DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the Arguments/Remarks filed on 1/13/2026.
No claims have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in its Remarks in pages 2-5 for claims 1, 8, and 15, that Shin does NOT at all mention "physical broadcast channel" and does NOT teach any symbol position information for a front loaded demodulation reference signal on such a physical broadcast channel. Additionally, although Shin teaches the relationship between the DMRS symbol position and the PDSCH starting symbol, Applicant submits that Shin does NOT actually teach the specific relationship that "the starting symbol position corresponds to a symbol position of at least one front loaded demodulation reference signal," as required by the original independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in the previous office action, John was used to disclose transmitting symbol position information for a front loaded demodulation reference signal on a physical broadcast channel (the SS/PBCH block 410 may include an MIB 404. For example, the MIB 404 may indicate one or more of an SFN, a subcarrier spacing (e.g., for a SIB!, for RMSI, and/or for one or more RACH messages), a subcarrier offset (e.g., a frequency domain offset between the SS/PBCH block 410 and an overall resource block grid), and/or a position of a downlink DM-RS (e.g., a first downlink DM-RS); see John par. 0078, According to the determined position associated with the downlink data channel 414, the base station 502 may send data on the downlink data channel 414; see John par. 0104). Shin was used to cover the shortfall of John in terms of the front loaded DMRS feature of the claim. Shin discloses a front loaded demodulation reference signal and wherein the starting symbol position corresponds to a symbol position of at least one front loaded demodulation reference signal. Applicant’s specification mentions in par. 0063 that “For details, refer to Table 2. In the case where the mapping type is Type A, the front loaded DMRS is mapped based on a configured position of the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), such as symbol 2 and symbol 3”. This is basically same as the Tables 8-11 in John, where PDSCH mapping type is Type A and the dmrs-TypeA-position is 2 or 3 then the S (starting symbol) value is either 1, 2, or 3 which are low values, however John does not specifically refer these as the front loaded DMRS. Therefore the previous rejections of claims 1, 8 and 15 still stand based on John in view of Shin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John Wilson et al. (US 2019/0223084, hereinafter “John”) in view of Shin et al. (US 2021/0045101, hereinafter “Shin”).
For claims 1, 8 and 15, John discloses A method for wireless communications by a network entity for indicating a time domain resource of a physical downlink shared channel (FIG. 5 illustrates a call flow diagram of a wireless communications system 500 in which a position of a downlink data channel may be determined; see John par. 0076; The base station 502 may indicate the at least one slot allocated for the downlink data channel 414 in an RRC parameter and/or a field of the DCI 406 (e.g., a time domain resource allocation field); see John par. 0083 and Fig. 5; the position of the downlink data channel 414 (in this example, the position being a PDSCH time domain resource allocation to apply) may correspond to either an allocation configuration ( e.g., a PDSCH time domain allocation A, B, or C according to one of Tables 8 through 11) or an allocation configuration defined by a higher layer configuration; see John par. 0089), the method comprising:
transmitting symbol position information for a front loaded demodulation reference signal on a physical broadcast channel (the SS/PBCH block 410 may include an MIB 404. For example, the MIB 404 may indicate one or more of an SFN, a subcarrier spacing (e.g., for a SIB!, for RMSI, and/or for one or more RACH messages), a subcarrier offset (e.g., a frequency domain offset between the SS/PBCH block 410 and an overall resource block grid), and/or a position of a downlink DM-RS (e.g., a first downlink DM-RS); see John par. 0078, According to the determined position associated with the downlink data channel 414, the base station 502 may send data on the downlink data channel 414; see John par. 0104 and Tables 8-11); and
transmitting downlink control information including a row index (Tables 8-11 may include a set of PDSCH time domain resource allocations from which the UE 504 may determine one PDSCH time domain resource allocation to be applied to receive a PDSCH (e.g., downlink data channel 414). In order to determine the row index corresponding to the PDSCH time domain resource allocation to apply, the UE 504 may identify a value m from a "Time domain resource assignment" field of DCI (e.g., DCI 406), and the UE 504 may calculate the row index as equal to m+1. Further, the UE 504 may determine the dmrs-TypeA-Position from a field of the MIB 404. Further, the UE 504 may determine the PDSCH mapping type from a field of an information element, such as a mappingType field of a PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocationList information element, which may be received from the base station 502 (e.g., in the DCI 406); see John par. 0091; The base station 502 may send the DCI 406 in the CORESET 412; see John par. 0097);
wherein the row index indicates a starting symbol position and a symbol length of the time domain resource of the physical downlink shared channel in a preset time domain table, wherein the row index in the preset time domain table corresponds to one or more starting symbol positions and corresponding symbol lengths, and (The PDSCH time domain resource allocation may be indicated as a SLIV or may be indicated as a plurality of values associated with a SLIV. In Table 8, the PDSCH time domain resource allocation may be indicated as K0 , S, and L. K0 indicates a slot offset to the slot allocated for the PDSCH, S indicates a starting symbol relative to the start of a slot allocated for the PDSCH, and L indicates the number of consecutive symbols counting from the symbol S allocated for the PDSCH; see John par. 0091-0092 and Tables 7-11)
John does not explicitly disclose a front loaded demodulation reference signal and wherein the starting symbol position corresponds to a symbol position of at least one front loaded demodulation reference signal. Shin discloses a front loaded demodulation reference signal and wherein the starting symbol position corresponds to a symbol position of at least one front loaded demodulation reference signal (When the DMRS is set for only one OFDM symbol located at the fore part of the time axis in one subframe in order to support low latency as shown in FI GS. 1F A-2-1 and 1FA-2-2, the terminal can identify the DMRS structure according to the number of layers; see Shin par. 0092-0097; the front-loaded DMRS may be defined by the following two criteria. 1. The number of OFDM symbols for front-loaded DMRS Front-loaded DMRS is mapped over 1 or 2 adjacent OFDM symbol Front-loaded DMRS is mapped on 1 OFDM symbol for low rank transmission. Front-loaded DMRS is mapped on 2 adjacent OFDM symbols for high rank transmission. 2. The location of time for front-loaded DMRS Opt. 1: The first symbol of front-loaded DM-RS is fixed regardless of the first symbol of NR-PDSCH. Opt. 2: The first symbol of front-loaded DM-RS is no later than the first symbol of NR-PDSCH. Specifically, the front-loaded DMRS may be configured in one or two adjacent OFDM symbols according to the number of transmission layers (ranks). Also, the frontloaded DMRS is located before the NR-PDSCH on the time axis, and its position may be fixed as described above, or the front-loaded RS may be located from the first symbol at which the NR-PDSCH starts; see Shin par. 0127-0135). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Shin's arrangement in John's invention to environment-adaptively perform DMRS transmission and minimize the overhead of a reference signal; see Shin par. 0020).
Specifically for claim 8, John discloses A base station (a base station 502; see John par. 0076, 0149 and Fig. 5 and Fig. 11) comprising:
a memory storing computer instructions executable on a processor, and the processor, wherein the computer instructions cause the processor to: (The processing system 1114 may be a component of the base station 310 and may include the memory 376 and/or at least one of the TX processor 316, the RX processor 370, and the controller/processor 375; see John par. 0150 and Fig. 11).
Specifically for claim 15, John discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer instructions stored thereon, wherein the computer instructions cause a machine to: (The computer readable medium/memory 1106 may also be used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor 1104 when executing software; see John par. 0150 and Fig. 11).
For claim 2, 9 and 16, John discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the row index is determined based on the preset time domain table and the starting symbol position (Tables 8-11 may include a set of PDSCH time domain resource allocations from which the UE 504 may determine one PDSCH time domain resource allocation to be applied to receive a PDSCH (e.g., downlink data channel 414). In order to determine the row index corresponding to the PDSCH time domain resource allocation to apply, the UE 504 may identify a value m from a "Time domain resource assignment" field of DCI (e.g., DCI 406), and the UE 504 may calculate the row index as equal to m+1. Further, the UE 504 may determine the dmrs-TypeA-Position from a field of the MIB 404. Further, the UE 504 may determine the PDSCH mapping type from a field of an information element, such as a mappingType field of a PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocationList information element, which may be received from the base station 502 (e.g., in the DCI 406); see John par. 0091), and
John does not explicitly disclose the one or more starting symbol positions correspond to a plurality of configurable symbol positions of the front loaded demodulation reference signal. Shin discloses the one or more starting symbol positions correspond to a plurality of configurable symbol positions of the front loaded demodulation reference signal (FIGS. lFA-2-1, lFA-2-2, lFA-3-1, lFA-3-2, lFA-4-1, and lFA-4-2 show examples of DMRS positions configurable according to transmission conditions; see Shin par. 0120; setting the positions of a plurality of front-load DMRSs may be performed in various ways. For example, a semi-static setting method through upper layer signaling such as RRC may be considered. In addition, for example, a DMRS position may be set and transmitted via system information such as MIB or SIB. Also, for example, a method of dynamically setting the DMRS position through DCI may be considered. Alternatively, it is possible to set the position of the DMRS through semi-persistent scheduling (SPS); see Shin par. 0141; As indicated by reference numerals 3m10, 3m20, and 3m30, the density of the DMRS subcarrier (SC) in one OFDM symbol is variable (configurable); see Shin par. 0149). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Shin's arrangement in John's invention to environment-adaptively perform DMRS transmission and minimize the overhead of a reference signal; see Shin par. 0020).
For claims 3, 10 and 17, John discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein a user equipment to which the downlink control information is transmitted is configured to detect second downlink control information within a set of control resources (The base station 502 may set a field in the payload of the DCI 406 to include the second value so that a combination of the first value (indicated by the SS/PBCH block 410) and the second value (indicated by the DCI 406) correspond with the position associated with the downlink data channel 414; see John par. 0094; The base station 502 may send the DCI 406 in the CORESET 412. Based on the information indicated by the MIB 404 that defines the CORESET 412 and the monitoring occasion of the PDCCH in the CO RESET 412, the UE 504 may (blindly) decode PDCCH candidates in the CORESET 412 in order to detect the DCI 406. When the UE 504 finds the DCI 406 in the CORESET 412, the UE 504 may decode 534 the payload of the DCI 406; see John par. 0097), and the set of control resources are configured to be time-division multiplexed with transmission resources for the physical downlink shared channel (The CORESET 412 and the downlink data channel 414 may be time-division multiplexed. The CORESET 412 and the downlink data channel 414 may be transmitted on a second bandwidth part (e.g., a second set of subcarriers) that at least partially overlaps with the first bandwidth part; see John par. 0070-0072).
For claims 4, 11 and 18, John discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the starting symbol position indicated by the row index is 8, and a symbol length occupied by the time domain resource is 4 (see John pages 13-14 in Tables 8-11 where S is 8 and L is 4).
For claims 6, 13 and 20, John discloses The method according to claim 2, wherein the row index is determined based on the starting symbol position and a symbol length required for the time domain resource (Tables 8-11 may include a set of PDSCH time domain resource allocations from which the UE 504 may determine one PDSCH time domain resource allocation to be applied to receive a PDSCH (e.g., downlink data channel 414). In order to determine the row index corresponding to the PDSCH time domain resource allocation to apply, the UE 504 may identify a value m from a "Time domain resource assignment" field of DCI (e.g., DCI 406), and the UE 504 may calculate the row index as equal to m+1. Further, the UE 504 may determine the dmrs-TypeA-Position from a field of the MIB 404. Further, the UE 504 may determine the PDSCH mapping type from a field of an information element, such as a mappingType field of a PDSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocationList information element, which may be received from the base station 502 (e.g., in the DCI 406)…; see John par. 0091-0092).
For claims 7 and 14, John discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more starting symbol positions comprise a symbol position in a second half of a slot (see John pages 13-14 in Tables 8-11 where the S values are in the second half of a slot).
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John and Shin, and further in view of Ko et al. (US 2018/0198659, hereinafter “Ko”).
For claims 5, 12 and 19, John does not explicitly disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein the symbol position of the front loaded demodulation reference signal is configured to be mapped based on physical broadcast channel configurations. Ko discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the symbol position of the front loaded demodulation reference signal is configured to be mapped based on physical broadcast channel configurations (And, all of the symbols to which the PBCH is mapped include a plurality of DMRSs and a plurality of the DMRSs can be arranged with an equal interval in the symbols to which the PBCH is mapped; see Ko par. 0014; As shown in above design guide, it may assume that NR-PBCH provides 120 REs, which means 24 REs can be used for DMRS within 6 RBs and 2 OFDM symbols. Based on the assumption that adjacent two REs are used for DMRS in order to facilitate RE pairing for two antenna ports based on transmit diversity, the NR-PBCH can be designed as shown in FIG. 27 (a) or FIG. 27 (b); see Ko par. 0214 and Fig. 27). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Ko's arrangement in John's invention to more efficiently perform initial access by efficiently transmitting a synchronization signal in a subframe (see Ko par. 0021).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Saito et al. (US 2021/0152301).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAE S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415