DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAJIMA (PGPUB: 20190354328 A1) in view of Sakai (US-PAT-NO: 12277700 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 14. TAJIMA teaches an information processing system comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 2, item 200) configured to:
specify a region using a specific color material other than a color material of a basic color (see Fig. 4, paragraph 66, a front surface display image 400a illustrated in FIG. 4(a) includes a white area 401a, a green area 402a, a red area 403a, a black area 404a, and a text area (black) 405a), as an exclusion region in an image represented by printing data (see Fig. 1-4, paragraph 31, the special color different from the basic recording colors is a color different from cyan, magenta, yellow, and black (or a color different from cyan, magenta, and yellow), namely, for example, white, silver, gold);
specify, as the exclusion region, a region in which printing is performed with the specific color material and the color material of the basic color in a specific order in the region using the specific color material (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 31, The image forming apparatus 190 is connected to the image forming apparatus communication module 130 of the image processing apparatus 100. The image forming apparatus 190 performs a printing process on the basis of a print job received from the image processing apparatus 100 (image forming apparatus communication module 130). The present exemplary embodiment is suitable especially when a color material called a “special color” different from basic recording colors is available in the image forming apparatus 190. A color material is generally toner but may be ink. The basic recording colors are generally cyan (C), magenta (M), yellow (Y), and black (K). Alternatively, the basic recording colors may be cyan, magenta, and yellow. In the following description, cyan, magenta, yellow, and black will be used as an example of the basic recording colors. The special color different from the basic recording colors is a color different from cyan, magenta, yellow, and black (or a color different from cyan, magenta, and yellow), namely, for example, white, silver, gold , or the like) (see Fig. 1-6, paragraph 41 and 42, the display image generation module 115 may also generate a display image obtained by printing a special color lastly. A special color may be, as described above, white, a metallic color (e.g., silver) or the like . When back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, a special color is printed lastly so that a background of a print (since the recording medium is transparent, the background depends on an environment (situation) ; e.g., when the recording medium is put on a table, a surface of the table is the background) does not affect the printing. That is, an effect of a color behind a print is reduced using a special color; a special color (e.g., white) is printed first so that a color of a recording medium does not affect a printed image. When a recording medium is colored (e.g., black), for example, a special color is hidden behind CMYK. The special color, however, reduces an effect of the color of the recording medium upon a CMYK printed image. When a recording medium is black and no special color is used, a printed image undesirably looks blackish) (see Fig. 4, paragraph 63, when back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, such as in the case of a label printing, a mirror-inverted CMYK image is usually printed on the recording medium, and then white data is disposed upon colored areas as an overcoat).
However, TAJIMA does not expressly teach to
control an inspection device that inspects a printed matter obtained by printing the image, to exclude the specified exclusion region from an inspection target.
Sakai teaches that in a step S902, the inspection setting section 309 determines, based on the selected object information, the attribute of a region associated with the selected item of object information. Note that the above-mentioned region is a region indicated by an associated item of coordinate information of the reference image, which is included in the item of object information selected in the step S901. If it is determined in the step S902 that the attribute of the region is a photo, the inspection region-setting process proceeds to a step S903. If it is determined in the step S902 that the attribute of the region is a character, the inspection region-setting process proceeds to a step S904 (see Col. 11, lines 18-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TAJIMA by Sakai to obtain the inspection setting section 309 determines, based on the selected object information, the attribute of a region associated with the selected item of object information. Note that the above-mentioned region is a region indicated by an associated item of coordinate information of the reference image, which is included in the item of object information selected in the step S901. If it is determined in the step S902 that the attribute of the region is a photo, the inspection region-setting process proceeds to a step S903, in order to provide to control an inspection device that inspects a printed matter obtained by printing the image, to exclude the specified exclusion region from an inspection target. Therefore, combining the elements from prior arts according to known methods and technique would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where there is the region in which printing is performed with the specific color material and the color material of the basic color in a specific order, specify an entire page including the region as the exclusion region (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 42, the display image generation module 115 may also generate a display image obtained by printing a special color lastly. A special color may be, as described above, white, a metallic color (e.g., silver) or the like).
Regarding claim 4. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the specific color material is a color material used as a base layer of the color material of the basic color, and the specific order is an order in which printing is performed with the specific color material on a layer of the color material of the basic color with which printing is performed on a medium (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 31, The image forming apparatus 190 is connected to the image forming apparatus communication module 130 of the image processing apparatus 100. The image forming apparatus 190 performs a printing process on the basis of a print job received from the image processing apparatus 100 (image forming apparatus communication module 130). The present exemplary embodiment is suitable especially when a color material called a “special color” different from basic recording colors is available in the image forming apparatus 190. A color material is generally toner but may be ink. The basic recording colors are generally cyan (C), magenta (M), yellow (Y), and black (K). Alternatively, the basic recording colors may be cyan, magenta, and yellow. In the following description, cyan, magenta, yellow, and black will be used as an example of the basic recording colors . The special color different from the basic recording colors is a color different from cyan, magenta, yellow, and black (or a color different from cyan, magenta, and yellow), namely, for example, white, silver, gold , or the like).
Regarding claim 5. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the specific color material is a color material used as a base layer of the color material of the basic color, and the specific order is an order in which printing is performed with the specific color material on a layer of the color material of the basic color with which printing is performed on a medium (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 31, The image forming apparatus 190 is connected to the image forming apparatus communication module 130 of the image processing apparatus 100. The image forming apparatus 190 performs a printing process on the basis of a print job received from the image processing apparatus 100 (image forming apparatus communication module 130). The present exemplary embodiment is suitable especially when a color material called a “special color” different from basic recording colors is available in the image forming apparatus 190. A color material is generally toner but may be ink. The basic recording colors are generally cyan (C), magenta (M), yellow (Y), and black (K). Alternatively, the basic recording colors may be cyan, magenta, and yellow. In the following description, cyan, magenta, yellow, and black will be used as an example of the basic recording colors. The special color different from the basic recording colors is a color different from cyan, magenta, yellow, and black (or a color different from cyan, magenta, and yellow), namely, for example, white, silver, gold , or the like).
Regarding claim 6. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the specific color material is a color material of a white color (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 42, the display image generation module 115 may also generate a display image obtained by printing a special color lastly. A special color may be, as described above, white, a metallic color (e.g., silver) or the like . When back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, a special color is printed lastly so that a background of a print (since the recording medium is transparent, the background depends on an environment (situation)).
Regarding claim 7. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the specific color material is a color material of a white color (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 42, the display image generation module 115 may also generate a display image obtained by printing a special color lastly. A special color may be, as described above, white, a metallic color (e.g., silver) or the like . When back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, a special color is printed lastly so that a background of a print (since the recording medium is transparent, the background depends on an environment (situation)).
Regarding claim 8. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the specific color material is a transparent color material, and the specific order is an order in which printing is performed with the specific color material on a layer of the color material of the basic color with which printing is performed on a medium (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 42, the display image generation module 115 may also generate a display image obtained by printing a special color lastly. A special color may be, as described above, white, a metallic color (e.g., silver) or the like . When back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, a special color is printed lastly so that a background of a print (since the recording medium is transparent, the background depends on an environment (situation)).
Regarding claim 9. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the specific color material is a color material of a metallic color or a transparent color material (see TAJIMA, Fig. 1, paragraph 42, the display image generation module 115 may also generate a display image obtained by printing a special color lastly. A special color may be, as described above, white, a metallic color (e.g., silver) or the like . When back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, a special color is printed lastly so that a background of a print (since the recording medium is transparent, the background depends on an environment (situation)).
Regarding claim 10. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
detect a designation using a spot color from the printing data (see TAJIMA, Fig. 4, item 404a); and
in a case where a message indicating that the spot color includes the specific color material is defined in spot color setting information for defining a combination of one or more color materials for expressing the spot color, specify, as the exclusion region, a region that is an application target of the designation using the spot color in the image (see TAJIMA, Fig. 6, paragraph 33, the front/back printing field 635 stores information indicating front printing or back printing. The print data field 640 stores print data. The print data may be a portable document format (PDF), image data, or the like. The specified color materials field 645 stores specified color materials to be used by the image forming apparatus 190 for the print job. In the specified color materials field 645, (1) color materials to be used in printing may be specified or (2) a color material (B) may be specified for a color (A) included in the print data. In the case of (2), for example, a white color material might be specified for a color of white included in print data).
Regarding claim 11. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, from a user, a designation indicating that the specific color material is used in printing of the printing data, and a designation of a usage form of the specific color material (see TAJIMA, paragraph 30, the image processing apparatus 100 receives a print job from the print job generation apparatus 180 and transfers the print job to the image forming apparatus 190 in accordance with a print schedule. The image processing apparatus 100 also displays, on a display device such as a liquid crystal display, an image to be printed in the print job to allow the user to check and adjust tones and the like); and
obtain, based on the usage form, a region in which the specific color material is used in the image represented by the printing data, and specify the exclusion region based on the obtained region (see TAJIMA, Fig. 11, paragraph 99, a special color (bottom surface) field 1178, a sheet field 1180, and a background field 1182. Order of these fields may indicate how printing is performed. That is, the fields from the special color (top surface) field 1168 to the special color (bottom surface) field 1178 may indicate order of printing of colors employed by the image forming apparatus 190).
Regarding claim 12. The combination teaches information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, from a user, an input for designating a region as an inspection target in the image represented by the printing data (see Sakai, Fig. 8, Col. 12, lines 57-65, in a step S803, the CPU 304 sets settings of the data inspection based on the settings set by the user on the setting screen 1001. For example, in a case where the user selects the bar code inspection region 1004 and the character inspection region 1005, selects a file in the setting item 1009, and further selects one of the direction setting buttons in the setting item 1010, these settings are set in the step S803. Note that the processing operations in the steps S802 and S803 may be executed in no-particular order); and
control the inspection device to inspect a remaining portion obtained by excluding the specified exclusion region from the region designated by the input from the user, as the inspection target (see Sakai, Fig. 8, Col. 12 and 13, lines 66-67 and 1-5, in a step S804, the CPU 304 stores the settings set in the steps S802 and S803 in the RAM 305. Then, the inspection setting process is terminated. With this, the inspection apparatus 102 is enabled to perform the inspection based on the settings set on the setting screen 1001 with respect to a print product output as an inspection target from the image forming apparatus 101).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In page 8, lines 3-4, applicant argued that TAJIMA does not teach that the basic recording colors and the special colors are printed in a specific order.
Examiner respectively disagree. TAJIMA teaches that the display image generation module 115 may also generate a display image obtained by printing a special color lastly. A special color may be, as described above, white, a metallic color (e.g., silver) or the like . When back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, a special color is printed lastly so that a background of a print (since the recording medium is transparent, the background depends on an environment (situation); e.g., when the recording medium is put on a table, a surface of the table is the background) does not affect the printing. That is, an effect of a color behind a print is reduced using a special color. In the case of front printing, a special color (e.g., white) is printed first so that a color of a recording medium does not affect a printed image. When a recording medium is colored (e.g., black), for example, a special color is hidden behind CMYK. The special color, however, reduces an effect of the color of the recording medium upon a CMYK printed image. When a recording medium is black and no special color is used, a printed image undesirably looks blackish (see paragraph 41-42).
TAJIMA teaches the “in the case of front printing, a special color (e.g., white) is printed first so that a color of a recording medium does not affect a printed image. When a recording medium is colored (e.g., black), for example, a special color is hidden behind CMYK. The special color, however, reduces an effect of the color of the recording medium upon a CMYK printed image. When a recording medium is black and no special color is used, a printed image undesirably looks blackish “, as the basic recording colors and the special colors are printed in a specific order.
In page 8, lines 5-6, applicant argued that TAJIMA does not teach that a region printed with the specific order is specified as an exclusion region.
Examiner respectively disagree.
TAJIMA teaches that FIG. 11A illustrates an example of the print job property screen 1100. The print job property screen 1100 displays content of a print job and includes a print job property item selection area 1110 and a print job property content display area 1120 (see Fig. 11, paragraph 96); The viewer screen 1150 displays a preview image and is used to adjust tones and the like. The viewer screen 1150 includes a viewer setting area 1160 and a viewer area 1190. The viewer setting area 1160 displays a color adjustment table 1162 (see Fig. 11, paragraph 98).
The teaching of “the print job property screen 1100 displays content of a print job and includes a print job property item selection area 1110 and a print job property content display area 1120”, “the viewer screen 1150 includes a viewer setting area 1160 and a viewer area 1190. The viewer setting area 1160 displays a color adjustment table 1162” ; “when back printing is performed on a transparent recording medium, such as in the case of a label printing, a mirror-inverted CMYK image is usually printed on the recording medium, and then white data is disposed upon colored areas as an overcoat”, as a region printed with the specific order is specified as an exclusion region (see paragraph 63, mentioned above), as a region printed with the specific order is specified as an exclusion region..
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIN JIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663