DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 3/2/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and have been considered below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-12, and 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 20, “to configured the processor to” is grammatically incorrect and potentially indefinite.
Claim 2-12 depend either directly or indirectly from the objection(s) of claim(s) 1, therefore they are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. (Not yet published – Application number 18/359,786). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the same optimized mobile vision transformer architecture, specifically the sequence of concatenation the local and global representation output in a fusion block and subsequently fusing the original input features with that fusion block output. The minor variations in scope, such as the depthwise-separable convolution in the independent claims versus the dependent claims, do not constitute a patentable distinction between the two applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehta et al. (MobileViT: Light-Weight, General-Purpose, And Mobile-Friendly Vision Transformer (4 Mar 2022) – hereinafter “MobileViT” or “Mehta”) in view of Peng et al. (Conformer: Local Features Coupling Global Representations for Visual Recognition – hereinafter “Peng” or “Conformer”).
Claims 1, 13, and 20.
MobileViT discloses a system, comprising: a memory; and a processor (p. 9: “GPUs” and “memory”) configured to execute instructions from the memory to configured the processor to;
receive content as an input to a neural network for performance of a computer vision task (MobileViT p. 2: “combine the strengths of CNNs and transformers to build ViT models for mobile vision tasks”),
wherein the neural network comprises a mobile vision transformer block comprising a local representation block, a global representation block, and a fusion block (MobileViT p. 2, Fig. 1(b) shows a local representation block, a global representation block, and a fusion block – shown below);
generate, by applying at least one convolutional layer of the local representation block on the input (Fig. 1(b), Conv-n x n), a local representation output comprising a local representation for each portion of the content located at each location of a plurality of locations within the content (MobileViT on local representations for context, p. 4: "applies a n x n convolution ... followed by a point-wise (1x1) … The n x n layer encodes local spatial information”);
concatenate, in the fusion block, (MobileViT p. 5: "XF is ... combined with X via concatenation ... Another n x n convolutional layer is then used to fuse these concatenated features." Where, MobileViT's global representation comes from applying transformers to unfolded patches – see next element.);
generate, by utilizing a fusion convolutional layer of the fusion block (Fusion conv in the fusion block – “Another nxn convolutional layer is then used to fuse these concatenated features”), a fusion block output based on the concatenated local and global representation (MobileViT p. 5: Global representation –"We unfold XL into … patches ... apply transformers to obtain XG ... we can fold XG … to obtain XF. XF … is combined X with via concatenation operation”); and
fuse input features associated with the input with the fusion block output to generate an output of the neural network to facilitate performance of the computer vision task (Fusing input features with the fused output (MobileViT) p. 2: The fusion stage concatenates XF with X (the input features) and uses a convolution to fuse them, yielding the block output Y (see Fig. 1(b) pipeline); p. 5: "XF ... combined with X via concatenation ... Another nxn convolution ... to fuse these, concatenated features." MobileViT shows utility on CV tasks (classification/detection/segmentation).).
MobileViT discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching “the local representation output with a global representation output associated with the content to generate a concatenated local and global representation of the content.” However, Conformer in the same field of endeavor teaches the local representation output with a global representation output associated with the content to generate a concatenated local and global representation of the content (Conformer p. 2: “Feature Coupling Unit (FCU) … since CNN and transformer branches tend to capture features of different levels (e.g., local vs. global), FCU is inserted into every block to consecutively eliminate the semantic divergence between them, in an interactive fashion. Such a fusion procedure can greatly enhance the global perception capability of local features and the local details of global representations.”; p. 4: “FCU is proposed as a bridge module to fuse local features in the CNN branch with global representations in the transformer branch, Fig. 2(b).”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine MobileViT and Conformer before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to modify MobileViT’s fusion block to concatenate the local representation with the global representation (instead of the raw input), as taught by Conformer’s Feature Coupling Unit (FCU). The motivation is to enhance the representation learning of the network by retaining both the fine-grained local details (from the CNN/local block) and the long distance feature dependencies (from the Transformer/global block) before final processing.
Claims 13 and 20 recite the same technical steps/structures in method and apparatus form. The teachings cited above (MobileViT for block structure, global representation, concatenation + fusion conv; Conformer’s for the FCU fusion of the local representation with the global representation) read on those claims for the same reasons.
Claim 2.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate, by utilizing the global representation block, the global representation output for an entire portion of the content (MobileViT: p. 5: "each pixel in X_G can encode information from all pixels in X" each pixel in can encode information from all pixels in X_G, as shown in Figure 4. Thus, the overall effective receptive field of MobileViT is H x W.” Figure 4 caption: "Every pixel sees every other pixel in the MobileViT block").
Claim(s) 3 and 14.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate a feature map from the content by utilizing the neural network (MobileViT: Page 2, Figure 1 (b): Shows feature maps at various spatial dimensions (128x128, 64x64, 32x32, 16x16, 8x8)).
Claim(s) 6 and 17.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein computer vision task comprises content classification associated with the content, segmentation associated with the content, object detection associated with the content, or a combination thereof (MobileViT Page 7: "we first evaluate MobileViTs performance on the lmageNet-1 k dataset" (classification); Page 8: "4.2.1 Mobile Object Detection" and "4.2.2 Mobile Semantic Segmentation" sections; Table 1: Detection w/ SSDLite; Table 2: Segmentation w/ Deeplabv3).
Claim 7.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to initiate generation of the global representation output based on an unfolded version of the local representation output, wherein the unfolded version of the local representation output comprises N non-overlapping flattened patches associated with the content (MobileViT Page 5: "we unfold X_L into N non-overlapping flattened patches X_U; Figure 1 (b): Shows "Unfold" operation in the MobileViT block diagram to the output of the local representation output).
Claim 8.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to apply a transformer to the unfolded version of the local representation output during generation of the global representation output (MobileViT Page 5: "inter-patch relationships are encoded by applying transformers to obtain X_G"; Equation (1 ): "X_G(p) = Transformer(X_U(p)), 1 ….).
Claim 9.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to conduct a folding operation after application of the transformer to generate the global representation output (MobileViT Page 5: "we can fold X_G … to obtain X_F"; Figure 1 (b): Shows "Fold" operation after the Transformer block).
Claim(s) 10 and 19.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to apply, in the fusion block, a convolution to the global representation prior to concatenation of the local representation with the global representation (MobileViT Figure 1 (b): Shows "Conv-1x1" before the Fusion block in the data flow).
Claim 11.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein fusion convolutional layer comprises a 1x1 convolutional layer (MobileViT Figure 1 (b): Shows "Conv-1x1" before the Fusion block in the data flow).
Claim(s) 12 and 16.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further to generate the output of the neural network to facilitate the performance of the computer vision task based on addition of the input features to the fusion block output (MobileViT Figure 1 (b): Shows a skip connection (red arrow) around the MobileViT block;
Page 15 (Appendix C): "Impact of skip-connection ... With this connection , the
performance of MobileViT-S improves by 0.5%").
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MobileViT in view of Conformer as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (Mobile-Former: Bridging MobileNet and Transformer (v3 – last revised 3 Mar 2022) – hereinafter “Chen” or “Mobile-Former”).
Claim(s) 5 and 18.
The combination of MobileViT and Conformer discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the local representation output by applying a 1x1 convolution after applying (MobileViT Page 4: "MobileViT applies a n x n standard convolutional layer followed by a pointwise (or 1 x 1) convolutional layer to produce X_L";
MobileViT discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically
teaching “a depthwise-separable convolutional layer.” However, Mobile-Former in the same field of endeavor teaches a depthwise-separable convolutional layer (Mobile-Former Page 4: "depthwise and pointwise convolution" Mobile-Former teaches depthwise-separable (via inverted Bottleneck).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine MobileViT, Conformer, and Mobile-Former before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to modify the local representation of MobileViT and Conformer to replace the standard initial convolution with a depthwise-separable convolution, as taught by Mobile-Former, to increase computational efficiency. Both MobileViT and Mobile-Former are directed to optimizing neural networks for resource constrained mobile devices. A PHOSITA would recognize this modification is the simple substitution of one known element with another to obtain the predictable result of reducing the network parameter count and computational latency while preserving its ability to accurately extract local spatial features.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims along with a timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) to overcome the rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ross Varndell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674