Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show text labels for the numerals in figures 1-21 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a computing unit that”, “a maximum-friction-estimating unit that”, “a parameter-estimating unit that” in Claim 1, “a parameter-storing unit that” in Claims 3 and 4, “a calculation memory that” in Claim 6, “a data-complementing unit that” in Claim 7.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, an abstract idea, that does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The following is an analysis of independent claim 1 based on the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG).
Step 1, Statutory Category:
Yes: Claims 1 is directed to a device.
Step 2A Prong 1, Judicial Exception:
The Examiner submits that the following claim limitations constitute mental/math processes or generic computer functions, as the claims cover performance of the limitations of the human mind or a generic computer processor, given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Abstract ideas are bolded.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
A friction-coefficient-computing device that estimates an estimated maximum friction value μp, which is an estimated maximum value of a friction coefficient between a tire and a road surface, using a tire brush model that simulates a physical phenomenon between the tire and the road surface, and on a basis of a detection signal transmitted from a detection unit that detects information relating to the tire when a vehicle travels on the road surface, the friction-coefficient-computing device comprising
a computing unit that calculates a slip ratio between the tire and the road surface, and calculates a friction coefficient between the tire and the road surface on a basis of the detection signal;
a maximum-friction-estimating unit that calculates the estimated maximum friction value using the slip ratio and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit,
a tire brush model expression, which is a computation expression indicating a relationship between a slip ratio and a friction coefficient in the tire brush model, and is for calculating an estimated friction coefficient between the tire and the road surface in a case where the slip ratio between the tire and the road surface is in a minute region where the slip ratio is less than a slip ratio at which wheelspin of the tire starts,
wherein assuming that the slip ratio calculated by the computing unit is a calculated slip ratio sc, and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit is a calculated friction coefficient μc, the tire brush model expression is a function relating to the slip ratio of the tire brush model, and includes a plurality of parameters that varies an inclination of the tire brush model expression,
the maximum-friction-estimating unit includes: a model calculator that substitutes the calculated slip ratio into the tire brush model expression to calculate a tire model friction μm, which is a friction coefficient of the tire brush model;
a parameter-estimating unit that estimates values of the parameters so as to make smaller a difference between the calculated friction coefficient and the tire model friction
parameter-estimating unit includes a parameter-restricting unit that eliminates values of the parameters that allow the tire brush model expression to be a linear function and a quadratic function,
obtains values of the parameters that allow an inclination of an inflection point of the tire brush model expression to approach zero.
The limitations a computing unit that calculates a slip ratio between the tire and the road surface, and calculates a friction coefficient between the tire and the road surface on a basis of the detection signal (can be done by observing data and performing the calculation mentally or with a pen and paper, in the alternative it is a math operation), a maximum-friction-estimating unit that calculates the estimated maximum friction value using the slip ratio and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit (can be done by observing data and performing the calculation mentally or with a pen and paper, in the alternative it is a math operation), a parameter-estimating unit that estimates values of the parameters so as to make smaller a difference between the calculated friction coefficient and the tire model friction (can be done by observing data and performing the calculation mentally or with a pen and paper, in the alternative it is a math operation), parameter-estimating unit includes a parameter-restricting unit that eliminates values of the parameters that allow the tire brush model expression to be a linear function and a quadratic function (can be done by observing data and performing the necessary data or numerical value parameter from a process/system, in the alternative it is a mathematical relationship/process), obtains values of the parameters that allow an inclination of an inflection point of the tire brush model expression to approach zero (can be done mentally by observing the parameters and mentally observing/analyzing them and can record them with a pen and paper, in the alternative it is a math operation) are abstract ideas because they are directed towards a mental/math process.
The limitations a tire brush model expression, which is a computation expression indicating a relationship between a slip ratio and a friction coefficient in the tire brush model, and is for calculating an estimated friction coefficient between the tire and the road surface in a case where the slip ratio between the tire and the road surface is in a minute region where the slip ratio is less than a slip ratio at which wheelspin of the tire starts (relies on mathematical/physics equations/values), wherein assuming that the slip ratio calculated by the computing unit is a calculated slip ratio sc, and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit is a calculated friction coefficient μc, the tire brush model expression is a function relating to the slip ratio of the tire brush model, and includes a plurality of parameters that varies an inclination of the tire brush model expression (relies on mathematical/physics equations/values), the maximum-friction-estimating unit includes: a model calculator that substitutes the calculated slip ratio into the tire brush model expression to calculate a tire model friction μm, which is a friction coefficient of the tire brush model (relies on mathematical/physics equations/values) abstract ideas because they are directed towards mathematical formulas and equations.
Step 2A Prong 2, Integration into a Practical Application:
Claim 1 recites additional limitations of computer units that would fall under general field of use, specifically generally linking (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Step 2B, Significantly More:
When considered individually or in combination, the additional limitations and elements of Claim 1 do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions for the same reasons above as to why the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional limitations identified as general field of use above are carried over and also do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Therefore, considering the claim limitations in combination as a whole make Claim 1 ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 2 is dependent on Claim 1 and only recite limitations that specify mathematical relationships/equations for use in Claim 1. Therefore, they remain ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claim 1.
Claims 3-4 and 6 depend on Claim 1 and only recite limitations that fall under the judicial exception of “mental processes/mathematical relationship” and then “generally linking” to a technical field, as per MPEP 2106.05(h). Also, Claim 3 recites obtaining data which is insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering activity as per MPEP 2106.05(g). Therefore, they remain ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claim 1.
Claim 5 is dependent on Claims 1 and 4. Claim 5 only recite limitations directed towards an abstract idea that do not cure the issues of Claims 1 and 4. Therefore, Claim 5 remains ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claims 1 and 4 above.
Claim 7 is dependent on Claims 1 and 6. Claim 7 only recite limitations directed towards an abstract idea that do not cure the issues of Claims 1 and 6. Therefore, Claim 7 remains ineligible for the same reasons as set forth for Claims 1 and 6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing-zhu (CN110382326B), in view of Lee (Real-time slip-based estimation of maximum tire-road friction coefficient), in view of Shaoyi (Adhesion state estimation based on improved tire brush model), in view of Alcantar (Optimal Longitudinal Slip Ratio Allocation and Control of a Hybrid Electric Vehicle With eAWD Capabilities), in further view of KAWACHI (CN103112454B).
Regarding Claim 1:
Qing-zhu teaches:
a parameter-estimating unit that estimates values of the parameters so as to make smaller a difference between the calculated friction coefficient and the tire model friction (The coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction between the tire and the road surface based on the estimated values of the wheel slip ratios, the estimated values of the vertical force, and the estimated values of the longitudinal force.)
Qing-zhu does not teach:
a maximum-friction-estimating unit that calculates the estimated maximum friction value using the slip ratio and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit,
a tire brush model expression, which is a computation expression indicating a relationship between a slip ratio and a friction coefficient in the tire brush model, and is for calculating an estimated friction coefficient between the tire and the road surface in a case where the slip ratio between the tire and the road surface is in a minute region where the slip ratio is less than a slip ratio at which wheelspin of the tire starts,
wherein assuming that the slip ratio calculated by the computing unit is a calculated slip ratio sc, and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit is a calculated friction coefficient μc, the tire brush model expression is a function relating to the slip ratio of the tire brush model, and includes a plurality of parameters that varies an inclination of the tire brush model expression,
the maximum-friction-estimating unit includes: a model calculator that substitutes the calculated slip ratio into the tire brush model expression to calculate a tire model friction μm, which is a friction coefficient of the tire brush model;
parameter-estimating unit includes a parameter-restricting unit that eliminates values of the parameters that allow the tire brush model expression to be a linear function and a quadratic function,
obtains values of the parameters that allow an inclination of an inflection point of the tire brush model expression to approach zero.
However, Lee teaches:
a maximum-friction-estimating unit that calculates the estimated maximum friction value using the slip ratio and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit, (Page 1: The last method in the effect-based approach is the slip-based approach, which uses the wheel slip ratio and friction coefficient data. Because more slip at a given tire force would indicate a more slippery road, observing the correlation between slip and friction coefficient can give μMAX information)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the maximum friction estimation of Lee “the correlation between slip and friction coefficient can give μMAX information” with the friction coefficient unit of Qing-zhu “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” in order to give “a maximum possible acceleration and deceleration values, vehicle velocity can be adjusted to a safe velocity where emergency braking maneuvers can be performed without collisions” (Lee, Conclusion).
Shaoyi teaches:
a tire brush model expression, which is a computation expression indicating a relationship between a slip ratio and a friction coefficient in the tire brush model, and is for calculating an estimated friction coefficient between the tire and the road surface in a case where the slip ratio between the tire and the road surface is in a minute region where the slip ratio is less than a slip ratio at which wheelspin of the tire starts, wherein assuming that the slip ratio calculated by the computing unit is a calculated slip ratio sc, and the friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit is a calculated friction coefficient μc, the tire brush model expression is a function relating to the slip ratio of the tire brush model, and includes a plurality of parameters that varies an inclination of the tire brush model expression (Page 2: In this article, an improved tire brush model is selected, which takes both the longitudinal deformation of the tire and the lateral displacement caused by the addition of cornering characteristics into consideration. The boundary conditions for the attachment zone and the slip zone within the contact zone between the tire and the road surface are studied. The method chosen to estimate the road adhesion coefficient in this article is a double nonlinear compensation based on both the lateral acceleration deviation and the yaw rate deviation. Finally, to characterize the stability of the vehicle during driving conditions, the vehicle stability factor k is both defined and tested in double-lane change circumstances. The stability of the vehicle is judged by the data obtained from the test. These data will then be used to improve the handling and stability of the vehicle.)
the maximum-friction-estimating unit includes: a model calculator that substitutes the calculated slip ratio into the tire brush model expression to calculate a tire model friction μm, which is a friction coefficient of the tire brush model; (In this article, an improved tire brush model is selected, which takes both the longitudinal deformation of the tire and the lateral displacement caused by the addition of cornering characteristics into consideration. The boundary conditions for the attachment zone and the slip zone within the contact zone between the tire and the road surface are studied. The method chosen to estimate the road adhesion coefficient in this article is a double nonlinear compensation based on both the lateral acceleration deviation and the yaw rate deviation. Finally, to characterize the stability of the vehicle during driving conditions, the vehicle stability factor k is both defined and tested in double-lane change circumstances. The stability of the vehicle is judged by the data obtained from the test. These data will then be used to improve the handling and stability of the vehicle.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the tire brush model “an improved tire brush model is selected“ and slip zone “boundary conditions for the attachment zone and the slip zone within the contact zone between the tire and the road surface are studied” of Shaoyi with the friction coefficient unit “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” of modified Qing-zhu in order to establish an improved tire brush model, the error caused by neglecting the sideslip characteristics is avoided, and the adaptability of the tire model is improved (Shaoyi, Abstract).
Alcantar teaches:
parameter-estimating unit includes a parameter-restricting unit that eliminates values of the parameters that allow the tire brush model expression to be a linear function and a quadratic function (Page 4: Assuming a linear tire model, front and rear longitudinal tire forces are generated… Page 9: The optimal slip ratio allocation uses a quadratic unconstrained objective function of which an analytical solution exists.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the linear tire model and quadratic function for optimal slip ratio of Alcantar with the tire brush model “an improved tire brush model is selected“ and slip zone “boundary conditions for the attachment zone and the slip zone within the contact zone between the tire and the road surface are studied” of Shaoyi with the friction coefficient unit “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” of modified Qing-zhu in order to achieve “a unified approach to longitudinal vehicle control under both traction and braking events under any road surface condition. It is shown in simulation that the proposed control system can properly allocate slip ratio to the front and rear axles such that tires remain below their force saturation limits while vehicle acceleration/braking is maximized while on a low friction road surface” (Alcantar, Abstract).
KAWACHI teaches:
obtains values of the parameters that allow an inclination of an inflection point of the tire brush model expression to approach zero (Fig. 4 represents the chart of the relation of the slip angle β that lateral control force CF and tire are shown. As shown in Figure 4, when the slip angle β of tire is lower value (so-called linear areas), the relation of the slip angle β of lateral control force CF and tire is in line proportionate relationship (by this slope, namely, the neighboring lateral control force CF of tire angle of side slip 0 degree is called cornering stiffness with the ratio of tire angle of side slip β)., if the slip angle β of tire becomes larger value, then the increment rate of lateral control force CF diminishes. Namely, the slip angle β of tire more increases, and slope Δ CF/ Δ β more diminishes. The region of β very little for slope Δ CF/ Δ β is called " zone of saturation ".The state of this slope Δ CF/ Δ β is different because of surface friction coefficient and the long-pending μ W of tire radial weight W, even the slip angle β of identical tire, long-pending μ W is less, and β is less for Δ CF/ Δ, a mass μ W larger, and Δ CF/ Δ β gets larger value.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the “zone of saturation” of KAWACHI with the linear tire model and quadratic function for optimal slip ratio of Alcantar with the tire brush model “an improved tire brush model is selected“ and slip zone “boundary conditions for the attachment zone and the slip zone within the contact zone between the tire and the road surface are studied” of Shaoyi with the friction coefficient unit “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” of modified Qing-zhu in order to contain “the linear areas of surface friction coefficient, apply auto model, but the application containing the auto model in the zone of saturation of surface friction coefficient is more difficult” (KAWACHI, Background Technology).
Regarding Claim 4:
KAWACHI teaches:
a calculation memory that stores a plurality of pieces of information of the calculated slip ratios and a plurality of pieces of information of the calculated friction coefficients (Feature according to an embodiment of the invention, for surface friction coefficient reckoning portion, angle of side slip and the lateral control force of tire is detected at multiple road travelings that surface friction coefficient is different, their coefficient values or formulation are stored in memory device, even if so when surface friction coefficient is unknown arbitrary road driving, only calculate angle of side slip and lateral control force, also can calculate surface friction coefficient.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the slide slip and friction coefficient storage of KAWACHI with the friction coefficient unit of modified Qing-zhu “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” in order to contain “the linear areas of surface friction coefficient, apply auto model, but the application containing the auto model in the zone of saturation of surface friction coefficient is more difficult” (KAWACHI, Background Technology).
Qing-zhu teaches:
a calculation determiner that determines whether at least one of the calculated slip ratios and the calculated friction coefficients stored in the calculation memory is normal, and the parameter-estimating unit estimates values of the parameters on a basis of the calculated slip ratios and the calculated friction coefficients determined to be normal by the calculation determiner. (In addition, the longitudinal force in the region of small slip rate is not large, so the estimation of friction coefficient based on this is limited. The estimated coefficient of friction can only be relied upon if the slip ratio exceeds a threshold value. Moreover, due to factors such as sensor error, MAP data and actual error, it is limited to directly use the real-time estimated friction coefficient value. Therefore, it is preferable to accumulate N values corresponding to a situation in which the magnitude of the current slip ratio is larger than the preset threshold value λ th among the plurality of friction coefficients estimated recently, and use the average as the estimated value. It can be expressed by the following algorithm.)
Regarding Claim 5,
Qing-zhu teaches:
on a basis of a difference between an average value of the plurality of calculated slip ratios stored in the calculation memory and a preliminarily determined slip ratio threshold, the calculation determiner determines whether the calculated slip ratios stored in the calculation memory are normal, and on a basis of a difference between an average value of the plurality of calculated friction coefficients stored in the calculation memory and a preliminarily determined friction coefficient threshold, the calculation determiner determines whether the calculated friction coefficients stored in the calculation memory are normal. (In addition, the longitudinal force in the region of small slip rate is not large, so the estimation of friction coefficient based on this is limited. The estimated coefficient of friction can only be relied upon if the slip ratio exceeds a threshold value. Moreover, due to factors such as sensor error, MAP data and actual error, it is limited to directly use the real-time estimated friction coefficient value. Therefore, it is preferable to accumulate N values corresponding to a situation in which the magnitude of the current slip ratio is larger than the preset threshold value λ th among the plurality of friction coefficients estimated recently, and use the average as the estimated value. It can be expressed by the following algorithm.)
Regarding Claim 6:
KAWACHI teaches:
a calculation memory that stores a plurality of pieces of information of the calculated slip ratios and a plurality of pieces of information of the calculated friction coefficients and the calculation memory includes a plurality of addresses (Feature according to an embodiment of the invention, for surface friction coefficient reckoning portion, angle of side slip and the lateral control force of tire is detected at multiple road travelings that surface friction coefficient is different, their coefficient values or formulation are stored in memory device, even if so when surface friction coefficient is unknown arbitrary road driving, only calculate angle of side slip and lateral control force, also can calculate surface friction coefficient.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the friction coefficient values in storage “coefficient values or formulation are stored in memory device“ of KAWACHI with the friction coefficient unit “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” of modified Qing-zhu in order to contain “the linear areas of surface friction coefficient, apply auto model, but the application containing the auto model in the zone of saturation of surface friction coefficient is more difficult” (KAWACHI, Background Technology).
Qing-zhu teaches:
corresponding to magnitudes of the calculated slip ratios, and stores the pieces of information of the calculated slip ratios and the pieces of information of the calculated friction coefficients in addresses preliminarily determined on a basis of the magnitudes of the calculated slip ratios, among the plurality of addresses. (In addition, the longitudinal force in the region of small slip rate is not large, so the estimation of friction coefficient based on this is limited. The estimated coefficient of friction can only be relied upon if the slip ratio exceeds a threshold value. Moreover, due to factors such as sensor error, MAP data and actual error, it is limited to directly use the real-time estimated friction coefficient value. Therefore, it is preferable to accumulate N values corresponding to a situation in which the magnitude of the current slip ratio is larger than the preset threshold value λ th among the plurality of friction coefficients estimated recently, and use the average as the estimated value. It can be expressed by the following algorithm.)
Regarding Claim 7,
KAWACHI teaches:
the computing unit includes a data-complementing unit that stores information of an estimated slip ratio and information of an estimated friction coefficient in an information-unregistered address (Feature according to an embodiment of the invention, for surface friction coefficient reckoning portion, angle of side slip and the lateral control force of tire is detected at multiple road travelings that surface friction coefficient is different, their coefficient values or formulation are stored in memory device, even if so when surface friction coefficient is unknown arbitrary road driving, only calculate angle of side slip and lateral control force, also can calculate surface friction coefficient.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the friction coefficient values in storage “coefficient values or formulation are stored in memory device“ of KAWACHI with the friction coefficient unit of modified Qing-zhu “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” in order to contain “the linear areas of surface friction coefficient, apply auto model, but the application containing the auto model in the zone of saturation of surface friction coefficient is more difficult” (KAWACHI, Background Technology).
Qing-zhu teaches:
in which the information of the calculated slip ratio and the information of the calculated friction coefficient are not stored, among the plurality of addresses, and on a basis of the information of the calculated slip ratios and the information of the calculated friction coefficients stored in the calculation memory, the data-complementing unit estimates a slip ratio and a friction coefficient to be stored in the information-unregistered address. (In addition, the longitudinal force in the region of small slip rate is not large, so the estimation of friction coefficient based on this is limited. The estimated coefficient of friction can only be relied upon if the slip ratio exceeds a threshold value. Moreover, due to factors such as sensor error, MAP data and actual error, it is limited to directly use the real-time estimated friction coefficient value. Therefore, it is preferable to accumulate N values corresponding to a situation in which the magnitude of the current slip ratio is larger than the preset threshold value λ th among the plurality of friction coefficients estimated recently, and use the average as the estimated value. It can be expressed by the following algorithm.)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing-zhu, in view of Lee, in view of Shaoyi, in view of Alcantar, in view of KAWACHI, in further view of Fuse (Driving Force Controller with Variable Slip Ratio Limiter for Electric Vehicle Considering Lateral Slip Based on Brush Model)
Regarding Claim 2, modified Qing-zhu teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, but does not teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Fuse teaches:
μm=H*3s-HK*3s2+HK2*s3/Fz, the parameters are H, HK, and HK2 in Formula, the tire model friction represents μm in Formula, the slip ratio between the tire and the road surface represents s in Formula, a normal force generated on the tire represents Fz in Formula, and the parameter-restricting unit restricts values of the parameters to satisfy a Formula of HK2=HK2/H in terms of the parameters (Page 4: Tire workload η is represented by s from (4) and (6) as follows. η=s(3−3s+s2),[0≤s≤1]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the formula of Fuse with the friction coefficient unit of Qing-zhu “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” in order to improve “the conventional controller has a slip ratio limiter for safety reason, but it did not consider lateral slip of tire during cornering. To deal with this problem, this paper proposes a DFC with variable slip ratio limiter base on brush model” (Fuse, Abstract).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qing-zhu, in view of Lee, in view of Shaoyi, in view of Alcantar, in view of KAWACHI, in view of Zhao (Development and Verification of the Tire/Road Friction Estimation Algorithm for Antilock Braking System).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Qing-zhu teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, but does not teach the limitations of Claim 3.
Zhao teaches:
a parameter-storing unit that acquires information relating to each of the calculated slip ratio and the calculated friction coefficient calculated by the computing unit, and stores a predetermined number of pieces of the acquired information, and estimates values of the parameters using the pieces of information stored in the parameter-storing unit and relating to the plurality of calculated slip ratios and the plurality of calculated friction coefficients, respectively (Page 2: Recursive unbiased estimation algorithms can perform a good unbiased estimation result [21], and the recursive least square (RLS) method is one of them. Not only is the RLS method convenient for computer calculation and storage but it also has a fast response speed and strong antijamming capability by adding the forgetting factor [22, 23]. It also could deal with the nonlinear model such as tire model after linearization processing. Thus, based on the previous observation of tire forces by Kalman filter, it is a good approach by combining the RLS method to estimate road friction coefficient.... Page 2: Thus, considerable fluctuation caused by ABS control will be observed on wheels dynamic state variables such as wheel slip ratio and brake pressure, which are important for friction estimation. In this case, the negative influences on the estimation from the nonlinear characteristics of the vehicles and tires will be amplified. Therefore, the effects on the estimation performance caused by the fluctuation from actuators should be also considered, which are not been fully discussed yet.)
each time the parameter-storing unit acquires a piece or pieces of information relating to each of the calculated slip ratio and the calculated friction coefficient from the computing unit, the parameter-storing unit updates a piece or pieces of information of the stored pieces of information relating to the plurality of calculated slip ratios and the plurality of calculated friction coefficients, respectively, and a number of the updated piece or pieces of information is a number of the acquired piece or pieces of information (Page 7: The performance of the algorithm is sensitive to the preset thresholds S_update. If update is too small, there might be fluctuant and unexpected estimation when the actual wheel slip ratio is pretty low, while, if S_update is set too large, low sensitivity might occur and the estimated μ will not be updated in time. As the slip ratio for ABS trigger is around 6% in the ABS algorithm used for the verification, with integrated consideration of reliability and sensitivity, threshold of 5% was chosen in this paper)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the estimated slip ratios/friction coefficients “variables such as wheel slip ratio and brake pressure, which are important for friction estimation” and the updating slip ratios/friction coefficients “If update is too small, there might be fluctuant and unexpected estimation when the actual wheel slip ratio is pretty low” of Zhao with the friction coefficient unit of modified Qing-zhu “coefficient of friction estimating unit 700 is a component for estimating the coefficient of friction” in order to produce a “robust and effective tire/road friction estimation algorithm for ABS” (Zhao, Abstract).
Conclusion
/HAYDEN JAMES DANSEREAU/Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189