DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee” US 2024 / 0319522) in view of Blum et al. (hereinafter “Blum” US 2004 / 0027501).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor (i.e., a CPU; see (FC, 11, 12, 13)) disposed in a device (10) that includes a sensor (EX) and a lens (LN), the device (10) being worn by a wearer having a head position (i.e., a head tilt), the sensor (EX) including a motion sensor (i.e., a gyroscope or six-axis sensor), the lens (LN) including an optic (i.e., a variable focus lens and control unit; see (FC, LN)) configured to provide the lens (LN) with a first optical property including a first power (i.e., a first focusing power), an indication from the sensor (EX) that the head position (i.e., the head tilt) has changed (see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161]); and
applying, by the processor (i.e., the CPU; again, see (FC, 11, 12, 13)), a voltage (i.e., a control voltage) to the optic (see (FC, LN)) to cause the optic (see (FC, LN)) to provide the lens (LN) with a second optical property including a second power (i.e., a second focusing power; see Page 14, Para. [0198]-[0203] and [0205]; Page 15, Para. [0207]-[0208] and [0210]-[0212]; Page 16, Para. [0223]-[0224] and [0226]; and Page 20, Para. [0268]-[0269]).
Lee discloses a number of context features that are utilized by the processor to determine a focusing power of the lens (LN), including lifestyle information such as gaze and/or head tilting habits (see Page 9, Para. [0151] and Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0221] and [0223]-[0224]). However, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the second optical property including the second power is dynamically applied by the processor in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Blum discloses (see Fig. 5 with Figs. 47a-47c) a method of adjusting optical power in a lens (520, 522) using a processor (540) in a device (500) based on a head position of a wearer (Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0097]-[0099]), wherein a motion sensor is provided to determine the head position of the wearer, and an optical power of the lens (520, 522) is changed from a first power to a second power in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed (see Page 9, Para. [0145]; Page 10, Para. [0149]; Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0184]; Page 19, Para. [0239]; and Page 20, Para. [0242]). It is an expressed goal of Blum to provide for the dynamic correction of optical power in a lens based on the head position of the wearer in order to reduce fatigue and to automatically adjust the viewing function of the lens based on an implied viewing distance (again, see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blum, such that the second optical property including the second power is dynamically applied by the processor in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed, as suggested by Blum, in order to reduce fatigue and to automatically adjust the viewing function of the lens based on an implied viewing distance.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the optic (see (FC, LN)) includes a liquid crystal (LN; again, see Page 10, Para. [0153] and [0161]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the sensor (EX) included an eye-imaging device (again, see Page 14, Para. [0198]-[0203] and [0205]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the sensor (EX) includes a camera (again, see Page 14, Para. [0201]-[0202]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the voltage (i.e., the control voltage) is a first voltage (i.e., to produce the second optical property including the second power),
wherein the lens (LN) is a first lens (i.e., a left lens (LN)) and the device (10) includes a second lens (i.e., a right lens (LN)), the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) including a second optic (see (FC, LN)) configured to provide the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) with a third optical property (i.e., a third focusing power; again, see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161]), and
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to the indication (see (EX)), applying a second voltage (i.e., a control voltage) to the second optic (see (FC, LN)) to cause the second optic (see (FC, LN)) to provide the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) with a fourth optical property (i.e., a fourth focusing power), the wearer being enabled to see through the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) more clearly with the fourth optical property (i.e., the fourth focusing power; again, see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161] in combination with Page 20, Para. [0242] of Blum).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the liquid crystal (LN) includes at least one laminated layer (again, see Page 10, Para. [0161] and Page 11, Para. [0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the first power and the second power are based on a prescription (i.e., optometry information) for the wearer (again, see Page 21, Para. [0275] and Page 15, Para. [0210]-[0212]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the optic (see (FC, LN)) includes an electrochromic coating (i.e., an LC layer) configured to change a transmissivity (i.e., a refractive property) of the lens (LN) in response to a change in voltage (i.e., the control voltage) applied to the optic (see Page 10, Para. [0161] and Page 11, Para. [0169]-[0172], for example).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the wearer is enabled to see through the lens (LN) more clearly with the second optical property (i.e., the second focusing power; again, see Page 14, Para. [0198]-[0203] and [0205]; Page 15, Para. [0210]-[0212]; and Page 16, Para. [0223]-[0224] and [0226]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) a computer program product (see Page 14, Para. [0198]) comprising a nontransitory storage medium (see any element of (FC, 11, 12, 13), 20, 30), the computer program product including code that, when executed by processing circuitry (see (FC, 11, 12, 13), 20, 30), causes the processing circuitry (again, see (FC, 11, 12, 13), 20, 30) to perform a method, the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor (i.e., a CPU; see (FC, 11, 12, 13)) disposed in a device (10) that includes a sensor (EX) and a lens (LN), the device (10) being worn by a wearer having a head position (i.e., a head tilt), the sensor (EX) including a motion sensor (i.e., a gyroscope or six-axis sensor), the lens (LN) including an optic (i.e., a variable focus lens and control unit; see (FC, LN)) configured to provide the lens (LN) with a first optical property including a first power (i.e., a first focusing power), an indication from the sensor (EX) that the head position (i.e., the head tilt) has changed (see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161]); and
applying, by the processor (i.e., the CPU; again, see (FC, 11, 12, 13)), a voltage (i.e., a control voltage) to the optic (see (FC, LN)) to cause the optic (see (FC, LN)) to provide the lens (LN) with a second optical property including a second power (i.e., a second focusing power; see Page 14, Para. [0198]-[0203] and [0205]; Page 15, Para. [0207]-[0208] and [0210]-[0212]; Page 16, Para. [0223]-[0224] and [0226]; and Page 20, Para. [0268]-[0269]).
Lee discloses a number of context features that are utilized by the processor to determine a focusing power of the lens (LN), including lifestyle information such as gaze and/or head tilting habits (see Page 9, Para. [0151] and Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0221] and [0223]-[0224]). However, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the second optical property including the second power is dynamically applied by the processor in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Blum discloses (see Fig. 5 with Figs. 47a-47c) a method of adjusting optical power in a lens (520, 522) using a processor (540) in a device (500) based on a head position of a wearer (Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0097]-[0099]), wherein a motion sensor is provided to determine the head position of the wearer, and an optical power of the lens (520, 522) is changed from a first power to a second power in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed (see Page 9, Para. [0145]; Page 10, Para. [0149]; Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0184]; Page 19, Para. [0239]; and Page 20, Para. [0242]). It is an expressed goal of Blum to provide for the dynamic correction of optical power in a lens based on the head position of the wearer in order to reduce fatigue and to automatically adjust the viewing function of the lens based on an implied viewing distance (again, see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blum, such that the second optical property including the second power is dynamically applied by the processor in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed, as suggested by Blum, in order to reduce fatigue and to automatically adjust the viewing function of the lens based on an implied viewing distance.
As pertaining to Claim 12, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the optic (see (FC, LN)) includes a liquid crystal (LN; again, see Page 10, Para. [0153] and [0161]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the sensor (EX) included an eye-imaging device (again, see Page 14, Para. [0198]-[0203] and [0205]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the sensor (EX) includes a camera (again, see Page 14, Para. [0201]-[0202]).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the voltage (i.e., the control voltage) is a first voltage (i.e., to produce the second optical property including the second power),
wherein the lens (LN) is a first lens (i.e., a left lens (LN)) and the device (10) includes a second lens (i.e., a right lens (LN)), the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) including a second optic (see (FC, LN)) configured to provide the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) with a third optical property (i.e., a third focusing power; again, see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161]), and
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to the indication (see (EX)), applying a second voltage (i.e., a control voltage) to the second optic (see (FC, LN)) to cause the second optic (see (FC, LN)) to provide the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) with a fourth optical property (i.e., a fourth focusing power), the wearer being enabled to see through the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) more clearly with the fourth optical property (i.e., the fourth focusing power; again, see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161] in combination with Page 20, Para. [0242] of Blum).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the liquid crystal (LN) includes at least one laminated layer (again, see Page 10, Para. [0161] and Page 11, Para. [0170]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the first power and the second power are based on a prescription (i.e., optometry information) for the wearer (again, see Page 21, Para. [0275] and Page 15, Para. [0210]-[0212]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the optic (see (FC, LN)) includes an electrochromic coating (i.e., an LC layer) configured to change a transmissivity (i.e., a refractive property) of the lens (LN) in response to a change in voltage (i.e., the control voltage) applied to the optic (see Page 10, Para. [0161] and Page 11, Para. [0169]-[0172], for example).
As pertaining to Claim 20, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) an electronic apparatus (see Page 14, Para. [0198]), the electronic apparatus comprising:
a memory (see any element of (FC, 11, 12, 13), 20, 30); and
processing circuitry (see (FC, 11, 12, 13), 20, 30) coupled to the memory (again, see any element of (FC, 11, 12, 13), 20, 30), the processing circuitry (again, see (FC, 11, 12, 13), 20, 30) being configured to:
receive, by a processor (i.e., a CPU; see (FC, 11, 12, 13)) disposed in a device (10) that includes a sensor (EX) and a lens (LN), the device (10) being worn by a wearer having a head position (i.e., a head tilt), the sensor (EX) including a motion sensor (i.e., a gyroscope or six-axis sensor), the lens (LN) including an optic (i.e., a variable focus lens and control unit; see (FC, LN)) configured to provide the lens (LN) with a first optical property including a first power (i.e., a first focusing power), an indication from the sensor (EX) that the head position (i.e., the head tilt) has changed (see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161]); and
apply, by the processor (i.e., the CPU; again, see (FC, 11, 12, 13)), a voltage (i.e., a control voltage) to the optic (see (FC, LN)) to cause the optic (see (FC, LN)) to provide the lens (LN) with a second optical property including a second power (i.e., a second focusing power; see Page 14, Para. [0198]-[0203] and [0205]; Page 15, Para. [0207]-[0208] and [0210]-[0212]; Page 16, Para. [0223]-[0224] and [0226]; and Page 20, Para. [0268]-[0269]).
Lee discloses a number of context features that are utilized by the processor to determine a focusing power of the lens (LN), including lifestyle information such as gaze and/or head tilting habits (see Page 9, Para. [0151] and Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0221] and [0223]-[0224]). However, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the second optical property including the second power is dynamically applied by the processor in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Blum discloses (see Fig. 5 with Figs. 47a-47c) a method of adjusting optical power in a lens (520, 522) using a processor (540) in a device (500) based on a head position of a wearer (Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0097]-[0099]), wherein a motion sensor is provided to determine the head position of the wearer, and an optical power of the lens (520, 522) is changed from a first power to a second power in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed (see Page 9, Para. [0145]; Page 10, Para. [0149]; Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0184]; Page 19, Para. [0239]; and Page 20, Para. [0242]). It is an expressed goal of Blum to provide for the dynamic correction of optical power in a lens based on the head position of the wearer in order to reduce fatigue and to automatically adjust the viewing function of the lens based on an implied viewing distance (again, see Page 13 through Page 14, Para. [0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blum, such that the second optical property including the second power is dynamically applied by the processor in response to an indication that the head position of the wearer has changed, as suggested by Blum, in order to reduce fatigue and to automatically adjust the viewing function of the lens based on an implied viewing distance.
As pertaining to Claim 21, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the optic (see (FC, LN)) includes a liquid crystal (LN; again, see Page 10, Para. [0153] and [0161]).
As pertaining to Claim 22, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the voltage (i.e., the control voltage) is a first voltage (i.e., to produce the second optical property including the second power),
wherein the lens (LN) is a first lens (i.e., a left lens (LN)) and the device (10) includes a second lens (i.e., a right lens (LN)), the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) including a second optic (see (FC, LN)) configured to provide the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) with a third optical property (i.e., a third focusing power; again, see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161]), and
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to the indication (see (EX)), apply a second voltage (i.e., a control voltage) to the second optic (see (FC, LN)) to cause the second optic (see (FC, LN)) to provide the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) with a fourth optical property (i.e., a fourth focusing power), the wearer being enabled to see through the second lens (i.e., the right lens (LN)) more clearly with the fourth optical property (i.e., the fourth focusing power; again, see Page 9 through Page 10, Para. [0151]-[0154], [0158], and [0161] in combination with Page 20, Para. [0242] of Blum).
As pertaining to Claim 23, Lee discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, and Fig. 9) that the optic (see (FC, LN)) includes an electrochromic coating (i.e., an LC layer) configured to change a transmissivity (i.e., a refractive property) of the lens (LN) in response to a change in voltage (i.e., the control voltage) applied to the optic (see Page 10, Para. [0161] and Page 11, Para. [0169]-[0172], for example).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on a combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant has asserted that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Lee, teach or fairly suggest applying “a voltage to the optic” that is “in response to the indication” that a “head position of the wearer has changed” (see Remarks at Page 8). Respectfully, this argument is moot in so much as the combined teachings of at least Lee and Blum, as newly relied upon in the above rejections, clearly suggest at least this feature.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-23 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art is replete with smartglasses devices implementing adaptive lenses configured to adjust focusing power based on various contexts. At least Zurauskas (US 2024 / 0337866), Melakari et al. (US 2023 / 0258959), and Stipe et al. (US 2023 / 0057524) disclose such devices.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623