CTNF 18/359,870 CTNF 92165 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-5, 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2023/0223657) . As to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a battery cell (figure 1 #1, [0018], discussed throughout) comprising: an electrode assembly (figure 1 #2, electrode groups, [0018], discussed throughout) including an active material and a foil ([0021]-[0022], the foil is the current collector); a case accommodating the electrode assembly (figure 1 #3, [0018]); a cap assembly (figure 1 #5, [0018], discussed throughout) connected to the case (figure 1 #3, [0018], discussed throughout) and including a terminal (figure 1 #16, [0027], discussed throughout); and a current collecting structure connecting the foil to the terminal (figure 1 #20, [0029], discussed throughout). As to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the foil includes a plurality of anode foils and a plurality of cathode foils (figure 1 #15(A) and #15(B), [0023], positive and negative electrode current collecting tabs), the terminal includes an anode terminal and a cathode terminal (figure 1 #16(A) and #16(B), [0027], discussed throughout), and the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the plurality of anode foils and the anode terminal and a second current collecting structure connected to the plurality of cathode foils and the cathode terminal (figure 1 #20(A) and #20(B), [0029], discussed throughout). As to claim 4, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the foil is formed to be at least partially folded, and the current collecting structure is connected to the folded foil (figure 1 #15 and #20, [0023], [0029], discussed throughout). As to claim 5, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the foil includes an anode foil including a first uncoated portion and a second uncoated portion and a cathode foil including a third uncoated portion and a fourth uncoated portion, and the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the anode foil and a second current collecting structure connected to the cathode foil (figure 1 #15(A) and #15(B), there are two portions for each for the positive and negative, the tabs are the uncoated portions are the electrode, discussed throughout). As to claim 8, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the current collecting structure is formed of a conductive metal (figure 1 #20, [0029], discussed throughout). As to claim 9, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a first cap assembly connected to a first end portion of the case and including a first terminal (figure 1 #16(A), #18, #19, [0027]-[0029], discussed throughout), and a second cap assembly connected to a second end portion of the case opposite to the first end portion and including a second terminal (figure 1 #16(B), #18, #19, [0027]-[0029], discussed throughout), and the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the first terminal and a second current collecting structure connected to the second terminal (figure 1 #20(A) and #20(B), [0029], discussed throughout). As to claim 10, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a base plate attached to the case (figure 1 #5, [0027], discussed throughout), a first terminal at least partially exposed to the outside of the base plate (figure 1 #16 (A), [0027], discussed throughout), and a second terminal spaced apart from the first terminal and at least partially exposed to the outside of the base plate (figure 1 #16 (B), [0027], discussed throughout), and the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the first terminal and a second current collecting structure connected to the second terminal (figure 1 #20(A) and #20(B), [0029], discussed throughout). As to claim 11, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a base plate attached to the case (figure 1 #5, [0027], discussed throughout) and an insulator at least partially located between the base plate and the terminal (figure 1 #18 or #19, [0028], discussed throughout). As to claim 12, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a venting portion, and a vent guard connected to the base plate and protecting the venting portion (figure 1 #27, [0035], the connecting portions are the guard and the center is the vent portion, discussed throughout). As to claim 13, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the foil includes a plurality of anode foils and a plurality of cathode foils (figure 1 #15, [0023], discussed throughout), the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the plurality of anode foils and a second current collecting structure connected to the plurality of cathode foils (figure 1 #20(A) and #20(B), [0029], discussed throughout)), and the terminal includes: an anode terminal including a first anode terminal at least partially exposed to the outside of the battery cell and a second anode terminal connected to the first anode terminal (figure 1 #16(B), the top is the first anode terminal and the shaft is the second anode terminal, discussed throughout) and the first current collecting structure (figure 1 #20(B), [0029], discussed throughout) and a cathode terminal including a first cathode terminal at least partially exposed to the outside of the battery cell and a second cathode terminal connected to the first cathode terminal (figure 1 #16(A), the top is the first anode terminal and the shaft is the second anode terminal, discussed throughout) and the second current collecting structure (figure 1 #20(A), [0029], discussed throughout). As to claim 15, Yamamoto discloses a battery device comprising the battery cell of claim 1 ([0003], [0016], discussed throughout) . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-4 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2023/0223586) . As to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a battery cell (figure 1 #1, [0015], discussed throughout) comprising: an electrode assembly (figure 1 #2, electrode group, [0015], discussed throughout) including an active material and a foil ([0019]-[0020], the foil is the current collecting foil, [0019]-[0020], discussed throughout); a case accommodating the electrode assembly (figure 1 #3, [0015], discussed throughout); a cap assembly connected to the case and including a terminal (figure 1 #5 and #16, [0015], [0025], discussed throughout); and a current collecting structure connecting the foil to the terminal (figure 1 #20, [0027], discussed throughout). As to claim 3, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the current collecting structure includes a clamping portion connected to the foil and a connection portion extending from the clamping portion and contacting the terminal (figure 1 #20 and/or #28, [0027], discussed throughout). As to claim 4, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the foil is formed to be at least partially folded, and the current collecting structure is connected to the folded foil (figure 1 #15 and #20, discussed throughout). As to claim 8, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the current collecting structure is formed of a conductive metal ([0027], discussed throughout). As to claim 9, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a first cap assembly connected to a first end portion of the case and including a first terminal (figure 1 #18, #19 and #16, discussed throughout), and a second cap assembly connected to a second end portion of the case opposite to the first end portion and including a second terminal (figure 1 #18, #19 and #16, discussed throughout), and the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the first terminal and a second current collecting structure connected to the second terminal (figure 1 #20, discussed throughout). As to claim 10, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a base plate attached to the case (figure 1 #5, discussed throughout), a first terminal at least partially exposed to the outside of the base plate (figure 1 #16(A), discussed throughout), and a second terminal spaced apart from the first terminal and at least partially exposed to the outside of the base plate (figure 1 #16(B), discussed throughout), and the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the first terminal and a second current collecting structure connected to the second terminal (figure 1 #20, discussed throughout). As to claim 11, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a base plate attached to the case and an insulator at least partially located between the base plate and the terminal (figure 1 #5, #18 and #19, discussed throughout). As to claim 12, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the cap assembly includes a venting portion, and a vent guard connected to the base plate and protecting the venting portion (figure 1 #36, discussed throughout). As to claim 13, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the foil includes a plurality of anode foils and a plurality of cathode foils (figure 1 #15(A) and #15(B), discussed throughout), the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the plurality of anode foils and a second current collecting structure connected to the plurality of cathode foils (figure 1 #20(A) and #20 (B), discussed throughout), and the terminal includes: an anode terminal including a first anode terminal at least partially exposed to the outside of the battery cell and a second anode terminal connected to the first anode terminal and the first current collecting structure and a cathode terminal including a first cathode terminal at least partially exposed to the outside of the battery cell and a second cathode terminal connected to the first cathode terminal and the second current collecting structure (figure 1 #16 (A) and #16 (B), the shaft of the terminal is the second terminal and the top is the first terminal, discussed throughout). As to claim 14, Yamamoto discloses wherein, the current collecting structure includes a first clamping portion configured to bring end portions of the plurality of anode foils into close contact with each other and a second clamping portion configured to bring end portions of the plurality of cathode foils into close contact with each other (figure 1 #32 or #28, discussed throughout). As to claim 15, Yamamoto discloses a battery device comprising the battery cell of claim 1 ([0003], [0015], discussed throughout) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and/or (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Kurata (US 2013/0130100) . As to claim 1, Kurata discloses a battery cell (figure 1, [0049], discussed throughout) comprising: an electrode assembly (figure 1 #5, electrode group, [0049], discussed throughout) including an active material and a foil (figure 3 #6 and #7, [0051], discussed throughout); a case accommodating the electrode assembly (figure 1 #1, packing can, [0049], discussed throughout); a cap assembly connected to the case (figures 1 and 16 #2, [0049], discussed throughout) and including a terminal (figures 1 and 16 #3, #4 #23, discussed throughout); and a current collecting structure connecting the foil to the terminal (figure 16 #42, figure #23 #70, figure 33 #75 and #76; discussed throughout). As to claim 5, Kurata discloses wherein, the foil includes an anode foil including a first uncoated portion and a second uncoated portion (figures 3, 4 8, 9; figure 3 shows the coated and uncoated portions, the other figures shows other electrode assemblies thus first and second; discussed throughout) and a cathode foil including a third uncoated portion and a fourth uncoated portion, and the current collecting structure includes a first current collecting structure connected to the anode foil and a second current collecting structure connected to the cathode foil (figures 3, 4 8, 9; figure 3 shows the coated and uncoated portions, the other figures shows other electrode assemblies thus first and second; discussed throughout). As to claim 6, Kurata discloses wherein, the first current collecting structure includes a first anode current collecting structure connected to the first uncoated portion and a second anode current collecting structure connected to the second uncoated portion and spaced apart from the first anode current collecting structure (figures 4, 8 and 9, there are two sets of current collectors for #17 and #18; discussed throughout), and the second current collecting structure includes a first cathode current collecting structure connected to the third uncoated portion and a second cathode current collecting structure connected to the fourth uncoated portion and spaced apart from the first cathode current collecting structure (figures 4, 8 and 9, there are two sets of current collectors for #17 and #18; discussed throughout). As to claim 7, Kurata discloses wherein, the terminal includes an anode terminal connected to the first anode current collecting structure and the second anode current collecting structure, and a cathode terminal connected to the first cathode current collecting structure and the second cathode current collecting structure (figures 4, 8 and 9, there are two sets of current collectors for #17 and #18; discussed throughout). Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN R OHARA whose telephone number is (571)272-0728. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM-3:30 PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Miriam Stagg can be reached at 571-270-5256. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 2 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 3 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 4 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 5 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 6 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 7 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 8 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 9 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 10 Art Unit: 1724 Application/Control Number: 18/359,870 Page 11 Art Unit: 1724