ELASTOMERIC CUSHION LAYER FOR SILICON-BASED SOLID-STATE BATTERY
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 6/22/2026:
Claims 1 and 17 have been amended; no new matter has been entered.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been withdrawn due to amendment.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 103 have been modified due to amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0243838 A1) and further in view of Otaka et al. (JP 2016-051622 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jang et al. teach a battery cell (Abstract; paragraph 0075, Fig. 2 discloses a lithium metal battery cell.) comprising:
an anode electrode layer including an anode active material (Fig. 2; paragraph 0074.);
a cathode electrode layer comprising cathode active material (Fig. 2, paragraph 0038 discloses the cathode can comprise lithium transition metal oxides.);
a solid electrolyte layer arranged between the anode electrode layer and the cathode electrode layer (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0019;0022 disclose the use of a solid electrolyte in between the anode and the cathode.); and
an elastomeric layer arranged between the anode electrode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (Fig. 2; paragraph 0025 discloses an elastomer-based polymer foam in between the anode and separator.).
However, Jang et al. do not teach the active material includes silicon mixed with graphite.
Otaka et al. teach a negative electrode for a battery comprising porous silicon particles (A) (Abstract). Further, graphite can also be used along with silicon (Paragraphs 0023; 0049. Further, Example 5 discloses 10 parts of porous silicon is mixed with 90 parts by weigh of natural graphite to prepare a negative electrode active material layer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the anode material of Jang with that of Otaka in order to improve charge-discharge cycle characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, Jang and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1. Further, Jang et al. teach wherein the elastomeric layer comprises an elastomer matrix and a lithium-ion conducting medium (Claim 9 discloses the elastomer layer further contains from 0.1% to 50% by weight of a lithium ion-conducting additive dispersed therein.).
Regarding claim 3, Jang and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 2. Further, Jang et al. teach wherein the elastomer matrix includes one or more materials selected from a group consisting of an acrylic-based elastomer, natural rubber, polyisoprene, butyl rubber, chloroprene, ethylene propylene diene, fluorosilicone, nitrile butadiene, saturated nitrile rubber, silicone rubber, styrene butadiene rubber, and urethane (Claim 5 discloses the elastic polymer foam contains a polymer such as polyisoprene, polyacrylic rubber, styrene butadiene rubber, silicon rubber, nitrile rubber, and polyurethane.).
Regarding claims 4-6, Jang and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 2. Further, Jang et al. teach wherein the lithium-ion conducting medium comprises at least one of a lithium salt (Paragraph 0114 discloses lithium salts such as lithium perchlorate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, and LiTFSI.) and a solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0113 discloses lithium halides such as LiI.).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Jang and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 2. Further, Jang et al. teach wherein the elastomeric layer further comprises a plasticizer, the plasticizer is selected from a group consisting of an ether, a nitrile, a carbonate solvent, a lactone, a sulfone, a phosphate, and an ionic liquid (Paragraph 0026 discloses the elastomer-based polymer foam can also contain polyether.).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2020/0287245 A1) and further in view of Jang et al. (JP 2016-051622 A).
Regarding claim 17, Ryu et al. teach a battery cell (Abstract) comprising:
an anode electrode layer including anode active material comprising anode active material, a solid electrolyte, and a binder comprising an elastomer matrix and a lithium-ion conducting medium (Abstract discloses a negative electrode which comprises a negative electrode active material, a solid electrolyte, and an electrolyte salt. Further, paragraphs 0064, 0066, 0090-0091 disclose the addition of a binder which can comprise an elastomer material.);
a cathode electrode layer comprising cathode active material (Claim 1; paragraph 0078 discloses a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material.); and
a solid electrolyte layer arranged between the anode electrode layer and the cathode electrode layer (Claim 1).
However, Ryu et al. do not teach the active material includes silicon mixed with graphite.
Otaka et al. teach a negative electrode for a battery comprising porous silicon particles (A) (Abstract). Further, graphite can also be used along with silicon (Paragraphs 0023; 0049. Further, Example 5 discloses 10 parts of porous silicon is mixed with 90 parts by weigh of natural graphite to prepare a negative electrode active material layer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the anode material of Ryu with that of Otaka in order to improve charge-discharge cycle characteristics.
Regarding claim 18, Ryu and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 17. Further, Ryu et al. teach wherein the binder further comprises a plasticizer (Abstract; paragraphs 0090-0091 disclose the addition of a plasticizer to the negative electrode which also comprises a binder.).
Regarding claim 19, Ryu and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 17. Further, Ryu et al. teach wherein: the elastomer matrix includes one or more materials selected from a group consisting of an acrylic-based elastomer, natural rubber, polyisoprene, butyl rubber, chloroprene, ethylene propylene diene, fluorosilicone, nitrile butadiene, saturated nitrile rubber, silicone rubber, styrene butadiene rubber, and urethane (Paragraphs 0064, 0066 disclose a styrene butadiene rubber.);
the lithium-ion conducting medium comprises at least one of a lithium salt and a solid electrolyte;
the lithium salt comprises a lithium cation and at least one anion selected from a group consisting of hexafluoroarsenate, hexafluorophosphate, perchlorate, tetrafluoroborate, vis(oxalate)borate (BOB), bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (FSI), bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (TFSI), cyclo-difluoromethane-1,1-bis(sulfonyl)imide (DMSI), bis(perfluoroethanesulfonyl)imide (BETI), difluoro(oxalato)borate (DFOB), and bis(fluoromalonato)borate (BFMB); and the solid electrolyte includes one or more materials selected from a group consisting of oxide-based solid electrolyte, metal-doped or aliovalent-substituted oxide solid electrolyte, sulfide-based solid electrolyte, nitride-based solid electrolyte, hydride-based solid electrolyte, halide-based solid electrolyte, and borate-based solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0091 discloses the solid electrolyte comprises polyethylene oxide and the electrode salt comprises LiTFSI.).
Regarding claim 20, Ryu and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 18. Further, Ryu et al. teach wherein the plasticizer is selected from a group consisting of an ether, a nitrile, a carbonate solvent, a lactone, a sulfone, a phosphate, and an ionic liquid (Claim 3 discloses the plasticizer can comprise ethylene carbonate, polyethylene glycol, succinonitrile, or cyclic phosphate.).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0243838 A1) and Otaka et al. (JP 2016-051622 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ryu et al. (US 2020/0287245 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Jang and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the anode electrode layer comprises an anode active material, a solid electrolyte, and a binder comprising an elastomer matrix and a lithium-ion conducting medium, wherein the binder further comprises a plasticizer.
Ryu et al. teach a battery cell (Abstract) comprising an anode electrode layer including anode active material comprising anode active material, a solid electrolyte, and a binder comprising an elastomer matrix and a lithium-ion conducting medium (Abstract discloses a negative electrode which comprises a negative electrode active material, a solid electrolyte, and an electrolyte salt. Further, paragraphs 0064, 0066, 0090-0091 disclose the addition of a binder which can comprise an elastomer material.), wherein the binder further comprises a plasticizer (Abstract; paragraphs 0090-0091 disclose the addition of a plasticizer to the negative electrode which also comprises a binder.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang and Otaka with Ryu in order to reduce the interfacial resistance between a negative electrode active material layer and a separator, while increasing the adhesion to a negative electrode current collector, and a battery module including the same.
Regarding claim 11, Jang and Otaka teach the battery cell of claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein: the elastomeric layer comprises an elastomer matrix and a lithium-ion conducting medium; and
the anode electrode layer comprises the anode active material, a solid electrolyte, and a binder comprising an elastomer matrix and a lithium-ion conducting medium.
Ryu et al. teach a battery cell (Abstract) comprising an anode electrode layer including anode active material comprising anode active material, a solid electrolyte, and a binder comprising an elastomer matrix and a lithium-ion conducting medium (Abstract discloses a negative electrode which comprises a negative electrode active material, a solid electrolyte, and an electrolyte salt. Further, paragraphs 0064, 0066, 0090-0091 disclose the addition of a binder which can comprise an elastomer material.), wherein the binder further comprises a plasticizer (Abstract; paragraphs 0090-0091 disclose the addition of a plasticizer to the negative electrode which also comprises a binder.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang and Otaka with Ryu in order to reduce the interfacial resistance between a negative electrode active material layer and a separator, while increasing the adhesion to a negative electrode current collector, and a battery module including the same.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0243838 A1) and Otaka et al. (JP 2016-051622 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okochi et al. (US 2020/0212435 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Jang and Otaka et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the cathode electrode layer comprises a cathode active material, a solid electrolyte, a conductive additive, and a binder.
Okochi et al. teach a positive electrode layer (Fig. 1, element 20) containing positive electrode active substance (Fig. 1, element 3), a solid electrolyte (Fig. 1, element 2), a binder (Fig. 1, element 1), and a conductive additive (Paragraph 0054 discloses the addition of a conductive auxiliary such as acetylene black.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang and Otaka with Okochi in order to improve ion conductivity.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Jang, Otaka, and Okochi et al. teach the battery cell of claim 12. Further, Jang et al. teach wherein the cathode active material includes one or more materials selected from a group consisting of rock salt layered oxides, spinel, polyanion cathode materials, lithium transition-metal oxides, and lithiated metal oxide/sulfide (Paragraph 0015 discloses LiCoO2.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Jang, Otaka and Okochi et al. teach the battery cell of claim 12. Further, Jang et al. teach wherein the anode active material includes one or more materials selected from a group consisting of silicon, silicon mixed with graphite, Li4Ti5O12, a transition-metal, a Li metal, and a Li alloy (Paragraph 0013; Claim 1 disclose lithium metal or lithium alloy.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Jang, Otaka, and Okochi et al. teach the battery cell of claim 12. Further, Jang et al. teach wherein the binder is selected from a group consisting of poly(vinylidene fluoride) (PVDF), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene) (PVdF-HFP), poly(tetrafluoroethylene) (PTFE), sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC), styrene–butadiene rubber (SBR), nitrile butadiene rubber (NBR), and styrene ethylene butylene styrene copolymer (SEBS) (Paragraph 0141 discloses PVDF binder for use in cathode mixture.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 June 29th, 2026