DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Fig. 3, claims 1-9 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/11/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heating system in claims 1 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claims 1 and 18, claim limitation “heating system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure of a system that performs the function of heating in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "other connected appliance" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other connected appliance"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It is also unclear what the claimed data from other connected appliance is.
Since claims 2-6, 8-9, 19-20 depend upon an indefinite claim, those claims are construed to be indefinite by dependency.
Claims 1-9, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For claims 1 and 18, claim limitation “heating system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The specification failed to disclose any structure of the heating system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bellinger et al. (US 2012/0096738 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bellinger et al. discloses a method of operating a dryer appliance 10, the dryer appliance 10 (Fig. 1) comprising a cabinet 12, a drum 28 rotatably mounted within the cabinet 12, the drum 28 defining a chamber 34 for the receipt of articles 36 for drying, and a heating system 42 fluidly coupled to the drum 28 whereby heated air flows from the heating system 42 to the chamber 34 of the drum 28 for drying of articles 36 within the chamber 34, the method comprising: receiving a user input comprising a timed dry cycle selection (paragraph [0024]); activating a timed dry cycle in response to the user input, the timed dry cycle configured to operate for an amount of time (paragraph [0026], lines 1-3); determining a notification window of the timed dry cycle before activating the timed dry cycle (paragraphs [0025], [0027], lines 3-5); activating the heating system 42 of the dryer appliance during the timed dry cycle of the dryer appliance (paragraph [0026], lines 5-7); calculating a drying time to reach a pre-determined dryness threshold (paragraph [0030], lines 2-4, and lines 10-15); comparing the calculated drying time to a remaining time of the timed drying cycle (paragraph [0030], lines 4-8). As for the step “providing a user notification when the calculated drying time exceeds the remaining time of the cycle”, this step is conditioned on the calculated drying time exceeds the remaining time of the cycle. When the calculated drying time does not exceed the remaining time of the cycle, the performance of providing a user notification recited by this contingent step need not be carried out.
Regarding claims 2-3, Bellinger et al. discloses extending the timed dry cycle via the user notification; wherein extending the dry time comprises extending the timed dry cycle by a flat amount of time, the flat amount of time depending on the calculated drying time (paragraphs [0030], [0031]).
Regarding claim 4-5, Bellinger et al. discloses monitoring remaining moisture content throughout the timed dry cycle (by moisture sensor 50), wherein the calculated drying time is a known drying time when the remaining moisture content reaches a predetermined threshold prior to the notification window; wherein the calculated drying time is a forecasted drying time when the remaining moisture content is greater than a predetermined threshold at the notification window (paragraph [0030], lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 6, Bellinger et al. discloses wherein the forecasted drying time is based on at least one of a moisture score and a progression of a moisture sensor signal (paragraph [0030], 10%-15% of moisture content).
regarding claim 9, Bellinger et al. discloses wherein the predetermined threshold comprises a moisture score of no more than twenty percent (paragraph [0030], 10%-15% of moisture content).
Regarding claim 18, Bellinger et al. discloses a method of operating a dryer appliance 10, the dryer appliance 10 (Fig. 1) comprising a cabinet 12, a drum 28 rotatably mounted within the cabinet 12, the drum 28 defining a chamber 34 for the receipt of articles 36 for drying, and a heating system 42 fluidly coupled to the drum 28 whereby heated air flows from the heating system 42 to the chamber 34 of the drum 28 for drying of articles 36 within the chamber 34, the method comprising: receiving a user input comprising a timed dry cycle selection (paragraph [0024]); activating a timed dry cycle in response to the user input, the timed dry cycle configured to operate for an amount of time (paragraph [0026], lines 1-3); determining a notification window of the timed dry cycle before activating the timed dry cycle (paragraphs [0025], [0027], lines 3-5); activating the heating system 42 of the dryer appliance during the timed dry cycle of the dryer appliance (paragraph [0026], lines 5-7); calculating a drying time to reach a pre-determined dryness threshold (paragraph [0030], lines 2-4, and lines 10-15); comparing the calculated drying time to a remaining time of the timed drying cycle (paragraph [0030], lines 4-8); and providing a user notification based on the comparison of the calculated drying time and the remaining time of the cycle (paragraph [0031], last two lines).
Regarding claim 19, Bellinger et al. discloses adjusting the timed dry cycle via the user notification (paragraph [0031], last two lines).
Regarding claim 20, the terminating the timed dry cycle step is conditioned on the calculated drying time exceeds the remaining time of the timed drying cycle, and the extending the timed dry cycle step is conditioned on the remaining time of the timed drying cycle exceeds the calculated drying time. When remaining time of the timed drying cycle does not exceed the calculated drying time and when the calculated drying time does not exceed the remaining time of the timed drying cycle, the performances of terminating the timed dry cycle and extending the timed dry cycle recited by these contingent steps need not be carried out.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY