Examiner notes the entry of the following papers:
Amended claims filed 4/15/2026.
Applicant arguments/remarks made in amendment filed 4/15/2026.
Claims 2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-16, 19, and 21 are amended. Claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents arguments. Each is addressed.
Applicant argues “…independent claims 2, 9, and 16 have been amended, thus rendering their rejection moot. Applicant respectfully requests that the double patenting rejection be reconsidered and withdrawn.” (Remarks, page 7, paragraph 5, line 1.) However, different areas of the claims in U.S. Patent No. US 11,783,174 B2 have been found that teach the amended claims. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues “Accordingly, in claim 1, there is one-to-many relationship between the input buffer circuit and the plurality of multiply-add circuits, whereas in Young, there is only a one-to-one relationship between the activation register of one cell and an activation register of another cell.” (Remarks, page 8, paragraph 3, line 4.) However, the claim does not recite a “one-to-many” relationship. The claim recites “to shift different portions of the work units to a plurality of multiply-add circuits” (Claim 2, line 9.) Examiner is interpreting that this means the shift is to one of a plurality of multiply-add circuits. Martin is mapped to a plurality of multiply-add circuits. Young is mapped to shifting portions of work units/input data. Further, the specification does not recite “shift different portions of the work units” . Instead, the specification recites “By changing portions of input data provided to the computation core 416 via shifting, neural engine 314 can perform multiply-accumulate for different portions of input data based on fewer number of read operations.” Therefore, examiner is interpreting “shift different portions" as changing where the allocation of input data goes. Young teaches this. (Young, column 5, line 7 “The value loader can also send the activation input to an adjacent value loader, and the activation input can be used at another left-most cell of the array 306.” In other words, activation input at cell 314 can shift to an activation register in cell 316 is shift a portion of the work units, and can be used at another left-most cell is shift different portions of the work units.) Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues “…independent claims 9 and 16 are patentable for the same reasons as claim 2…” (Remarks, page 9, paragraph 2, line 2.) However, claim 2 remains rejected. Claims 9 and 16 have been amended similarly to claim 2, and are similarly rejected. The dependent claims remain rejected at least for depending from rejected base claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,783,174 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Application 18/360,136
Patent US 11,783,174 B2
2
A method implemented by a neural processor circuit, comprising:
sending, work units from a data buffer circuit of the neural processor circuit to a plurality of neural engine circuits of the neural processor circuit, wherein
each of the work units corresponds to a segment of input data, and wherein
each of the plurality of neural engine circuits comprises a respective input buffer circuit;
storing the work units in the respective input buffer circuit of at least one neural engine circuit of the plurality of neural engine circuits;
sending, by a control circuit, a control signal to
the respective input buffer circuit of the at least one neural engine circuit to shift different portions of the work units to a
plurality of multiply-add circuits of a
multiply-accumulator circuit of the at least one neural engine circuit;
shifting, by the respective input buffer circuit, the different portions of the work units to the multiply- accumulator circuit based on at least the control signal; and
performing,
by the plurality of multiply -add circuits of the multiply-accumulator circuit,
a digital multiply and add operation on the different shifted portion of the work units using a kernel.
7
A method of operating a neural processor circuit, comprising:
sending the work units from the data buffer to the neural engines separate from the data reader circuit and the data buffer,
each of the work units corresponding to a
portion of the segment of the input data
a third rasterizer circuit in each of the neural engines 1
storing the received segment of the input data in the data buffer of the neural processor circuit separate from the data reader circuit
instructing
the input buffer circuit to
shift portions of the corresponding one of the units to be multiplied with the kernel at different cycles
multiply accumulator comprising….
plurality of multiply-add circuits
shift portions of the corresponding one of the units to be multiplied with the kernel at different cycles
performing
multiply accumulator comprising….
plurality of multiply-add circuits
a digital multiply and add operation on a portion of the corresponding one of the work units using a kernel to generate processed digital values in the at least one of the neural engines;
3
The method of claim 2, wherein
the segment of the input data
has a first size.
1
a segment of input data received
from a source external to the neural processor circuit work units
of a size that results in an output of a size that fits in an accumulator of each of the neural engines
4
The method of claim 3, further comprising: sending, to the plurality of neural engine circuits,
second work units corresponding to a second segment of the input data from the data buffer circuit, wherein the second segment of the input data has a second size.
1
a second rasterizer circuit configured to
track, independent from the first rasterizer circuit, the segment of the input data and
work units stored in the data buffer, each of the work units corresponding to a portion of the segment of the input data stored in the data buffer
5
The method of claim 2, wherein shifting different portions of the work units comprises:
shifting different portions of the work units based on the control signal and task information, wherein
the task information indicates a manner in which the input data is segmented into the work units.
1
third rasterizer circuit instructing the input buffer circuit to
shift portions of the corresponding one of the work units to be multiplied with the kernel at different cycles
the task information indicating at least how the input data is segmented into the work units.
6
The method of claim 5,
wherein the task information further comprises:
a dimension of the input data.
3
wherein the task information further indicates
a dimension of the input data
7
The method of claim 2, further comprising:
generating a processed digital value based on the digital multiply and add operations on the different shifted portions of the work units using the kernel; and
storing the processed digital value in an accumulator of the at least one neural engine circuit of the plurality of neural engine circuits.
1
perform a digital multiply and add operation on a portion of the corresponding one of the work units using a kernel to generate processed digital values
store the processed digital values, the corresponding one of the work units having a size that results in the processed
digital values of a size that fits in the accumulator,
8
The method of claim 7, further comprising:
performing,
by the plurality of multiply-add circuits of the multiply-accumulator circuit,
second digital multiply and add operation on the processed digital value.
7
1
performing
multiply accumulator comprising….
plurality of multiply-add circuits
a digital multiply and add operation on a portion of the corresponding one of the work units using a kernel to generate processed digital values in the at least one of the neural engines
9
A neural processor circuit, comprising: a plurality of neural engine circuits, each comprising an input buffer circuit;
a data buffer circuit configured to provide, to a respective input buffer circuit of at least one neural engine circuit of the plurality of neural engine circuits, a respective work unit of a plurality of work units, wherein
1
A neural processor circuit,
comprising:
a data reader circuit comprising a first rasterizer circuit configured to track a segment of input data received from a source external to the neural processor circuit; a data buffer separate from the data reader circuit and configured to store the segment of the input data received from the data reader circuit
16
A system, comprising:
a data buffer circuit; and a plurality of neural engine circuits, each neural engine circuit of the plurality of neural engine circuits
13
An integrated circuit (IC) system comprising a neural processor circuit, the neural processor circuit comprising:
a data reader circuit and neural engines separate from the data reader circuit and the data buffer
Note 1: Examiner notes FIG.7 of patent US 11,783,174 B2, shows rasterizer 714 as receiving vector input from the Neural Task Manager 310, which in its broadest sense is functioning as a buffer circuit.
Note 2: Examiner notes “shift different portions” is not in the specification of the claimed invention. The specification recites “By changing portions of input data provided to the computation core 416 via shifting, neural engine 314 can perform multiply-accumulate for different portions of input data 60 based on fewer number of read operations.” (Specification, paragraph [0049], line 5.) Examiner is interpreting this as providing different portions of the input data to multiply-add circuits, which is taught by patent US 11,783,174 B2.
Claims 9-15 of the claimed invention are neural processor circuit claims corresponding to method claims 2-8, respectively. Otherwise, they are not patently distinct. The additional limitations of claim 9 are presented in the table and are not patentably distinct from limitations of claim 1 of the reference patent. Claims 16-21 of the claimed invention are system claims corresponding to method claims 2-7, respectively. Otherwise, they are not patently distinct. The additional elements of claim 16 are presented in the table and are not patentably distinct from limitations of claim 13 of the reference patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Martin, et al (US 2022/0043886 A1, Hardware Implementation of Convolutional Layer of Deep Neural Network, herein Martin), and Young, R. (US 9842293 B2, Batch Processing In a Neural Network Processor, herein Young).
Regarding claim 2,
Martin teaches a method, implemented by a neural processor circuit (Martin, FIG. 3, and, abstract, line 1 “Hardware implementations of, and methods for processing, a convolution layer of a DNN…” and paragraph [0011], line 1 “The hardware implementation of a convolutional layer of a DNN may be embodied in hardware on an integrated circuit.”
In other words, method is method, and convolution engine implemented on integrated circuit is implemented by a neural processor circuit.), comprising:
sending, work units from a data buffer circuit of the neural processor circuit to a plurality of neural engine circuits of the neural processor circuit (Martin, FIG. 9, and, paragraph [0007], line 1 “Described herein are hardware implementations, and methods for processing, a convolution layer of a DNN that comprise a plurality of convolution engines wherein the input data and weights are provided to the convolution engines in an order…” and, paragraph [0008], line 4 “each convolution engine comprising hardware logic configured to receive in each of a plurality of cycles a set of weights and a set of input data values…” and, paragraph [0024], line 1 “FIG. 9 is a block diagram of an example computer system in which the hardware implementation of the DNN is implemented”
In other words, set of input data values is work units, input buffer is data buffer circuit, input is provided is sending…work units from a data buffer circuit, and, from FIG. 3, plurality of convolution engines implemented on integrated circuit is plurality of neural engine circuits.) , wherein
each of the work units corresponds to a segment of input data (Martin, paragraph [0008], line 4 “each convolution engine comprising hardware logic configured to receive in each of a plurality of cycles a set of weights and a set of input data values…” In other words, each set of input data values is each of the work units corresponds to a segment of input data.) , and wherein
[each of the plurality of neural engine circuits comprises a respective input buffer circuit];
storing the work units in the respective input buffer circuit of at least one neural engine circuit of the plurality of neural engine circuits (Martin, FIG. 3. See above mapping. In other words, integrated circuit is circuit, convolution engine is neural engine, set of input values is work units, input buffer is input buffer circuit of at least one neural engine, and data sent to input buffer is storing the work units in the input circuit buffer.);
sending, by a control circuit, a control signal to the respective input buffer circuit of the at least one neural engine circuit (Martin, paragraph [0051], line 1 “In some cases, the hardware implementation 300 may also comprise an input buffer controller (not shown) which may be configured to obtain the plurality of input data values related to a particular convolution layer ( or fully connected layer) of a DNN from external memory (not shown) via a memory interface (not shown) and store the received input data values in the input buffer 310.” In other words, input buffer controller is control circuit that sends a signal to the respective input buffer circuit.) to
[shift different portions of the work units] to
a plurality of multiply-add circuits of a multiply-accumulator circuit of the at least one neural engine circuit (Martin, page 10, column 2, claim 8 “The hardware implementation of claim 7, further comprising the plurality of convolution engines, each convolution engine comprising hardware logic configured to receive in each of the plurality of cycles a set of weights and a set of input data values, and perform a multiply accumulate operation on the set of weights and the set of input data values.” And, paragraph [0035], line 6 “In some examples, as shown in FIG. 4, each convolution engine 302 may comprise a plurality of multipliers 402, each of which is configured to multiply a weight (wi) and a corresponding input data value (di) to produce a multiplication output value. The multipliers 402 are followed by a plurality of adders 404 that form an adder tree to calculate the sum of the multiplication outputs.” In other words, hardware logic configured to …perform a multiply accumulate operation is multiply-accumulator circuit, plurality of multipliers with plurality of adders is a plurality of multiply-add circuits, and each convolution engine comprising…hardware logic to perform multiply accumulate operation is of the at least one neural engine circuit.) ; and
performing, by the plurality of multiply-add circuits of the multiply-accumulator circuit, digital multiply and add operations on the [different shifted portions of the work units] using a kernel (Martin, paragraph [0008], line 1 “first aspect provides a hardware implementation of a convolution layer of a deep neural network, the hardware implementation comprising: a plurality of convolution engines, each convolution engine comprising hardware logic configured to receive in each of a plurality of cycles a set of weights and a set of input data values, and perform a multiply accumulate operation on the set of weights and the set of input data values.” And, paragraph [0030], line 5 “The weights may be grouped to form or define one or more filters or kernels.” In other words, hardware implementation is circuit, perform a multiply accumulate operation is performing, from prior mapping plurality of multipliers with plurality of adders is plurality of multiply-add circuits of the multiply-accumulator circuit, a digital multiply and add operation, and kernel is kernel. Examiner notes that different shifted portions of the work units is mapped to Young. See below.).
Thus far, Martin does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of neural engine circuits comprises a respective input buffer circuit.
Young teaches each of the plurality of neural engine circuits comprises a respective input buffer circuit (Young, FIG. 3, and FIG. 4,
In other words, from FIG. 3, each cell is a neural engine circuit, and, from FIG. 4, which shows the circuitry of each cell, the activation register is respective input buffer circuit for each of the plurality of cells.)
Young teaches shift different portions of the work units and different shifted portions of the work units (Young, column 5, line 23 “For example, over one clock cycle, the activation input at cell 314 can shift to an activation register in cell 316, which is to the right of cell 314. Similarly, the weight input at cell 316 can shift to a weight register at cell 318, which is below cell 314.” And, column 5, line 7 “The value loader can also send the activation input to an adjacent value loader, and the activation input can be used at another left-most cell of the array 306.” Examiner notes the specification of the instant application recites “By changing portions of input data provided to the computation core 416 via shifting, neural engine 314 can perform multiply-accumulate for different portions of input data based on fewer number of read operations.” (Specification, paragraph [0049], line 5.) Therefore, Examiner is interpreting shift different portions as changing where the allocation of input data goes. In other words, activation input at cell 314 can shift to an activation register in cell 316 is shift a portion of the work units, and can be used at another left-most cell is shift different portions of the work units.)
Both Martin and Young are directed to implementing neural networks on hardware, among other things. Martin teaches a method, implemented by a neural processor circuit comprising sending, work units from a data buffer circuit of the neural processor circuit to a plurality of neural engine circuits of the neural processor circuit, wherein each of the work units corresponds to a segment of input data; but does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of neural engine circuits comprises a respective input buffer circuit or shifting a portion of work units. Young teaches each of the plurality of neural engine circuits comprises a respective input buffer circuit and shifting a portion of work units.
In view of the teaching of Martin, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Young into Martin. This would result in a method, implemented by a neural processor circuit comprising sending, work units from a data buffer circuit of the neural processor circuit to a plurality of neural engine circuits of the neural processor circuit, wherein each of the work units corresponds to a segment of input data where each of the plurality of neural engine circuits comprises a respective input buffer circuit where the work units can be shifted.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to more efficiently process neural network inputs in order to improve execution speed. (Young, column 1, line 38 “In general, this specification describes a special-purpose hardware circuit that computes neural network inferences. In general, one innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this specification can be embodied in methods that include the actions of generating a respective neural network output for each of a plurality of inputs, wherein the generating comprises processing each input through each of a plurality of neural network layers to generate the respective neural network output for the input…”)
Regarding claim 3,
The combination of Martin and Young teaches the method of claim 2, wherein
the segment of the input data has a first size (Martin, paragraph [0048], line 6 “For example, the software tool may provide the input buffer 310 with the dimensions of the input data (e.g. xxyxP of FIG. 2), the convolution window size ( e.g. nxmxP in FIG. 2) and the step sizes (s and t in FIG. 2).” In other words, dimensions of input data is the input data has a first size.)12. Regarding claim 4,
The combination of Martin and Young teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising:
sending, to the plurality of neural engine circuits, second work units corresponding to a second segment of the input data from the data buffer circuit, wherein the second segment of the input data has a second size (Martin, paragraph [0048], line 6 “For example, the software tool may provide the input buffer 310 with the dimensions of the input data (e.g. xxyxP of FIG. 2), the convolution window size ( e.g. nxmxP in FIG. 2) and the step sizes (s and t in FIG. 2).” In other words, provide input buffer is sending…second work units, and dimensions of input data is the input data has a second size.)
Regarding claim 5,
The combination of Martin and Young teaches the method of claim 2, wherein shifting the different portions of the work units comprises:
shifting the different portions of the work units based on the control signal and task information, wherein the task information indicates a manner in which the input data is segmented into the work units (Young, see mapping of claim 1, and column 6, line 19 “In some implementations, the cell also includes a control register. The control register can store a control signal that determines whether the cell should shift either the weight input or the activation input to adjacent cells.” And, column 5, line 7 “The value loader can also send the activation input to an adjacent value loader, and the activation input can be used at another left-most cell of the array 306.” Examiner notes the specification recites “By changing portions of input data provided to the computation core 416 via shifting, neural engine 314 can perform multiply-accumulate for different portions of input data based on fewer number of read operations.” (Specification, paragraph [0049], line 5.) Therefore, Examiner is interpreting shifting different portions as changing where the allocation of input data goes. In other words, shift either the weight input or the activation input is shifting a portion of the work units, loader can also send input to another…cell is shifting different portions, and control signal that determines whether the cell should shift is control signal and task information indicates a manner in which the input data is segmented.)
Regarding claim 6,
The combination of Martin and Young teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the task information further comprises:
a dimension of the input data (Martin, paragraph [0031], line 2 “As can be seen in FIG. 2, the data 200 used in a DNN may be arranged as P planes of data, where each plane has a dimension X x Y.” In other words, P is input data, and dimension X x Y is dimension of the input data.)
Regarding claim 7,
The combination of Martin and Young teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
generating a processed digital value based on the digital multiply and add operations on the different shifted portions of the work units using the kernel (Martin, FIG. 4, and, paragraph [0030], line 5 “The weights may be grouped to form or define one or more filters or kernels.” And, column 5, line 7 “The value loader can also send the activation input to an adjacent value loader, and the activation input can be used at another left-most cell of the array 306.”
In other words, w is weights that define a kernel, and, FIG. 4 shows generating a digital value based on a digital multiply, loader can also send input to another…cell is different shifted portions, and add operation on the portion of work units using the kernel.); and
storing the processed digital value in an accumulator of the at least one of the plurality of neural engine circuits (Martin, FIG. 3, In other words, from FIG. 3, accumulator is accumulator, and FIG. 3 shows storing the processed digital value in an accumulator for at least one of the plurality of neural engine circuits.).
Regarding claim 8,
The combination of Martin and Young teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising:
performing, by the plurality of multiply-add circuits of the multiply-accumulator circuit, second digital multiply and add operation on the processed digital value (Martin, paragraph [0007], line 4 “…input data and weights are provided to the convolution engines in an order that allows input data and weights read from memory to be used in at least two filter-window calculations performed either by the same convolution engine in successive cycles or by different convolution engines in the same cycle…” And, paragraph [0035], line 6 “In some examples, as shown in FIG. 4, each convolution engine 302 may comprise a plurality of multipliers 402, each of which is configured to multiply a weight (wi) and a corresponding input data value (di) to produce a multiplication output value. The multipliers 402 are followed by a plurality of adders 404 that form an adder tree to calculate the sum of the multiplication outputs.” In other words, input data and weights read from memory to be used… in at least two…calculations performed either by the same convolution engine in successive cycles or by different convolution engines in the same cycle is performing… a second digital multiply and add operation on the processed digital value, and plurality of multipliers and adders is plurality of multiply-add circuits.)
Claim 9 is a neural processor circuit claim corresponding to method claim 2. Otherwise, they are not patentably distinct. Claim 9 recites the additional elements of “a neural processor circuit, comprising a plurality of neural engine circuits, each comprising an input buffer circuit, a data buffer circuit.” The combination of Martin and Young teaches this. (Martin, FIG. 3, FIG. 9, and, paragraph [0007], line 1, and, paragraph [0008], line 4. And, Young, FIG. 3, and FIG. 4. See mapping of claim 2.) Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claims 10-15 are neural processor circuit claims corresponding to method claims 3-8, respectively. Otherwise, they are not patentably. Therefore, claims 10-15 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 3-8, respectively.
Claims 16-21 are a system, comprising a data buffer circuit, and a plurality of neural engine claims corresponding to method claims 2-7, respectively. Otherwise, they are not patentably distinct. The combination of Martin and Young teaches a system comprising a data buffer circuit, and a plurality of neural engines. (Martin, FIG. 3, FIG. 9, and, paragraph [0007], line 1, and, paragraph [0008], line 4. FIG. 9 discloses a system. Also, see mapping of claim 2.). Therefore, claims 16-21 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 2-7, respectively.
Conclusion
/Bart I Rylander/Examiner, Art Unit 2124