DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous claim objections; therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
The amendments to the claims overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections; therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, see the updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below over Lin in view of Nelson and Michel, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “transitional segment”, absent a specific definition, is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation as a part where a straight edge transitions to a curved edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (TW201416287A, an English machine translation was previously provided) in view of Michel (US 4548422) and Nelson (US 6340509 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a manufacturing method of a thermoplastic (¶ [0016] – fiber-mixed polymer material) composite bicycle frame (¶ [0024] – manufacturing method of bicycle frame joint #40) comprising:
a shell forming step: turning thermoplastic composite laminates into multiple separate shells (¶ [0015-0016] – body #20 made of fiber-mixed polymer material, polymer material may be thermoplastic polymer material; ¶ [0027] - body #60 is similar to #20) by compression molding (¶ [0011] –manufactured using sheet molding compound hot press molding, bulk molding compound hot press molding), wherein
the multiple shells are capable of being assembled together (¶ [0021-0022]; FIG. 7 depicts assembly of two members to form a body #60);
each one of the multiple shells has a cavity (¶ [0018, 0027] – inner surface #22, #62) surrounded by the shell (¶ [0018, 0027] – outer surface #21, #61), at least one straight segment and at least one curved segment connected with the at least one straight segment (Annotated FIG. 7 depicts the members straight segment and curve segment connected to straight segment);
Annotated Lin FIG. 7
the straight segments of the multiple shells are aligned with one another (Annotated FIG. 7 depicts straight segments/edges are aligned);
the curved segments of the multiple shells are aligned with one another (Annotated FIG. 7 depicts curved segments/edges are aligned);
each straight segment has a straight connecting edge (Annotated FIG. 7 depicts straight segment has straight connecting edge); and
each curved segment has a curved connecting edge (Annotated FIG. 7 depicts curved segment has curved connecting edge);
a shell assembling step: assembling the multiple shells to make the straight connecting edges of the multiple shells overlapped with one another and to make the curved connecting edges of the multiple shells butt jointed with one another rather than being overlapped (FIG. 7 below depicts the straight edges will overlap due to overextending edge and the curved edges will butt joint when assembled
Annotated Lin FIG. 7
the curved segments of the multiple shells correspond to where frame tubes are connected with each other (¶ [0002] – connectors for connecting the top tube, down tube, seat tube, and head tube)
Lin discloses tubes are connected to the connectors (¶ [0002]), therefore, the straight portions can be considered “portions of frame tubes of the bicycle frame component which are substantially straight”.
Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein the straight segments of the multiple shells are portions of frame tubes of the bicycle frame component which are substantially straight.
Analogous art Michel discloses two-part molding of frames (c. 1, L. 32-40) and the shell-structure bicycle frame is made of a polyester resin reinforced with fiberglass (c. 1, L. 41-44). A shell structure consists of two symmetrical shells 100, 101 forming one piece with each other along a longitudinal plane of assembly (c. 1, L. 45-51). The shells may be obtained preferably by hot compression of preimpregnated polyester resins reinforced with fiberglass (c. 1, L. 64-68). The manufacture of the frame is achieved preferably com pression of a reinforced resin (c. 4, L 21-25).
Michel further discloses wherein the straight segments of the multiple shells are portions of frame tubes of the bicycle frame component which are substantially straight (FIG. 1 and 2 depict straight segments which are “portions of frame tubes”) and the curved segments of the multiple shells correspond to where frame tubes are connected with each other (FIG. 1 and 2 depict curved segments correspond to where “frame tubes are connected with each other”).
Annotated Michel FIG. 1-2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the use of a two part mold consisting of symmetrical shells with a straight segment forming a part of the frame tube and a curved segment corresponding to where the frame tubes connect in Michel to the structure of the shells/members of the body in Lin to make inexpensive and large-scale production of bicycle frames of light material and the transverse section of various parts of the frame withstand foreseeable bending and stresses (c. 1, L. 32-40 and c. 2, L. 51-53).
Lin does not disclose a hot pressing step: through compression molding, turning the overlapped straight connecting edges and the butt jointed curved connecting edges of the multiple shells into multiple fusion areas by heating and compressing so as to connect the multiple shells as a bicycle frame component.
Analogous art Nelson discloses molding of parts for three-dimensional composite bicycle components (p. 3, L. 54-57).
Nelson further discloses a hot pressing step: through compression molding, turning the overlapped straight connecting edges and the butt jointed curved connecting edges of the multiple shells into multiple fusion areas by heating (c. 4, L. 5-15 - mold is heated to cure composite material) and compressing (c. 4, L. 5-15 – uncured composite material is placed in the female mold, apply necessary pressure to force the laid-up composite material against cavity walls) so as to connect the multiple shells (c. 8, L. 59-67 – cured part is two halves joined) as a bicycle frame component (c. 3, L. 54-57 - molding of parts for three-dimensional composite bicycle components). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the use of a mold heated and applying necessary pressure (i.e. compression) in Nelson to the assembly of members in Lin because its use is advantageous where extremely small openings are used and for very complex features (c. 4, L 45-50).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lin discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 1. Modified Lin further discloses wherein in the shell forming step, the thermoplastic composite laminates are carbon fiber reinforced thermoplastic composite laminates (Lin ¶ [0016] - #20 is made of fiber-mixed polymer material, can be various organic fibers, such as carbon fiber).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lin discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 1. Modified Lin further discloses wherein the manufacturing method comprises a reinforcement step: attaching reinforcement material (Lin ¶ [0017] – reinforcement members #30 made of continuous fiber reinforcement material) on at least one of an interior and an exterior (¶ [0018] – reinforcement fixed to outer surface #21 and inner surface #22 of #30) of the butt jointed curved connecting edges of the multiple shells (Lin FIG. 2 depicts #30 on the butt jointed curved connecting edges with #30), and in the hot pressing step, curing the reinforcement material (Nelson c. 4, L. 5-15 - mold is heated to cure composite material).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lin discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 1. Lin discloses wherein the manufacturing method comprises in the shell forming step, forming a transitional segment between adjacent said straight connecting edge and said curved connecting edge on each one of the multiple shells (Annotated FIG. 7 depicts a transitional segment is formed between straight connecting edge and curved connecting edge); and in the shell assembling step, assembling the multiple shells to make said transitional segment of each one of the multiple shells partially abutted with and partially mislaid with said transitional segment of another said shell (FIG. 7 depicts transitional segments are partially abutted with each other).
Annotated Lin FIG. 7
In arguendo, Lin does not disclose a “transitional segment”, Michel is applied.
Michel discloses various embodiments of assembly of the two symmetrical parts 100, 101 depicted in FIG. 3-8 and c. 3, L 22-57, including abutting, using groove and support, and tenons and mortices, etc.
Michel discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 1. Lin discloses wherein the manufacturing method comprises in the shell forming step, forming a transitional segment between adjacent said straight connecting edge and said curved connecting edge on each one of the multiple shells (c. 3, L 22-57 – FIG. 4 illustrates a shell has complementary inequalities of shape consisting of a centering groove and a support surface, FIG. 6-8 illustrate a set of tenons and mortices, annotated FIG. 4 and 6-8 depict a transitional segment); and in the shell assembling step, assembling the multiple shells to make said transitional segment of each one of the multiple shells partially abutted with and partially mislaid with said transitional segment of another said shell (FIG. 4 and 6-8 depicts transitional segments are partially abutted with each other).
Annotated Michel FIG. 4 and 6-8
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the use of a two part mold consisting of symmetrical shells connected with a groove and port or tenons and mortices in Michel to the structure of the shells/members of the body in Lin to make inexpensive and large-scale production of bicycle frames of light material and the transverse section of various parts of the frame withstand foreseeable bending and stresses (c. 1, L. 32-40 and c. 2, L. 51-53).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lin discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 4. Modified Lin discloses wherein the manufacturing method comprises a reinforcement step: attaching reinforcement material (Lin ¶ [0017] – reinforcement members #30 made of continuous fiber reinforcement material) on at least one of an interior and an exterior of the butt jointing curved connecting edges of the multiple shells (¶ [0018] – reinforcement fixed to outer surface #21 and inner surface #22 of #30); the reinforcement material covers said transitional segment (Annotated FIG. 2 depicts #30 covers transitional segment); and the manufacturing method, in the hot pressing step, curing the reinforcement material (Nelson c. 4, L. 5-15 - mold is heated to cure composite material).
Annotated Lin FIG. 7 and 2
Regarding claim 7-12, modified Lin discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 1-6.
Lin does not disclose before the hot pressing step, disposing a supporting unit within the multiple shells to support the multiple shells, and after the hot pressing step, removing the supporting unit accompanied with trimming to finish the bicycle frame component.
However, Nelson further discloses before the hot pressing step, disposing a supporting unit (c. 3, L. 54-67 –sealed bladder conforming to the shape of the desired lug to be produced) within the multiple shells to support the multiple shells (c. 10, L. 58-62 – fabrication of the head tube lug 203; c. 14, L. 59-67 – 227 apply pressure to the composite material of the preforms 309 against the cavity walls of the mold 242), and after the hot pressing step (c. 4, L. 5-15, c. 14, L. 59-67 – mold is heated to cure composite material), removing the supporting unit accompanied with trimming to finish the bicycle frame component (c. 4, L. 5-15 – after the composite material has cured, the mold is opened, the cured part is removed, and the bladder fitting extracted from the cured part).
Annotated Nelson Fig. 17
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the use of a bladder to support the composite material, and extracting the bladder after hot pressing with the mold in Nelson to the heated molding of the body in modified Lin because the use of easily soluble bladder films is advantageous where extremely small openings are used for inflation during molding and for subsequent removal of the bladder in very complex features on the inside of the part (c. 4, L 45-50).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (TW201416287A) in view of Michel (US 4548422) and Nelson (US 6340509 B1), as applied to claim 1 and 4, in further view of Verhuizen (US 2023/0219649 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lin discloses the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 4, Lin further discloses the rigidity and strength of material of the reinforcement 30 are relatively high, the joint has the advantages of high rigidity and high strength (¶ [0019]). Modified Lin does not disclose wherein in the shell forming step, a length of said transitional segment falls within 10 to 100 millimeters inclusively.
Analogous art Verhuizen discloses a method of manufacturing a composite frame, e.g. the joining of two or more frame parts (¶ [0006]). The frame parts are joined together (¶ [0008]) and providing overlap such a boundary between the first hollow tube part and the second hollow tube part of shell parts, improves the strength of the interconnect and accordingly of the bicycle frame (¶ [0009]).
Verhuizen further discloses a length of said transitional segment falls within 10 to 100 millimeters inclusively (¶ [0009] – overlap length of at least five millimeters, at least one centimeter or more, in range between 1.5 and 5 centimeter; 5 millimeters to 50 millimeters through unit conversion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an overlap of 5 millimeters to 50 millimeters for the connecting of frame parts in Verhuizen to the joint of the body in Lin to improves the strength of the interconnect and accordingly of the bicycle frame wherein a longer overlap (larger overlap area) was found to yield to stronger connection (¶ [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754