DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al., (US 2017/0229700 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches a negative electrode external terminal 751 (Fig. 12c; [0121]) (i.e., terminal) comprising:
a metal body 752 (Fig. 12c; [0121]) (i.e., first conductive member);
a connection terminal 753 Fig. 12c; [0121]) (i.e., second conductive member) and;
the metal body 752 and the connection terminal are electrically connected to each other ([0123]). (i.e., a second conductive member that is electrically connected to the first conductive member).
Matsumoto also teaches the metal body 752 with a round hole 752d (Fig. 12c; [0121]) (i.e., first conductive member comprises a penetration hole).
The metal body 752 comprises of aluminum or an aluminum alloy and the connection terminal 753 comprises of copper of copper alloy ([0121]) (i.e., the first conductive member and the second conductive member are composed of mutually different metals); and
the connection terminal 753 also comprises of a proximal end portion 753 that is pressed-fitted into the round hole 752d of metal body 752 (Fig. 12c; [0121]) (i.e., the second conductive member is arranged to cover the penetration hole, and a boundary part between a vicinity of the penetration hole of the first conductive member).
However, Matsumoto is silent to the boundary part between a vicinity of the penetration hole of the first conductive member and the second conductive member is covered with a tape and/or a resin member to prevent the boundary part from being exposed.
But Matsumoto teaches filling a gap between a metal body and a connection terminal with a resin to prevent moisture-induced corrosion ([0079]). Although paragraph [0079] is described with respect to a first embodiment, Matsumoto additionally teaches in a separate embodiment ([Fig. 12c]) structural features that correspond to the claimed conductive members. Both embodiments involve interfaces between conductive members that are susceptible to moisture and corrosion. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill it the art to apply the resin-filling technique ([0079]) to the conductive members ([Fig.12c]) in order to seal the boundary to prevent moisture-induced corrosion, because Matsumoto teaches corrosion prevention as a concern and provides resin as a known solution. Applying this known technique to a boundary would have yielded predicable results (i.e., a boundary part between a vicinity of the penetration hole of the first conductive member and the second conductive member is covered with tape and/or a resin member to prevent the boundary from being exposed).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto teaches the metal body 752 (i.e., first conductive member) having a substantially rectangular flat block shape (Fig. 12c; [0121]). The metal body 752 is a flat slab-like structure forming the interface with the connection terminal, which would be understood by a person of the ordinary skill in the art to read on “plate shape” (i.e., first conductive member has a plate shape); and
the connection terminal 753 having a flange portion 753c (Fig. 12c; [0122]) (i.e., the second conductive member comprises a flange part) and;
the flange portion 753c extends over the round hole 752d such that the hole is positioned beneath the flange part and therefore covered by the flange portion ([Fig. 12c]) (i.e., the penetration hole is covered by the flange part of the second conductive member).
Matsumoto also teaches that the connection terminal 753 and the metal body 752 are metallurgically joined with each other by irradiating a boundary portion between the outer circumferential surface of the flange portion 753c of the connection terminal 753 and the inner circumferential surface of the large diameter portion 752e of the metal body 752 ([0123]) (i.e., a metal joint that performs metal joining on the first conductive member and the flange part of the second conductive member is provided).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto teaches a round hole 752d comprising a stepped hole shape;
the stepped hole further comprising of a large diameter portion 752e (i.e., recess) and;
a flanged portion 753c is fitted into the large diameter portion 752e with an outer circumferential surface of the flange portion 753c that opposes and abuts an inner circumferential surface of the large diameter portion 752e ([0122]) (i.e., the first conductive member comprises a recess that is configured to accommodate at least a part of the flange part of the second conductive member),
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto teaches a round hole 752d comprising;
a stepped hole shape and;
a smaller diameter portion and large diameter portion 752e ([0122]) (i.e., the penetration hole comprises a first are and second area, the first area is an area whose diameter is smaller than the second area).
Matsumoto also teaches the large diameter portion 752e (i.e., the second area) accommodating the flange portion 753c ([0122]).
Matsumoto further teaches the connection terminal 753 (i.e., second conductive member) comprising a proximal end portion 753a that is press-fitted into the round hole 752d ([0122]). Because the flange portion 753c occupies the large diameter portion 752e, the proximal end portion 753a of the connection terminal receives the remaining portion of the hole, which has a smaller diameter (i.e., the first area is arranged at a position closer to the second conductive member, than the second area).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and a prismatic secondary battery (Fig. 12a) ([0120]) (i.e., battery) comprising;
the negative external terminal 751 (Fig. 12a) ([0120]) (i.e., terminal) further comprising
a positive electrode and negative electrode ([0120]) (i.e., an electrode body provided with a positive electrode and a negative electrode) and;
a prismatic battery container and a flat wound group built in the battery container ([0120]) (i.e., a battery case configured to accommodate the electrode body).
Matsumoto also teaches in a separate embodiment a negative electrode 175 connected to a negative electrode external terminal 151 via a negative electrode current 190 collector (Fig. 2) ([0059]) (i.e., the battery comprises an electrode current collector that is electrically connected to the positive or the negative electrode). One of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the current collector 190 (Fig. 2) ([0059]) of Matsumoto to the terminal of the present embodiment (Fig. 12c) ([120]-[123]) because both embodiments relate to external terminal configurations for electrically connecting an electrode through a battery container.
Matsumoto further teaches in a separate embodiment a pair of through-holes 102h provided in the battery lid 107 and the negative external terminal 151 attached ([0060]) (i.e., the battery case comprises a terminal attaching hole). One of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the through-holes 102h (Fig. 2) ([0060]) of Matsumoto to the terminal of the present embodiment (Fig. 12c) ([120]-[123]) because the connection terminal 753 is configured to pass through the battery case. Providing through-holes in a battery case is a known feature in the art to allow the terminal to extend through the battery case and electrically connect to internal component.
Matsumoto also teaches a connection terminal having a flange and proximal end portion on the connection terminal ([0122-0123]) (i.e., the second conductive member comprises a flange part at one end part and comprise a connecting part at the other end) and;
a surface of the flange portion flux with the opposing surface of the metal body ([0122]) (i.e., the flange part is connected to the first conductive member) and;
the metal body 752 is located at an outer side of the battery (Fig. 12c, Fig.12a) (i.e., the first conductive member is arranged at an outer side of the battery case).
Matsumoto teaches in a first embodiment a negative external terminal 751 comprising;
a metal body 752 (Fig. 12c; [0121]) (i.e., first conductive member);
a connection terminal 753 Fig. 12c; [0121]) (i.e., second conductive member) and;
the metal body 752 and the connection terminal are electrically connected to each other ([0123]) (i.e., a second conductive member that is electrically connected to the first conductive member).
Matsumoto further teaches, in a second embodiment a terminal configured to pass through through-holes 102 in a battery lid 102 and electrically connect to an electrode current collector 180 (Fig. 2) ([0059]-[0060]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the through holes and current collector configuration of the second embodiment to the terminal structure of the first embodiment because both embodiments relate to external terminal configurations for electrically connecting an electrode through a battery container (i.e., the connecting part of the second conductive member is configured to penetrate the terminal attaching hole of the battery case so as to be connected to the electrode current collector at an inner side of the battery case).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al., (US 2017/0229700 A1) in view of Daidoji et al., (US 2018/0315982 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but is silent to tape pasted on the first conductive member. But Daidoji teaches a battery terminal comprising positive electrode terminal 7 and support tab 13, wherein the support tab is joined with electrode current collectors 11 and the terminal via ultrasonic welding (i.e., second conductive member and first conductive member) ([0045]-[0047]). Daidoji further teaches that a protective insulating tape may be attached on the support tab 13 ([0045]) (i.e., the tape is pasted on the first conductive member). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the conductive member of Matsumoto to include the insulating tape as taught by Daidoji because Daidoji teaches using insulating tape to reduce the risk of damage of components and such modification is a known protective technique in the art applied to a conductive component in a similar terminal (MPEP 2143).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al., (US 2017/0229700 A1) in view of Kim et al., (US 2013/0216876 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but is silent to a resin member arranged inside the penetration hole. But Kim teaches a battery terminal structure including a base plate 200 with an electrode terminal 201 having an electrolyte injection hole 202 (Fig. 2) ([0054]), wherein a sealing member 204 is pressed into the injection hole to seal the opening (Fig. 2) ([0054]). Kim further teaches a polymer resin applied to the periphery of the electrolyte injection hole to seal the periphery of the electrolyte injection hole ([0061]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the penetration hole of Matsumoto to include the resin of Kim to seal the hole of the conductive member to prevent leakage, as Kim teaches leakage as a problem associated with such holes ([0008]), therefore using resin to seal openings to prevent leakage is a known technique in the art (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/S.M.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772