DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 6, 8-11, 14-15 and 17-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3 lines 1-2, the occurrence of “the Border Gateway Protocol” should be amended to ----“a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP)”---
In claim 6 lines 2, the occurrence of “the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol” should be amended to ----“a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP)”---
In claim 6 lines 4-5, the occurrence of “the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol” should be amended to ----“the DHCP”---
In claim 8 lines 1, the occurrence of “The machine-readable media” should be amended to ----“The one or more non-transitory, machine-readable media”---
In claim 8 lines 2, the occurrence of “the Border Gateway Protocol” should be amended to ----“a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP)”---
In claim 8 lines 4, the occurrence of “instructions” should be amended to ----“the instructions”---
In claim 8 lines 5, the occurrence of “the Border Gateway Protocol” should be amended to ----“the BGP”---
In claim 9 lines 1, the occurrence of “The machine-readable media” should be amended to ----“The one or more non-transitory, machine-readable media”---
In claim 10 lines 1, the occurrence of “The machine-readable media” should be amended to ----“The one or more non-transitory, machine-readable media”---
In claim 11 lines 1, the occurrence of “The machine-readable media” should be amended to ----“The one or more non-transitory, machine-readable media”---
In claim 11 lines 2, the occurrence of “IP addresses” should be amended to ----“Internet Protocol addresses”---
In claim 11 lines 2-3, the occurrence of “the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol” should be amended to ----“a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP)”---
In claim 11 lines 4, the occurrence of “the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol” should be amended to ----“the DHCP”---
In claim 14 lines 1-2, the occurrence of “the Border Gateway Protocol” should be amended to ----“a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP)”---
In claim 15 lines 2, the occurrence of “instructions” should be amended to ----“the instructions”---
In claim 15 lines 5, the occurrence of “the Border Gateway Protocol” should be amended to ----“the BGP”---
In claim 17 lines 1-2, the occurrence of “IP addresses” should be amended to ----“Internet Protocol addresses”---
In claim 17 lines 2-3, the occurrence of “the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol” should be amended to ----“a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP)”---
In claim 18 lines 2, the occurrence of “instructions” should be amended to ----“the instructions”---
In claim 18 lines 4, the occurrence of “the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol” should be amended to ----“the DHCP”---
In claim 19 lines 2, the occurrence of “instructions” should be amended to ----“the instructions”---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada [hereinafter as Okada], US 12,445,378 B2 in view of Hares et al. [hereinafter as Hares], US 2013/0117449 A1 in view of White et al. [hereinafter as White], US 8121130 B2 further in view of Barbir et al. [hereinafter as Barbir], US 2005/0265308 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses wherein a method (Fig.1 Col 2 lines 51-61, a method) comprising:
identifying, at a first network element with a connection to a second network element according to a routing protocol, a parameter that represents an aggregation length for one or more first prefixes advertised from the first network element to the second network element (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 7-37, a network management apparatus 1/first network element with a connection to a network management apparatus 2, 3 or 4/second network element according to an IP routing protocol, determining/identifying a value/parameter e.g., 240b:xxx:abc::/32 & 240b:xxx:abc::/44 that represents a prefix length and aggregated IP prefix for two IP prefixes i.e., one or more first prefixes advertised from the network management apparatus 1/first network element to the network management apparatus 2, 3 or 4/the second network element and Fig.3-4 Col 7 lines 22-27, communicating various parameters used in communication with other devices).
However, Okada does not explicitly discloses wherein communicating, from the first network element to the second network element, the parameter encoded in a field of one or more protocol data units corresponding to the routing protocol.
In the same field of endeavor, Hares teaches wherein communicating, from the first network element to the second network element, the parameter encoded in a field of one or more protocol data units corresponding to the routing protocol (Fig.3&5A-D [0063], first BGP peer 1 is exchanging to second BGP peer 2, the parameter encoded in a parameter field 514 of packet corresponding to the BGP routing protocol and Fig.9B [0074], extended community path attribute is encoded and Fig.10 [0079], the parameter is encoded in at least one of an extended communities path attribute, length of path attribute, sequence of communities, join/leave extended community and Fig.23 [0114], BGP peer 1 2201 is sending/communicating a second another Route Refresh message 2000c to BGP peer 2 2201, that encodes a sequence of 21 and contains Address Prefix ORF corresponding to the BGP routing protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada to incorporate the teaching of Hares in order to provide for improving scalability and overall hardware-resource utilization. It would have been beneficial to exchange message 500/capabilities packet between first BGP peer 1 and second BGP peer 2, the parameter encoded in a parameter field 514 of packet corresponding to the BGP routing protocol and, the parameter is encoded in at least one of an extended communities path attribute, length of path attribute, sequence of communities, join/leave extended community and, BGP peer 1 2201 is sending/communicating a second another Route Refresh message 2000c to BGP peer 2 2201, that encodes a sequence of 21 and contains Address Prefix ORF corresponding to the BGP routing protocol as taught by Hares to have incorporated in the system of Okada to provide for improving configuration efficiency. (Hares, Fig.1 [0008], Fig.3&5A-D [0063], Fig.9B [0074], Fig.10 [0079] and Fig.23 [0114])
Even though Okada and Hares disclose wherein the network management apparatus 4 is forwarding the IP prefixes of the packet at step F410 based on various routing information transmitted in F404 and F406 of the IP prefixes e.g., prefix length=44, prefix length=32, in the same field of endeavor, White teaches wherein
generating, at the second network element, a second prefix comprising the one or
more first prefixes based, at least in part, on the parameter (Fig.1-3 Col 6 lines 7-27, apparatus 107/second network element is generating the aggregate value 10.1.1.64 i.e., a second prefix comprising a range of network address values 10.1.1.64 through 10.1.1.67 i.e., one or more first prefixes based upon parameters in column 5 lines 65-67 and Fig.1 Col 5 lines 12-22, the initial network address query 111 e.g., a query address of 10.1.1.65/32 is received by the apparatus 107 and Fig.1 Col 4 lines 26-48, advertising the prefixes as an aggregate value and Fig.9 Col 9 lines 13-16, retrieving configuration parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada and Hares to incorporate the teaching of White in order to provide for broadcasting a network address in a reactive routing environment. It would have been beneficial to generate the aggregate value 10.1.1.64 i.e., a second prefix comprising a range of network address values 10.1.1.64 through 10.1.1.67 i.e., one or more first prefixes based upon parameters in column 5 lines 65-67 and, the initial network address query 111 e.g., a query address of 10.1.1.65/32 is received by the apparatus 107 and, advertising the prefixes as an aggregate value and, retrieving configuration parameters as taught by White to have incorporated in the system of Okada and Hares to provide for reachability to the destination. (White, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 25-29, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 26-48, Fig.1 Col 5 lines 12-22, Column 5 lines 65-67, Fig.1-3 Col 6 lines 7-27 and Fig.9 Col 9 lines 13-16)
Even though Okada, Hares and White disclose wherein an insertion engine for installing the aggregate value into the routing table associated with the apparatus, in the same field of endeavor, Barbir teaches wherein inserting the second prefix into a routing table at the second network element (Fig.1-2 [0043], the PE router 104 is inserting the address prefixes i.e., second prefix into the IGP routing tables of the P routers 202 i.e., second network element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada, Hares and White to incorporate the teaching of Barbir in order to achieve security and privacy. It would have been beneficial to use the PE router 104 which is inserting the address prefixes i.e., second prefix into the IGP routing tables of the P routers 202 i.e., second network element as taught by Barbir to have incorporated in the system of Okada, Hares and White to provide for best effort routing between PE routers. (Barbir, Fig.1 [0040] and Fig.1-2 [0043])
Regarding claim 2, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Okada further discloses comprising advertising the second prefix from the second network element to a third network element (Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 21-29, advertising the aggregated IP prefixes i.e., second prefix from the second network element to a network management apparatus 4 i.e., third network element and Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 34-37, advertising the IP prefixes i.e., second prefix from the network management apparatus 3 i.e., second network element to a network management apparatus 4 i.e., third network element).
Regarding claim 3, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Hares further discloses the routing protocol comprises the Border Gateway Protocol (Fig.1 [0011], the routing protocol comprises the Border Gateway Protocol and Fig.3&5A-D [0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 3 as stated above wherein Hares further discloses the parameter is encoded in at least one of an extended community attribute, a community attribute, and a path attribute in the one or more protocol data units (Fig.9B [0074], extended community path attribute is encoded and Fig.10 [0079], the parameter is encoded in at least one of an extended communities path attribute and Fig.9A-B [0090]).
Regarding claim 5, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Okada further discloses the first network element is a border network element for an autonomous system comprising prefixes for at least the one or more first prefixes (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 43-65, the first network element is a border router/border network element for an autonomous system comprising the aggregated IP prefixes for at least the one or more first prefixes).
Regarding claim 7, Okada discloses wherein One or more non-transitory, machine-readable media having program code stored thereon, the program code comprising instructions to (Fig.1-2 Col 3 lines 12-48, a non-transitory, machine-readable media having control program code stored thereon, the program code comprising instructions to):
communicate, from a first network element to a second network element with a
connection with the first network element according to a routing protocol (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 7-37, communicate from a network management apparatus 1/first network element to a network management apparatus 2, 3 or 4/second network element with a connection to the network management apparatus 1/first network element according to an IP routing protocol),
a parameter indicating an aggregation length for one or more first prefixes, wherein the first network element advertises the one or more first prefixes to the second network element (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 7-37, a value/parameter e.g., 240b:xxx:abc::/32 & 240b:xxx:abc::/44 indicating a prefix length and aggregated IP prefix for two IP prefixes i.e., an aggregation length for one or more first prefixes advertised from the network management apparatus 1/first network element to the network management apparatus 2, 3 or 4/the second network element and Fig.3-4 Col 7 lines 22-27, communicating various parameters used in communication with other devices);
advertise the second prefix from the second network element to a third network element (Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 21-29, advertising the aggregated IP prefixes i.e., second prefix from the second network element to a network management apparatus 4 i.e., third network element and Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 34-37, advertising the IP prefixes i.e., second prefix from the network management apparatus 3 i.e., second network element to a network management apparatus 4 i.e., third network element).
Even though Okada discloses wherein advertise the second prefix from the second network element to a third network element, but Okada does not explicitly disclose the second network element and the third network element are peer network elements in the routing protocol.
In the same field of endeavor, Hares teaches wherein the second network element and the third network element are peer network elements in the routing protocol (Fig.1-2 [0008][0055], all internal BGP (iBGP) peers within autonomous system (AS) over iBGP connection are peer network devices/ network elements in the border gateway protocol (BGP) routing protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada to incorporate the teaching of Hares in order to provide for improving scalability and overall hardware-resource utilization. It would have been beneficial to peer all internal BGP (iBGP) peers within autonomous system (AS) over iBGP connection with network devices/ network elements in the border gateway protocol (BGP) routing protocol as taught by Hares to have incorporated in the system of Okada to provide for improving configuration efficiency. (Hares, Fig.1 [0008] and Fig.1-2 [0055])
Even though Okada and Hares disclose wherein the network management apparatus 4 is forwarding the IP prefixes of the packet at step F410 based on various routing information transmitted in F404 and F406 of the IP prefixes e.g., prefix length=44, prefix length=32, in the same field of endeavor, White teaches wherein
generate, at the second network element, a second prefix comprising the one or more first prefixes based, at least in part, on the parameter (Fig.1-3 Col 6 lines 7-27, apparatus 107/second network element is generating the aggregate value 10.1.1.64 i.e., a second prefix comprising a range of network address values 10.1.1.64 through 10.1.1.67 i.e., one or more first prefixes based upon parameters in column 5 lines 65-67 and Fig.1 Col 5 lines 12-22, the initial network address query 111 e.g., a query address of 10.1.1.65/32 is received by the apparatus 107 and Fig.1 Col 4 lines 26-48, advertising the prefixes as an aggregate value and Fig.9 Col 9 lines 13-16, retrieving configuration parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada and Hares to incorporate the teaching of White in order to provide for broadcasting a network address in a reactive routing environment. It would have been beneficial to generate the aggregate value 10.1.1.64 i.e., a second prefix comprising a range of network address values 10.1.1.64 through 10.1.1.67 i.e., one or more first prefixes based upon parameters in column 5 lines 65-67, the initial network address query 111 e.g., a query address of 10.1.1.65/32 is received by the apparatus 107 and, advertising the prefixes as an aggregate value and, retrieving configuration parameters as taught by White to have incorporated in the system of Okada and Hares to provide for reachability to the destination. (White, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 25-29, and Fig.1 Col 4 lines 26-48, Fig.1 Col 5 lines 12-22, Column 5 lines 65-67, Fig.1-3 Col 6 lines 7-27 and Fig.9 Col 9 lines 13-16)
Even though Okada, Hares and White disclose wherein an insertion engine for installing the aggregate value into the routing table associated with the apparatus, in the same field of endeavor, Barbir teaches wherein insert the second prefix into a routing table of the second network element (Fig.1 [0043], the PE router 104 is inserting the address prefixes i.e., second prefix into the IGP routing tables of the P routers 202 i.e., second network element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada, Hares and White to incorporate the teaching of Barbir in order to achieve security and privacy. It would have been beneficial to use the PE router 104 which is inserting the address prefixes i.e., second prefix into the IGP routing tables of the P routers 202 i.e., second network element as taught by Barbir to have incorporated in the system of Okada, Hares and White to provide for best effort routing between PE routers. (Barbir, Fig.1 [0040] and Fig.1 [0043])
Regarding claim 8, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein Hares further discloses the routing protocol comprises the Border Gateway Protocol, wherein the instructions to communicate the parameter indicating the aggregation length for the one or more first prefixes comprise instructions to encode the parameter in at least one of an extended community attribute, a community attribute, and a path attribute of the Border Gateway Protocol (Fig.9B [0074], extended community path attribute is encoded and Fig.10 [0079], the parameter is encoded in at least one of an extended communities path attribute and Fig.9A-B [0090]).
Regarding claim 9, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein Okada further discloses the program code further comprises instructions to:
receive, at the second network element, a first protocol data unit with a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address in the second prefix (Fig.4 Col 8 lines 25-48, receiving a packet with a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address in the second prefix);
based on determining that the one or more first prefixes comprises the destination
IP address, forward the first protocol data unit to the first network element (Fig.4 Col 8 lines 25-48, forward the packet/protocol data unit to the network management apparatus 1/first network element based on determining that the one or more first prefixes comprises the destination IP prefix/ IP address); and
based on determining that the one or more first prefixes does not comprise the
destination IP address, drop the first protocol data unit (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 61-65, the packet would not be forwarded based on determining the one or more first prefixes does not comprise the destination IP address).
Regarding claim 10, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above wherein Okada further discloses the first network element is a border network element for an autonomous system comprising at least the one or more first prefixes (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 43-54, the first network element is a border network element for an autonomous system comprising prefixes i.e., at least the one or more first prefixes).
Regarding claim 12, Okada discloses wherein a system comprising (Fig.1&3 Col 6 lines 51-65, a system):
one or more processors (Fig.1&3 Col 6 lines 51-65, a central processing CPU 31);
a first network element (Fig.1&3 Col 6 lines 51-65, a network management apparatus 1/first network element);
a second network element (Fig.1&3 Col 5 lines 11-17, a network management apparatus 2/second network element); and
one or more machine-readable media having instructions stored thereon that are
executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to (Fig.1-2 Col 3 lines 12-48, one or more machine-readable media having instructions stored thereon that are executable by the central processing CPU 31/one or more processors to cause the system to),
advertise one or more first prefixes from the first network element to the second network element (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 7-37, advertise one or more first prefixes from the network management apparatus 1/first network element to the network management apparatus 3 or 4/the second network element), wherein the first network element is a border network element for an autonomous system comprising at least the one or more first prefixes (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 43-54, the first network element is a border network element for an autonomous system comprising prefixes i.e., at least the one or more first prefixes);
identify, at the first network element, a parameter indicating an aggregation length for the one or more first prefixes (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 7-37, determining/identifying a value/ parameter e.g., 240b:xxx:abc::/32 & 240b:xxx:abc::/44 indicating a prefix length and aggregated IP prefix for two IP prefixes i.e., one or more first prefixes advertised from the network management apparatus 1/first network element to the network management apparatus 2, 3 or 4/the second network element and Fig.3-4 Col 7 lines 22-27, communicating various parameters used in communication with other devices);
communicate the parameter from the first network element to the second network
element in a connection of the routing protocol (Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 7-37, a network management apparatus 1/first network element with a connection to a network management apparatus 3 or 4/second network element according to an IP routing protocol and Fig.3-4 Col 7 lines 22-27, communicating various parameters used in communication with other devices).
Even though Okada discloses wherein advertise one or more first prefixes from the first network element to the second network element, but Okada does not explicitly disclose wherein the second network element is a peer of the first network element in a routing protocol.
In the same field of endeavor, Hares teaches wherein the second network element is a peer of the first network element in a routing protocol (Fig.1-2 [0008][0055], all internal BGP (iBGP) peers within autonomous system (AS) over iBGP connection are peer network devices/ network elements in the border gateway protocol (BGP) routing protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada to incorporate the teaching of Hares in order to provide for improving scalability and overall hardware-resource utilization. It would have been beneficial to peer all internal BGP (iBGP) peers within autonomous system (AS) over iBGP connection with network devices/ network elements in the border gateway protocol (BGP) routing protocol as taught by Hares to have incorporated in the system of Okada to provide for improving configuration efficiency. (Hares, Fig.1 [0008] and Fig.1-2 [0055])
Even though Okada and Hares disclose wherein the network management apparatus 4 is forwarding the IP prefixes of the packet at step F410 based on various routing information transmitted in F404 and F406 of the IP prefixes e.g., prefix length=44, prefix length=32, in the same field of endeavor, White teaches wherein
wherein the second prefix comprises the one or more first prefixes aggregated
according to the aggregation length indicated by the parameter (Fig.1-3 Col 6 lines 7-27, the aggregate value 10.1.1.64 i.e., a second prefix comprising a range of network address values 10.1.1.64 through 10.1.1.67 i.e., one or more first prefixes based upon parameters for the one or more first prefixes aggregated according to the aggregation length indicated by the parameter in column 5 lines 65-67 and Fig.1 Col 5 lines 12-22, the initial network address query 111 e.g., a query address of 10.1.1.65/32 is received by the apparatus 107 and Fig.1 Col 4 lines 26-48, advertising the prefixes as an aggregate value and Fig.9 Col 9 lines 13-16, retrieving configuration parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada and Hares to incorporate the teaching of White in order to provide for broadcasting a network address in a reactive routing environment. It would have been beneficial to generate the aggregate value 10.1.1.64 i.e., a second prefix comprising a range of network address values 10.1.1.64 through 10.1.1.67 i.e., one or more first prefixes based upon parameters in column 5 lines 65-67 and, the initial network address query 111 e.g., a query address of 10.1.1.65/32 is received by the apparatus 107, and advertising the prefixes as an aggregate value and, retrieving configuration parameters as taught by White to have incorporated in the system of Okada and Hares to provide for reachability to the destination. (White, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 25-29, Fig.1 Col 5 lines 12-22, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 26-48, Column 5 lines 65-67, Fig.1-3 Col 6 lines 7-27 and Fig.9 Col 9 lines 13-16)
Even though Okada, Hares and White disclose wherein an insertion engine for installing the aggregate value into the routing table associated with the apparatus, in the same field of endeavor, Barbir teaches wherein insert a second prefix into a routing table at the second network element (Fig.1 [0043], the PE router 104 is inserting the address prefixes i.e., second prefix into the IGP routing tables of the P routers 202 i.e., second network element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada, Hares and White to incorporate the teaching of Barbir in order to achieve security and privacy. It would have been beneficial to use the PE router 104 which is inserting the address prefixes i.e., second prefix into the IGP routing tables of the P routers 202 i.e., second network element as taught by Barbir to have incorporated in the system of Okada, Hares and White to provide for best effort routing between PE routers. (Barbir, Fig.1 [0040] and Fig.1 [0043])
Regarding claim 13, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Okada further discloses the one or more machine-readable media further have stored thereon instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to advertise the second prefix from the second network element to a third network element (Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 21-29, advertising the aggregated IP prefixes i.e., second prefix from the second network element to a network management apparatus 4 i.e., third network element and Fig.1-2 Col 6 lines 34-37, advertising the IP prefixes i.e., second prefix from the network management apparatus 3 i.e., second network element to a network management apparatus 4 i.e., third network element),
Additionally, Hares discloses the third network element is a peer of the second network element in the routing protocol (Fig.1-2 [0008][0055], all internal BGP (iBGP) peers within autonomous system (AS) over iBGP connection are peer network devices/ network elements in the border gateway protocol (BGP) routing protocol).
Regarding claim 14, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Okada further discloses the routing protocol comprises the Border Gateway Protocol (Fig.1 [0011], the routing protocol comprises the Border Gateway Protocol and Fig.3&5A-D [0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Hares further discloses the instructions to communicate the parameter from the first network element to the second network element comprise instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to encode the parameter in at least one of an extended community attribute, a community attribute, and a path attribute in one or more protocol data units of the Border Gateway Protocol (Fig.9B [0074], extended community path attribute is encoded and Fig.10 [0079], the parameter is encoded in at least one of an extended communities path attribute and Fig.9A-B [0090], a path attribute in packet message/ one or more protocol data units of the Border Gateway Protocol).
Regarding claim 16, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Okada further discloses the first network element is a border network element for an autonomous system comprising at least the one or more first prefixes (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 43-65, the first network element is a border router/border network element for an autonomous system comprising the aggregated IP prefixes for at least the one or more first prefixes).
Regarding claim 19, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 12 as stated above wherein Xu further discloses the one or more machine-readable media further have stored thereon instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to:
receive, at the second network element, a first protocol data unit with a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address in the second prefix (Fig.4 Col 8 lines 25-48, receiving a packet with a destination Internet Protocol (IP) address in the second prefix); and
at least one of, based on determining that the one or more first prefixes comprises the
destination IP address, forward the first protocol data unit to the first network element (Fig.4 Col 8 lines 25-48, forward the packet/protocol data unit to the network management apparatus 1/first network element based on determining that the one or more first prefixes comprises the destination IP prefix/ IP address); and based on determining that the one or more first prefixes does not comprise the destination IP address, drop the first protocol data unit (Fig.1 Col 1 lines 61-65, the packet would not be forwarded based on determining the one or more first prefixes does not comprise the destination IP address).
Claims 6, 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada [hereinafter as Okada], US 12,445,378 B2 in view of Hares et al. [hereinafter as Hares], US 2013/0117449 A1 in view of White et al. [hereinafter as White], US 8121130 B2 in view of Barbir et al. [hereinafter as Barbir], US 2005/0265308 A1 further in view of Xu et al. [hereinafter as Xu], WO 2013/071803 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above.
However, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir do not explicitly disclose the one or more first prefixes comprise Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol, further wherein determining the parameter comprises determining the parameter from a subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for allocation by the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches wherein the one or more first prefixes comprise Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol, further wherein determining the parameter comprises determining the parameter from a subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for allocation by the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (Fig.1&2A-B page 4 lines 5-26, the prefix i.e., the one or more first prefixes comprise IP address i.e., Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol and Fig.1&2A-B page 5 lines 8-21, managing the parameters such as default gateway, domain name, name servers, other servers such as time servers from the subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for the allocation by the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to incorporate the teaching of Xu in order to provide for wireless security. It would have been beneficial to use the prefix i.e., the one or more first prefixes which comprise IP address i.e., Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol and, manages the parameters such as default gateway, domain name, name servers, other servers such as time servers from the subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for the allocation by the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) as taught by Xu to have incorporated in the system of Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to provide for extending the physical range of service. (Xu, Fig.1 page 3 lines 9-16, Fig.1&2A-B page 4 lines 5-26 and Fig.1&2A-B page 5 lines 8-21)
Regarding claim 11, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 7 as stated above.
However, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir do not explicitly disclose the one or more first prefixes comprise IP addresses allocated according to the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol, further comprising instructions to identify the parameter from a subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for allocation by the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches wherein the one or more first prefixes comprise IP addresses allocated according to the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol, further comprising instructions to identify the parameter from a subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for allocation by the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (Fig.1&2A-B page 4 lines 5-26, the prefix i.e., the one or more first prefixes comprise IP address i.e., Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol and Fig.1&2A-B page 5 lines 8-21, managing the parameters such as default gateway, domain name, name servers, other servers such as time servers from the subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for the allocation by the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to incorporate the teaching of Xu in order to provide for wireless security. It would have been beneficial to use the prefix i.e., the one or more first prefixes which comprise IP address i.e., Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol and, manages the parameters such as default gateway, domain name, name servers, other servers such as time servers from the subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for the allocation by the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) as taught by Xu to have incorporated in the system of Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to provide for extending the physical range of service. (Xu, Fig.1 page 3 lines 9-16, Fig.1&2A-B page 4 lines 5-26 and Fig.1&2A-B page 5 lines 8-21)
Regarding claim 17, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 12 as stated above.
However, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir do not explicitly disclose the one or more first prefixes comprises IP addresses allocated according to the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches wherein the one or more first prefixes comprises IP addresses allocated according to the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (Fig.1&2A-B page 4 lines 5-26, the prefix i.e., the one or more first prefixes comprise IP address i.e., Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to incorporate the teaching of Xu in order to provide for wireless security. It would have been beneficial to use the prefix i.e., the one or more first prefixes which comprise IP address i.e., Internet Protocol addresses allocated according to the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol as taught by Xu to have incorporated in the system of Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to provide for extending the physical range of service. (Xu, Fig.1 page 3 lines 9-16 and Fig.1&2A-B page 4 lines 5-26)
Regarding claim 18, Okada, Hares, White, Barbir and Xu disclosed all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Xu further discloses the instructions to identify the parameter indicating the aggregation length comprise instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to identify the parameter in a subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for allocation by the Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol and ( Fig.1&2A-B page 5 lines 8-21, identifying the parameters such as default gateway, domain name, name servers, other servers such as time servers in the subnet mask of a pool of IP addresses for the allocation by the DHCP Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada [hereinafter as Okada], US 12,445,378 B2 in view of Hares et al. [hereinafter as Hares], US 2013/0117449 A1 in view of White et al. [hereinafter as White], US 8121130 B2 in view of Barbir et al. [hereinafter as Barbir], US 2005/0265308 A1 further in view of Shaikh et al. [hereinafter as Shaikh], US 2010/0208744 A1.
Regarding claim 20, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir disclosed all the elements of claim 12 as stated above.
However, Okada, Hares, White and Barbir do not explicitly disclose the second prefix inherits one or more attributes of the one or more first prefixes, further wherein the one or more attributes comprise at least one of a weight attribute, a local-preference attribute, and a Multi-Exit Discriminator attribute, further wherein the second prefix inherits most preferred ones of the weight attributes, local preference attributes, and Multi-Exit Discriminator attributes when multiple of each attribute type are present for the one or more first prefixes.
In the same field of endeavor, Shaikh teaches wherein the second prefix inherits one or more attributes of the one or more first prefixes, further wherein the one or more attributes comprise at least one of a weight attribute, a local-preference attribute, and a Multi-Exit Discriminator attribute, further wherein the second prefix inherits most preferred ones of the weight attributes, local preference attributes, and Multi-Exit Discriminator attributes when multiple of each attribute type are present for the one or more first prefixes (Fig.1-3 [0030]-[0034], the prefixes i.e., second prefix inherits one or more attributes of the many prefixes i.e., one or more first prefixes, further wherein the one or more attributes comprise at least one of a highest Local Preference (Local_Pref) i.e., local-preference attribute, shortest AS path (AS_path) attribute, lowest Origin attribte and a Multi-Exit Discriminator (MED) attribute, further wherein the second prefix inherits most preferred ones of the local preference attributes, and Multi-Exit Discriminator attributes when multiple of each attribute type are present for the many prefixes/one or more first prefixes and Fig.3 [0029], the prefixes inherits one or more attributes for the IP addresses with the prefixes 01* and 11* having a next-hop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to incorporate the teaching of Shaikh in order to provide for more efficiently utilizing existing resources within a network. It would have been beneficial to use the prefixes i.e., second prefix which inherits one or more attributes of the many prefixes i.e., one or more first prefixes, further wherein the one or more attributes comprise at least one of a highest Local Preference (Local_Pref) i.e., local-preference attribute, shortest AS path (AS_path) attribute, lowest Origin attribute and a Multi-Exit Discriminator (MED) attribute, further wherein the second prefix inherits most preferred ones of the local preference attributes, and Multi-Exit Discriminator attributes when multiple of each attribute type are present for the many prefixes/one or more first prefixes and, the prefixes which inherits one or more attributes for the IP addresses with the prefixes 01* and 11* having a next-hop as taught by Shaikh to have incorporated in the system of Okada, Hares, White and Barbir to provide for improving processing efficiency. (Shaikh, Fig.3 [0029], Fig.1-3 [0030]-[0034] and Fig.3 [0038])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Natal et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 10826827 B1) teaches Systems and Methods for Virtual Prefix Aggregation in On-Demand Overlay Networks.
Gan et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12267163 B2) teaches Retransmitted Data Sending Method, Retransmitted Data Receiving Method, and Apparatus.
Wu et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 10200228 B2) teaches Interleaver Design for Dual Sub-Carrier Modulation in WLAN.
Cruz et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0236752 A1) teaches Method for Selection of Unique Next-Time-Interval Internet Protocol Address and Port.
Shah et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 8098578 B1) teaches System and Method for Increasing Granularity of Prefix Control in a Computer Network.
Lunteren (U.S Patent No.: US 6611832 B1) teaches Data Structure for Longest-Matching Prefix Searching and Updating Method for Search Table Data Structures.
Hong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0301396 A1) teaches Method for Constructing Virtual Private Network, Method for Packet Forwarding, and Gateway Apparatus using the Methods.
Patel et al. (Pub. No.: US 2007/0214280 A1) teaches Backup BGP Paths for Non-Multipath BGP Fast Convergence.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414 /STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414