DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 20-26 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claims are directed toward alternative embodiments of the magnetic force profile than originally claimed.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 20-26 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “distributed in the apparatus according to a magnetic property profile and a force profile” in claim 1 recites a function with a corresponding structure for performing the function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. [US 5,319,335].
Claim 1, Huang et al. discloses an apparatus, comprising: a number of magnetic materials [100] distributed in the apparatus according to a magnetic property profile [figures 3a and 3b] and a force profile [created by 101a, 102a, 2011 and 202a; col. 3 lines 36-48] comprising information associated with a number of forces acting on the number of magnetic materials, wherein the magnetic property profile comprises magnetic properties that are associated with the number of forces in the force profile for the number of magnetic materials.
Claim 2, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a number of supporting devices [10, 20] located adjacent to the apparatus [100], wherein the number of supporting devices applies forces on the apparatus, and wherein the applied forces on the apparatus comprise at least one of mechanical force or magnetic force [. 3 lines 36-48].
Claim 3, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the number of supporting devices [10, 20] comprise at least one of permanent magnets, electromagnets [101a, 102a, 2011 and 202a], springs, and bearings.
Claim 4, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the number of magnetic materials [100] comprise at least one of paramagnetic material, diamagnetic material, and ferromagnetic material [col. 3 lines 1-3].
Claim 6, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the distribution of magnetic materials is configured to form gradients in one dimension, two dimensions, or three dimensions [figures 3a and 3b], and wherein the distribution of magnetic materials create force profiles in one dimension, two dimensions, or three dimensions [figures 3a and 3b].
Claim 7, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein volume fraction distribution of magnetic materials is configured to facilitate the magnetic property profile.
Claim 10, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein distribution of magnetic material [100] is configured to follow a single sawtooth, a double sawtooth, a multistep function, quadratic function [figures 3a and 3b; the oval shaped magnetic fields], or a linear function along a path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. [US 5,319,335].
Claim 5, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the number of magnetic materials comprise ferromagnetic material [col. 3 lines 1-3], but fails to teach that ferromagnetic particles suspended in a polymer matrix to form a ferromagnetic composite for the apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the composition of the ferromagnetic material in order to adjust the resulting properties of the magnetic field since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 8, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the number of magnetic materials comprise ferromagnetic material [col. 3 lines 1-3], but fails to teach that the ferromagnetic material have a geometry that varies in topology or porosity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the composition of the ferromagnetic material in order to adjust the resulting properties of the magnetic field since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 9, Huang et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the number of magnetic materials comprise ferromagnetic material [col. 3 lines 1-3], but fails to teach that the ferromagnetic material has a truss-lattice geometry that varies in density. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the structure of the ferromagnetic material in order to adjust the resulting properties of the magnetic field since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/26/2026, with respect to claims 1-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection(s) of claims 1-10 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang et al. [US 5,319,335] as applied above.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837