DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 3, line 3, “a vial” should be corrected to “the vial” since this term was previously introduced in claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1 - 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. ( WO 2022150332 A1 , herein Baker ) and in further view of Coats et al . ( US 20200368437 A1 , herein Coats) Regarding claim 1, Baker discloses an injection system ( Hub 1 00 and drug delivery device 1 50 in Fig. 1 ) comprising: an injector device ( drug delivery device 1 50 in Fig. 2; delivery device 150 may be operated by a patient, caregiver or healthcare professional to deliver the medication within cartridge 116 to a person, e.g., via an injection, a spray, an intravenous feed, or other mechanism [0026] ) comprising: a cartridge ( medication cartridges stored within hub 200 [0043]) an injector body ( Reusable drug-delivery device 150 may comprise a housing 151 that houses or supports the various components of device 150 [0037] ) coupled to the cartridge ( Device 150 comprises a coupling mechanism 168 that, when operated, releasably couples with medication cartridge 116. [ 00 37 ] ) at a first end of the injector body ( the user may insert the proximal end of device 250 through port 218 and into a medication storage chamber 234 a , i.e., by pushing device 250 downward in the direction of arrow 251. The downward movement of device 250 causes a coupling mechanism within device 250 (e.g., a coupling mechanism 168) to releasably couple with a medication cartridge 236 [0051]; it is set forth in [0041] that drug delivery device 250 may be configured similarly to drug delivery device 150.) and a base station (hub 100 in Fig. 1 ) , but fails to explicitly disclose the injector body comprising a plug at a second end of the injector body; and a spring coupled to the cartridge ; and the base station configured to electrically couple to the plug, wherein the base station comprises a motor, and wherein rotation of the motor transmits power to the injector device compressing the spring and drawing medicine from a vial into the cartridge. However, Baker teaches charging station 102 may also comprise a wire that extends from an exterior surface of hub 100 , and which is configured to plug into a corresponding port on drug-delivery device 150 . It can be interpreted that the port which is plugged to hub 100 may be configured to be located on the second end of the injector body. Baker further teaches drive mechanism 154 may comprise a pump to draw the medication out of medication cartridge 116 and to deliver the medication to the patient, e.g., through a needle, a jet injection, orally, and/or intravenously [0037] . Baker further teaches device 150 also comprises a drive mechanism 154 that, when medication cartridge 116 is coupled with coupling mechanism 168, delivers medication from medication cartridge 116 to a patient ; drive mechanism 154 may comprise a pump to draw the medication out of medication cartridge 116 and to deliver the medication to the patient, e.g., through a needle, a jet injection, orally, and/or intravenously [0037]. It can be interpreted that the drive mechanism 154 can perform the function of d rawing and delivering medicament as required by the spring of claim 1. Coats also teaches a spring coupled to the cartridge ( spring 128 in Fig. 1 which interact with chamber 106 via plunger 120 and linkage 130 [0032] ) . It can be understood that the spring and plunger combination of Coats can perform the functions of Baker’s drive mechanism. Coats further teaches the base station receives line power and includes a larger, more powerful motor for resetting the (potentially larger) passive energy stored energy device. The base station may be configured to receive the needle-free transdermal injection device such that the larger, more powerful motor included in the base station engages the passive stored energy device. Once the motor of the base station is engaged with the passive stored energy device, the motor of the base station can be used to quickly reset the passive stored energy device [ 0078 ] . One of ordinary skill in the art would inter pret that the resetting of the passive stored energy device ( spring 128 of Fig. 1 [0040] ) by the base station would result in the compression of the spring and therefore be capable of drawing medicine from a vial or other storage into the cartridge as noted as above. Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Baker to include a spring coupled to the cartridge and the base station configured to electrically couple to the plug, wherein the base station comprises a motor, and wherein rotation of the motor transmits power to the injector device compressing the spring and drawing medicine from a vial into the cartridge as taught by Coats since such a modification may enable the device of Baker to provide quick and controlled burst of force from the spring to maintain consistent delivery of medication and allow the user to reuse the injection device . Such reasoning is consistent with known engineering principles and represents a predictable design choice ( See MPEP 2143.I.D ). Regarding claim 2, Baker as modified by Coats disclosed all limitations of claim 1 . Baker further discloses wherein the base station includes a user interface ( h ub 100 further i ncludes a controller 104 communicably coupled with a user- interface 106, a cartridge sensor 108, one or more additional sensors 117, and/or a communication device 110, via an internal bus 115. User-interface 106 may comprise a screen, lights (e.g., LEDs), and/or speakers for communicating information to a user of hub 100, such as a status of hub 100 and/or reusable drug-delivery device 150. User-interface 106 may also comprise a touch-sensitive screen, buttons, sliders, and/or dials/knobs for receiving user-input from a user of hub 100. [0029] ) . Regarding claim 3, Baker as modified by Coats disclosed all limitations of claim 1 . However, Baker failed to explicitly disclose wherein the base station includes a dosage indicator and wherein the base station is configured to draw a dose indicated on the dosage indicator from a vial into the cartridge. However , Baker teaches d evice sensors 162 may comprise one or more sensors configured to sense, record, measure, or detect a status of reusable drug-delivery device 150. For example, device sensors 162 may be configured to sense whether device 150 is powered on or off, whether device 150 has been coupled to a medication cartridge 116, whether device 150 is turned on or off, whether device 150 is locked or unlocked for dosing, whether device 150 has been triggered to dose, whether device 150 has started its dose, whether device 150 has completed its dose, an amount of dose programmed into and/or delivered by device 150 , a position or movement of a movable component within device 150 (e.g., trigger button 152, a movable drive member within drive mechanism 154, and/or a movable plunger within medication cartridge 116), a current electrical charge present within rechargeable power source 158, a charge capacity of rechargeable power source 158, whether or not power source 158 is currently being charged, proximity of device 150 to hub 100, proximity and/or contact between device 150 and human tissue, such as a user’s skin, an acceleration and/or orientation of device 150, a current external or internal temperature of device 150 or of a medication within medication cartridge 116, a type of medication stored within medication cartridge 116, and/or a current geographic location of device 150. Sensors 162 may comprise one or more optical sensors, electrical sensors, magnetic sensors, accelerometers, mechanical switches, wireless antenna, and/or GPS sensors [0039] . On e of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a sensor capable of sen s ing dosage or medication in the cartridge of the injection device can be configured to perform the function from the base station of Baker . Regarding claim 4, Baker as modified by Coats disclosed all limitations of claim 3 . Baker further disclose s the software/firmware code contains instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes hub 100 to perform the functions described herein; operate the user-interface to receive user-input (e.g., input instructing hub 100 to turn on or off, pair with delivery device 150 and/or a user’s mobile device , prepare one of the cartridges 116 for a dose [0036] . Baker further teaches user-interface 106 may also comprise a touch-sensitive screen, buttons, sliders, and/or dials/knobs f or receiving user-input from a user of hub 100 [0029] . One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the buttons in the user- interface 106 can be configured to perform the function of inputting an amount of dose into device 150 to be delivered. Regarding claim 5, Baker as modified by Coats disclosed all limitations of claim 1 . Baker further disclose s wherein the base station includes a communication link ( process 1500 establishes a communication link between the hub and the mobile device [0064] ) configured to transmit data to and receive data from an external computing device ( t he mobile device may be any of, but not limited to, the following devices: a smartphone, a laptop, a pager, a smartwatch, a tablet, a desktop, or any device which can receive a transmission and subsequently send a responding transmission [0064] . Regarding claim 6 , Baker as modified by Coats disclosed all limitations of claim 1 . Baker further discloses wherein the injector device comprises a rechargeable battery (rechargeable power source 158 (e.g., a battery or super capacitor) on device 150 [0028]) , and wherein the base station is configured to charge the rechargeable battery (when a charging contact 170 on drug-delivery device 150 is placed in contact or close proximity with charging station 102, charging station 102 may be configured to recharge a rechargeable power source 158 (e.g., a battery or super capacitor) on device 150 either directly or inductively [0028]) . Regarding claim 7, Baker as modified disclosed all limitations of claim 1 . Baker further discloses wherein the injector device comprises a trigger button (drive mechanism 154 may be coupled with a trigger button 152 that, when actuated by a user, operates the drive mechanism 154 [0037]; see also trigger button 152 in Fig. 1) , wherein the cartridge comprises a retractable cap, and wherein the retractable cap covers the trigger button in a retracted position ( unlocks the device by rotating a locking element 252. After the device is unlocked, the user triggers the device by pressing down on trigger button 254 [0041]; it can be interpreted that the trigger button remains locked until the locking element 252 is rotated ) . Regarding claim 8, Baker as modified by Coats disclosed all limitations of claim 1 . Baker further discloses wherein the injector device comprises an injection indicator (the hub may, but is not required to, issue one or more indications to the user that the medication is ready for administration. The indications may be issued via any one of or any combination of one or more audible sounds generated by at least one audio speaker disposed on the hub, one or more visual indicators, and a wireless transmission to a mobile device. Visual indicators may further comprise any one of or any combination of one or more LEDs, light rings, light panels, and/or displays [0066] ) . Regarding claim 9, Baker as modified by Coats disclosed all limitations of claim 1 . Baker teaches a drive mechanism that delivers medication from medication cartridge [ 0037 ] , but does not explicitly disclose wherein release of the compressed spring expels medicine from an orifice of the cartridge. However , Coats teaches the injector head 104 includes a chamber 106 for holding the injectate and a nozzle 108 disposed at a distal end 110 of the chamber 102. The nozzle 108 includes a head 112 and an opening 114 from which a jet of the injectate is discharged from the chamber 106 [0030] . Coats further teaches prior to actuation of the transdermal injection device 800, the spring 828 is in a compressed state in which it stores mechanical energy. Upon actuation, the spring 828 gradually releases its mechanical energy by decompressing as it returns to a rest state [0063] . One of ordinary skill in the art may recognize that the released energy from the decompression of the spring allows the discharging of the medication from the opening 114. Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the injection system of Baker to include wherein release of the compressed spring expels medicine from an orifice of the cartridge as taught by Coats since such a modification may enable the device of Baker to provide quick and controlled burst of force from the spring to maintain consistent delivery of medication. Such reasoning is consistent with known engineering principles and represents a predictable design choice ( See MPEP 2143.I.D ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHMOOD FAROOQ whose telephone number is (571)272-7276. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 8am - 5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Sirmons can be reached at (571)272-4965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866 217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /M.F./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /KAMI A BOSWORTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783