Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-18 in the reply filed on May 28, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3 should likely read –preforming—instead or performing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartel et al. (WO 2021/055529 A1, hereinafter Bartel).
Regarding Claim 1, Bartel teaches a method of forming a midsole for an article of footwear (per [0084] disclosing a plate 10 that is incorporated into a midsole), the method comprising: combining an embroidered structure with a polymer material with a cavity of a mold, wherein the embroidered structure comprises crossing yarns that define an open mesh grid pattern for the embroidered structure ([0070] defining plate 10 as a preform 12 having one or more layers 14 with each of the layers having at least one ply 18 having strands 20 of fibers arranged on a substrate 22, with [0074] disclosing the strands are embroidered and [0077]-[0084] describing how the materials are combined in a mold, with liquid material 16 as defined in [0079] the polymer material with which the embroidered structure is combined); and
subjecting the polymer material to a selected temperature within the mold to form a midsole including the embroidered structure partially embedded in and extending along an exterior su63rface portion of the midsole (per [0081]-[0084] with [0081] in particular noting that strand loops 30 are partially encapsulated by solid polymeric material once the liquid material has solidified, and [0084] indicating that the resulting strand ends 28 are at the outer periphery).
Regarding Claim 2, the polymer material is injected within the cavity of the mold per [0079].
Regarding Claim 4, the claim language is broad enough in what “to form the midsole” means that substeps in the molding read on the language. Thus, defining “the polymer material” in the claim as broadly allowing for both the material injected and the material of plate 10, the substep of molding plate 10 per [0047] reads on the step of performing a first molding process to form the midsole from the polymer material, then placing the plate 10 with embroidered material into the mold for further molding per [0077]-[0084] reads on the final two steps of Claim 4.
Regarding Claims 5-6 and 9, the strand ends being at the outer periphery satisfies the condition that a peripheral border along a side of the embroidered structure is visible along a surface of the midsole that defines a portion of a lateral side of an article of footwear when the midsole is incorporated with the article of footwear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartel as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 7, Bartel teaches the method as applied above, but is silent on the selected temperature. Nonetheless, Bartel does identify the importance of the temperature to achieve curing in [0083] and therefore it would have been obvious to set the temperature from about 180°C to 220°C in order to achieve, curing, since it has been held that finding a workable range requires only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 17, Bartel teaches in [0004] that shoes conventionally have an upper and outsole attached to the midsole. Thus while Bartel does not explicitly teach that the detailed process of making the midsole is followed by attachment of the outsole and upper to lower and upper peripheral edges of the midsole, respectively, it would have been obvious to couple an outsole and upper with the midsole as claimed, since this would be a combination of known prior art elements to yield the predictable result of a shoe.
Regarding Claim 18, Bartel as applied above discloses the embroidered structure extends over the peripheral edge of the midsole, thus including both the lower and upper peripheral edges.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartel as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Coonrod et al. (US 2022/0110408 A1, hereinafter Coonrod).
Regarding Claim 3, Bartel teaches the method as applied above, but is silent on the possibility of compression molding the midsole as a whole as an alternative to manufacturing it via injection molding.
In analogous art pertaining to shoes, Coonrod teaches in [0061] that compression molding is a known alternative to injection for midsoles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use such compression molding as an alternative in Bartel, since such a substation would be a simple substitution of one molding method for another to achieve the predictable result of midsole manufacturing, wherein compression molding in the combination would be understood to comprise placement of the embroidered structure and a blank comprising the polymer material within the die cavity of the mold, and subjecting the embroidered structure and the blank to a compression molding process within the mold to form the midsole with embroidered structure partially embedded in and along the exterior surface of the midsole, as Bartel recognizes in [0039] that using a blank preform along with strands in a compression mold yields a composite article.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartel as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Zheng et al. (CN 106835485 A, hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding Claim 8, Bartel teaches the method as applied above, but is silent on the yarn properties.
In analogous art pertaining to shoes, Zheng teaches in the Abstract that cationic dyeable polyester yarn is a known yarn for shoe construction, and thus it would have been obvious to use such yarn in Bartel, since such a substation would be a simple substitution of one yarn for another to achieve the predictable result of yarn patterns.
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartel as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Luedecke et al. (US 2019/0017205 A1, hereinafter Luedecke).
Regarding Claims 10-16, Bartel teaches in [0070] that multiple layers of the embroidered structure may be made of fibers arranged in selected patterns to impart stiffness and gradient load paths, but is silent on further details about what those patterns could comprise.
In analogous art pertaining to shoes, Luedecke teaches a known embroidery lattice pattern in Figure 6 across multiple layers with four portions of crossing yarn all oriented in different directions, with one pair mutually perpendicular and another pair mutually perpendicular at an angle at least suggestive of an 45° offset.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to employ a known embroidery lattice patten as Luedecke’s in Bartel, thus meeting the claimed requirements, since such a pattern would be a simple substitution of a known pattern to yield the predictable result of imparting stiffness and gradient load.
Conclusion
/RYAN M OCHYLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743