CTNF 18/360,251 CTNF 74431 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-15, 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2023/0362636) . Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a registration method, applied to an authentication server function (AUSF), comprising: receiving authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., In step 303, after the UDM receives the authentication vector get request message in step 302, the UDM determines a corresponding authentication vector. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0161], [0173]); determining a routing indicator (RID) included in the authentication information (i.e., the AUSF may obtain the RID from the UDM, to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries a SUPI, a new A-KID by using the RID [0021], [0173], [0222], the AUSF determines the RID # 1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]); and sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]). Regarding claim 2, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises an authentication credential (i.e., ensuring the AKMA procedure is successful [0010]-[0011]). Regarding claim 3, Li further teaches the authentication credential is an authentication vector (AV) of an authentication and key agreement (AKA) ([0016]). Regarding claim 5, Li further teaches wherein the authentication information comprises RID indication information, and the RID indication information is configured for specifying significant digits in a MSIN (i.e., the A-KID includes the routing indicator and the authentication and key management for application-temporary UE identifier (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier, A-TID). The “example” part includes a home network identifier, for example, a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The A-TID is a temporary identifier generated based on Kausf [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0159]). Regarding claim 6, Li further teaches wherein determining the RID according to the authentication information comprises: using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the RID ()(i.e., the A-KID includes the routing indicator and the authentication and key management for application-temporary UE identifier (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier, A-TID). The “example” part includes a home network identifier, for example, a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The A-TID is a temporary identifier generated based on Kausf [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0159]). Regarding claim 7, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises a home network key identifier ([0019]). Regarding claim 8, Li further teaches sending an authentication request to the UDM, wherein the authentication request comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a unified data management UDM function, where the authentication vector get request message carries the SUCI [abst.]). Regarding claim 9, Li further teaches wherein sending the registration request to the key anchor function according to the RID comprises: generating authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identification (A-KID) according to the RID (i.e., the AUSF determines an intermediate key Kausf based on the SUPI, and generates the A-KID # 2 by using Kausf. The AUSF can generate a new A-KID based on the stored RID when receiving the SUPI, to ensure that the AKMA service of the UE is successfully performed [0012]); and sending the registration request to the key anchor function according to the A-KID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174], the AKMA anchor key registration request message carries the SUPI, the A-KID, and Kakma [0175]). Regarding claim 10, Li further teaches authentication method, applied to a unified data management (UDM), comprising: receiving an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a UDM [0157]-[0158]); and sending authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request, wherein the authentication information comprises a routing indicator (RID) for the AUSF to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., The AUSF receives an authentication vector get response message sent by the UDM [0160]-[0161], (i.e., the AUSF generates the A-KID based on the RID in the SUCI. [0173].The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174], the AKMA anchor key registration request message carries the SUPI, the A-KID, and Kakma [0177]). Regarding claim 11, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises an authentication credential (i.e., ensuring the AKMA procedure is successful [0010]-[0011]). Regarding claim 12, Li further teaches the authentication credential is an authentication vector (AV) of an authentication and key agreement (AKA) ([0016]). Regarding claim 13, Li further teaches wherein the authentication information comprises RID indication information, and the RID indication information is configured for specifying significant digits in a MSIN (i.e., the A-KID includes the routing indicator and the authentication and key management for application-temporary UE identifier (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier, A-TID). The “example” part includes a home network identifier, for example, a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The A-TID is a temporary identifier generated based on Kausf [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0159]). Regarding claim 14, Li further teaches the authentication information comprises a home network public key identifier ([0019]). Regarding claim 15, Li further teaches sending an authentication request to the UDM, wherein the authentication request comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a unified data management UDM function, where the authentication vector get request message carries the SUCI [abst.]). Regarding claim 25, Li teaches a registration an apparatus, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions (typical features of communication device); and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry (typical features of communication device) when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: receive authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., In step 303, after the UDM receives the authentication vector get request message in step 302, the UDM determines a corresponding authentication vector. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0161], [0173]); determine a routing indicator (RID) included in the authentication information (i.e., the AUSF may obtain the RID from the UDM, to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries a SUPI, a new A-KID by using the RID [0021], [0173], [0222], the AUSF determines the RID # 1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]); and send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]). Regarding claim 26, Li teaches a registration non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to: receive authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., In step 303, after the UDM receives the authentication vector get request message in step 302, the UDM determines a corresponding authentication vector. The UDM sends the authentication vector get response message to the AUSF [0161], [0173]); determine a routing indicator (RID) included in the authentication information (i.e., the AUSF may obtain the RID from the UDM, to ensure that the AUSF can generate, when the authentication vector get request message received by the AUSF carries a SUPI, a new A-KID by using the RID [0021], [0173], [0222], the AUSF determines the RID # 1 based on the SUPI [0227], [0245]-[0247]); and send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174]). Regarding claim 27, Li further teaches an apparatus, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions (typical features of communication device); and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry (typical features of communication device) when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: receive an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a UDM [0157]-[0158]); and send authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request, wherein the authentication information comprises a routing indicator (RID) for the AUSF to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., The AUSF receives an authentication vector get response message sent by the UDM [0160]-[0161], (i.e., the AUSF generates the A-KID based on the RID in the SUCI. [0173].The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174], the AKMA anchor key registration request message carries the SUPI, the A-KID, and Kakma [0177]). Regarding claim 27, Li further teaches a non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to: receive an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., The AUSF sends an authentication vector get request message to a UDM [0157]-[0158]); and send authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request, wherein the authentication information comprises a routing indicator (RID) for the AUSF to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., The AUSF receives an authentication vector get response message sent by the UDM [0160]-[0161], (i.e., the AUSF generates the A-KID based on the RID in the SUCI. [0173].The AUSF sends an AKMA anchor key registration request message to an AAnF [0174], the AKMA anchor key registration request message carries the SUPI, the A-KID, and Kakma [0177]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-15, 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US 2022/0240085) in view of “S3-20673” . Regarding claim 1, Long teaches A registration method, applied to an authentication server function (AUSF), comprising: receiving authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., a NF consumer such as AMF may provide the service routing information for UDM to another NF consumer such as AUSF in authentication information protocol data with UDM Group ID: Identity of the UDM group serving the SUPI or Routing Indicator indicating the Routing Indicator of the UE ([0012]-[0014]). At block 702, the authentication server such as the AUSF receives an authentication request message including an encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE, a serving network name and routing information of a data management node from an access and authentication management node. For example, the access and authentication management node may send this authentication request message as described in blocks 304, 406, 508 and 606 of FIGS. 3-6, and then the authentication server such as the AUSF may receive this authentication request message [0060], [0081]); determining a routing indicator (RID) included in the authentication information (i.e., At block 704, the authentication server such as the AUSF selects a data management node based on the routing information of the data management node… In an embodiment, the routing information of the data management node may include a data management node group identifier or a routing indicator of the UE (the routing indicator obtained by the AUSF on the basis of the authentication request message which is equivalent to determining a routing indicator (RID) on the basis of the authentication message). When data management node (such as UDM) information such as Table 1 is configured locally in the authentication server such as the AUSF, the authentication server such as the AUSF can base on the routing indicator or the group identifier to match UDM (routingIndicators or groupId in above Table 1)); and sending a registration request according to the RID (i.e., At block 706 (optional), the authentication server such as the AUSF sends an authentication data get request including the encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE [0083], [0090]-[0091]). Long discloses supporting security anchor function (SEAF), but Long does not specifically teach sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. “S3-20673” teaches in steps: 5. The AAnF checks if it has the UE specific Клкмл key by the KAKMAID. If KAKMA is available in the AAnF, the AAnF proceeds to operation step10 which will be discussed below. If KAKMA is not available, the AAnF gets the RAND from the KAKMA ID. Then AAnF sends a Nudm UE Auth Result Status Request to the UDM to retrieve the identifier of the latest AUSF that authenticated the UE and the SUPI of the UE. The AAnF provides the RAND. 6. The UDM retrieves the information of the identifier of the AUSF instance that authenticated the UE and SUPI of the UE based on the RAND. The UDM sends a Nudm UEAuth ResultStatus Response including the AUSF instance identifier of the last AUSF which reported a successful primary authentication to the UDM and the UE SUPI (SUPI includes RID)(section 6X). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of “S3-20673” within the system Long in order to enable AKMA (Authentication and Key Management for Applications) service continuity by allowing the AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) to locate the necessary UE-specific AKMA Anchor Key (\(K_{AKMA}\)) or the appropriate authentication context (via the UDM) when a User Equipment (UE) initiates a connection to an Application Function (AF). Regarding claim 2, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches wherein the authentication information comprises an authentication credential (i.e., Upon receiving the Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message, the AUSF shall check that the requesting SEAF in the serving network is entitled to use the serving network name in the Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request by comparing the serving network name with the expected serving network name… Based on SUPI, the UDM/Authentication credential Repository & Processing Function (ARPF) shall choose the authentication method, based on the subscription data [0008]). Regarding claim 3, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. “S3-20673” further teaches wherein the authentication credential is an authentication vector (AV) of an authentication and key agreement (AKA) (read on: A successful 5G primary authentication results in KAUSF being stored at the AUSF and the UE. The UDM stores the RAND which is generated and used in the authentication vector(AV) in a primary authentication and AUSFID with the authentication status of the UE (e.g., SUPI, authentication result, timestamp, and the serving network name)... The UE generate the AKMA Anchor Key (KAKMA) after or as part of the UE registration procedure [section 6, steps 1-2]). Regarding claim 5, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches the authentication information comprises RID indication information, and the RID indication information is configured for specifying significant digits in a MSIN (i.e., a NF consumer such as AMF may provide the service routing information for UDM to another NF consumer such as AUSF in authentication information protocol data with UDM Group ID: Identity of the UDM group serving the SUPI or Routing Indicator indicating the Routing Indicator of the UE [0012]-[0013]). Regarding claim 6, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches wherein determining the RID according to the authentication information comprises: using the significant digits in the MSIN specified by the RID indication information as the RID (i.e., The service routing information of UDM may include UDM Group ID, i.e., Identity of the UDM group serving the SUPI or Routing Indicator indicating the Routing Indicator of the UE [0012]-[0014]). Regarding claim 7, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches the authentication information comprises a home network key identifier ([0062]). Regarding claim 8, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches sending an authentication request to the UDM, wherein the authentication request comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (i.e., the access and authentication management node may send this authentication request message as described in blocks 304, 406, 508 and 606 of FIGS. 3-6, and then the authentication server such as the AUSF may receive this authentication request message. In an embodiment, the encrypted identity of the subscriber of the UE may be a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) and the unencrypted identity of the subscriber of the UE may be Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) [0081]). Regarding claim 9, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. “S3-20673” further teaches wherein sending the registration request to the key anchor function according to the RID comprises: generating authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identification (A-KID) according to the RID (i.e., The UE generate the AKMA Anchor Key (KAKMA) after or as part of the UE registration procedure. KAKMA can be derived from KAUSF. And further the UE generates an AKMA Anchor Key identifier KAKMAID. The KAKMA ID is an identifier used by the UE for subsequent requests towards AFs. The KAKMAID may include a combination of MCC, MNC, routing indicator [section 6X); and sending the registration request to the key anchor function according to the A-KID (i.e., The AF sends the key request to the AAnF with the KAKMA ID received from the UE to request an AF specific key for the UE. The AF also includes its identity (e.g., AF identifier) in the request. AF can select the AAnF based on the KAKMAID. 9. The AUSF sends KAKMA to AAnF (section 6X)). Regarding claim 10, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches an authentication method, applied to a unified data management (UDM), comprising: receiving an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., At block 706 (optional), the authentication server such as the AUSF sends an authentication data get request including the encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE and the serving network name to the selected data management node. For example, in 5G system, the authentication data get request may be similar to Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request sent from AUSF to UDM [0083]); and sending authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request, wherein the authentication information comprises a routing indicator (RID) for the AUSF to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., At step 3, AMF selects an AUSF based on SUPI or SUCI and invokes Nausf_UEAuthentication service by sending a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message to the AUSF… Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message includes the resolved UDM group ID or routing indicator of the UE [0089]-[00091]). Long discloses supporting security anchor function (SEAF), but Long does not specifically teach sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. “S3-20673” teaches in steps: 5. The AAnF checks if it has the UE specific Клкмл key by the KAKMAID. If KAKMA is available in the AAnF, the AAnF proceeds to operation step10 which will be discussed below. If KAKMA is not available, the AAnF gets the RAND from the KAKMA ID. Then AAnF sends a Nudm UE Auth Result Status Request to the UDM to retrieve the identifier of the latest AUSF that authenticated the UE and the SUPI of the UE. The AAnF provides the RAND. 6. The UDM retrieves the information of the identifier of the AUSF instance that authenticated the UE and SUPI of the UE based on the RAND. The UDM sends a Nudm UEAuth ResultStatus Response including the AUSF instance identifier of the last AUSF which reported a successful primary authentication to the UDM and the UE SUPI (SUPI includes RID)(section 6X). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of “S3-20673” within the system Long in order to enable AKMA (Authentication and Key Management for Applications) service continuity by allowing the AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) to locate the necessary UE-specific AKMA Anchor Key (\(K_{AKMA}\)) or the appropriate authentication context (via the UDM) when a User Equipment (UE) initiates a connection to an Application Function (AF). Regarding claim 11, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches wherein the authentication information comprises an authentication credential (i.e., Upon receiving the Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message, the AUSF shall check that the requesting SEAF in the serving network is entitled to use the serving network name in the Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request by comparing the serving network name with the expected serving network name… Based on SUPI, the UDM/Authentication credential Repository & Processing Function (ARPF) shall choose the authentication method, based on the subscription data [0008]). Regarding claim 12, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. “S3-20673” further teaches wherein the authentication credential is an authentication vector (AV) of an authentication and key agreement (AKA) (read on: A successful 5G primary authentication results in KAUSF being stored at the AUSF and the UE. The UDM stores the RAND which is generated and used in the authentication vector(AV) in a primary authentication and AUSFID with the authentication status of the UE (e.g., SUPI, authentication result, timestamp, and the serving network name)... The UE generate the AKMA Anchor Key (KAKMA) after or as part of the UE registration procedure [section 6, steps 1-2]). 15. (Original) The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving the authentication request, wherein the authentication request comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI). Regarding claim 13, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches the authentication information comprises RID indication information, and the RID indication information is configured for specifying significant digits in a MSIN (i.e., a NF consumer such as AMF may provide the service routing information for UDM to another NF consumer such as AUSF in authentication information protocol data with UDM Group ID: Identity of the UDM group serving the SUPI or Routing Indicator indicating the Routing Indicator of the UE [0012]-[0013]). Regarding claim 14, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches the authentication information comprises a home network key identifier ([0062]). Regarding claim 15, Long in view of “S3-20673” teaches all the limitations above. Long further teaches sending an authentication request to the UDM, wherein the authentication request comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (i.e., the access and authentication management node may send this authentication request message as described in blocks 304, 406, 508 and 606 of FIGS. 3-6, and then the authentication server such as the AUSF may receive this authentication request message. In an embodiment, the encrypted identity of the subscriber of the UE may be a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) and the unencrypted identity of the subscriber of the UE may be Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) [0081]). Regarding claim 25, Long teaches an apparatus, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry (typical feature of communication device) when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: receive authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., a NF consumer such as AMF may provide the service routing information for UDM to another NF consumer such as AUSF in authentication information protocol data with UDM Group ID: Identity of the UDM group serving the SUPI or Routing Indicator indicating the Routing Indicator of the UE ([0012]-[0014]). At block 702, the authentication server such as the AUSF receives an authentication request message including an encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE, a serving network name and routing information of a data management node from an access and authentication management node. For example, the access and authentication management node may send this authentication request message as described in blocks 304, 406, 508 and 606 of FIGS. 3-6, and then the authentication server such as the AUSF may receive this authentication request message [0060], [0081]); determine a routing indicator (RID) included in the authentication information (i.e., At block 704, the authentication server such as the AUSF selects a data management node based on the routing information of the data management node… In an embodiment, the routing information of the data management node may include a data management node group identifier or a routing indicator of the UE (the routing indicator obtained by the AUSF on the basis of the authentication request message which is equivalent to determining a routing indicator (RID) on the basis of the authentication message). When data management node (such as UDM) information such as Table 1 is configured locally in the authentication server such as the AUSF, the authentication server such as the AUSF can base on the routing indicator or the group identifier to match UDM (routingIndicators or groupId in above Table 1)); and send a registration request according to the RID (i.e., At block 706 (optional), the authentication server such as the AUSF sends an authentication data get request including the encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE [0083], [0090]-[0091]). Long discloses supporting security anchor function (SEAF), but Long does not specifically teach sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. “S3-20673” teaches in steps: 5. The AAnF checks if it has the UE specific Клкмл key by the KAKMAID. If KAKMA is available in the AAnF, the AAnF proceeds to operation step10 which will be discussed below. If KAKMA is not available, the AAnF gets the RAND from the KAKMA ID. Then AAnF sends a Nudm UE Auth Result Status Request to the UDM to retrieve the identifier of the latest AUSF that authenticated the UE and the SUPI of the UE. The AAnF provides the RAND. 6. The UDM retrieves the information of the identifier of the AUSF instance that authenticated the UE and SUPI of the UE based on the RAND. The UDM sends a Nudm UEAuth ResultStatus Response including the AUSF instance identifier of the last AUSF which reported a successful primary authentication to the UDM and the UE SUPI (SUPI includes RID)(section 6X). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of “S3-20673” within the system Long in order to enable AKMA (Authentication and Key Management for Applications) service continuity by allowing the AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) to locate the necessary UE-specific AKMA Anchor Key (\(K_{AKMA}\)) or the appropriate authentication context (via the UDM) when a User Equipment (UE) initiates a connection to an Application Function (AF). Regarding claim 26, Long teaches a non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to: receive authentication information from a unified data management (UDM) (i.e., a NF consumer such as AMF may provide the service routing information for UDM to another NF consumer such as AUSF in authentication information protocol data with UDM Group ID: Identity of the UDM group serving the SUPI or Routing Indicator indicating the Routing Indicator of the UE ([0012]-[0014]). At block 702, the authentication server such as the AUSF receives an authentication request message including an encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE, a serving network name and routing information of a data management node from an access and authentication management node. For example, the access and authentication management node may send this authentication request message as described in blocks 304, 406, 508 and 606 of FIGS. 3-6, and then the authentication server such as the AUSF may receive this authentication request message [0060], [0081]); determine a routing indicator (RID) included in the authentication information (i.e., At block 704, the authentication server such as the AUSF selects a data management node based on the routing information of the data management node… In an embodiment, the routing information of the data management node may include a data management node group identifier or a routing indicator of the UE (the routing indicator obtained by the AUSF on the basis of the authentication request message which is equivalent to determining a routing indicator (RID) on the basis of the authentication message). When data management node (such as UDM) information such as Table 1 is configured locally in the authentication server such as the AUSF, the authentication server such as the AUSF can base on the routing indicator or the group identifier to match UDM (routingIndicators or groupId in above Table 1)); and send a registration request according to the RID (i.e., At block 706 (optional), the authentication server such as the AUSF sends an authentication data get request including the encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE [0083], [0090]-[0091]). Long discloses supporting security anchor function (SEAF), but Long does not specifically teach sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. “S3-20673” teaches in steps: 5. The AAnF checks if it has the UE specific Клкмл key by the KAKMAID. If KAKMA is available in the AAnF, the AAnF proceeds to operation step10 which will be discussed below. If KAKMA is not available, the AAnF gets the RAND from the KAKMA ID. Then AAnF sends a Nudm UE Auth Result Status Request to the UDM to retrieve the identifier of the latest AUSF that authenticated the UE and the SUPI of the UE. The AAnF provides the RAND. 6. The UDM retrieves the information of the identifier of the AUSF instance that authenticated the UE and SUPI of the UE based on the RAND. The UDM sends a Nudm UEAuth ResultStatus Response including the AUSF instance identifier of the last AUSF which reported a successful primary authentication to the UDM and the UE SUPI (SUPI includes RID)(section 6X). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of “S3-20673” within the system Long in order to enable AKMA (Authentication and Key Management for Applications) service continuity by allowing the AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) to locate the necessary UE-specific AKMA Anchor Key (\(K_{AKMA}\)) or the appropriate authentication context (via the UDM) when a User Equipment (UE) initiates a connection to an Application Function (AF). Regarding claim 27, Long teaches an apparatus, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry (typical features of communication device) when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: receive an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., At block 706 (optional), the authentication server such as the AUSF sends an authentication data get request including the encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE and the serving network name to the selected data management node. For example, in 5G system, the authentication data get request may be similar to Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request sent from AUSF to UDM [0083]); and send authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request, wherein the authentication information comprises a routing indicator (RID) for the AUSF to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., At step 3, AMF selects an AUSF based on SUPI or SUCI and invokes Nausf_UEAuthentication service by sending a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message to the AUSF… Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message includes the resolved UDM group ID or routing indicator of the UE [0089]-[00091]). Long discloses supporting security anchor function (SEAF), but Long does not specifically teach sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. “S3-20673” teaches in steps: 5. The AAnF checks if it has the UE specific Клкмл key by the KAKMAID. If KAKMA is available in the AAnF, the AAnF proceeds to operation step10 which will be discussed below. If KAKMA is not available, the AAnF gets the RAND from the KAKMA ID. Then AAnF sends a Nudm UE Auth Result Status Request to the UDM to retrieve the identifier of the latest AUSF that authenticated the UE and the SUPI of the UE. The AAnF provides the RAND. 6. The UDM retrieves the information of the identifier of the AUSF instance that authenticated the UE and SUPI of the UE based on the RAND. The UDM sends a Nudm UEAuth ResultStatus Response including the AUSF instance identifier of the last AUSF which reported a successful primary authentication to the UDM and the UE SUPI (SUPI includes RID)(section 6X). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of “S3-20673” within the system Long in order to enable AKMA (Authentication and Key Management for Applications) service continuity by allowing the AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) to locate the necessary UE-specific AKMA Anchor Key (\(K_{AKMA}\)) or the appropriate authentication context (via the UDM) when a User Equipment (UE) initiates a connection to an Application Function (AF). Regarding claim 27, Long teaches an non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to: receive an authentication request from an authentication server function (AUSF) (i.e., At block 706 (optional), the authentication server such as the AUSF sends an authentication data get request including the encrypted or unencrypted identity of a subscriber of the UE and the serving network name to the selected data management node. For example, in 5G system, the authentication data get request may be similar to Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request sent from AUSF to UDM [0083]); and send authentication information to the AUSF in response to the authentication request, wherein the authentication information comprises a routing indicator (RID) for the AUSF to send a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID (i.e., At step 3, AMF selects an AUSF based on SUPI or SUCI and invokes Nausf_UEAuthentication service by sending a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message to the AUSF… Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request message includes the resolved UDM group ID or routing indicator of the UE [0089]-[00091]). Long discloses supporting security anchor function (SEAF), but Long does not specifically teach sending a registration request to a key anchor function according to the RID. However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. “S3-20673” teaches in steps: 5. The AAnF checks if it has the UE specific Клкмл key by the KAKMAID. If KAKMA is available in the AAnF, the AAnF proceeds to operation step10 which will be discussed below. If KAKMA is not available, the AAnF gets the RAND from the KAKMA ID. Then AAnF sends a Nudm UE Auth Result Status Request to the UDM to retrieve the identifier of the latest AUSF that authenticated the UE and the SUPI of the UE. The AAnF provides the RAND. 6. The UDM retrieves the information of the identifier of the AUSF instance that authenticated the UE and SUPI of the UE based on the RAND. The UDM sends a Nudm UEAuth ResultStatus Response including the AUSF instance identifier of the last AUSF which reported a successful primary authentication to the UDM and the UE SUPI (SUPI includes RID)(section 6X). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of “S3-20673” within the system Long in order to enable AKMA (Authentication and Key Management for Applications) service continuity by allowing the AKMA Anchor Function (AAnF) to locate the necessary UE-specific AKMA Anchor Key (\(K_{AKMA}\)) or the appropriate authentication context (via the UDM) when a User Equipment (UE) initiates a connection to an Application Function (AF). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JEAN ALLAND GELIN whose telephone number is (571)272-7842. The examiner can normally be reached MON-FR 9-6 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JINSONG HU can be reached at 571-272-3965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/360,251 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643