Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the main rods, support frames, diagonal tie rods, wheels, and wheel pins must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the fixing groove" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Fixing groove is mentioned in claim 2, which claim 3 is not a dependent of. Additionally, claim 3 recites “wheel pins”. A general search of the phrase rendered different variations of pins with no overall consensus. Therefore, the examiner is requiring clarification on wheel pin definition, as no details were provided in drawings or disclosure.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the fixing groove" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Fixing groove is mentioned in claim 2, which claim 4 is not a dependent of.
Claim 9 recites “wheel pins”. As stated supra, not enough information regarding structure. Clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the main rods" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Main rods are mentioned in claim 9, which claim 10 is not a dependent of.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 7691015 B2 (hereinafter “Nye”).
Regarding claim 1, Nye discloses a base that has base housing (Fig. 1, 16) internally provided with a cavity (Col. 10, lines 15-16), wherein an upper portion of the base housing is recessed inwards (See Fig. 3 with arrow notation below) to form a hemispheric basketball storage recess which is used for storing a basketball; and the bottom of the base housing is bilaterally symmetrically recessed inwards (Fig. 11, 88 and 90) to form support frame storage grooves which are used for storing support frames.
Regarding claim 2, Nye further discloses that the base has a fixing groove (Fig. 3, 46) for fixing a main rod (Fig. 1, 26) of each of the support frames and the fixing groove is located at the front end or the rear end of the base housing.
Regarding claim 6, Nye further discloses mounting grooves (See Fig. 8 with arrow notation below) for mounting diagonal tie rods (Fig. 1, 30) are symmetrically formed on left and right sides of the base housing.
Regarding claim 8, Nye further discloses a basketball stand (Fig. 1, 10 – basketball goal system).
Regarding clam 9, Nye further discloses main rods (Fig. 1, 22, 24, 26) of the support frames are inserted in fixing grooves (Fig. 8, see annotated figure below), and the main rods are inserted in and fixed to the base by means of wheel pins (Col. 5, lines 55-61). It is noted that “wheel pins” are not specified; however, ”wheel pin” is being interpreted as a general pin connecting means due to lack of clarity as cited in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nye, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of WO 03066175 A1 (hereinafter “Steed”).
Regarding claim 3, Nye discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Though Nye describes receiving part (Fig. 3, 46) that is a fixing groove, it does not disclose that it has a C-shaped section, rotating grooves are symmetrically formed on two sides of the fixing groove, and wheels are rotatably connected in the rotating grooves by means of wheel pins. Steed, analogous in the art of basketball stands, discloses a groove with a C-shape (Fig. 1, 140) with rotating grooves (Fig. 1, 134 and 136) on the sides to connect wheels (Fig. 1, 118). The wheels are also disclosed to be held in place with an axle (Fig. 1, 116), or an “elongated member such as a pin”. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the connecting wheel elements from Steed to Nye’s base for ease of movement and transportability. Though it should be noted that specifically a “wheel pin” was not mentioned. However, “wheel pin” is being interpreted as a general pin connecting means due to lack of clarity as cited in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection supra.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nye, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 5983602 A (hereinafter “Allen”).
Regarding claim 4, Nye discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose a fixing groove has an O-shaped section, and a pin groove is formed at a groove opening. However, Allen, analogous in the art, discloses a basketball stand base with a fixing groove (Fig. 5, 90 - recess), an O-shaped section (Fig. 5, 96), and grooves (Fig. 5, 94 – cut away portions) for mounting a rod. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to combine the disclosed fixing groove of Allen to Nye’s invention to enable another mounting position to further reinforce the main basketball stand supports.
Regarding claim 5, modified Nye further discloses that the fixing groove (Allen, Fig. 5, 90 - recess) is inclined towards the center of the base housing (Allen, Col. 10, lines 9-12) and is used for mounting the inclined support frame (Allen, Col. 10, lines 3-7). It is noted that while Figure 5 of Allen shows the fixing groove to be somewhat central, in the embodiment shown in Figure 8, the groove (with the same features) is shown toward the end of the housing. Therefore, it could be considered inclined towards the center of the housing. It would be obvious to move the position based upon geometries and height of support rods used for basketball stand. Reasons for combination are stated supra regarding claim 4.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nye, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 3841631 A (hereinafter “Dolan”).
Regarding claim 7, Nye discloses the limitations of claim 1. While Nye discloses that the base may be configured to receive water (Col. 2, lines 48-50), Nye does not specifically disclose a water inlet is formed in an upper surface of the base housing, and a water outlet is formed in a lower surface of the base housing. Dolan, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a basketball backstop which is fillable through an inlet (Fig. 1, 53) at the top and drainable through an outlet (Fig. 1, 54) at the bottom. Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include both an inlet and an outlet at the top and bottom, respectively, to allow for more convenient filling and draining of a tank.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nye, as applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Nye discloses the limitations of claim 8. While Nye discloses diagonal tie rods (Fig. 1, 28 and 30) having auxiliary supporting functions are respectively connected to two sides of the main rod (Fig. 1, 26), and the other end of each of the diagonal tie rods is hinged to an inner wall of a mounting groove (See Fig. 1 notated below, under broadest reasonable interpretation), it does not specifically disclose the presence of main rods each having diagonal tie rods in the plural. However, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In this case, adding more main rods and connecting diagonal tie rods would only provide another location to position elements at. Thus, one of ordinary skill might be motivated to introduce multiple main rods (and subsequently, tie rods) in Nye’s design, to enable multi-hoop game play. Additionally, there is no criticality assigned to having this part (main rod with two attached tie rods) in duplicate, nor is it shown in any of Applicant’s drawings. See MPEP 2144 - In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/S.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711