CSI parameters may include Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Index (CQI). UE 302 can acquire Doppler-domain information of the downlink channel based on the CSI-RS repetition to facilitate high velocity scenarios.
Wang discloses determining a third RSRP based on third RSs, from the first RSs, wherein the third RSs, are associated with a third network operation state from the first network operation states.
[0029] In one novel aspect, a CSI-RS resource can be configured with a bursty period in which the same CSI-RS resource is repeatedly transmitted over time. Any two repetitions of the CSI-RS resource are not overlapped in time. For periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For aperiodic CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be indicated by the triggering downlink control information (DCI). In step 322, UE 302 reports the computed CSI to gNB based on the CSI configuration information. The reported CSI parameters may include Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Index (CQI). UE 302 can acquire Doppler-domain information of the downlink channel based on the CSI-RS repetition to facilitate high velocity scenarios.
Note: The second and third RSs come from the fact that there are repetitions of the CSI-RS.
Davydov in view of Wang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov to include the concept of including multiple RSRPs based on RS as taught by Wang so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Davydov also does not disclose the following limitation.
However, Narasimha discloses:
determining the first RSRP by:
multiplying the second RSRP with a second factor to obtain a fourth RSRP, wherein the second factor depends on at least a second power associated with the second network operation state,
multiplying the third RSRP with a third factor to obtain a fifth RSRP, wherein the third factor depends on at least a third power associated with the third network operation state,
and summing the fourth RSRP and the fifth RSRP
[0037] FIG. 7 illustrates Layer 1 (L1) signal measurements (M.sub.n-1) averaged over a first measurement averaging period on a carrier frequency and the corresponding generation of a Layer 3 filter output (F.sub.n-1) based on the averaged L1 signal measurement (M.sub.n-1) and based on a prior filtered output (F.sub.n-2) wherein a weighting factor is applied to the filter output (F.sub.n-1) and the averaged signal measurements (M.sub.n-1). Also illustrated are L1 signal measurements (Mn) averaged over a second measurement average period and the corresponding generation of a Layer 3 filter output (F.sub.n) based on the averaged L1 signal measurement (M.sub.n) and based on the prior filtered output (F.sub.n-1) wherein a different weighting factor is applied to the prior filter output (F.sub.n-1) and the averaged signal measurement (M.sub.n) such that the prior filter output is negated or weighted less than the averaged signal measurement (M.sub.n). After at least one iteration using the second measurement averaging period and the different weighting factor, L1 measurements revert to using the first measurement averaging period and a weighting factor that weights prior L3 filter outputs more heavily than does the second weighting factor.
Note: Figure 7, as a whole, is demonstrating the recursive effect to Applicant’s specification [0166-0167], which is L3 filtering based on a mathematical formula.
Davydov in view of Narisimha are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov to include the concept of determining the RSRP by L3 filtering in a recursive manner as taught by Narisimha so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the base station.
Davydov discloses: A base station comprising: a transceiver configured to:
transmit first information (CSI-RS) related to network operation states for a first cell, wherein a network operation state from the network operation states includes a power associated with receptions of reference signals (RSs)
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
Note: “NZP CSI-RS” is the “operation state” since there is an activated state between the network (cell) and the UE. The “computing” step is state 505.
transmit second information related to first RSs associated with respective first operation states on the first cell, wherein the first RSs include channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) or synchronization signals
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
transmit the first RSs based on the second information
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
receive a channel that includes the third RSRP.
[0016] CSI-RS are transmitted using REs otherwise allocated to the PDSCH with a configurable periodicity and spanning the entire transmit band. Up to eight CSI-RS, each corresponding to a different antenna port, may be transmitted by a cell. A UE may use the CSI-RS to estimate the channel and produce a CSI report that is fed back to the serving cell via the PUCCH or PUSCH.
[0024] FIG. 5 illustrates a procedure followed by a UE according to one embodiment in responding to requests for CSI reports based upon dynamically transmitted CSI resources. At stag 501, the UE receives via RRC signaling from the serving eNB an identification of one or more CSI processes for which the UE is to send CSI reports. At stag 503, the UE receives via RRC signaling an indication as to which resource elements within a downlink subframe carrying NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources corresponding to a CSI process are allocated to those resources. At state 505, the UE receives a CSI request from the eNB using physical layer control signaling that instructs the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report and that indicates in the same subframe which downlink subframe carries NZP CSI-RS and CSI-IM resources. At stag 507, the UE sends the requested CSI report via the PUSCH.
Davydov does not disclose the following limitations of Claim 1.
Wang discloses determining a second RSRP based on second RSs, from the first RSs, wherein the second RSs are associated with a second network operation state from the first network operation states.
[0029] In one novel aspect, a CSI-RS resource can be configured with a bursty period in which the same CSI-RS resource is repeatedly transmitted over time. Any two repetitions of the CSI-RS resource are not overlapped in time. For periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For aperiodic CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be indicated by the triggering downlink control information (DCI). In step 322, UE 302 reports the computed CSI to gNB based on the CSI configuration information. The reported CSI parameters may include Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Index (CQI). UE 302 can acquire Doppler-domain information of the downlink channel based on the CSI-RS repetition to facilitate high velocity scenarios.
Wang discloses determining a third RSRP based on third RSs, from the first RSs, wherein the third RSs, are associated with a third network operation state from the first network operation states.
[0029] In one novel aspect, a CSI-RS resource can be configured with a bursty period in which the same CSI-RS resource is repeatedly transmitted over time. Any two repetitions of the CSI-RS resource are not overlapped in time. For periodic and semi-persistent CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For aperiodic CSI-RS, the CSI-RS repetitions in the bursty period can be indicated by the triggering downlink control information (DCI). In step 322, UE 302 reports the computed CSI to gNB based on the CSI configuration information. The reported CSI parameters may include Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Index (CQI). UE 302 can acquire Doppler-domain information of the downlink channel based on the CSI-RS repetition to facilitate high velocity scenarios.
Note: The second and third RSs come from the fact that there are repetitions of the CSI-RS.
Davydov in view of Wang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov to include the concept of including multiple RSRPs based on RS as taught by Wang so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Davydov also does not disclose the following limitation.
However, Narasimha discloses:
determining the first RSRP by:
multiplying the second RSRP with a second factor to obtain a fourth RSRP, wherein the second factor depends on at least a second power associated with the second network operation state,
multiplying the third RSRP with a third factor to obtain a fifth RSRP, wherein the third factor depends on at least a third power associated with the third network operation state,
and summing the fourth RSRP and the fifth RSRP
[0037] FIG. 7 illustrates Layer 1 (L1) signal measurements (M.sub.n-1) averaged over a first measurement averaging period on a carrier frequency and the corresponding generation of a Layer 3 filter output (F.sub.n-1) based on the averaged L1 signal measurement (M.sub.n-1) and based on a prior filtered output (F.sub.n-2) wherein a weighting factor is applied to the filter output (F.sub.n-1) and the averaged signal measurements (M.sub.n-1). Also illustrated are L1 signal measurements (Mn) averaged over a second measurement average period and the corresponding generation of a Layer 3 filter output (F.sub.n) based on the averaged L1 signal measurement (M.sub.n) and based on the prior filtered output (F.sub.n-1) wherein a different weighting factor is applied to the prior filter output (F.sub.n-1) and the averaged signal measurement (M.sub.n) such that the prior filter output is negated or weighted less than the averaged signal measurement (M.sub.n). After at least one iteration using the second measurement averaging period and the different weighting factor, L1 measurements revert to using the first measurement averaging period and a weighting factor that weights prior L3 filter outputs more heavily than does the second weighting factor.
Note: Figure 7, as a whole, is demonstrating the recursive effect to Applicant’s specification [0166-0167], which is L3 filtering based on a mathematical formula.
Davydov in view of Narisimha are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov to include the concept of determining the RSRP by L3 filtering in a recursive manner as taught by Narisimha so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha, held further in view of Abedini et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0417845), herein referred to as “Abedini”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Abedini discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving third information for a fourth network operation state on the first cell, wherein:
the fourth network operation state is not included in the first network operation states, and
the fourth network operation state is not associated with reception of respective RSs.
[0093] In another example, one or more cells and/or IAB nodes may be associated with different levels of power-saving, where different levels of power-saving may provide different transmission (TX) power, periodicity of TX or reception (RX), number of TX/RX occasions per period (e.g., duty cycle), beam sweep configuration for measurement reference signal (RS)/broadcast signals and messages (e.g., number of beams, beam shape, etc.), and/or beam configuration for control/data communication (e.g., beam width), etc. compared to a fully active cell/IAB node (e.g., a cell or an IAB node not in power saving mode).
[0095] In one aspect of the present disclosure, one or more cells may be configured with at least one saving mode, and under the energy saving mode, SSBs of a cell may be modified to enable network energy saving. For example, for cells operating under an energy saving mode, the cell may be configured to transmit/broadcast SSBs with modified configurations (e.g., to transmit contents and/or duration of SSBs differently while still making sure they are discoverable) to reduce the time-domain footprint of periodic SSBs. Similarly, for cells in a compensating mode, the cells may also be configured to transmit SSBs with modified configurations (e.g., to make sure they may still provide extended coverage to compensate for the neighboring dormant cells).
[0097] In one aspect of the present disclosure, as not all system information in a PBCH may be used for a discovery procedure by a receiving entity (e.g., the discovery of the cell transmitting the SSB), a transmitting entity may be configured to transmit SSBs without a PBCH to save power (e.g., to enter into micro sleep cycles). In other words, the transmitting entity may skip transmissions of a PBCH in an SSB, and/or the PBCH may be dropped from the SSB, etc. For purposes of the present disclosure a transmitting entity may be referring to a device that is capable of transmitting SSBs. For example, the transmitting entity may be a base station, a cell, a TRP, a CU, and/or a DU, etc. Similarly, a receiving entity may be referring to a device that is capable receiving SSBs. For example, the receiving entity may be a UE, an MT, a CU, and/or a DU, etc.
Note: Per the specification paragraph [0110], the network may skip transmitting SSB for the purpose of network energy saving.
Davydov in view of Wang, Narisimha, and Abedini are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha to include the concept of having a second operating state different from the first operation date and not associated with other reference signals as taught by Abedini so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3, 5, 10, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha, held further in view of Li et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2025/0088887), herein referred to as “Li”.
Regarding Claim 3,
Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha does not disclose the limitations of Claim 3.
However, Lu discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving over second frequency resources when a network operation state is the second network operation state; and receiving over third frequency resources when a network operation state is the third network operation state.
[0122] The second CSI resource configuration may include CSI-RS resources, SSB resources, or both, where configured SSBs may be outside of an active BWP of the first frequency range. In some examples, SSBs for measuring channel characteristics of the second serving cell may be outside of an active BWP of the second frequency range. For example, one or more SSBs may be configured with respect to the second CSI resource configuration and the UE may determine (e.g., expect) that the SSB is outside the active BWP of the second serving cell (e.g., at a time when the CMRs are measured or when the CSI report is transmitted). That is, in some examples, the UE may expect that the SSB is outside the active BWP of the second serving cell at least during measurement of the CMRs or during transmission of the CSI report, or both.
Davydov in view of Wang, Narisimha, and Li are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha to include the concept of having receiving frequency resources over different states as taught by Li so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 5,
Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha does not disclose the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Li discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving third information for a fourth network operation state on the first cell, wherein:
the transmission of the channel that includes the first RSRP occurs in a network operation state from the first network operation states on the first cell, and the transmission of the channel that includes the first RSRP does not occur in the fourth network operation state on the first cell.
[0122] The second CSI resource configuration may include CSI-RS resources, SSB resources, or both, where configured SSBs may be outside of an active BWP of the first frequency range. In some examples, SSBs for measuring channel characteristics of the second serving cell may be outside of an active BWP of the second frequency range. For example, one or more SSBs may be configured with respect to the second CSI resource configuration and the UE may determine (e.g., expect) that the SSB is outside the active BWP of the second serving cell (e.g., at a time when the CMRs are measured or when the CSI report is transmitted). That is, in some examples, the UE may expect that the SSB is outside the active BWP of the second serving cell at least during measurement of the CMRs or during transmission of the CSI report, or both.
Davydov in view of Wang, Narisimha, and Li are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha to include the concept of having RSRP in different networks as taught by Li so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Claims 4, 7, 11, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha, held further in view of Kaikkonen et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0392525), herein referred to as “Kaikkonen”.
Regarding Claim 4,
Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha does not disclose the limitations
However, Kaikkonen discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein: the second RSs comprise of a second synchronization signal, the third RSs comprise of a third synchronization signal, the power of the second network operation state for the first cell comprises a power of the second synchronization signal, and the power for the third synchronization signal.
[0118] In accordance with the conditions above there is, based on the beam configuration and deployment in the network (i.e., how the beams are transmitted in given frequency layer/cell group of cells and/or taking into account neighbor cell and UE location in the cell when beams may be transmitted in multiple elevation angles (e.g., FIG. 3) the UE can be enabled for power saving by configuring UE to measure subset of SSBs/CSI-RS for RRM/L3 mobility purposes when UE can be assumed to be in specific geographical area or UE can be enabled for reducing measurements when NW configured conditions apply. FIG. 3 is only an example illustration of a beam deployment of one cell,
Davydov in view of Wang, Narisimha, and Kaikkonen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha to include the concept of powers of synchronization signals as taught by Kaikkonen so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 7,
Davydov in view of Wang does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Chu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the second RSs comprise of a second synchronization signal, the third RSs comprise of a third synchronization signal, and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the second synchronization signal is the same as a TCI state for the third synchronization signal.
[0142] When UE is configured with SSB specific mask/list it determines the SSB-toMeasure inside the SMTC window as follows in CONNECTED mode: [0143] Option 1. If SSB is configured as TCI state for PDCCH, or it is a QCL source for the reference signal defined as a TCI state (CSI-RS or TRS or any signal that can be a TCI state), UE determines the current SSB index it is configured with SSB specific mask it may apply the mask and reduce RRM measurements during STMC window; [0144] Option 2. if at last one SSB which is configured for L1-RSRP measurements or indicated in the SSB-toMeasure is above threshold_ssb_mask (either RSRP or RSRQ or SINR) and UE has an SSB specific mask for the said SSB, it is allowed to apply the mask for SSB RRM measurements; [0145] Option 3. If a The CSI-RS configured as TCI state for PDCCH or the QCL source of the reference signal defined as a TCI state PDCCH (CSI-RS or TRS or any signal that can be a TCI state), it is used to determine the use of CSI-RS specific mask. [0146] Network may also provide UE with “temporary mask” not specific to any SSB but is applied for the current SSB-toMeasure configuration (or instead of SSB-toMeasure, if any). This may be valid for a specific time duration, or until UE enters IDLE mode, configured with new TCI state or until network deconfigure it; and [0147] If UE does not have mask for the selected/specific SSB, it applies only SSB-toMeasure and performs RRM measurement accordingly.
Davydov in view of Wang, Narisimha, and Kaikkonen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davydov in view of Wang and Narisimha to include the concept of a TCI state for synchronization signals as taught by Kaikkonen so as to enhance state adaptation within the wireless system.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1-20.
There and no new claims and no canceled claims.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411