DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uehara (US 2005/0056141).
Regarding Claim 1, Uehara teaches a communication method (Figs. 4, 6, communication between master audio-visual station 10a and slave audio-visual station 10b) comprising:
determining, by a first communication device, whether timing information, which is repeatedly generated at a predetermined interval and is used for a notification process executed by the first communication device, has been generated ([0071-0073], microprocessor checks the data port assigned to the click time data code to see whether or not the click occurs as by step S12. While the time is passing toward the next click, the answer at step S12 is given negative. With the negative answer, the microprocessor returns to step S11, and reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 and S12 until the answer at step S11 or S12 is changed to affirmative. click occurs. Then, the answer at step S12 is changed to affirmative. The microprocessor proceeds to step S16, and fetches the click time from the internal clock "A" 11b. The microprocessor proceeds to step S13, and produces the click time data code. The microprocessor loads the click time data code in the data field of the packet assigned to the payload, and transmits the packet through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21c at step S14); and
transmitting, as packet data, notification data and sequentially acquired sound data to a second communication device connected to the first communication device via a network, the notification data being based on a presence or an absence of the timing information during a period in which the sound data, contained in the packet data, was sequentially acquired ([0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0046], The click signal is supplied from the click generator module 11d to the digital circuit 13a, and the click time data code is supplied from the clock generator module 11d to the packet transmitter module 11c. The click signal is mixed with the audio-visual data codes by means of the digital mixer 13c, and the digital mixed signal, which contains audio-visual data and click data, is transmitted through the communication channel 10cb to the slave audio-visual station 10b. On the other hand, the click time data code and MIDI music data codes are transmitted from the packet transmitter module 11c through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21 in the form of packets. Although the different communication channels 10ca and 10cb are respectively assigned to the packets and the digital mixed signal, the digital mixed signal, which contains the click signal, and the packets, which contains the click time data code, are delivered to the communication channels 10ca and 10cb in such a manner that the click time data code and click signal arrive at the controller 21 almost concurrently. Thus, the click time data code is paired with the click signal as shown in FIG. 4. Even if a time difference occurs between the arrival of the click time data code and the arrival of the click signal, the controller 21 makes the click time data code paired with the corresponding click signal in so far as the time difference is fallen within a predetermined value).
Regarding Claim 2, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting the packet data includes generating the packet data by differentiating a data position of the sound data and a data position of the notification data in the packet data (Fig. 4 illustrating clear differentiation between clicktime data and MIDI data positioning).
Regarding Claim 3, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting the packet data includes superimposing the notification data on the sound data as data converted into a sound wave form in a first frequency band different from a second frequency band of the sound data ([0046], Figs. 3-4, The click signal is supplied from the click generator module 11d to the digital circuit 13a, and the click time data code is supplied from the clock generator module 11d to the packet transmitter module 11c. The click signal is mixed with the audio-visual data codes by means of the digital mixer 13c, and the digital mixed signal, which contains audio-visual data and click data, is transmitted through the communication channel 10cb to the slave audio-visual station 10b. On the other hand, the click time data code and MIDI music data codes are transmitted from the packet transmitter module 11c through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21 in the form of packets. Although the different communication channels 10ca and 10cb are respectively assigned to the packets and the digital mixed signal, the digital mixed signal, which contains the click signal, and the packets, which contains the click time data code, are delivered to the communication channels 10ca and 10cb in such a manner that the click time data code and click signal arrive at the controller 21 almost concurrently. Thus, the click time data code is paired with the click signal as shown in FIG. 4. Even if a time difference occurs between the arrival of the click time data code and the arrival of the click signal, the controller 21 makes the click time data code paired with the corresponding click signal in so far as the time difference is fallen within a predetermined value).
Regarding Claim 4, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the notification data includes information that identifies a data position of the sound data contained in the packet data ([0073], the microprocessor fetches the stamp time from the internal clock "A" 11b, and stamps the MIDI music data code representative of the note-off with the stamp time at step S13. The microprocessor loads the MIDI music data code and associated time stamp data code in the data field of the packet, and transmits the packet through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21c, [0075], After the pianist completes his or her performance, the operator instructs the controller 11 to stop the data processing. Then, the answer at step S15 is given affirmative, and the microprocessor returns to the main routine program. While the microprocessor of the controller 11 is running on the computer program shown in FIG. 6, the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes and the click time data codes intermittently arrive at the packet receiver module 21c, and the digital mixed signal reaches the videophone unit 23 independently of the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes/click time data codes).
Regarding Claim 6, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 4, wherein the notification data includes information indicating a number of times the timing information was generated during the period in which the sound data, contained in the packet data, was sequentially acquired ([0053], If the lapse of time "T" is longer than the predetermined time periods, the clock setter 21e stops the setting work, and eliminates the click time data code, which has already arrived, from the click time data buffer 21b. Thus, the clock setter 22e measures the lapse of time "T" by using a timer. In this instance, the timer is implemented by a software counter. Since the click signal has a constant pulse period, the lapse of time "T" is given as the number of the pulses).
Regarding Claim 7, Uehara teaches a communication method (Figs. 4, 6, communication between master audio-visual station 10a and slave audio-visual station 10b) comprising:
receiving, from a first communication device and by a second communication device connected to the first communication device via a network, packet data containing sound data and notification data ([0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0046], The click signal is supplied from the click generator module 11d to the digital circuit 13a, and the click time data code is supplied from the clock generator module 11d to the packet transmitter module 11c. The click signal is mixed with the audio-visual data codes by means of the digital mixer 13c, and the digital mixed signal, which contains audio-visual data and click data, is transmitted through the communication channel 10cb to the slave audio-visual station 10b. On the other hand, the click time data code and MIDI music data codes are transmitted from the packet transmitter module 11c through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21 in the form of packets. Although the different communication channels 10ca and 10cb are respectively assigned to the packets and the digital mixed signal, the digital mixed signal, which contains the click signal, and the packets, which contains the click time data code, are delivered to the communication channels 10ca and 10cb in such a manner that the click time data code and click signal arrive at the controller 21 almost concurrently. Thus, the click time data code is paired with the click signal as shown in FIG. 4. Even if a time difference occurs between the arrival of the click time data code and the arrival of the click signal, the controller 21 makes the click time data code paired with the corresponding click signal in so far as the time difference is fallen within a predetermined value),
the notification data being based on a presence or an absence, at the first communication device, of timing information repeatedly generated at a predetermined interval ([0071-0073], microprocessor checks the data port assigned to the click time data code to see whether or not the click occurs as by step S12. While the time is passing toward the next click, the answer at step S12 is given negative. With the negative answer, the microprocessor returns to step S11, and reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 and S12 until the answer at step S11 or S12 is changed to affirmative. click occurs. Then, the answer at step S12 is changed to affirmative. The microprocessor proceeds to step S16, and fetches the click time from the internal clock "A" 11b. The microprocessor proceeds to step S13, and produces the click time data code. The microprocessor loads the click time data code in the data field of the packet assigned to the payload, and transmits the packet through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21c at step S14),
reproducing, by the second communication device, the sound data contained in the packet data ([0075], After the pianist completes his or her performance, the operator instructs the controller 11 to stop the data processing. Then, the answer at step S15 is given affirmative, and the microprocessor returns to the main routine program. While the microprocessor of the controller 11 is running on the computer program shown in FIG. 6, the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes and the click time data codes intermittently arrive at the packet receiver module 21c, and the digital mixed signal reaches the videophone unit 23 independently of the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes/click time data codes, [0066], pianist gets ready for his or her performance, and the controller 11 starts to transmit the packets and digital mixed signal to the slave audio-visual station 10b. The internal clock "A" 11a starts to measure the lapse of time, and the click generator module 11d produces the clicks at the time intervals. The microprocessor of the controller 11 enters the computer program shown in FIG. 6, and the videophone unit 13 transmits the digital mixed signal through the communication channel 10cb to the videophone unit 23. The controller 21 also gets ready to produce the acoustic piano tones and visual images); and
controlling, by the second communication device and during a period in which the sound data is reproduced, a notification process, executed by the second communication device, based on the notification data included in the packet data together with the sound data ([0009], videophones 52 and 62 form parts of a video conference system or a streaming system. While the audio data codes and visual data codes are arriving at the videophone 62, the videophone 62 produces the visual images and voice from the audio data codes and visual data codes, [0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0045], videophone unit 13 includes a digital circuit 13a and a movie camera/microphone 14. At least an encoder 13b and a digital mixer 13c are incorporated in the digital circuit 13a. While a musician is performing the piece of music on the keyboard 12a, the movie camera or microphone 14 pick up the visual images and monophonic sound, and converts the images and monophonic sound to the analog audio-visual signal. The analog audio-visual signal is supplied from the movie camera/microphone 14 to the digital circuit 13a. The analog audio-visual signal is compressed and converted to the audio-visual data codes through the encoder 13b. The audio-visual data codes are transmitted from the digital circuit 13a to the slave audio-visual station 10b through the communication channel 10cb as a digital mixed signal).
Regarding Claim 10, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 7, wherein the notification process includes reproducing, by the second communication device, a predetermined video image ([0009], videophones 52 and 62 form parts of a video conference system or a streaming system. While the audio data codes and visual data codes are arriving at the videophone 62, the videophone 62 produces the visual images and voice from the audio data codes and visual data codes, [0045], videophone unit 13 includes a digital circuit 13a and a movie camera/microphone 14. At least an encoder 13b and a digital mixer 13c are incorporated in the digital circuit 13a. While a musician is performing the piece of music on the keyboard 12a, the movie camera or microphone 14 pick up the visual images and monophonic sound, and converts the images and monophonic sound to the analog audio-visual signal. The analog audio-visual signal is supplied from the movie camera/microphone 14 to the digital circuit 13a. The analog audio-visual signal is compressed and converted to the audio-visual data codes through the encoder 13b. The audio-visual data codes are transmitted from the digital circuit 13a to the slave audio-visual station 10b through the communication channel 10cb as a digital mixed signal).
Regarding Claim 11, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 10, wherein controlling the notification process includes outputting, by the second communication device, control data for the notification process to the notification device prior to the period during which the sounds data is reproduced ([0075], After the pianist completes his or her performance, the operator instructs the controller 11 to stop the data processing. Then, the answer at step S15 is given affirmative, and the microprocessor returns to the main routine program. While the microprocessor of the controller 11 is running on the computer program shown in FIG. 6, the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes and the click time data codes intermittently arrive at the packet receiver module 21c, and the digital mixed signal reaches the videophone unit 23 independently of the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes/click time data codes, [0066], pianist gets ready for his or her performance, and the controller 11 starts to transmit the packets and digital mixed signal to the slave audio-visual station 10b. The internal clock "A" 11a starts to measure the lapse of time, and the click generator module 11d produces the clicks at the time intervals. The microprocessor of the controller 11 enters the computer program shown in FIG. 6, and the videophone unit 13 transmits the digital mixed signal through the communication channel 10cb to the videophone unit 23. The controller 21 also gets ready to produce the acoustic piano tones and visual images).
Regarding Claim 12, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 7, wherein, in a case where no packet data is received by the second communication device during a period defined based on a control history of a past notification process, the notification device is controlled to execute a predetermined notification process after the period, defined based on the control history of the past notification process, has elapsed ([0071], The microprocessor checks the MIDI port, again, to see whether or not the next MIDI music data code arrives there at step S11. However, the next MIDI music data code does not reach the MIDI port. Then, the answer at step S11 is given negative, and the microprocessor checks the data port assigned to the click time data code to see whether or not the click occurs as by step S12. While the time is passing toward the next click, the answer at step S12 is given negative. With the negative answer, the microprocessor returns to step S11, and reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 and S12 until the answer at step S11 or S12 is changed to affirmative, [0074-0075], If the pianist continues his or her performance, the answer at step S15 is given negative, and the microprocessor returns to step S11. Thus, the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data code and the click time data code are transmitted through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21c. After the pianist completes his or her performance, the operator instructs the controller 11 to stop the data processing. Then, the answer at step S15 is given affirmative, and the microprocessor returns to the main routine program).
Regarding Claim 13, Uehara teaches a communication system comprising: a first communication device; and a second communication device (Figs. 4, 6, communication between master audio-visual station 10a and slave audio-visual station 10b), wherein:
the first communication device includes a data transmission unit configured to transmit notification data and sequentially acquired sound data as packet data, the notification data is based on a presence or an absence of timing information during a period in which the sound data, contained in the packet data, was sequentially acquired ([0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0046], The click signal is supplied from the click generator module 11d to the digital circuit 13a, and the click time data code is supplied from the clock generator module 11d to the packet transmitter module 11c. The click signal is mixed with the audio-visual data codes by means of the digital mixer 13c, and the digital mixed signal, which contains audio-visual data and click data, is transmitted through the communication channel 10cb to the slave audio-visual station 10b. On the other hand, the click time data code and MIDI music data codes are transmitted from the packet transmitter module 11c through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21 in the form of packets. Although the different communication channels 10ca and 10cb are respectively assigned to the packets and the digital mixed signal, the digital mixed signal, which contains the click signal, and the packets, which contains the click time data code, are delivered to the communication channels 10ca and 10cb in such a manner that the click time data code and click signal arrive at the controller 21 almost concurrently. Thus, the click time data code is paired with the click signal as shown in FIG. 4. Even if a time difference occurs between the arrival of the click time data code and the arrival of the click signal, the controller 21 makes the click time data code paired with the corresponding click signal in so far as the time difference is fallen within a predetermined value),
the timing information, when generated, is repeatedly generated at a predetermined interval and used for a notification process executed by a first notification device of the first communication device ([0071-0073], microprocessor checks the data port assigned to the click time data code to see whether or not the click occurs as by step S12. While the time is passing toward the next click, the answer at step S12 is given negative. With the negative answer, the microprocessor returns to step S11, and reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 and S12 until the answer at step S11 or S12 is changed to affirmative. click occurs. Then, the answer at step S12 is changed to affirmative. The microprocessor proceeds to step S16, and fetches the click time from the internal clock "A" 11b. The microprocessor proceeds to step S13, and produces the click time data code. The microprocessor loads the click time data code in the data field of the packet assigned to the payload, and transmits the packet through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21c at step S14),
the second communication device includes (i) a data receiving unit configured to receive the packet data and reproduce the sound data contained in the packet data ([0075], After the pianist completes his or her performance, the operator instructs the controller 11 to stop the data processing. Then, the answer at step S15 is given affirmative, and the microprocessor returns to the main routine program. While the microprocessor of the controller 11 is running on the computer program shown in FIG. 6, the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes and the click time data codes intermittently arrive at the packet receiver module 21c, and the digital mixed signal reaches the videophone unit 23 independently of the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes/click time data codes, [0066], pianist gets ready for his or her performance, and the controller 11 starts to transmit the packets and digital mixed signal to the slave audio-visual station 10b. The internal clock "A" 11a starts to measure the lapse of time, and the click generator module 11d produces the clicks at the time intervals. The microprocessor of the controller 11 enters the computer program shown in FIG. 6, and the videophone unit 13 transmits the digital mixed signal through the communication channel 10cb to the videophone unit 23. The controller 21 also gets ready to produce the acoustic piano tones and visual images) and
(ii) a second notification device configured to execute a notification process, based on the notification data contained in the packet data together with the sound data, during a period when the sound data is reproduced ([0009], videophones 52 and 62 form parts of a video conference system or a streaming system. While the audio data codes and visual data codes are arriving at the videophone 62, the videophone 62 produces the visual images and voice from the audio data codes and visual data codes, [0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0045], videophone unit 13 includes a digital circuit 13a and a movie camera/microphone 14. At least an encoder 13b and a digital mixer 13c are incorporated in the digital circuit 13a. While a musician is performing the piece of music on the keyboard 12a, the movie camera or microphone 14 pick up the visual images and monophonic sound, and converts the images and monophonic sound to the analog audio-visual signal. The analog audio-visual signal is supplied from the movie camera/microphone 14 to the digital circuit 13a. The analog audio-visual signal is compressed and converted to the audio-visual data codes through the encoder 13b. The audio-visual data codes are transmitted from the digital circuit 13a to the slave audio-visual station 10b through the communication channel 10cb as a digital mixed signal).
Regarding Claim 14, Uehara teaches a communication device (Figs. 4, 6, communication between master audio-visual station 10a and slave audio-visual station 10b) comprising:
a data transmission unit configured to transmit, as packet data, notification data and sequentially acquired sound data ([0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0046], The click signal is supplied from the click generator module 11d to the digital circuit 13a, and the click time data code is supplied from the clock generator module 11d to the packet transmitter module 11c. The click signal is mixed with the audio-visual data codes by means of the digital mixer 13c, and the digital mixed signal, which contains audio-visual data and click data, is transmitted through the communication channel 10cb to the slave audio-visual station 10b. On the other hand, the click time data code and MIDI music data codes are transmitted from the packet transmitter module 11c through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21 in the form of packets. Although the different communication channels 10ca and 10cb are respectively assigned to the packets and the digital mixed signal, the digital mixed signal, which contains the click signal, and the packets, which contains the click time data code, are delivered to the communication channels 10ca and 10cb in such a manner that the click time data code and click signal arrive at the controller 21 almost concurrently. Thus, the click time data code is paired with the click signal as shown in FIG. 4. Even if a time difference occurs between the arrival of the click time data code and the arrival of the click signal, the controller 21 makes the click time data code paired with the corresponding click signal in so far as the time difference is fallen within a predetermined value),
the notification data being based on a presence or an absence of timing information during a period in which the sound data, contained in the packet data, was sequentially acquired ([0071-0073], microprocessor checks the data port assigned to the click time data code to see whether or not the click occurs as by step S12. While the time is passing toward the next click, the answer at step S12 is given negative. With the negative answer, the microprocessor returns to step S11, and reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 and S12 until the answer at step S11 or S12 is changed to affirmative. click occurs. Then, the answer at step S12 is changed to affirmative. The microprocessor proceeds to step S16, and fetches the click time from the internal clock "A" 11b. The microprocessor proceeds to step S13, and produces the click time data code. The microprocessor loads the click time data code in the data field of the packet assigned to the payload, and transmits the packet through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21c at step S14),
wherein, when generated, the timing information is repeatedly generated at a predetermined interval and is used for a notification process executed by the communication device ([0075], After the pianist completes his or her performance, the operator instructs the controller 11 to stop the data processing. Then, the answer at step S15 is given affirmative, and the microprocessor returns to the main routine program. While the microprocessor of the controller 11 is running on the computer program shown in FIG. 6, the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes and the click time data codes intermittently arrive at the packet receiver module 21c, and the digital mixed signal reaches the videophone unit 23 independently of the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes/click time data codes, [0066], pianist gets ready for his or her performance, and the controller 11 starts to transmit the packets and digital mixed signal to the slave audio-visual station 10b. The internal clock "A" 11a starts to measure the lapse of time, and the click generator module 11d produces the clicks at the time intervals. The microprocessor of the controller 11 enters the computer program shown in FIG. 6, and the videophone unit 13 transmits the digital mixed signal through the communication channel 10cb to the videophone unit 23. The controller 21 also gets ready to produce the acoustic piano tones and visual images).
Regarding Claim 15, Uehara teaches a communication device (Figs. 4, 6, communication between master audio-visual station 10a and slave audio-visual station 10b) comprising:
a data receiving unit configured to receive packet data containing sound data and notification data ([0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0046], The click signal is supplied from the click generator module 11d to the digital circuit 13a, and the click time data code is supplied from the clock generator module 11d to the packet transmitter module 11c. The click signal is mixed with the audio-visual data codes by means of the digital mixer 13c, and the digital mixed signal, which contains audio-visual data and click data, is transmitted through the communication channel 10cb to the slave audio-visual station 10b. On the other hand, the click time data code and MIDI music data codes are transmitted from the packet transmitter module 11c through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21 in the form of packets. Although the different communication channels 10ca and 10cb are respectively assigned to the packets and the digital mixed signal, the digital mixed signal, which contains the click signal, and the packets, which contains the click time data code, are delivered to the communication channels 10ca and 10cb in such a manner that the click time data code and click signal arrive at the controller 21 almost concurrently. Thus, the click time data code is paired with the click signal as shown in FIG. 4. Even if a time difference occurs between the arrival of the click time data code and the arrival of the click signal, the controller 21 makes the click time data code paired with the corresponding click signal in so far as the time difference is fallen within a predetermined value),
the notification data being based on a presence or an absence of timing information repeatedly generated at a predetermined interval ([0071-0073], microprocessor checks the data port assigned to the click time data code to see whether or not the click occurs as by step S12. While the time is passing toward the next click, the answer at step S12 is given negative. With the negative answer, the microprocessor returns to step S11, and reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 and S12 until the answer at step S11 or S12 is changed to affirmative. click occurs. Then, the answer at step S12 is changed to affirmative. The microprocessor proceeds to step S16, and fetches the click time from the internal clock "A" 11b. The microprocessor proceeds to step S13, and produces the click time data code. The microprocessor loads the click time data code in the data field of the packet assigned to the payload, and transmits the packet through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiver module 21c at step S14), and
to reproduce the sound data contained in the packet data ([0075], After the pianist completes his or her performance, the operator instructs the controller 11 to stop the data processing. Then, the answer at step S15 is given affirmative, and the microprocessor returns to the main routine program. While the microprocessor of the controller 11 is running on the computer program shown in FIG. 6, the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes and the click time data codes intermittently arrive at the packet receiver module 21c, and the digital mixed signal reaches the videophone unit 23 independently of the MIDI music data codes/stamp time data codes/click time data codes, [0066], pianist gets ready for his or her performance, and the controller 11 starts to transmit the packets and digital mixed signal to the slave audio-visual station 10b. The internal clock "A" 11a starts to measure the lapse of time, and the click generator module 11d produces the clicks at the time intervals. The microprocessor of the controller 11 enters the computer program shown in FIG. 6, and the videophone unit 13 transmits the digital mixed signal through the communication channel 10cb to the videophone unit 23. The controller 21 also gets ready to produce the acoustic piano tones and visual images); and
a notification control unit configured to control a notification process, executed by the communication device, based on the notification data, contained in the packet data together with the sound data, during a period when the sound data is reproduced ([0009], videophones 52 and 62 form parts of a video conference system or a streaming system. While the audio data codes and visual data codes are arriving at the videophone 62, the videophone 62 produces the visual images and voice from the audio data codes and visual data codes, [0077], the microprocessor reiterates the loop consisting of steps S11 to S16 so that the controller 11 transmits the MIDI music data codes/time stamp data codes and click time data codes through the communication channel 10ca to the packet receiving module 21c in parallel to the transmission of the digital mixed signal to the videophone unit 23, [0045], videophone unit 13 includes a digital circuit 13a and a movie camera/microphone 14. At least an encoder 13b and a digital mixer 13c are incorporated in the digital circuit 13a. While a musician is performing the piece of music on the keyboard 12a, the movie camera or microphone 14 pick up the visual images and monophonic sound, and converts the images and monophonic sound to the analog audio-visual signal. The analog audio-visual signal is supplied from the movie camera/microphone 14 to the digital circuit 13a. The analog audio-visual signal is compressed and converted to the audio-visual data codes through the encoder 13b. The audio-visual data codes are transmitted from the digital circuit 13a to the slave audio-visual station 10b through the communication channel 10cb as a digital mixed signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (US 2005/0056141), in view of Yagi et al (US 2007/0095196).
Regarding Claim 6, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 1, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Yagi teaches wherein: the timing information defines beat information; and the notification data includes the beat information corresponding to the timing information in the period in which the sound data, contained in the packet data, was sequentially acquired ([0071], tempo sound generating means 35 generates a tempo sound based on the tempo sound control information obtained from the tempo display control means 34. In the case where the set tempo value is 120 (bpm), a period of one beat is 0.5 seconds, so the tempo sound generating portion 9 generates a click sound every 0.5 seconds, [0073], One beat in a tempo is expressed by causing light-emitting elements to emit light continuously from a light-emitting element at one end to a light-emitting element at the other end).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined audible and visible indications of tempo and timing information, as taught in Yagi, in the system of Uehara, in order to more consistently and adaptively align the timing of the audio signals.
Regarding Claim 8, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 7, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Yagi teaches wherein the notification process includes outputting, by the second communication device, a predetermined sound ([0017], timing of the light emission of a light-emitting element placed at a right end or a left end of the light-emission display means is frequently matched with the timing at which tempo sound generating means generates a click sound. Therefore, according to the present invention, by causing a light-emitting element at the right end or the left end of the light-emission display means to emit light with a tempo prioritized, while displaying tuning results, a player can recognize the tempo exactly).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined audible and visible indications of tempo and timing information, as taught in Yagi, in the system of Uehara, in order to more consistently and adaptively align the timing of the audio signals.
Regarding Claim 9, Uehara teaches the communication method according to claim 7, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Yagi teaches wherein the notification process includes generating, by the second communication device, a predetermined light ([0017], timing of the light emission of a light-emitting element placed at a right end or a left end of the light-emission display means is frequently matched with the timing at which tempo sound generating means generates a click sound. Therefore, according to the present invention, by causing a light-emitting element at the right end or the left end of the light-emission display means to emit light with a tempo prioritized, while displaying tuning results, a player can recognize the tempo exactly).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined audible and visible indications of tempo and timing information, as taught in Yagi, in the system of Uehara, in order to more consistently and adaptively align the timing of the audio signals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Edwards et al (US 2010/0082768) discloses indications of the selected audio stems and video segments are presented on a graphical interface. The graphical interface may display timing information and may display wave forms for each of the audio stems. In some embodiments, during a multimedia presentation, a user views each audio stem as a wave form superimposed on a timeline ([0020]);
Moriguchi (US 2015/0036464) discloses although the transmission data D is superimposed on the audio data S, for example, when temporarily or intermittently transmitting the transmission data D, the transmission data D is not sometimes superimposed on the audio data S. In this case, it is efficient that the data detection unit 230 performs data detection only in a time period during which the transmission data D is superimposed on the audio data S. Accordingly, the data detection trigger generation unit 240 gives notification of the timing at which data detection starts to the data detection unit 230. FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing the configuration of the data detection trigger generation unit 240. The data detection trigger generation unit 240 includes FFT units 2411 to 2413, normalization units 2421 to 2423, a multiplier 243, and a signal level calculation unit 244 ([0090]).
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641