DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 306, 307, and 340a. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Central South University of Forestry and Technology (CN 201810729484 A), hereinafter CSUFT.
Regarding claim 1, CSUFT discloses a device (1-6 and 9-16, fig. 1 and 2) configured to be connected to a machine (7+8, fig. 1) that is movable over a ground surface (fig. 1, par. 8 on page 16), the device comprising:
a variable bridge (1+2+6, fig. 1-4, par. 8 on page 16), said variable bridge defining an elongated axis (fig. 2),
wherein said variable bridge (1+2+6) is movable, in a translation movement (abstract and par. 2 on page 18), along a vertical axis (5, fig. 1 and 4) that is orthogonal to the elongated axis (fig. 1 and 4),
wherein said variable bridge is further rotatably movable around the vertical axis (par. 2 on page 18, fig. 4), said variable bridge comprising a core segment (6, fig. 1 and 2, par. 8 on page 16) and two extension segments (1 and 2, fig. 1 and 2, par. 8 on page 16), each of said two extension segments is connected to said core segment at an end of said core segment (fig. 1 and 2) by a joint that enables rotational movement (rotating hinge 13, bottom of page 16 and par. 1 of page 17, fig. 3); and
two moveable heads mounted on said variable bridge, each of which is mounted on a different extension segment of said two extension segments (cutter of 1 and 2, fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, CSUFT further discloses wherein the device is permanently attached to said machine (fig. 1, par. 4 on page 18).
Regarding claim 3, CSUFT further discloses wherein the device is attachable to and detachable from said machine (fig. 1, par. 4 on page 18).
Regarding claim 4, CSUFT further discloses wherein each moveable head of said two moveable heads comprising a separate motor that is configured to be activated separately and independently from each other, whereby enabling different speeds and movement directions of internal components of each moveable head (par. 3 of page 17 to par. 2 of page 18, wherein the cutters can perform or not perform their operation based on the position of the cutter compared to the terrain).
Regarding claim 5, CSUFT further discloses wherein said joint enables a rotation movement around at least the vertical axis and a depth axis, wherein the depth axis is orthogonal to both the elongated axis and the vertical axis (par. 5 on page 14).
Regarding claim 6, CSUFT further discloses wherein said joint further enables a rotation movement around the elongated axis (rotating hinge 13, bottom of page 16 and par. 1 of page 17, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, CSUFT further discloses wherein said joint comprises a first joint component and a second joint component, wherein said first joint component enables a rotation movement around the vertical axis, and wherein said second joint component enables a rotation movement around a depth axis, wherein the depth axis is orthogonal to both the elongated axis and the vertical axis (see annotated fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, CSUFT further discloses wherein said variable bridge is configured to modify a relative distance between said two moveable heads, thereby reducing or increasing a distance between effective action areas defined by each moveable head of said two moveable heads (fig. 3, wherein with rotation the outer most ends of the moveable heads come closer together).
Regarding claim 10, CSUFT further discloses wherein said variable bridge is further configured to be extended and diminished telescopically to control a width thereof, thereby modifying the relative distance between said two moveable heads (par. 3 on page 15 and par. 1 on page 18, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, CSUFT further discloses further comprises:
a plurality of dynamically mounted moveable heads (cutter of 1-3, fig. 1-3) configured to be mounted on said variable bridge (fig. 1), covering the entire width of said variable bridge (fig. 1), wherein a number of the plurality of dynamically mounted moveable heads is determined based on a current width of said variable bridge (wherein the cutters cover the length of the 1+2+6); wherein each dynamic moveable head is detachable from said variable bridge (page 19, wherein the different parts are mounted, so they can be unmounted with some amount of effort).
Regarding claim 12, CSUFT further discloses wherein each extension segment is movable in 3 axes translation movement, whereby said moveable head mounted on said extension segment is capable of being folded, directed and tilted to any angle with respect to the ground of surface (can be raised up or lowered down, moved forward or backwards, and tilted, fig. 3 and 4, bottom of page 16 and par. 1 of page 17, fig. 3, abstract, and par. 2 on page 18).
Regarding claim 13, CSUFT further discloses wherein each extension segment is capable of performing a rolling movement around their axis, enabling said moveable head to be angled upwards (fig. 3, wherein the extensions 1 and 2 can be tilted back to a point wherein the head is pointed upwards).
Regarding claim 14, CSUFT further discloses wherein said two moveable heads differentiate in at least one of:
a type of the moveable head;
a size of the moveable head;
a shape of the moveable head; and
the action performed by the moveable head (wherein the angle, tilt, and effective width of the head can be differently placed to accommodate different landscapes, par. 3 of page 17).
Regarding claim 15, CSUFT further discloses wherein the device is configured to be controlled by a control unit (par. 8 on page 16), said control unit is configured to control the width and movement of said variable bridge (par. 8 on page 16 and par. 1 on page 18), said control unit is further configured to control movement of said two moveable heads and the distance therebetween (fig. 3, wherein with rotation the outer most ends of the moveable heads come closer together).
Regarding claim 16, CSUFT further discloses wherein said control unit is configured to:
obtain sensor readings from one or more sensors monitoring an area in which said machine operates (pressure sensor, par. 1 on page 18) and automatically modify parameters of said variable bridge based on the sensor readings (par. 3 on page 17 to par. 2 on page 18).
Regarding claim 17, CSUFT further discloses wherein the parameters comprise at least one of:
a height of said variable bridge from the ground surface;
a width of said variable bridge;
a direction of movement of said variable bridge;
a speed of movement of said variable bridge;
a number of activated moveable heads mounted on said variable bridge;
a type of each activated moveable head mounted on said variable bridge;
a size and shape of each activated moveable head mounted on said variable bridge; and movement parameters of each activated moveable head (par. 3 on page 17 to par. 2 on page 18, wherein: the height of the variable bridge is controlled; the effective width of the variable bridge is controlled by the outer most ends of the moveable heads coming closer together; the direction of the variable bridge and the moveable heads are controlled as seen in fig. 3 and 4 respectively).
Regarding claim 18, CSUFT further discloses further comprising: a lifting/lowering mechanism configured to automatically control a height of said variable bridge based on features of the ground surface (par. 1 and 2 on page 18).
Regarding claim 20, CSUFT further discloses wherein said machine is an agricultural machine (abstract); wherein said two moveable heads (cutter of 1 and 2, fig. 1-3) are selected from a group consisting of: a mowing head; a brush; a plough head; a vacuum cleaning head; and a tilting head (grass cutting head, par. 2 on page 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CSUFT (CN 201810729484 A) in view of Nielsen (US 20170006760 A1), hereinafter Nielsen.
Regarding claim 7, CSUFT discloses a joint (hinge, par. 8 of page 16) but fails to explicitly disclose a universal joint, a ball joint, and a Clevis joint.
Nielsen teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural machines wherein a ball joint is used (32, fig. 3, par. 0072).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the hinge with a ball joint to yield the predictable result of allowing freedom of movement (fig. 3 and 4 of Nielsen).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CSUFT (CN 201810729484 A) in view of Langworthy et al. (US005771669A), hereinafter Langworthy.
Regarding claim 19, CSUFT discloses wherein the machine is a lawn mower (abstract);
wherein said two moveable heads are two mowing heads (cutter of 1 and 2, fig. 1-3).
However, CSUFT fails to explicitly disclose each of which includes one or more revolving blades that are configured to rotate around an axis that is orthogonal to the elongated axis.
Langworthy teaches a similar device in the same field of lawn mowers wherein each of which includes one or more revolving blades that are configured to rotate around an axis that is orthogonal to the elongated axis (114, fig. 3, col. 3 line 21-48 of Langworthy).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the cutter of CSUFT with the revolving blades of Langworthy to yield the predictable result of cutting the lawn (col. 1 lines 6-10 of Langworthy).
Further regarding claim 19, CSUFT as currently modified by Langworthy teaches the above, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein said two mowing heads are differentiate from one another in at least one of: a number of said one or more revolving blades; and a type of said one or more revolving blades.
Langworthy teaches a similar device in the same field of lawn mowers wherein said two mowing heads are differentiate from one another in at least one of: a number of said one or more revolving blades; and a type of said one or more revolving blades (fig. 2, col. 3 line 21-48 and col. 8 line 58 to col. 9 line 16 of Langworthy, wherein 102a and 102b are one mowing head and 102d is the other mowing head).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the numbers of blades of CSUFT with the blades of Langworthy in order to provide an even cut (col. 1 lines 20-25 and col. 8 line 58 to col. 9 line 16 of Langworthy)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
LeBlanc (5,321,938) – has a bridge and extensions that are maneuverable.
Kave et al. (US 2025/0000018 A1) – cutting device with center area and maneuverable blades on arms.
Ulmefors et al. (US 2012/0266580 A1) – lawn mower with three blades and wherein the outer blades are maneuverable.
Phillips (US 2009/0293439 A1) – Gang mowers with maneuverable outer mowers.
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672