DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IV in the reply filed on 06/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14, 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (Nature Communications, 19 January 2021, 12: 447, pages 1-16, cited from IDS).
Concerning claims 15-19 Xu disclose method of treating a subject having propensity to develop an intraventricular hemorrhage by administering AAV2/5 vector expressing NKCC1 polynucleotide encoding NKCC1 polypeptide increasing NKCC1 expression level and reducing intracranial fluid imbalance (see pages 5-6, Figures 5 and 6). Such overexpression leads to reduced ventriculomegaly (see second column on page 6), accelerated potassium clearance, cerebrospinal compliance, reduced circulated cerebrospinal fluid in the brain and intracranial pressure (see page 6).
Concerning claim 20 the vector was administered by intracerebroventricular injection (see second column on page 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregoriades et al (Am J Physiol, 2019, pages 1-73, cited from IDS) and in further view of Kahle et al (Lancet, 2016, vol.387, pages 788-799, cited from IDS), Drivas et al (US 2016/0185832, June 2016) and Frost et al (US 2019/0358346, November 2019).
Gregoriades teach that NKCC1 transporter has overall absorptive function for cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) in the brain (see Abstract).
Gregoriades do not teach treatment of intraventricular hemorrhage by administering adeno-associated virus (AAV) vector such as AAV2/5 administered by intracerebroventricular injection comprising a polynucleotide encoding NKCC1 polypeptide leading to effects of instant claims 17-19.
Kahle teach that intraventricular hemorrhage is a common cause of hydrocephalus caused by accumulation of CSF in the brain (see Table 1, Abstract, page 788).
Drivas teach gene delivery using AAV 2/5 vector (see paragraph [0081]).
Frost teach delivery of AAV vector to central nervous system by intracerebroventricular injection (see paragraph [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat intraventricular hemorrhage by administering AAV 2/5 vector comprising a polynucleotide encoding NKCC1 polypeptide by intracerebroventricular injection based on teachings of Gregoriades, Kahle, Drivas and Frost. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Gregoriades teach that NKCC1 polypeptide has absorptive function for CSF in the brain, therefore it can be used for CSF absorption when it is excessive in the case of intraventricular hemorrhage as taught by Kahle. Drivas teach a delivery vector for producing NKCC1 polypeptide and Frost teach a way of administration of such vector, which can be used for such treatment. The effects of instant claims 17-19 are expected to happen upon such treatment in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637