DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 17 is pending and has been considered on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thrift et al. (Applied Animal Sci., vol. 19, p. 329-341, 2003).
Thrift teaches a cross-bred Bos indicus-taurus ungulate animal (p. 329-331, 1st full parag., Potential factors contributing section).
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e., the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or slightly different than the claimed product-by-process, rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 and/or 35 U.S.C 103 are proper. (MPEP 2113).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Green et al. (J. of Anim. Science, vol. 69, p. 3544-3563, 1991).
Green teaches a cross-bred Bos indicus-taurus ungulate animal (abstract, p.3544-3548, Fig. 1, table 1, 2A).
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e., the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or slightly different than the claimed product-by-process, rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 and/or 35 U.S.C 103 are proper. (MPEP 2113).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDowell et al., (J. Dairy Sci., vol. 79, p. 1292-1303, 1996).
McDowell teaches a cross-bred Bos indicus-taurus ungulate animal (p.1292-1294, Table 1, 5, for example).
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e., the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or slightly different than the claimed product-by-process, rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 and/or 35 U.S.C 103 are proper. (MPEP 2113).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TIFFANY M GOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/MELENIE L GORDON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1651