DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on July 22, 2026, in which claims 1, 10, 25-28 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-15, and 25-28 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-15, 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2023/0362636).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a registration method, applied to an authentication server function (AUSF), comprising: receiving authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., The authentication management function receives an authentication vector get response message #1 from the unified data management function [0006]. The UDM sends the RID again to ensure that the AUSF has an available RID [0010]-[0011]. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0031], [0161], [0173]), the authentication information comprises routing indicator (RID) indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) (i.e., “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI, a new A-KID by using the parameter related to the RID, thereby ensuring that the AKMA procedure is successfully performed [0011]); determining whether the authentication information comprises an routing indicator (RID) included in (i.e., the AUSF determines the RID #1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]. After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF detects whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. Optionally, the AUSF further detects whether the AUSF locally stores a parameter related to a RID #4 (for example, the RID #4, the SUCI, and/or the A-KID #1) [0276, [0281], [0350]); in response to the authentication information comprising the RID, using the RID as a target RID (i.e., After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF determines whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. If the authentication request message #2 carries the RID, step 507 is performed [0283]-[0284]); in response to the authentication information not comprising the RID, using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the target RID (i.e., If the authentication request message #2 does not have a parameter related to the RID, the AUSF sends the first request to the AMF, where the first request requests the RID [0277], [0279]); and sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the target RID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]).
Regarding claim 2, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises an authentication credential (i.e., ensuring the AKMA procedure is successful [0010]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Li further teaches the authentication credential is an authentication vector (AV) of an authentication and key agreement (AKA) ([0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Li further teaches wherein the authentication information comprises RID indication information, and the RID indication information is configured for specifying significant digits in a MSIN (i.e., the A-KID includes the routing indicator and the authentication and key management for application-temporary UE identifier (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier, A-TID). The “example” part includes a home network identifier, for example, a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The A-TID is a temporary identifier generated based on Kausf [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0159]).
Regarding claim 6, Li further teaches wherein determining the RID according to the authentication information comprises: using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the RID ()(i.e., the A-KID includes the routing indicator and the authentication and key management for application-temporary UE identifier (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier, A-TID). The “example” part includes a home network identifier, for example, a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The A-TID is a temporary identifier generated based on Kausf [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0159]).
Regarding claim 7, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises a home network key identifier ([0019]).
Regarding claim 8, Li further teaches sending an authentication request to the UDM, wherein the authentication request comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a unified data management UDM function, where the authentication vector get request message carries the SUCI [abst.]).
Regarding claim 9, Li further teaches wherein sending the registration request to the key anchor function according to the RID comprises: generating authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identification (A-KID) according to the RID (i.e., the AUSF determines an intermediate key Kausf based on the SUPI, and generates the A-KID #2 by using Kausf. The AUSF can generate a new A-KID based on the stored RID when receiving the SUPI, to ensure that the AKMA service of the UE is successfully performed [0012]); and sending the registration request to the key anchor function according to the A-KID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174], the AKMA anchor key registration request message carries the SUPI, the A-KID, and Kakma [0175]).
Regarding claim 10, Li further teaches authentication method, applied to a unified data management (UDM), comprising: receiving an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a UDM [0157]-[0158]); checking whether the UDM stores a routing indicator (RID) (i.e., After the UDM determines the RID #1 based on the SUCI carried in the authentication vector get request message #1, the UDM stores the RID #1, and the RID #1 stored in the UDM is referred to as a RID #2 [0375]-[0378]); sending authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request (i.e., The AUSF receives an authentication vector get response message sent by the UDM [0160]-[0161]), wherein: in response to the UDM storing the RID, the authentication information comprises the RID (i.e., the UDM determines the RID #1 based on the SUCI carried in the authentication vector get request message #1, the UDM stores the RID #1, and the RID #1 stored in the UDM is referred to as a RID #2 [0375]-[0378]); and in response to the UDM not storing the RID, the authentication information comprises RID indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN), for the AUSF to use the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as a target RID to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the target RID (i.e., “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI [0011]. when a value of a RID is a default value, the UDM may not store the RID #1 in step 803. In this case, the AUSF generates the A-KID #1 based on the default value in step 805 [0378]-[0381]).
Regarding claim 11, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises an authentication credential (i.e., ensuring the AKMA procedure is successful [0010]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 12, Li further teaches the authentication credential is an authentication vector (AV) of an authentication and key agreement (AKA) ([0016]).
Regarding claim 13, Li further teaches wherein the authentication information comprises RID indication information, and the RID indication information is configured for specifying significant digits in a MSIN (i.e., the A-KID includes the routing indicator and the authentication and key management for application-temporary UE identifier (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier, A-TID). The “example” part includes a home network identifier, for example, a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The A-TID is a temporary identifier generated based on Kausf [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0159]).
Regarding claim 14, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises a home network public key identifier ([0019]).
Regarding claim 15, Li further teaches sending an authentication request to the UDM, wherein the authentication request comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a unified data management UDM function, where the authentication vector get request message carries the SUCI [abst.]).
Regarding claim 25, Li teaches a registration an apparatus, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions (typical features of communication device); and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry (typical features of communication device) when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: receive authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., The authentication management function receives an authentication vector get response message #1 from the unified data management function [0006]. The UDM sends the RID again to ensure that the AUSF has an available RID [0010]-[0011]. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0031], [0161], [0173]), the authentication information comprises routing indicator (RID) indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) (i.e., “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI, a new A-KID by using the parameter related to the RID, thereby ensuring that the AKMA procedure is successfully performed [0011]); determining whether the authentication information comprises an routing indicator (RID) included in (i.e., the AUSF determines the RID #1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]. After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF detects whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. Optionally, the AUSF further detects whether the AUSF locally stores a parameter related to a RID #4 (for example, the RID #4, the SUCI, and/or the A-KID #1) [0276, [0281], [0350]); in response to the authentication information comprising the RID, using the RID as a target RID (i.e., After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF determines whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. If the authentication request message #2 carries the RID, step 507 is performed [0283]-[0284]); in response to the authentication information not comprising the RID, using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the target RID (i.e., If the authentication request message #2 does not have a parameter related to the RID, the AUSF sends the first request to the AMF, where the first request requests the RID [0277], [0279]); and send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the target RID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]).
Regarding claim 26, Li teaches a registration non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine
Regarding claim 25, Li teaches a registration an apparatus, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions (typical features of communication device); and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry (typical features of communication device) when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: receive authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., The authentication management function receives an authentication vector get response message #1 from the unified data management function [0006]. The UDM sends the RID again to ensure that the AUSF has an available RID [0010]-[0011]. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0031], [0161], [0173]), the authentication information comprises routing indicator (RID) indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) (i.e., “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI, a new A-KID by using the parameter related to the RID, thereby ensuring that the AKMA procedure is successfully performed [0011]); determine whether the authentication information comprises an routing indicator (RID) included in (i.e., the AUSF determines the RID #1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]. After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF detects whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. Optionally, the AUSF further detects whether the AUSF locally stores a parameter related to a RID #4 (for example, the RID #4, the SUCI, and/or the A-KID #1) [0276, [0281], [0350]); in response to the authentication information comprising the RID, using the RID as a target RID (i.e., After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF determines whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. If the authentication request message #2 carries the RID, step 507 is performed [0283]-[0284]); in response to the authentication information not comprising the RID, using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the target RID (i.e., If the authentication request message #2 does not have a parameter related to the RID, the AUSF sends the first request to the AMF, where the first request requests the RID [0277], [0279]); and send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the target RID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]).
Regarding claim 26, Li teaches a non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to: receive authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., The authentication management function receives an authentication vector get response message #1 from the unified data management function [0006]. The UDM sends the RID again to ensure that the AUSF has an available RID [0010]-[0011]. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0031], [0161], [0173]), the authentication information comprises routing indicator (RID) indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) (i.e., “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI, a new A-KID by using the parameter related to the RID, thereby ensuring that the AKMA procedure is successfully performed [0011]); determining whether the authentication information comprises an routing indicator (RID) included in (i.e., the AUSF determines the RID #1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]. After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF detects whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. Optionally, the AUSF further detects whether the AUSF locally stores a parameter related to a RID #4 (for example, the RID #4, the SUCI, and/or the A-KID #1) [0276, [0281], [0350]); in response to the authentication information comprising the RID, using the RID as a target RID (i.e., After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF determines whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. If the authentication request message #2 carries the RID, step 507 is performed [0283]-[0284]); in response to the authentication information not comprising the RID, using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the target RID (i.e., If the authentication request message #2 does not have a parameter related to the RID, the AUSF sends the first request to the AMF, where the first request requests the RID [0277], [0279]); and send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the target RID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]).
Regarding claim 27, Li teaches an apparatus, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions (typical features of communication device); and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry (typical features of communication device) when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: receive an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a UDM [0157]-[0158]); check whether the UDM stores a routing indicator (RID) (i.e., After the UDM determines the RID #1 based on the SUCI carried in the authentication vector get request message #1, the UDM stores the RID #1, and the RID #1 stored in the UDM is referred to as a RID #2 [0375]-[0378]); send authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request (i.e., The AUSF receives an authentication vector get response message sent by the UDM [0160]-[0161]), wherein: in response to the UDM storing the RID, the authentication information comprises the RID (i.e., the UDM determines the RID #1 based on the SUCI carried in the authentication vector get request message #1, the UDM stores the RID #1, and the RID #1 stored in the UDM is referred to as a RID #2 [0375]-[0378]); and in response to the UDM not storing the RID, the authentication information comprises RID indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN), for the AUSF to use the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as a target RID to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the target RID (i.e., “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI [0011]. when a value of a RID is a default value, the UDM may not store the RID #1 in step 803. In this case, the AUSF generates the A-KID #1 based on the default value in step 805 [0378]-[0381]).
Regarding claim 28, Li further teaches a non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to: receive an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a UDM [0157]-[0158]); check whether the UDM stores a routing indicator (RID) (i.e., After the UDM determines the RID #1 based on the SUCI carried in the authentication vector get request message #1, the UDM stores the RID #1, and the RID #1 stored in the UDM is referred to as a RID #2 [0375]-[0378]); send authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request (i.e., The AUSF receives an authentication vector get response message sent by the UDM [0160]-[0161]), wherein: in response to the UDM storing the RID, the authentication information comprises the RID (i.e., the UDM determines the RID #1 based on the SUCI carried in the authentication vector get request message #1, the UDM stores the RID #1, and the RID #1 stored in the UDM is referred to as a RID #2 [0375]-[0378]); and in response to the UDM not storing the RID, the authentication information comprises RID indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN), for the AUSF to use the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as a target RID to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the target RID (i.e., “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI [0011]. when a value of a RID is a default value, the UDM may not store the RID #1 in step 803. In this case, the AUSF generates the A-KID #1 based on the default value in step 805 [0378]-[0381]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that independent claim 1 has been amended to recite: (1) the authentication information comprises RID indication information for specifying significant digits in a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN); (2) determining whether the authentication information comprises an RID; (3) in response to the authentication information comprising the RID, using the RID as a target RID; and (4) in response to the authentication information not comprising the RID, using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the target RID. Applicant respectfully submits that the amended claims are patentable over the cited prior art for the reasons set forth below.
However, the Examiner disagrees with the preceding assertion and maintains that prior art reads on the claims limitations as recited in an updated office action above. More specifically, Li discloses in the is directed to a key identifier generation method in which the AUSF stores a routing indicator (RID) obtained from the SUCI or from the UDM, and subsequently uses the stored RID to generate an A-KID when a later authentication request carries a SUPI rather than a SUCI.
The authentication management function (AUSF) receives an authentication vector get response message #1 from the unified data management function [0006]. The UDM sends the RID again to ensure that the AUSF has an available RID [0010]-[0011]. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0031], [0161], [0173]), “specifying significant digits” is implicitly known in SUCI (which comprises concealed/encrypted MSIN) wherein in an AKMA procedure, the authentication management function AUSF stores a parameter related to the RID (for example, the SUCI, the authentication and key management for application-key identifier A-KID, and/or the RID), to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries the SUPI, a new A-KID by using the parameter related to the RID, thereby ensuring that the AKMA procedure is successfully performed [0011]). The AUSF determines the RID #1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]. After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF detects whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. Optionally, the AUSF further detects whether the AUSF locally stores a parameter related to a RID #4 (for example, the RID #4, the SUCI, and/or the A-KID #1) [0276, [0281], [0350]); in response to whether the authentication information comprising the RID: After the AUSF receives the authentication request message #2 sent by the AMF, the AUSF determines whether the authentication request message #2 carries the RID. If the authentication request message #2 carries the RID, step 507 is performed [0283]-[0284]). If the authentication request message #2 does not have a parameter related to the RID, the AUSF sends the first request to the AMF, where the first request requests the RID [0277], [0279]). The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]). Therefore, the rejection is final.
The Applicant further argues that for similar reasons, Li fails to anticipate amended independent claims 10, 25, 26, 27, and 28, each of which recites the same or analogous distinguishing features. Claims 2, 3, 5-9, 11-15 depend from claims 1 or 10 and are patentable at least by virtue of their dependency therefrom. However, independent claim 1 has been rejected for reasons recited above. Therefore, the rejections of claims 10 and 25-28 and dependent claims 2, 3, 5-9, and 11-15 are maintained for similar reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643