DETAILED ACTION
Claims 25-45 were subjected to restriction requirement mailed on 01/15/2026.
Applicants filed a response, and elected Group I, species (a), species (c), species (e) and subspecies (e-ii), claims 25, 28, 30- 35 and 41, and withdrew claims 26-27, 29, 36, 39-40 and 42-45, with traverse on 02/26/2026.
Claims 25-45 are pending, and claims 26-27, 29, 36, 39-40 and 42-45 are withdrawn after consideration.
Claims 25, 28, 30- 35 and 41 are rejected.
Examiner’s Note
Applicants elected Group I, species (a), species (c), species (e) and subspecies (e-ii) in response filed 02/26/2026.
Given that claims 26-27 and claims 37-38, all require the product comprises fuel, which is a withdrawn species, therefore claims 26-27 and claims 37-38 are withdrawn.
Given that claim 36 requires wherein at least some of the carbon dioxide that is captured and stored is used for enhanced oil recovery (EOR), which is a withdrawn species, therefore claim 36 is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, species (a), species (c), species (e) and subspecies (e-ii) in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 26-27, 29, 36, 39-40 and 42-45 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/26/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 28, 30-35 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foody et al., WO 2020/010430A1 (Foody) in view of Darde et al., US 2015/0321914A1 (Darde).
Regarding claims 25 and 35, Foody teaches a method a method for producing a fuel includes removing carbon dioxide from biogas to provide partially purified biogas (which would necessarily meet that the product has lifecycle greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reduced); the partially purified biogas is transported to a centralized processing facility, in the mobile storage system, by truck, rail, or ship; at the centralized processing the partially purified biogas is further processed, either to produce a fuel that is renewable or has renewable content, or to produce renewable natural gas, which is used to produce the fuel that is renewable or has renewable content (Foody, Abstract);
biogas may be upgraded in a process that removes CO2 and typically some other contaminants, to increase the relative amount of CH4, and thus the calorific value. when raw biogas is upgraded to the extent that it is substantially interchangeable with natural gas (e.g., meets or exceeds the specifications of a natural gas distribution system) it may be referred to as "renewable natural gas” or "RNG.” (Foody, [0005]);
RNG may be used in place of natural gas in many applications, including the production of electricity, steam, or as a transportation fuel. RNG can be also used as a feedstock for chemical or fuel production. For example. RNG may be used as a feedstock to produce hydrogen, methanol (Foody, [0006]);
In one embodiment, the fuel production process produces a fuel using a multiple-step conversion process based on a syngas intermediate; syngas is a mixture including CO, CO2 and H2, may be formed by subjecting methane to methane reforming, such as steam reforming (Foody, [0089]).
in one embodiment, syngas is converted to methanol which is converted to gasoline (Foody, [00110]).
Foody further teaches the RNG can be used as a substitute for fossil natural gas (i.e., RNG and fossil natural gas are interchangeable) (Foody, [0073]); therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art to use a mixture of fossil natural gas and renewable natural gas to as a feedstock to produce a syngas, then convert to a product such as ethanol and gasoline, and achieve expected results.
Further regarding claims 25 and 35, Foody does not explicitly disclose that at least some of the carbon dioxide from the syngas is being captured and stored, and at least some of carbon dioxide from the biogas being stored; or wherein at least some of the carbon dioxide that is captured and stored is sequestered in at least one geological formation.
With respect to the difference, Darde teaches reforming hydrocarbons using steam (Darde, Abstract), such as steam methane reforming (Darde, [0024]). Darde specifically the method is combined with carbon dioxide capture (i.e., capture of carbon dioxide after reforming hydrocarbons) (Darde, Abstract); the CO2 thus captured can subsequently be compressed, transported and sequestered in underground storage reservoirs (Darde, [0021]).
As Darde expressly teaches, processes and technologies have been developed for capturing carbon dioxide in order both to reduce CO2 emissions and to improve hydrogen production facilities, in terms of cost and of performance (Darde, [0020]).
Darde is analogous art as Darde is drawn to reforming hydrocarbons using steam, such as steam methane reforming.
In light of the motivation of capture of carbon dioxide after reforming hydrocarbons, as taught by Darde, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to capture carbon dioxide from the syngas produced from methane reforming that is a mixture including CO, CO2 and H2 of Foody, and also sequester the CO2 capture from the syngas as well as CO2 captured from biogas in underground storage reservoirs, in order reduce CO2 emissions, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Furthermore, alternatively, it is noted that “the renewable natural gas produced in a process comprising: converting biomass to biogas comprising methane and carbon dioxide, and subjecting the biogas comprising methane and carbon dioxide to biogas upgrading” is drawn to a product and not drawn to a method of making. Thus, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Foody meets the requirements of the claimed renewable natural gas, Foody clearly meets the requirements of the present claim.
Regarding claims 28 and 30, as applied to claim 25, although Foody does not explicitly teach wherein the biomass comprises manure; or wherein the process in which the renewable natural gas is produced further comprises: injecting upgraded biogas produced from the biogas upgrading into a natural gas distribution system, and wherein the renewable natural gas is withdrawn from the natural gas distribution system and is associated with environmental attributes of the injected upgraded biogas, as presently claimed, it is noted that the present claims are drawn to a product and not drawn to a method of making. Thus, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Foody meets the requirements of the claimed renewable natural gas, Foody clearly meets the requirements of the present claim.
Regarding claim 31-34, as applied to claim 25, Foody in view of Darde teaches in the case of reforming of steam methane reforming, the heat required for the methane reforming reaction is supplied by the combustion of combustible gas, including feed natural gas (i.e., a mixture of renewable natural gas and fossil natural gas) (reading upon wherein the methane reforming comprises steam methane reforming, wherein a portion of the feed is feedstock for the methane reforming, and wherein another portion of the feed is fed to a combustion zone for the steam methane reforming, a combustion of the other portion of the feed producing heat for the steam methane reforming and producing flue gas), with air in the combustion zone (which would necessarily produce a flue gas) (Darde, [0024]).
Given that, Foody in view of Darde does not require capture and storage of carbon dioxide from the flue gas, therefore it is clear that Food in view of Darde would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitation of wherein carbon dioxide from the flue gas is not part of a carbon capture and storage process.
Regarding claim 41, as applied to claim 25, given that Foody in view of Darde teaches in one embodiment, syngas is converted to methanol which is converted to gasoline (Foody, [00110]), it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that methanol can be produced from the syngas as a product without further converting to gasoline.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732