DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The reply filed on 30 July 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection caused by the amendments.
The additional search showed a new reference centered around the language added, rendering the claims taught by the prior art.
Claim Interpretation
Under MPEP 2143.03, "All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art." In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). As a general matter, the grammar and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claims 5, 11, 15 and 19 recite:
Claim 5, “at least one of: downloading a target part of the second portion of the media item, or completing presentation of a predetermined part of the first portion of the media item.”
Claim 11, “one or more of: a current bandwidth of a network connection between the client device and the media streaming service.”
Claim 15, “the first threshold condition comprises at least one of: downloading a target part of the second portion of the media item, or completing presentation of a predetermined part of the first portion of the media item.”
Claim 19, “at least one of a size of the first portion or a size of the second portion is computed based on one or more system metrics associated with the client device, and wherein the one or more system metrics comprise one or more of: a current bandwidth of a network connection between the client device and the media streaming service.”
Since “at least one of” and “one or more of” are disjunctive, any one of the elements found in the prior art is sufficient to reject the claim. While citations have been provided for completeness and rapid prosecution, only one element is required. Because, on balance, it appears the disjunctive interpretation enjoys the most specification support and for that reason the disjunctive interpretation (one of A, B OR C) is being adopted for the purposes of this Office Action. Applicant’s comments and/or amendments relating to this issue are invited to clarify the claim language and the prosecution history.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12, 15-16, 18 and 20 (all claims except 3-4, 7, 10-11, 13-14, 17 and 19) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2021 0289317 A1, (Son et al.) in view of US Patent Publication 2019 0174159 A1, (Mittal). The references are listed in a PTO-892 from the Office Action in which they are first used. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text.
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Son et al. teach a method ("FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of an example embodiment of a media content delivery system 244," paragraph [0073]) comprising:
communicating, by a processing device of a client computing device ("Different types of client devices 210 on which social media functionalities are available via the system 202 may comprise, but are not limited to, mobile phones, desktop computers, laptops, portable digital assistants (PD As), smart phones, tablets, ultra-books, netbooks, multi-processor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics," paragraph [0066]), to a media streaming server, a selection of a media item from the client computing device ("in response to a request for media content from a mobile device," paragraph [0023]);
receiving, by the processing device and from the media streaming server ("selection operations are performed by a content delivery server, such as application server 240 in FIG. 2. In such cases, the relevant client application 214 may be configured to gather relevant resource information from the device 210 (e.g., performance history data, current presentation on the device, current network connection information, and the like), and to communicate such information to the application server 240 for facilitating automated content delivery optimization," paragraph [0068]), a first plurality of frames of the media item ("A set of media content files that are to be delivered in association with one another or in a particular replay sequence ( e.g., a set of associated photographs in a slideshow or a set of associated video clips) are in some embodiments available for delivery in different versions, with the different versions having different respective media reproduction properties or replay properties," paragraph [0021] where a set of associated video clips is a plurality of frames), the first plurality of frames having a first resolution ("a first few media items for each stack (e.g., the first four items for each stack) are automatically downloaded in the best resolution or quality version available for display. If, instead, prevailing or expected network performance is relatively poor (e.g., displaying below-threshold values for one or more predefined data transmission parameters), lower quality versions of the relevant media content files may initially be downloaded for the first few media items of each of the story stacks, after which higher-quality versions of the relevant media items are downloaded to replace the earlier downloaded lower quality versions," paragraph [0041]);
presenting, by the processing device the first plurality of frames of the media item on a presentation interface of the client computing device ("some of the pictures are viewable on the target device while other pictures in the stack are still in the process of downloading," paragraph [0021]); and
receiving, by the processing device from the media streaming server, a second plurality of frames of the media item, the second plurality of frames having a second resolution, ("method according to one embodiment of the disclosure provides for dynamic adaptation of the format and/or configuration of media content delivery to the mobile phone 210 to provide the interactive GUI 100 and to make the associated media content available for user consumption," paragraph [0035]) wherein at least a portion of the second plurality of frames is received while at least a portion of the first plurality of frames is being presented ("a first few media items for each stack (e.g., the first four items for each stack) are automatically downloaded in the best resolution or quality version available for display. If, instead, prevailing or expected network performance is relatively poor (e.g., displaying below-threshold values for one or more predefined data transmission parameters), lower quality versions of the relevant media content files may initially be downloaded for the first few media items of each of the story stacks, after which higher-quality versions of the relevant media items are downloaded to replace the earlier downloaded lower quality versions," paragraph [0041]), and wherein the second plurality of frames comprises frames of the media item that are temporally subsequent to the first plurality of frames of the media item ("One version of a particular media content file ( such as a file representing, for example, one or more digital images, one or more digital video clips, one or more animation sequences, one or more audio clips or audio book chapters, or the like) may thus be transmitted to some mobile client devices in one format," paragraph [0016] and "streaming media delivery can be determined during the streaming delivery, in response to which characteristics of the streaming media can be changed during download." paragraph [0017]).
Son et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of without interruption of playback.
[AltContent: textbox (Mittal Fig. 12, showing adaptive use of versions based on bandwidth.)]
However, Mittal teaches switching, by the processing device from presenting the first plurality of frames of the media item to presenting the second plurality of frames of the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device at a target time that (i) is a time at which at least a portion of the second plurality of frames of the media item has been received and (ii) is computed based at least in part on a condition that a remainder of the second plurality of frames of the media item is receivable, without interruption to playback of the media item, within a time interval between the target time and an end of playback of the media item , the target time determined using one or more of:
one or more network metrics of a network connection between the client computing device and the media streaming server, or
one or more device metrics of the client computing device ("FIG. 6 is a table illustrating the effect of an increasing bandwidth and download speed between the video streaming server 20 and the video client 200. Now, the bandwidth limit is less than 4.3 Mbit/s but is more than 3.5 Mbit/s, and so profile B4 can be chosen. The video content is optionally available in segments, which allows switching to differently encoded segments midstream. Profile B4 is encoded at 3.5 Mbit/s and so the output quality of the video to a viewer is improved," paragraph [0078] and "In this example, there isn't a target version available having a bitrate which is downloadable without playback interruption. In this scenario, the video streaming client will revert to the policy of selecting the profile which can be downloaded and successfully played without interruption based firstly on the decoding capability at the client device 200, which in this example is 1080p.'" [0082]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Son et al. and Mittal as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify “Dynamically Adaptive Media Content Delivery” as taught by Son et al. to use “Adaptive Video Consumption” as taught by Mittal, showing that Son et al. and Mittal are analogous art because both are Video Streaming bandwidth management. The suggestion/motivation for combination is that, “this approach of defaulting to the highest decodable resolution for available bandwidth does not always provide the best viewing experience, nor does this approach make best use of system resources.” as noted by the Mittal disclosure in paragraph [0012], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher efficiency as there is a reasonable expectation that different situations would have different bandwidth needs and solutions; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Son et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein a combined duration of the first plurality of frames and the second plurality of frames does not exceed 110% of a duration of the media item ("One aspect of such compression optimization includes selecting whether to provide a requested video file in the compression format as uploaded by the submitting user, or whether to generate a differently compressed version for delivery," paragraph [0044] where compression is used to ensure delivery of media does not exceed the media play time).
Claim 5
Regarding claim 5, Son et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the target time is further based on at least one of: downloading a target part of the second plurality of frames of the media item, or completing presentation of a predetermined part of the first plurality of frames of the media item ("the one or more variable resource parameters may be determined based, at least in part, on historical performance data of the relevant resource (s) corresponding to one or more current attributes applicable to consumption of the requested media content by the mobile device," paragraph [0022] where historical performance data is the same as a target part of the media item or predetermined part of the first portion).
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, Son et al. teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the media streaming server, a third plurality of frames of the media item, the third plurality of frames having a third resolution, wherein the third resolution is higher than the second resolution ("A set of media content files that are to be delivered in association with one another or in a particular replay sequence ( e.g., a set of associated photographs in a slideshow or a set of associated video clips) are in some embodiments available for delivery in different versions, with the different versions having different respective media reproduction properties or replay properties," paragraph [0021] where a set teaches a third or greater number of files and in different versions teaches higher or lower resolutions); and
Switching from presenting the second plurality of frames of the media item to presenting the third plurality of frames of the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device ("the one or more variable resource parameters may be determined based, at least in part, on historical performance data of the relevant resource (s) corresponding to one or more current attributes applicable to consumption of the requested media content by the mobile device," paragraph [0022] where current attributes teaches a second threshold condition) at a second target time that is later than the target time.
Claim 8
Regarding claim 8, Son et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the media item comprises a video ("A set of media content files that are to be delivered in association with one another or in a particular replay sequence ( e.g., a set of associated photographs in a slideshow or a set of associated video clips)," paragraph [0021]).
Claim 9
Regarding claim 9, Son et al. teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the media streaming server, an indication of a plurality of versions of the media item available to be received by the client computing device ("request module 310 may be configured to receive and interpret user input on the device 210, and to communicate an electronic request message to the relevant media content delivery server," paragraph [0074] where user input teaches a plurality of versions), each of the plurality of versions of the media item having a respective resolution of a plurality of resolutions, wherein the plurality of resolutions comprises the first resolution and the second resolution ("It will be appreciated that the predefined plurality of alternative versions for thumbnail rendering here comprises ( 1) precomposed, low-resolution media content items, (2) precomposed, high-resolution items, (3) non-recomposed, low resolution items, and (4) non-precomposed, high-resolution items," paragraph [0037]), and
communicating a size of the first plurality of frames to the media streaming server("method according to one embodiment of the disclosure provides for dynamic adaptation of the format and/or configuration of media content delivery to the mobile phone 210 to provide the interactive GUI 100 and to make the associated media content available for user consumption," paragraph [0035] where dynamic adaption and/or configuration teaches communicating a set of options that would include size through an interactive GUI).
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, Son et al. teach a system ("FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of an example embodiment of a media content delivery system 244," paragraph [0073]) comprising:
a memory device ("through the storage and retrieval of information in memory structures to which the multiple hardware modules have access," paragraph [0089]), and
a processing device communicatively coupled to the memory device ("Different types of client devices 210 on which social media functionalities are available via the system 202 may comprise, but are not limited to, mobile phones, desktop computers, laptops, portable digital assistants (PD As), smart phones, tablets, ultra-books, netbooks, multi-processor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics," paragraph [0066]), the processing device to:
communicate, to a media streaming server, a selection of a media item from a client computing device ("in response to a request for media content from a mobile device," paragraph [0023]);
receive, from the media streaming server("selection operations are performed by a content delivery server, such as application server 240 in FIG. 2. In such cases, the relevant client application 214 may be configured to gather relevant resource information from the device 210 (e.g., performance history data, current presentation on the device, current network connection information, and the like), and to communicate such information to the application server 240 for facilitating automated content delivery optimization," paragraph [0068]), a first plurality of frames of the media item("A set of media content files that are to be delivered in association with one another or in a particular replay sequence ( e.g., a set of associated photographs in a slideshow or a set of associated video clips) are in some embodiments available for delivery in different versions, with the different versions having different respective media reproduction properties or replay properties," paragraph [0021] where a set of associated video clips is a plurality of frames), the first plurality of frames having a first resolution ("a first few media items for each stack (e.g., the first four items for each stack) are automatically downloaded in the best resolution or quality version available for display. If, instead, prevailing or expected network performance is relatively poor (e.g., displaying below-threshold values for one or more predefined data transmission parameters), lower quality versions of the relevant media content files may initially be downloaded for the first few media items of each of the story stacks, after which higher-quality versions of the relevant media items are downloaded to replace the earlier downloaded lower quality versions," paragraph [0041]);
present, using the first plurality of frames, the media item on a presentation interface of the client computing device ("some of the pictures are viewable on the target device while other pictures in the stack are still in the process of downloading," paragraph [0021]);
receive, from the media streaming server, a second plurality of frames of the media item, the second plurality of frames having a second resolution ("method according to one embodiment of the disclosure provides for dynamic adaptation of the format and/or configuration of media content delivery to the mobile phone 210 to provide the interactive GUI 100 and to make the associated media content available for user consumption," paragraph [0035]), wherein at least a portion of the second plurality of frames is received while at least a portion of the first plurality of frames is being presented("a first few media items for each stack (e.g., the first four items for each stack) are automatically downloaded in the best resolution or quality version available for display. If, instead, prevailing or expected network performance is relatively poor (e.g., displaying below-threshold values for one or more predefined data transmission parameters), lower quality versions of the relevant media content files may initially be downloaded for the first few media items of each of the story stacks, after which higher-quality versions of the relevant media items are downloaded to replace the earlier downloaded lower quality versions," paragraph [0041]), and wherein the second plurality of frames comprises frames of the media item that are temporally subsequent to the first plurality of frames of the media item ("One version of a particular media content file ( such as a file representing, for example, one or more digital images, one or more digital video clips, one or more animation sequences, one or more audio clips or audio book chapters, or the like) may thus be transmitted to some mobile client devices in one format," paragraph [0016] and "streaming media delivery can be determined during the streaming delivery, in response to which characteristics of the streaming media can be changed during download." paragraph [0017]); and
Son et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of without interruption of playback.
However, Mittal teaches Switch from presenting the first plurality of frames of the media item to presenting, the second plurality of frames of the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device at a target time that (i) is a time at which at least a portion of the second plurality of frames of the media item has been received and (ii) is computed based at least in part on a condition that a remainder of the second plurality of frames of the media item is receivable, without interruption to playback of the media item, within a time interval between the target time and an end of playback of the media item, the target time determined using one or more of:
one or more network metrics of a network connection between the client computing device and the media streaming server, or
one or more device metrics of the client computing device ("FIG. 6 is a table illustrating the effect of an increasing bandwidth and download speed between the video streaming server 20 and the video client 200. Now, the bandwidth limit is less than 4.3 Mbit/s but is more than 3.5 Mbit/s, and so profile B4 can be chosen. The video content is optionally available in segments, which allows switching to differently encoded segments midstream. Profile B4 is encoded at 3.5 Mbit/s and so the output quality of the video to a viewer is improved," paragraph [0078] and "In this example, there isn't a target version available having a bitrate which is downloadable without playback interruption. In this scenario, the video streaming client will revert to the policy of selecting the profile which can be downloaded and successfully played without interruption based firstly on the decoding capability at the client device 200, which in this example is 1080p.'" [0082]).
Son et al. and Mittal are combined as per claim 1.
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Son et al. teach the system of claim 12, wherein the target time is further based on at least one of:
downloading a target part of the second plurality of frames of the media item, or completing presentation of a predetermined part of the first plurality of frames of the media item ("the one or more variable resource parameters may be determined based, at least in part, on historical performance data of the relevant resource (s) corresponding to one or more current attributes applicable to consumption of the requested media content by the mobile device," paragraph [0022] where historical performance data is the same as a target part of the media item or predetermined part of the first portion).
Claim 16
Regarding claim 16, Son et al. teach the system of claim 12, wherein the processing device is further to: receive, from the media streaming server, a third plurality of frames of the media item, the third plurality of frames having a third resolution, wherein the third resolution is higher than the second resolution ("A set of media content files that are to be delivered in association with one another or in a particular replay sequence ( e.g., a set of associated photographs in a slideshow or a set of associated video clips) are in some embodiments available for delivery in different versions, with the different versions having different respective media reproduction properties or replay properties," paragraph [0021] where a set teaches a third or greater number of files and in different versions teaches higher or lower resolutions); and
switch from presenting the first plurality of frames of the media item to presenting, the third plurality of frames of the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device ("the one or more variable resource parameters may be determined based, at least in part, on historical performance data of the relevant resource (s) corresponding to one or more current attributes applicable to consumption of the requested media content by the mobile device," paragraph [0022] where current attributes teaches a second threshold condition) at a second target time that is later than the target time.
Claim 18
Regarding claim 18, Son et al. teach the system of claim 12, wherein the processing device is further to: receive, from the media streaming server, an indication of a plurality of versions of the media item available to be received by the client device ("request module 310 may be configured to receive and interpret user input on the device 210, and to communicate an electronic request message to the relevant media content delivery server," paragraph [0074] where user input teaches a plurality of versions), each of the plurality of versions of the media item having a respective resolution of a plurality of resolutions, wherein the plurality of resolutions comprises the first resolution and the second resolution ("It will be appreciated that the predefined plurality of alternative versions for thumbnail rendering here comprises ( 1) precomposed, low-resolution media content items, (2) precomposed, high-resolution items, (3) non-recomposed, low resolution items, and (4) non-precomposed, high-resolution items," paragraph [0037]), and
communicate a size of the first plurality of frames to the media streaming server("method according to one embodiment of the disclosure provides for dynamic adaptation of the format and/or configuration of media content delivery to the mobile phone 210 to provide the interactive GUI 100 and to make the associated media content available for user consumption," paragraph [0035] where dynamic adaption and/or configuration teaches communicating a set of options that would include size through an interactive GUI).
Claim 20
Regarding claim 20, Son et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processing device ("FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of an example embodiment of a media content delivery system 244," paragraph [0073]), cause the processing device to:
communicate, to a media streaming server, a selection of a media item from a client computing device ("Different types of client devices 210 on which social media functionalities are available via the system 202 may comprise, but are not limited to, mobile phones, desktop computers, laptops, portable digital assistants (PD As), smart phones, tablets, ultra-books, netbooks, multi-processor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics," paragraph [0066])
receive, from the media streaming server ("selection operations are performed by a content delivery server, such as application server 240 in FIG. 2. In such cases, the relevant client application 214 may be configured to gather relevant resource information from the device 210 (e.g., performance history data, current presentation on the device, current network connection information, and the like), and to communicate such information to the application server 240 for facilitating automated content delivery optimization," paragraph [0068]), a first plurality of frames of the media item ("A set of media content files that are to be delivered in association with one another or in a particular replay sequence ( e.g., a set of associated photographs in a slideshow or a set of associated video clips) are in some embodiments available for delivery in different versions, with the different versions having different respective media reproduction properties or replay properties," paragraph [0021] where a set of associated video clips is a plurality of frames), the first plurality of frames having a first resolution ("A set of media content files that are to be delivered in association with one another or in a particular replay sequence ( e.g., a set of associated photographs in a slideshow or a set of associated video clips) are in some embodiments available for delivery in different versions, with the different versions having different respective media reproduction properties or replay properties," paragraph [0021]);
present, using the first plurality of frames, the media item on a presentation interface of the client computing device ("some of the pictures are viewable on the target device while other pictures in the stack are still in the process of downloading," paragraph [0021]);
receive, from the media streaming server, a second plurality of frames of the media item, the second plurality of frames having a second resolution ("method according to one embodiment of the disclosure provides for dynamic adaptation of the format and/or configuration of media content delivery to the mobile phone 210 to provide the interactive GUI 100 and to make the associated media content available for user consumption," paragraph [0035]), wherein at least a portion of the second plurality of frames is received while at least a portion of the first plurality of frames is being presented ("a first few media items for each stack (e.g., the first four items for each stack) are automatically downloaded in the best resolution or quality version available for display. If, instead, prevailing or expected network performance is relatively poor (e.g., displaying below-threshold values for one or more predefined data transmission parameters), lower quality versions of the relevant media content files may initially be downloaded for the first few media items of each of the story stacks, after which higher-quality versions of the relevant media items are downloaded to replace the earlier downloaded lower quality versions," paragraph [0041]), and wherein the second plurality of frames comprises frames of the media item that are temporally subsequent to the first plurality of frames of the media item("One version of a particular media content file ( such as a file representing, for example, one or more digital images, one or more digital video clips, one or more animation sequences, one or more audio clips or audio book chapters, or the like) may thus be transmitted to some mobile client devices in one format," paragraph [0016] and "streaming media delivery can be determined during the streaming delivery, in response to which characteristics of the streaming media can be changed during download." paragraph [0017]); and
Son et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of without interruption of playback.
However, Mittal teaches switch from presenting the first plurality of frames of the media item to presenting, the second plurality of frames of the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device, at a target time that (i) is a time at which at least a portion of the second plurality of frames of the media item has been received and (ii) is computed based at least in part on a condition that a remainder of the second plurality of frames of the media item is receivable, without interruption to playback of the media item, within a time interval between the target time and an end of playback of the media item ,, the target time determined using one or more of:
one or more network metrics of a network connection between the client computing device and the media streaming server, or
one or more device metrics of the client computing device ("FIG. 6 is a table illustrating the effect of an increasing bandwidth and download speed between the video streaming server 20 and the video client 200. Now, the bandwidth limit is less than 4.3 Mbit/s but is more than 3.5 Mbit/s, and so profile B4 can be chosen. The video content is optionally available in segments, which allows switching to differently encoded segments midstream. Profile B4 is encoded at 3.5 Mbit/s and so the output quality of the video to a viewer is improved," paragraph [0078] and "In this example, there isn't a target version available having a bitrate which is downloadable without playback interruption. In this scenario, the video streaming client will revert to the policy of selecting the profile which can be downloaded and successfully played without interruption based firstly on the decoding capability at the client device 200, which in this example is 1080p.'" [0082]).
Son et al. and Mittal are combined as per claim 1.
2nd Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7, 10-11, 13-14, 17 and 19 (all remaining claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2021 0289317 A1, (Son et al.) and US Patent Publication 2019 0174159 A1, (Mittal) in view of US Patent Publication 2020 0126187 A1, (Park et al.). The references are listed in a PTO-892 from the Office Action in which they are first used. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text.
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, Son et al. and Mittal teach the method of claim 1, as noted above.
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of super resolution versions.
However, Park et al. teach wherein presenting, using the first plurality of frames, the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device comprises: generating a super-resolution version of the first plurality of frames("a third image 145 is obtained by performing AI up-scaling 140," paragraph [0080] where upscaling is super-resolution); and
presenting the super-resolution version of the first plurality of frames on the presentation interface of the client computing device ("Referring to FIG. 28, the terminal 2800 according to embodiments of the disclosure may include a communication interface 2810, a processor 2820, and a memory 2830. However, this is an example, and the terminal 2800 may additionally further include other elements," paragraph [0451]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify “Dynamically Adaptive Media Content Delivery” as taught by Son et al. and “Adaptive Video Consumption” as taught by Mittal, to use “Method and Apparatus for Streaming Data” as taught by Mittal showing that Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are analogous art because all are Video Streaming bandwidth management. The suggestion/motivation for combination is that, “As interest in the AI systems increases, many attempts are actively being made to apply the AI systems to various technology fields. For example, research is being conducted to converge the AI systems with technology fields including image processing, data processing, and the like.” as noted by the Park et al. disclosure in paragraph [0006], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher efficiency as there is a reasonable expectation that different situations would have different bandwidth needs and solutions; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, Son et al. and Mittal teach the method of claim 3, as noted above.
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of super resolution versions.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein generating the super-resolution version of the first plurality of frames comprises processing the first plurality of frames using an upsampling neural network model ("a third image 145 is obtained by performing AI up-scaling 140," paragraph [0080] where upscaling is super-resolution).
Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are combined as per claim 3.
Claim 7
Regarding claim 7, Son et al. and Mittal teach the method of claim 6, as noted above.
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of super resolution versions.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein presenting, using the second plurality of frames, the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device comprises: generating a super-resolution version of the second plurality of frames("a third image 145 is obtained by performing AI up-scaling 140," paragraph [0080] where upscaling is super-resolution); and
presenting the super-resolution version of the second plurality of frames on the presentation interface of the client computing device ("Referring to FIG. 28, the terminal 2800 according to embodiments of the disclosure may include a communication interface 2810, a processor 2820, and a memory 2830. However, this is an example, and the terminal 2800 may additionally further include other elements," paragraph [0451]).
Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are combined as per claim 3.
Claim 10
Regarding claim 10, Son et al. and Mittal teach the method of claim 1, as noted above.
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of frame size associated with a plurality of frames.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein at least one of a first frame size associated with the first plurality of frames or a second frame size associated with the second plurality of frames is computed based on at least one of (i) the one or more network metrics or (ii) the one or more device metrics ("To adaptively perform streaming, based on a changeable state of a network, the server 1210 may adjust either one or both of a bitrate and a resolution of image data that is to be transmitted from the server 1210 to the terminal 1220. The server 1210 may store a plurality of items of image data 10 (e.g., a high-definition (HD) class IRON MAN movie, a standard-definition (SD) class IRON MAN movie, a 15-Mbps IRON MAN movie, a 10-Mbps IRON MAN movie, etc.) for same image content (e.g., an IRON MAN movie), the plurality of items of image data 10 being obtained from the same image content by adjusting either one or both of a bitrate and a resolution. However, this is an example, and parameters for adjusting a quality of image data may further include a sampling frequency, a frame rate, a window size (e.g., 1920x10S0 (l0S0p) HD, 12S0x720 (720p) HD, etc.)," paragraph [0263]).
Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are combined as per claim 3.
Claim 11
Regarding claim 11, Son et al. and Mittal teach the method of claim 10, wherein the one or more network metrics comprise one or more of: a current bandwidth of a network connection between the client device and the media streaming service ("more finely attuned network connection parameters, such as specific parameters or measurements of the wireless connection (e.g., current Wi-Fi channel, dBm levels, interference measurements, cellular tower identity, signal strength, recent tower migration history, etc.)," paragraph [0055]),
a current throughput of the network connection between the client computing device and the media streaming server("more finely attuned network connection parameters, such as specific parameters or measurements of the wireless connection (e.g., current Wi-Fi channel, dBm levels, interference measurements, cellular tower identity, signal strength, recent tower migration history, etc.)," paragraph [0055]), and where in the one or more device metrics comprise one or more of:
a speed of a processing device of the client computing device ("existing device contention for resources (RAM, network, CPU)," paragraph [0059] where CPU resources teaches a speed of a client processing device),
a current utilization of the processing device of the client computing device, or an amount of memory of the client computing device available to support presenting the media item of the presentation interface of the client computing device ("existing device contention for resources (RAM, network, CPU)," paragraph [0059] where CPU resources teaches a speed of a client processing device).
Claim 13
Regarding claim 13, Son et al. and Mittal teach the system of claim 12, as noted above.
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of super resolution versions.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein to present, using the first plurality of frames, the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device, the processing device is to: generate a super-resolution version of the first plurality of frames("a third image 145 is obtained by performing AI up-scaling 140," paragraph [0080] where upscaling is super-resolution); and
present the super-resolution version of the first plurality of frames on the presentation interface of the client computing device ("Referring to FIG. 28, the terminal 2800 according to embodiments of the disclosure may include a communication interface 2810, a processor 2820, and a memory 2830. However, this is an example, and the terminal 2800 may additionally further include other elements," paragraph [0451]).
Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are combined as per claim 3.
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14, Son et al. and Mittal teach the system of claim 13, as noted above.
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of super resolution versions.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein to generate the super-resolution version of the first plurality of frames, the processing device is to process the first plurality of frames using an upsampling neural network model ("a third image 145 is obtained by performing AI up-scaling 140," paragraph [0080] where upscaling is super-resolution).
Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are combined as per claim 3.
Claim 17
Regarding claim 17, Son et al. and Mittal teach the system of claim 16, as noted above.
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of super resolution versions.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein to present, using the second plurality of frames, the media item on the presentation interface of the client computing device, the processing device is to: generate a super-resolution version of the second plurality of frames("a third image 145 is obtained by performing AI up-scaling 140," paragraph [0080] where upscaling is super-resolution); and
present the super-resolution version of the second plurality of frames on the presentation interface of the client computing device ("Referring to FIG. 28, the terminal 2800 according to embodiments of the disclosure may include a communication interface 2810, a processor 2820, and a memory 2830. However, this is an example, and the terminal 2800 may additionally further include other elements," paragraph [0451]).
Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are combined as per claim 3.
Claim 19
Regarding claim 19, Son et al. and Mittal teach the system of claim 12, as noted above., including a current throughput of the network connection between the client computing device and the media streaming server("more finely attuned network connection parameters, such as specific parameters or measurements of the wireless connection (e.g., current Wi-Fi channel, dBm levels, interference measurements, cellular tower identity, signal strength, recent tower migration history, etc.)," paragraph [0055]), and
wherein the one or more device metrics comprise one or more of:
a speed of a processing device of the client computing device ("existing device contention for resources (RAM, network, CPU)," paragraph [0059] where CPU resources teaches a speed of a client processing device),
a current utilization of the processing device of the client computing device, or an amount of memory of the client computing device available to support presenting the media item of the presentation interface of the client computing device ("existing device contention for resources (RAM, network, CPU)," paragraph [0059] where CPU resources teaches a speed of a client processing device).
Son et al. and Mittal are not relied upon to explicitly teach all of a media streaming server.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein at least one of a first frame size associated with the first plurality of frames or a second frame size associated with the second plurality of frames is computed based on at least one of (i) the one or more network metrics or (ii) the one or more device metrics wherein the one or more network metrics comprise one or more of: a current bandwidth of a network connection between the client computing device and the media streaming server ("To adaptively perform streaming, based on a changeable state of a network, the server 1210 may adjust either one or both of a bitrate and a resolution of image data that is to be transmitted from the server 1210 to the terminal 1220. The server 1210 may store a plurality of items of image data 10 (e.g., a high-definition (HD) class IRON MAN movie, a standard-definition (SD) class IRON MAN movie, a 15-Mbps IRON MAN movie, a 10-Mbps IRON MAN movie, etc.) for same image content (e.g., an IRON MAN movie), the plurality of items of image data 10 being obtained from the same image content by adjusting either one or both of a bitrate and a resolution. However, this is an example, and parameters for adjusting a quality of image data may further include a sampling frequency, a frame rate, a window size (e.g., 1920x10S0 (l0S0p) HD, 12S0x720 (720p) HD, etc.)," paragraph [0263]),
Son et al., Mittal and Park et al. are combined as per claim 3.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Patent Publication 2023 0224532 A1 to Stockhammer et al. discloses device for retrieving media data includes a memory configured to store video data; a video decoder configured to decode the video data; and one or more processors implemented in circuitry and configured to: determine that a media presentation includes first video data at a first spatial resolution and second video data at a second spatial resolution, the second spatial resolution being different than the first spatial resolution; receive a first portion of the first video data at the first spatial resolution for a first playback time; send the first portion of the first video data at the first spatial resolution to the video decoder; receive a second portion of the second video data at the second spatial resolution for a second playback time later than the first playback time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Heath E. Wells/Examiner, Art Unit 2664
Date: 16 September 2026