DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 6/22/26, the following has occurred: Claims 1-2 and 10 have been amended; Claims 16 and 24-35 are cancelled.
Claims 1-15 and 17-23 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 6/22/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706).
As to Claim 10:
US'512 discloses a portable backpack power unit for operating electric tools. US'512 teaches a carrier system for a backpack energy source, such as a battery pack, configured to be carried on a user’s back and used to provide electricity for operating electric tools (US'512 [0007]–[0008]). US'512 further discloses a carrier plate, i.e., a backplate, adapted to rest on the user’s back and receive an energy source (US'512 [0009]–[0010]). The carrier plate includes a coupling interface exchangeably, and in particular removably, coupled to a counter-coupling interface of the energy source (US'512 [0012]). The energy source includes a housing and counter-coupling interface adapted to couple with the carrier system’s coupling interface (US'512 [0063]–[0064]).
US'512 further discloses rigging supported by the backplate. In particular, US'512 discloses a strap connector unit fitted with straps for strapping the carrier system to the back of a user (US'512 [0054]). The strap connector unit includes shoulder- and waist-rest elements arranged on the carrier plate, with shoulder-strap and waist-strap structures supporting the carrier system on the user’s body (US'512 [0057]–[0060]).
US'512 also discloses a cable having a first end coupled to the energy-source housing and a second end coupled to a tool connector. Specifically, the energy outlet port may be a cable guided from the cells or electronics of the energy source to the outside of the energy source and having, at its distal end, a connector adapted to connect a tool driven by the energy source (US'512 [0068]).
However, US'512 does not disclose a controller housing having a battery-pack interface configured to receive a battery pack, nor does US'512 disclose a power-tool interface selectively coupling to a plurality of power tools in an interchangeable manner.
US'706 discloses the missing limitations. US'706 teaches a wearable battery-pack receiving apparatus for outputting electrical energy to a power tool, the apparatus including a main body, a wearable component connected to the main body, and an electrical-energy output device connected to the main body; the output device is typically an electric cable (US'706 [0692]–[0693]). US'706 further teaches that a battery-pack receiving recess and matching receiving interface are disposed on the main body for detachably and electrically receiving a battery pack (US'706 [0694]–[0695]). The main body includes output-control structure, including a transformer and a voltage regulator (US'706 [0707], [0710]), and a monitoring apparatus that monitors a signal or parameter and adjusts the rated output voltage accordingly (US'706 [0714]). Thus, US'706’s main body provides the claimed controller housing.
US'706 also teaches that the electrical-energy output device is electrically connected to the battery-pack receiving interface and includes an electrical-energy output interface for transferring electrical energy from the received battery pack to a power tool (US'706 [0697]–[0698]). Further, US'706 teaches electrical-energy output interfaces for different power tools, such as an electric drill and lawn mower, interchangeably mounted on the wearable battery-pack receiving apparatus (US'706 [0715]). Alternatively, US'706 teaches a standardized output interface mountable on various power tools on the same interface platform (US'706 [0716]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US'512’s removably coupled energy-source housing with US'706’s controlled, battery-pack-receiving main body and interchangeable tool-side output interface. The modification would retain US'512’s removable, body-worn carrier arrangement while providing US'706’s expressly disclosed capability to use different output interfaces with power tools having different input-voltage requirements (US'706 [0715]–[0716]), with the predictable result of a wearable portable power unit that can selectively power multiple interchangeable tools.
Claims 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of US 2016218331 (US'331).
As to Claim 11:
US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 10, discloses the portable power unit of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 does not expressly disclose that the power tool interface includes a housing, a pair of opposed rails spaced from the housing, and a pair of opposed recesses defined between the housing and the respective rails.
US'331 discloses the missing power-tool-interface structure. US'331 teaches a battery pack having a housing 74 and a pair of rails 80, 82 extending along the housing, wherein the rails define channels 84, 86 (i.e., opposed recesses) for coupling to a power-tool battery receiving structure (US'331, [0019], Fig. 5). US'331 further teaches that the battery pack rails are positioned in corresponding receiving-frame channels and slid into the frame rail-upon-rail (US'331, [0020]). US'706 expressly teaches that its electrical-energy output interface matches a battery-pack mounting interface of the external power tool and is mountable on the power tool like a common battery pack (US'706, [0697]).
US'512, US'706, and US'331 are analogous art because each pertains to battery-powered portable power tools and interfaces for coupling a battery-powered component to a power tool. US'512 concerns a wearable battery source for supplying electricity to electric tools (US'512, [0007]–[0008]); US'706 concerns a wearable battery-pack receiving apparatus that outputs electrical energy to a power tool (US'706, [0693], [0697]); and US'331 concerns battery-operated power tools and battery-pack receiving structures (US'331, [0002], [0016]–[0019]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrical-energy output interface of US'512 in view of US'706 by providing the interface with US'331’s housing, opposed rails, and corresponding recesses. Such modification would provide an output interface mountable on the power tool like a common battery pack, as expressly contemplated by US'706, using US'331’s disclosed rail-and-channel coupling structure (US'706, [0697]; US'331, [0019]–[0020]).
As to Claim 17:
US'512 in view of US'706 discloses the portable power unit of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10). US'512 further discloses a carrier plate, i.e., a backplate, having a coupling interface for removably receiving an energy-source housing, wherein the coupling interface is located on a side of the carrier plate facing away from the user’s back (US'512, [0010]–[0012]). US'512 teaches that the carrier plate includes positioning and guiding recesses that cooperate with corresponding elevations on the energy-source housing during linear sliding attachment (US'512, [0032], [0139]–[0142]). US'512 also expressly teaches that the respective coupling-interface elements of the carrier plate and energy source may be interchanged (US'512, [0026]).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 does not expressly disclose that the opposite, second side of the controller housing defines a guide slot receiving a pair of opposed flanges of the backplate.
US'706 discloses a controller housing in the form of main body 1-I, including a battery-pack receiving recess and a matching receiving interface for detachably and electrically receiving battery pack 30-I (US'706, [0693]–[0695], Figs. 1-I and 2-I). Thus, in the combination, the battery-pack interface is located on a first side of the controller housing, while the opposite side is available for attachment to US'512’s carrier plate.
US'331 discloses the missing guided coupling arrangement. In particular, US'331 discloses a housing-mounted receiving frame having opposed side walls with rails, and channels formed between the rails and a wall of the frame (US'331, [0017], Figs. 2–4). US'331 further discloses a pair of tabs extending from the opposed side walls and a battery-pack housing having channels that receive the extending tabs (US'331, [0018]–[0019], Figs. 2–5). US'331 teaches that the components are coupled by sliding the mating rail/channel structures relative to one another (US'331, [0020]). Accordingly, US'331 teaches a pair of opposed flange-like tabs received in corresponding guide-slot structures during releasable attachment.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the US'512/US'706 portable power unit by incorporating US'331’s guided tab-and-channel attachment structure, with the coupling elements interchanged as expressly permitted by US'512, such that the controller housing defines the guide slot on its second side and the carrier plate includes the opposed flanges received therein. Such a modification would provide the releasable, guided attachment of the controller housing to the backplate taught by US'512 and US'331 while retaining US'706’s battery-pack receiving controller housing (US'512, [0024], [0026], [0032]; US'331, [0017]–[0020]).
As to Claim 18:
US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 17, discloses the portable power unit of claim 17 (see the rejection of claim 17). US'512 further teaches that the carrier plate coupling interface can include guiding grooves, rails, hooks, and counter-hook elements, and that the respective coupling-interface elements of the carrier plate and energy source may be interchanged (US'512, [0024], [0026]).
US'512 further teaches locking elements that lock or block relative movement between the carrier plate and energy source, and which may act on the carrier plate and/or energy source (US'512, [0035]).
However, US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 17, does not expressly disclose a latch disposed on the controller housing’s second side for selectively securing the controller housing to the backplate.
US'331 discloses the missing selectively operable latch arrangement. Specifically, US'331 teaches a release button coupled to a latch, both positioned on an attachable housing, wherein the latch secures the housing to a receiving frame (US'331, [0019]). US'331 further teaches sliding the housing into the receiving frame until the latch secures in a catch of the frame (US'331, [0020]). Upon movement of the release button, the latch moves from the catch, such that the housing is no longer locked to the receiving frame (US'331, [0021]). Thus, when incorporated into the controller-housing/backplate guide-slot connection of claim 17, US'331 teaches a latch on the controller housing’s second side for selectively securing the controller housing to the backplate.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the portable power unit of US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 17, by providing US'331’s release-button-coupled latch on the controller housing at the second-side guide-slot connection with the backplate. The modification would selectively retain the controller housing on the backplate by engagement of the latch with a catch, while permitting release and removal of the controller housing, as expressly taught by US'331 (US'331, [0019]–[0021]; US'512, [0026], [0035]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706) and US 2016218331 (US'331), as applied to claim 11, and further in view of US 2006108981 (US'981).
As to Claim 12:
US'512 in view of US'706 and US'331, as applied to claim 11, discloses the portable power unit of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 and US'331, as applied to claim 11, does not expressly disclose that the battery-pack interface of the controller housing includes a pair of opposed guide rails to which the battery pack is slidably attachable.
US'706 further discloses a battery-pack receiving recess and a matching receiving interface on the main body for detachably and electrically receiving a battery pack (US'706, [0694]–[0695]). US'331 discloses a battery-pack receiving frame having opposed rails and channels for receiving mating battery-pack rails, wherein the battery pack is slid, rail upon rail, into the receiving frame (US'331, [0017]–[0020]).
US'981 discloses the missing guide-rail structure. US'981 teaches a battery connection portion having a pair of tool guide rails and a pair of tool guide grooves, with a battery pack having corresponding battery guide rails and battery guide grooves. The battery pack engages the battery connection portion such that the tool guide rails are received in the battery guide grooves, thereby releasably coupling the battery pack to the battery connection portion (US'981, [0005]). US'981 further teaches sliding the battery pack relative to the battery connection portion during attachment and alignment (US'981, [0006]–[0007]). In its detailed embodiment, US'981 discloses that a pair of guide rails is slidably received into cooperating grooves on the tool housing to facilitate releasable attachment of the battery pack (US'981, [0047]).
US'512, US'706, US'331, and US'981 are analogous art because each concerns portable battery-powered equipment and mechanical and electrical interfaces for releasably coupling a battery pack to a power-tool or power-supply housing (US'512, [0007]–[0012]; US'706, [0692]–[0697]; US'331, [0017]–[0020]; US'981, [0002], [0005]–[0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery-pack receiving interface of the US'512/US'706/US'331 portable power unit with US'981’s pair of guide rails and corresponding sliding battery-pack engagement. The modification would provide the expressly taught releasable, guided attachment and alignment of the battery pack to the controller housing interface (US'981, [0005]–[0007], [0047]).
As to Claim 13:
US'512 in view of US'706, US'331, and US'981, as applied to claim 12, discloses the portable power unit of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 and US'331, as applied to claim 12, does not expressly disclose a latch positioned between the pair of guide rails of the battery-pack interface and engageable with the battery pack to secure the battery pack to that interface. Although US'331 discloses a latch, its latch is positioned on the battery-pack housing rather than on the battery-pack receiving interface (US'331, [0019]).
US'981 discloses the missing latch arrangement. US'981 teaches that the battery pack includes a pair of guide rails slidably received in corresponding grooves of the tool housing and that the battery pack defines a recess for receiving a latch carried by the tool housing (US'981, [0047]). The latch is spring biased to engage the battery-pack recess upon insertion, thereby preventing removal of the battery pack until the latch bias is overcome (US'981, [0047]). Figure 2 of US'981 depicts the tool-side latch centrally located between the opposed guide rails and engaging the battery-pack recess. Thus, US'981 teaches a battery-pack interface including a latch positioned between guide rails and engageable with the battery pack to secure the battery pack to the interface (US'981, [0047], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery-pack interface of the US'512/US'706/US'331 portable power unit, as applied to claim 12, by incorporating US'981’s spring-biased tool-side latch between the opposed guide rails so that the latch engages a recess of the slidably received battery pack. Such modification would provide the releasable retention of the battery pack after guided insertion, while preventing removal until the latch is released, as taught by US'981 (US'981, [0047], Fig. 2).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of US 2016218331 (US'331) and US 2006108981 (US'981).
As to Claim 14:
US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 10, discloses the portable power unit of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 does not expressly disclose the claimed electrical interface extending from the controller housing with which the battery pack is electrically connectable.
US'706 further discloses that the electrical-energy output device is connected to the main body and electrically connected to the receiving interface to transfer energy from the received battery pack to the power tool (US'706, [0695]–[0697]).
US'331 discloses an electrical interface extending from a battery-pack receiving housing. In particular, US'331 discloses a battery-pack receiving frame on a housing base portion (US'331, [0017]) and an electrical-connector housing coupled with the housing base portion. The electrical-connector housing includes electrical connectors that couple with corresponding electrical connectors of the battery pack (US'331, [0018]). US'331 further discloses that the battery-pack electrical connectors are received in the electrical connectors of the connector housing when the battery pack is coupled to the receiving frame (US'331, [0019]–[0020]).
US'981 independently discloses this battery-pack electrical-interface arrangement. US'981 discloses a battery connection portion of a tool housing having tool terminals and a battery pack having battery terminals, where male and female terminals mate when the battery pack is fixedly but releasably coupled to the battery connection portion (US'981, [0005]–[0006]). US'981 further teaches a tool terminal block carried by and attached to the tool housing, with female terminals adapted to receive the battery-pack blade terminals (US'981, [0051]–[0052]). Thus, US'981 teaches a tool-housing electrical interface with which the battery pack is electrically connectable.
US'512, US'706, US'331, and US'981 are analogous art because each concerns portable electrically powered equipment and structures for removably mounting and electrically connecting a battery pack to a power-tool or power-supply housing (US'512, [0001]–[0012]; US'706, [0692]–[0697]; US'331, [0002], [0017]–[0020]; US'981, [0002], [0005]–[0006], [0051]–[0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery-pack receiving interface of the US'512/US'706 portable power unit by providing US'331’s connector housing and mating electrical connectors, as further confirmed by US'981’s housing-carried terminal block and mating battery terminals. The modification would provide a known, releasable electrical connection between the battery pack and the controller housing while retaining US'706’s electrical transfer from the battery pack to the cable-connected power-tool interface (US'331, [0018]–[0020]; US'981, [0005]–[0006], [0051]–[0052]; US'706, [0695]–[0697]).
As to Claim 15:
US'512 in view of US'706, US'331, and US'981, as applied to claim 14, discloses the portable power unit of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14).
However, US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 14, does not expressly disclose that the electrical interface includes a plurality of electrical contacts electrically connectable with corresponding electrical contacts on the battery pack.
US'331 discloses the missing plurality of mating electrical contacts. Specifically, US'331 teaches that electrical-connector housing 52 includes electrical connectors 54 and 56, which couple with electrical connectors of battery pack 30 (US'331, [0018]). US'331 further teaches that battery-pack electrical connectors 104 and 106 are received in electrical connectors 54 and 56, respectively, when the battery pack is coupled to the receiving frame to power the power tool (US'331, [0019]–[0020]).
US'981 independently teaches the claimed corresponding plural-contact arrangement. US'981 teaches that the tool battery connection portion includes a plurality of tool terminals and the battery pack includes a plurality of battery terminals, with each mating terminal pair including a male blade terminal and a female terminal receiving the associated blade terminal (US'981, [0005]). US'981 further teaches that tool terminal block 76 includes positive and negative female terminals 88 and 92 adapted to receive the corresponding positive and negative blade terminals 62 of battery-pack terminal block 26 (US'981, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrical interface of the US'512/US'706 portable power unit, as modified by US'331 and US'981 for claim 14, to include US'331’s plurality of electrical connectors and US'981’s corresponding plural tool and battery terminals. The modification would provide the detachable electrical connection between the received battery pack and the receiving interface required to deliver battery-pack electrical energy to the cable-connected power-tool interface, as taught by US'706 (US'706, [0695], [0697]; US'331, [0018]–[0020]; US'981, [0005], [0052]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706) and US 2016218331 (US'331), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of US 2016038960 (US'960).
As to Claim 19:
US'512 in view of US'706 and US'331, as applied to claim 18, discloses the portable power unit of claim 18, including the controller housing, backplate, and latch selectively securing the controller housing to the backplate (see rejection of claim 18).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 and US'331, as applied to claim 18, does not expressly disclose that the latch securing the controller housing to the backplate is biased toward a locking position. Although US'331 teaches a button-actuated latch, it does not expressly disclose the claimed spring-biased locking arrangement for the controller-housing/backplate connection (US'331, [0019]–[0021]).
US'960 discloses the missing latch arrangement. US'960 teaches a latch mechanism that catches a battery upon complete insertion and includes a spring-loaded latch member received in a slot or ledge in the engaged condition. US'960 further teaches that the spring-loaded latch member is coupled to a release button, and pressing the button pushes the latch member away from its engagement to release the retained component (US'960, [0022]). Thus, US'960 teaches a latch biased toward its locking position and an actuator configured to move the latch from the locking position toward a release position.
US'512, US'706, US'331, and US'960 are analogous art because each concerns portable battery-powered equipment and mechanical structures for retaining and releasing a removable battery-powered component. US'512 concerns a backpack energy source for operating electric tools (US'512, [0007]–[0008]); US'706 concerns a wearable battery-pack receiving apparatus that supplies power to a power tool (US'706, [0692]–[0698]); US'331 concerns a battery-operated power tool and battery-release mechanism (US'331, [0002], [0019]–[0021]); and US'960 concerns a battery-powered backpack sprayer having a removable battery mounting (US'960, [0002], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the latch of the US'512/US'706/US'331 portable power unit, as applied to claim 18, to include US'960’s spring-loaded latch and release-button actuator. Such modification would cause the latch to automatically engage in a locking position upon attachment while permitting a user to selectively move the latch to a release position by actuating the release button, as expressly taught by US'960 (US'960, [0022]).
As to Claim 20:
US'512 in view of US'706 and US'331, as applied to claim 19, discloses the portable power unit of claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 and US'331, as applied to claim 19, does not expressly disclose the latch and the actuator being positioned on adjacent sides of the controller housing.
US'960 discloses the missing positional arrangement. US'960 teaches a spring-loaded latch member 71a coupled to a release button 70, wherein pressing the release button moves the latch member from its engaged position to release the retained battery (US'960, [0022]). Figure 2 of US'960 depicts latch member 71a on an upper side of battery housing 41 and release button 70 on an adjoining end side of battery housing 41. Thus, US'960 teaches locating a latch and its actuator on adjacent sides of a housing (US'960, [0022], Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the controller-housing/backplate latch arrangement of the US'512/US'706/US'331 portable power unit, as applied to claim 19, by positioning the latch and its actuator on adjacent sides of the controller housing as shown by US'960. The modification would provide US'960’s expressly taught arrangement in which an actuator on one side selectively moves a latch on an adjoining side from engagement to release (US'960, [0022], Fig. 2).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of US 20110197389 (US'389).
As to claim 21:
US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 10, discloses the portable power unit of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10).
However, US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 10, does not expressly disclose that the power-tool interface is specifically an adapter that interfaces with the power tools in the same manner as, and in place of, a second battery pack.
US'389 discloses the missing adapter arrangement. US'389 teaches high-voltage power tools normally intended to use a single high-voltage battery pack, and adapters configured to connect lower-voltage battery packs to the power tool so that the tool receives the same or substantially the same voltage as the high-voltage battery pack (US'389 [0036]). US'389 further teaches a corded adapter having a main-body-side unit detachably attached to the power tool, a pack-side unit receiving battery packs, and an electrical cord physically and electrically connecting the units (US'389 [0069]). The adapter’s main-body-side unit has an outer contour generally conforming to that of the high-voltage battery pack and a connector provided in the same manner as the connector of the high-voltage battery pack; the connector slides into the battery interface of the power tool (US'389 [0070]). Thus, US'389 teaches an adapter that connects to the power-tool battery interface in the same manner as and in place of the second, high-voltage battery pack. US'389 expressly states that the adapter enables a tool having a battery interface dedicated to the high-voltage battery pack to be driven by the low-voltage battery packs (US'389 [0071]). US'389 also teaches that its adapter teachings are applicable to a variety of electric-power-tool types (US'389 [0088]).
US'512, US'706, and US'389 are analogous art because each concerns portable battery-powered systems for supplying electricity to electric power tools. US'512 concerns a backpack-carried energy source for operating electric tools (US'512 [0007]–[0012]); US'706 concerns a wearable battery-pack receiving apparatus having interchangeable output interfaces for power tools (US'706 [0692]–[0697], [0715]); and US'389 concerns adapters that permit battery packs to power electric tools through the tools’ battery-pack interfaces (US'389 [0036], [0069]–[0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the interchangeable power-tool output interface of the US'512/US'706 portable power unit with US'389’s adapter configuration, so that the interface is received by a power tool through the same battery-pack mounting interface normally receiving a second battery pack. The modification would permit the wearable power unit to supply various power tools through interchangeable, battery-pack-replacing adapters, while avoiding a separate power-input interface on the tool, as taught by US'706 and US'389 (US'706 [0697], [0715]; US'389 [0069]–[0071]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706) and US 20110197389 (US'389), as applied to claim 21, and further in view of US 2013255980 (US’980).
As to claim 22:
US'512 in view of US'706 and US'389, as applied to claim 21, discloses the portable power unit and adapter arrangement of claim 21 (see rejection of claim 21).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 and US'389 does not expressly disclose that the first battery pack and the second battery pack have the same outer dimensions. In particular, US'389 teaches that adapter main-body-side unit 202, rather than first battery pack 10, has an outer contour generally conforming to that of second battery pack 30 (US'389, [0070]).
US'980 discloses the missing common outer-dimensions relationship. US'980 teaches a range of battery packs having different voltage and/or current ratings and “substantially the same form factor” (US'980, [0054]). US'980 further teaches different battery packs 25₁, 25₂, and 25₃ having respective voltage/current parameters and different battery-identification resistor values while having substantially the same form factor (US'980, [0059], Fig. 3). Thus, US'980 teaches distinct first and second battery packs having substantially the same outer dimensions while retaining different electrical characteristics.
US'512, US'706, US'389, and US'980 are analogous art because each concerns portable battery-powered equipment for operating power tools. US'512 concerns a backpack-carried energy source for electric tools (US'512, [0007]–[0012]); US'706 concerns a wearable battery-pack receiving apparatus that supplies power to external tools (US'706, [0692]–[0698]); US'389 concerns battery-pack-replacing adapters for electric tools (US'389, [0036], [0069]–[0071]); and US'980 concerns cordless power tools operated with battery packs having different electrical characteristics (US'980, [0054], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the first and second battery packs of the US'512/US'706/US'389 portable power unit to have US'980’s substantially same outer form factor. The modification would retain US'389’s different battery electrical characteristics while providing US'980’s expressly taught common-form-factor battery arrangement, thereby enabling the claimed adapter arrangement to interface with power tools through a common battery-pack mounting configuration (US'389, [0069]–[0071]; US'980, [0054], [0059]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015041512 (US'512) in view of US 2018102706 (US'706) and US 20110197389 (US'389), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of US 20060267547 (US'547).
As to claim 23:
US'512 in view of US'706, as applied to claim 10, discloses the portable power unit of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10).
However, US'512 in view of US'706 does not expressly disclose that the power-tool interface is a plug electrically coupled to a bypass port of a second battery pack.
US'547 discloses the missing arrangement. US'547 teaches a replacement battery pack 100 having battery 112, a connector 116 for electrically connecting to a device battery bay, and an external DC input terminal or socket 110 (US'547, [0048]). When installed in the battery-receiving bay, connector 116 electrically connects to the bay connector and functions as an output terminal for powering the device (US'547, [0051]). US'547 further teaches that an external DC source connected directly to the replacement battery pack supplies power through the pack to drive the device while the pack remains in the battery bay (US'547, [0052], [0054]–[0055]).
US'547 expressly teaches a cable-end DC plug electrically coupled to the input port of the replacement battery pack: DC outlet cable 226 terminates in DC plug 228, which connects to AC/DC input terminal 210 of replacement battery pack 200 (US'547, [0069]–[0071]). US'547 also teaches directly plugging an adapter into DC input terminal 110 of a replacement battery pack while the pack is housed in the battery bay, thereby supplying power through the pack to drive the portable device (US'547, [0074]). Thus, US'547’s external input terminal/socket constitutes the claimed bypass port because it receives the plug and permits externally supplied power to pass through the second battery pack and its battery-bay connector to the attached device. US'547 expressly identifies power tools as suitable portable devices for this battery-pack arrangement (US'547, [0046]).
US'512, US'706, and US'547 are analogous art because each concerns portable battery-powered equipment and supplying electrical power to an electrically operated device. US'512 concerns backpack battery packs for electric power tools (US'512, [0001]–[0003], [0008]); US'706 concerns a wearable battery-pack receiving apparatus that transfers battery power through a cable to a power tool (US'706, [0693]–[0698]); and US'547 concerns a replacement battery pack having an external input port that supplies power through the pack to a portable device, including a power tool (US'547, [0046], [0048], [0051]–[0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cable-end power-tool interface of the US'512/US'706 portable power unit to include US'547’s DC plug and to provide a second battery pack having US'547’s external input terminal/socket. The modification would permit power from US'706’s first, wearable battery pack to be supplied through the cable and plug to the second battery pack, and then through the second battery pack’s battery-bay connector to the power tool, as expressly taught by US'547 (US'706, [0697]–[0698]; US'547, [0051]–[0055], [0069], [0074]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10-15 and 17-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723