DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Independent claim 1 recites a phosphor having a specific formula where variables a and b are such that the expression shown therein is satisfied. However, claim 1 does not actually recite that a > 0 or b > 0. It simply states that they are “values within a range that satisfies” the equation. If both a and b are equal to zero, the formula simplifies to pure YAG (Y3Al5O12) and the equation becomes 12.0113 ≤ S ≤ 12.0153. For this reason, any prior art reference which teaches pure YAG’s lattice constant within the above range qualifies as prior art. The same can be said if only one of a or b is equal to zero.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to. The limitation “is expressed by a general formula” should be amended to “is expressed by the general formula” for better clarity. Additionally, the limitation “a lattice size” should be amended to “the lattice size” for better clarity.
Claim 4 is objected to. The limitation “a mean volume diameter” should be amended to “the mean volume diameter” for better clarity.
Claim 5 is objected to. The limitation “phosphor powder, the phosphor powder being powder of” should simply be removed from claim 5, as it is wordy and does not clarify the claim. Additionally, “thermal conduction powder” should be amended to “a thermal conduction powder” for better clarity. As such, the beginning of claim 5 should be amended to “A fluorescent member comprising the phosphor according to claim 1 and a thermal conduction powder”
Claim 6 is objected to. The limitation “a volume ratio” should be amended to “the volume ratio” for better clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Independent claim 1 recites that S denotes a lattice size. However, claim 1 does not include any units for this size, rendering the claim indefinite. For purposes of further examination, the lattice size S will be interpreted as having the units Å. Correction is required.
Claim 10 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites that “an emission color resulting from mixing the blue light and the yellow light has a chromaticity with a range defined by chromaticity coordinates”. However, this limitation renders claim 10 indefinite as it is unclear how the six discrete pairs of chromaticity coordinates define a range. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (J. Luminescence 2007, 126, 371-377).
Jang et al. teaches a cerium doped YAG (Yttrium Aluminum Garnet) which has the formula Y2.94Al5O12:Ce3+0.06. Jang et al. teaches that the lattice parameter of this garnet is 12.012 Å (page 374, bottom right). Applying this teaching to the formula of claim 1 affords the expression:
12.0113 ≤ 12.012 + 0.036(0.06) – 0.003(0) ≤ 12.0153, which simplifies to:
12.0113 ≤ 12.0142 ≤ 12.0153, which satisfies claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (J. Am. Ceram. Soc. 2021, 104, 524-534). Huang et al. was first published on 8/30/20 and issue 104 of this journal was in January of 2021 which is earlier than Applicants unperfected foreign priority date of 2/3/21.
Huang et al. teaches a phosphor having a garnet structure of the formula Ba2YAl3Si2O12:Ce3+. This phosphor satisfies formula 1 of claim 1 with a equal to 2. In one embodiment the amount of cerium is 0.06 moles and b is equal to 0.06. Figure S6B, which is shown below, teaches the lattice parameters for Ba2YAl3Si2O12:Ce3+0.06 at different temperatures.
. The sample which was treated at 475 °C has a lattice parameter of 12.018 Å. Applying this information to Ba2YAl3Si2O12:Ce3+0.06 to the formula in claim 1 affords the expression:
12.0113 ≤ 12.018 + 0.036(0.06) – 0.003(2) ≤ 12.0153, which simplifies to:
12.0113 ≤ 12.018 + 0.036(0.06) – 0.006 ≤ 12.0153, which simplifies to:
12.0113 ≤ 12.0142 ≤ 12.0153, which satisfies claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (J. Am. Ceram. Soc. 2021, 104, 524-534) in view of Nei et al. (KR-20200113868) as applied to claim 1 above. Copies of the original and a machine translation of Nei et al. are included with this Office action.
Huang et al. teaches a phosphor which anticipates claim 1 as described above. Huang et al. further teaches preparing a white-light-emitting LED wherein 8 wt% of the phosphor powder BYAS:0.06Ce3+ is mixed into a PiG color converter (Phosphor-in-Glass) having a thickness of 1 mm. This teaching satisfies all of the limitations of claim 9 with the exception that the phosphor is present in a glass matrix and not in a transparent resin matrix as required by claim 9. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have prepared a W-LED as taught by Huang et al. where the phosphor is present in PiR (Phosphor-in-Resin) given the teachings of Nei et al. Huang et al. and Nei et al. are combinable teachings as they are both in the same field or organic electroluminescent devices. Nei et al. teaches color conversion layers which are employed with light-emitting devices. Nei et al. further teaches that the phosphors employed in the color conversion layers are mixed in a matrix material which may be glass or silicone (page 8 of the machine translation). This teaching shows that transparent resins such as silicone are art-recognized equivalents to glass for housing color-converting phosphors. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to prepare a phosphor in resin type color conversion layer using the phosphors taught by Huang et al. as it represents nothing more than a substitution of a known element. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art understands that phosphors may be more readily incorporated into a silicone resin as the incorporation can be done at lower temperatures in a more streamlined process.
Comment on Patentability
While all claims stand rejected, claims 2-8 and 10 are not subject to any prior art rejections. While the prior art teaches phosphors which satisfy Applicants formula as recited in claim 1, no prior art reference teaches or fairly suggests the limitations of claims 2-8 and 10.
Relevant Art Cited
Additional prior art documents which are relevant to Applicants invention can be found on the attached PTO-892 form.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766