DETAILED ACTION
The amendments were received on 6/4/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 are pending where claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 were previously presented and claims 5, 12, and 18 were cancelled.
Claim Objections
The applicant amended the claims to address the claim objections. In view of the amendments, the respective objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With regard to claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations which are drawn towards an abstract idea:
the method comprising:
based on current state information of the environment, extract safety entities of interest using the SCNG (recites mental process steps of evaluating and selective analysis of particular information for further consideration);
determine if a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG (recites mental process step of evaluation and comparison of sets of information);
when a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG, generate a corresponding safety hint (recites mental process steps of evaluation and judgement for determining hints/suggestions based on current observations);
based on the safety hints, using a dynamic constraint cost function for determining a constraint cost on actions taken by the RL agent in the environment (recites mental process steps of evaluation, including weighting or mathematical calculation, of the cost/benefit of doing one action over another);
and operating the RL agent, using the safety hints and constraint cost, to determine an action to take (recites mental process steps of evaluation and judgement for determining what to do in the current situation).
As seen from above, the identified limitations recite concepts associated with an abstract idea and thus the respective claim recites a judicial exception (see 2106.04(a)) and thus requires further analysis as discussed below.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The following limitations have been identified as being additional elements as discussed below.
A computer-implemented method of increasing safety of a Reinforcement Learning (RL) agent operating with a text-based environment with safety constraints (recites field of use limitations of using a computer to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
generating a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG) data structure (recites field of use limitations describing, at a high-level of generality, a particular data structure to be used, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) using generic safety knowledge of entities and expected safety interactions in the environment (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of storing information in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(g));
As seen from the above discussion, the identified limitations did not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recite mere data gathering information and storing it in memory in manner to capture relationships between data using components associated with a respective generic computer environment.
Step 2B:
Below is the analysis of the claims:
A computer-implemented method of increasing safety of a Reinforcement Learning (RL) agent operating with a text-based environment with safety constraints (recites field of use limitations of using a computer to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
generating a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG) data structure (recites field of use limitations describing, at a high-level of generality, a particular data structure to be used, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) using generic safety knowledge of entities and expected safety interactions in the environment (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of storing information in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(d));
As seen from above, the respective claim elements taken individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. When taken as a whole (in combination), the claim also does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements recite mere data gathering information and storing it in memory in manner to capture relationships between data using components associated with a respective generic computer environment.
With regard to claim 2, this claim recites wherein the RL agent performs a line search governed by the safety hints and constraint cost to determine an action to take (which recites mental process steps of evaluation/comparison of information).
With regard to claim 3, this claim recites based on a result of the action, updating the textual model and the RL agent (recites mental process steps of evaluation what occurred based on the action taken and determining what the current state/environment is in order to make a new decision).
With regard to claim 4, this claim recites obtaining the safety hints from the textual model using a safety concept net and semantic similarities (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of receiving information which amounts to well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving data over a network, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
With regard to claim 6, this claim recites wherein, when a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG, generating a corresponding safety hint by: finding a lemma form of an antonym for the semantically close node or edge; and construct the corresponding safety hint based on the antonym (recites mental process step of evaluation and analysis of information including language parsing and understanding such as lemma form of an antonym).
With regard to claim 7, this claim recites updating a safety hint action list with all semantically close available actions in the current state of the environment (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of sorting information which amounts to well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of sorting information, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
With regard to claim 8:
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations which are drawn towards an abstract idea:
a safety hint generator for generating safety hints based on the safety concept net and a text model of the operating environment (recites mental process steps of evaluation and analysis of an environment to determine entities/objects that are potentially unsafe or hazardous, similar to perception checks in tabletop role-playing games),
wherein the safety hint generator determines semantic closeness between an entity attribute and any node or edge of the SCNG to generate the safety hints (recites mental process steps of evaluating/analyzing/comparison to determine how similar two objects are);
a dynamic constraint cost calculator to determine a constraint cost based on the safety hints (recites mental process steps of evaluation, including weighting or mathematical calculation, of the cost/benefit of doing one action over another),
As seen from above, the identified limitations recite concepts associated with an abstract idea and thus the respective claim recites a judicial exception (see 2106.04(a)) and thus requires further analysis as discussed below.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The following limitations have been identified as being additional elements as discussed below.
A Reinforcement Learning (RL) system, comprising: an RL agent comprising a deep neural network, the RL agent for performing a task in an operating environment based on a policy optimized through trial and error (recites utilizing a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f));
and a safety system for increasing safety of the RL agent based on specified constraints (recites generic computer elements at a high-level of generality to implement the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
the safety system comprising; a safety concept net for entities in the operating environment, wherein the safety concept net comprises a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG) (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of storing information in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(g)),
wherein the safety system updates the RL agent based on the safety hints and constraint cost (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of transmitting information and storing information, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As seen from the above discussion, the identified limitations did not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recite at a high-level of generality the usage of a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception with various additional elements discussing generic functionality associated with storage and transmitting information.
Step 2B:
Below is the analysis of the claims:
A Reinforcement Learning (RL) system, comprising: an RL agent comprising a deep neural network, the RL agent for performing a task in an operating environment based on a policy optimized through trial and error (recites utilizing a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f));
and a safety system for increasing safety of the RL agent based on specified constraints (recites generic computer elements at a high-level of generality to implement the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
the safety system comprising; a safety concept net for entities in the operating environment, wherein the safety concept net comprises a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG) (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of storing information in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(d)),
wherein the safety system updates the RL agent based on the safety hints and constraint cost (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of transmitting information and storing information, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
As seen from above, the respective claim elements taken individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. When taken as a whole (in combination), the claim also does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea recite at a high-level of generality the usage of a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception with various additional elements discussing generic functionality associated with storage and transmitting information.
With regard to claim 9, this claim recites wherein the specified constraints are in text form (recites field of use limitations describing the format of the data, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
With regard to claim 10, this claim recites wherein the operating environment is textual (recites field of use limitations describing the format of the data, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
With regard to claim 11, this claim recites wherein the safety hint generator comprises a semantic analyzer to generate the safety hints based on the safety concept net and a text model of the operating environment (recites mental process steps of analyzing information and forming judgements (safety hints)).
With regards to claim 13, this claim recites wherein, when the closeness between the entity attribute and a node or edge of the SCNG is within a threshold, the semantic analyzer determines a lemma form of an antonym for the entity attribute to generate the safety hint (recites mental process step of evaluation and analysis of information including language parsing and understanding such as lemma form of an antonym).
With regard to claim 14, this claim recites wherein the semantic analyzer determines how semantically close the safety hint is to all current possible actions the RL agent may take to generate a safety hint action command (recites mental process steps of determining if a safety hint or any hint/suggestion is related to possible actions).
With regard to claim 15, this claim is substantially similar to claim 8 and is rejected for similar reasons as discussed above.
With regard to claims 16-17, 19, and 20, these claims are substantially similar to claims 9, 11, 13, and 14 respectively and are rejected for similar reasons as discussed above.
Claims 8-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed towards software per se. Claim 8 recites “an RL agent” and “a safety system” where the safety system comprises “a safety concept net”; “a safety hint generator”; and “a dynamic constraint cost calculator” in the body of the claim. The applicant’s specification at paragraph [0001] indicates that an “agent” is a software program with paragraph [0062] indicating that instructions, when executed provide the safety system (i.e. instructions equate to program code). Therefore, claim 8 is rejected for being directed towards software per se. Claims 9-11, 13, and 14 inherit the same deficiencies as claim 8 as discussed above and are rejected for similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-11, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al, “SCERL: A Benchmark for intersecting language and Safe Reinforcement Learning” (from IDS) in view of Yang et al, “Safe Reinforcement Learning with Natural Language Constraints” (from IDS) and Murugesan et al, “Text-based RL Agents with Commonsense Knowledge: New Challenges, Environments and Baselines” (from IDS).
With regard to claim 1, Hoang teaches a computer-implemented method ofenvironment with safety constraints (see section 3 on page 2 and section 4.1 on page 3; the system allows for reinforcement learning of agents based on a text-based environment), the method comprising:
operating the RL agent, using the safety hints
Hoang teaches safety hints/constraints (see page 7 with respect to section 3.1 in Supplementary Materials; the system can receive safety hints/constraints) but does not appear to explicitly teach:
generating a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG) data structure using generic safety knowledge of entities and expected safety interactions in the environment;
based on current state information of the environment, extract safety entities of interest using the SCNG;
determine if a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG;
when a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG, generate a corresponding safety hint;
based on the safety hints, using a dynamic constraint cost function for determining a constraint cost on actions taken by the RL agent in the environment;
and operating the RL agent, using the safety hints and the constraint cost, to determine the action to take.
Murugesan teaches generating a
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang by utilizing a ConceptNet that can determine similarities or contextual connections associated with observed entities as taught by Murugesan in order to allow agents to be able to capitalize on commonsense knowledge about entities and their relationships with each other so that the agent can make decisions that are based on greater understanding of all the observed entities in the environment including eliminating consideration of implausible actions and determine how their current actions might affect the next state.
Hoang in view of Murugesan teach generating a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG) data structure using generic safety knowledge of entities and expected safety interactions in the environment (see Hoang, section 3.1; section 4.1 on page 3, and page 7 with respect to section 3.1 in Supplementary Materials; see Murugesan, section 3.3 and section 4.1 Commonsense-based agents; the system can utilize a conceptNet to determine hints or commonsense knowledge about various entities via their similarities to one another based on the current observation with the knowledge including safety knowledge);
based on current state information of the environment, extract safety entities of interest using the SCNG (see Hoang, see page 7 with respect to section 3.1 in Supplementary Materials & section 4.1 on page 3; see Murugesan, section 3.3. on page 4; the system can utilize the observations to determine entities that are relevant or of interest at that particular observation and time).
Hoang in view of Murugesan teach action scores (see Murugesan, section 3.5) but do not appear to explicitly teach:
determine if a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG;
when a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG, generate a corresponding safety hint;
based on the safety hints, using a dynamic constraint cost function for determining a constraint cost on actions taken by the RL agent in the environment;
and operating the RL agent, using the safety hints and the constraint cost, to determine the action to take.
Yang teaches based on the safety hints, using a dynamic constraint cost function for determining a constraint cost on actions taken by the RL agent in the environment (see page 6, sections (1) and (2); the system can utilize the hints/masks as part of the input for determining a cost for an action).
operating the RL agent, using the safety and constraint cost, to determine an action to take (see page 6, section (2) Policy network; the system can utilize the constraint masks/hints and cost budget mask to determine an action based on the current observations).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang in view of Murugesan by utilizing information from current observations to determine what safety constraints could be applicable at the current state/time as taught by Yang in order to allow the system to simplify the reduce the respective constraints into a simplifier form that the respective system can easily analyze and utilize to determine what safety constraints are applicable to the current state of the environment.
Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang teach:
determine if a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG (see Yang, section 5.1 starting on page 5 through second paragraph on page 6; see Hoang, section 4.1 on page 3; see Murugesan, section 3.3; the system can determine if a facts/states of objects such as fact of rotten for an entity of egg relates to any particular constraints or other information in the safety knowledge graph);
operating the RL agent, using the safety hints and the constraint cost, to determine the action to take (see Yang, page 6, section (2) Policy network; see Hoang, page 11, entire section 4.1 and 4.3; constraint costs or penalty scores can be utilized where the agents can receive safety hints/warnings).
With regard to claim 3, Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang teach based on a result of the action, updating a textual model and the RL agent (see Yang, sections (1) and (2) on page 6; the system can update the respective model and agent accordingly so that the model reflects the state after the agent performed an action with the respective agent as well as what the set of observable actions are in this new state).
With regard to claim 4, Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang teach obtaining the safety hints from the textual model using a safety concept net and semantic similarities (see Yang, section 5.1 starting on page 5 through second paragraph on page 6; and section 6.2; see Hoang, see page 7 with respect to section 3.1 in Supplementary Materials; see Murugesan, section 3.3; the system can utilize a ConceptNet with respect to safety considerations for determining safety hints/warnings).
With regard to claim 7, Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang teach updating a safety hint action list with all semantically close available actions in the current state of the environment (see Murugesan, section 3.3; see section 4.1 Commonsense-based agents; see Yang, sections (1) and (2) on page 6; the system can update the respective actions including their respective hints/costs/penalties for the actions based on the current state/observations).
With regard to claim 8, Hoang teaches
a Reinforcement Learning (RL) system, comprising: an RL agent
and a safety system for increasing safety of the RL agent based on specified constraints (see page 7; safety constraints can be provided to the system to help increase the safety of the RL agent).
Hoang does not appear to explicitly teach:
an RL agent comprising a deep neural network,
the safety system comprising; a safety concept net for entities in the operating environment, wherein the safety concept net comprises a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG);
a safety hint generator for generating safety hints based on the safety concept net and a text model of the operating environment, wherein the safety hint generator determines semantic closeness between an entity attribute and any node or edge of the SCNG to generate the safety hints;
and a dynamic constraint cost calculator to determine a constraint cost based on the safety hints,
wherein the safety system updates the RL agent based on the safety hints and constraint cost.
Yang teaches an RL agent comprising a deep neural network (see section 5.1 on page 5; the agent comprises a deep neural network),
a safety hint generator for generating safety hints based
a dynamic constraint cost calculator to determine a constraint cost based on the safety hints (see page 6, sections (1) and (2); the system can utilize the hints/masks as part of the input for determining a cost for an action).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang by utilizing information from current observations to determine what safety constraints could be applicable at the current state/time as taught by Yang in order to allow the system to simplify the reduce the respective constraints into a simplifier form that the respective system can easily analyze and utilize to determine what safety constraints are applicable to the current state of the environment.
Hoang in view of Yang do not appear to explicitly teach:
the safety system comprising; a safety concept net for entities in the operating environment, wherein the safety concept net comprises a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG);
a safety hint generator for generating safety hints based on the safety concept net and a text model of the operating environment, wherein the safety hint generator determines semantic closeness between an entity attribute and any node or edge of the SCNG to generate the safety hints.
Hoang in view of Yang teach wherein the safety system updates the RL agent based on the safety hints and constraint cost (see Yang, sections (1) and (2) on page 6; see Hoang, section 4.3; the system can update the respective model and agent accordingly so that the model reflects the state after the agent performed an action with the respective agent as well as what the set of observable actions are in this new state).
Murugesan teaches a
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang in view of Yang by utilizing a ConceptNet that can determine similarities or contextual connections associated with observed entities as taught by Murugesan in order to allow agents to be able to capitalize on commonsense knowledge about entities and their relationships with each other so that the agent can make decisions that are based on greater understanding of all the observed entities in the environment.
Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan teach the safety system comprising; a safety concept net for entities in the operating environment, wherein the safety concept net comprises a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG); a safety hint generator for generating safety hints based on the safety concept net and a text model of the operating environment, wherein the safety hint generator determines semantic closeness between an entity attribute and any node or edge of the SCNG to generate the safety hints (see Yang, section 5.1 starting on page 5 through second paragraph on page 6; and section 6.2; see page 6, section (2) Policy Network; see Hoang, page 11, page 7 with respect to section 3.1 in Supplementary Materials & section 4.1 and 4.3; see Murugesan, section 3.3 and section 4.1 Commonsense-based agents; the system can utilize a ConceptNet with respect to safety considerations for determining safety hints/warnings and be able to link entities contextually to determine expected interactions where the system can determine if a facts/states of objects such as fact of rotten for an entity of egg relates to any particular constraints or other information in the safety knowledge graph).
With regard to claim 9, Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan teach wherein the specified constraints are in text form (see Hoang, section 3.1 on page 2; see Yang, section (1); the constraints can be written via text).
With regard to claim 10, Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan teach wherein the operating environment is textual (see Hoang, Abstract and section 3.1 on page 2 and section 5 indicating the agent explores a text-based domain; see Murugesan, section 2; the environment is textual).
With regard to claim 11, Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan teach wherein the safety hint generator comprises a semantic analyzer to generate the safety hints based on the safety concept net and a text model of the operating environment (see Yang, section 5.1 starting on page 5 through second paragraph on page 6; and section 6.2; see Hoang, see page 7 with respect to section 3.1 in Supplementary Materials; see Murugesan, section 3.3; the system can utilize a ConceptNet with respect to safety considerations for determining safety hints/warnings).
With regard to claim 14, Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan in further view of Chaudhury teach wherein the semantic analyzer determines how semantically close the safety hint is to all current possible actions the RL agent may take to generate a safety hint action command (see Murugesan, section 3.3; see section 4.1 Commonsense-based agents; see Yang, sections (1) and (2) on page 6; the system can update the respective actions including their respective hints/costs/penalties for the actions based on the current state/observations).
With regard to claims 15-17 and 20, these claims are substantially similar to claims 8, 9, 11, and 14 and are rejected for similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al, “SCERL: A Benchmark for intersecting language and Safe Reinforcement Learning” (from IDS) in view of Yang et al, “Safe Reinforcement Learning with Natural Language Constraints” (from IDS) and Murugesan et al, “Text-based RL Agents with Commonsense Knowledge: New Challenges, Environments and Baselines” (from IDS) in further view of Mannor et al [US 2022/0398283 A1].
With regard to claim 2, Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang do not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein the RL agent performs a line search governed by the safety hints and constraint cost to determine an action to take.
Mannor teaches wherein the RL agent performs a line search governed by
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang by implementing a search means of future state/action predictions as taught by Mannor in order to help improve the overall benefit/reward for the system by not limiting the decision making to the immediate possible actions but rather be able to determine where the selection of an action can lead thus helping the system determine the best trajectory or path forward even if the immediate action may not be deemed the best individual choice.
Hoang in view of Murugesan and Yang in further view of Mannor teach wherein the RL agent performs a line search governed by the safety hints and the constraint cost to determine the action to take (see Mannor, paragraph [0045]; see Yang, first paragraph on page 4 and section (2) on page 6; see Hoang, page 7 with respect to section 3.1 in Supplementary Materials; the system can receive various hints/constraints as well as associated costs and utilize that information to determine an action to take).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al, “SCERL: A Benchmark for intersecting language and Safe Reinforcement Learning” (from IDS) in view of Yang et al, “Safe Reinforcement Learning with Natural Language Constraints” (from IDS) and Murugesan et al, “Text-based RL Agents with Commonsense Knowledge: New Challenges, Environments and Baselines” (from IDS) in further view of Tian et al [US 2023/0196023 A1].
With regard to claim 6, Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan do not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein, when a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG, generating a corresponding safety hint by: finding a lemma form of an antonym for the semantically close node or edge; and construct the corresponding safety hint based on the antonym.
Tian teaches finding a lemma form of an antonym (see paragraph [0046]; the system can utilize word analysis of various language forms such as being able to lemmatize noun forms of synonyms and antonyms).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang in view of Ya Yang and Murugesan by being able to utilize language analysis techniques including lemmatizing noun forms of antonyms as taught by Tian in order to structure the various natural language texts into a standardized form including making sure that anonyms are in a more understandable form so that the system can accurately interpret and understand the respective natural language text without forcing the natural language understanding portion of the system (and/or agents) to be larger and trained to understand all possible natural language input when training understanding on the base forms of the words/phrases can achieve high-quality results while allowing the model/understanding module not be overly bloated.
Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan in further view of Tian teach wherein, when a fact attribute of an entity of interest is semantically close to any node or edge in the SCNG, generating a corresponding safety hint by: finding a lemma form of an antonym for the semantically close node or edge; and construct the corresponding safety hint based on the antonym (see Tian, paragraph [0046]; see Hoang, page 7; see Murugesan section (3) on page 5; see Yang, sections (1) and (2) on page 6; the system has various constraints that can be utilized to determine if they are applicable to the current observations including by being able to change respective textual input into a lemma form).
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al, “SCERL: A Benchmark for intersecting language and Safe Reinforcement Learning” (from IDS) in view of Yang et al, “Safe Reinforcement Learning with Natural Language Constraints” (from IDS) and Murugesan et al, “Text-based RL Agents with Commonsense Knowledge: New Challenges, Environments and Baselines” (from IDS) in further view of Tian et al [US 2023/0196023 A1] and Chaudhury et al [US 2021/0390387 A1].
With regard to claim 13, Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan teach all the claim limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan do not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein, when the closeness between the entity attribute and a node or edge of the SCNG is within a threshold, a semantic analyzer determines a lemma form of an antonym for the entity attribute to generate the safety hint.
Chaudhury teaches when the closeness between the entity attribute and a node or edge
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan by being able to restrict what related concepts/entities should also be considered by the system/agent as taught by Chaudhury in order to be able to allow for neighborhood entities/concepts to be considered by the system while reducing the amount of information that the agent has to consider by not extracting or utilizing respective concepts/entities that are of low semantic/related/relevant value to the current state thus reducing overall computations/analysis that the respective system/agent has to evaluate.
Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan in further view of Chaudhury teach when the closeness between the entity attribute and a node or edge of the SCNG is within a threshold (see Murugesan section (3) on page 5; see Yang, sections (1) and (2) on page 6; see second paragraph on page 5 discussing relational constraints; see Chaudhury, paragraph [0044]; the system can determine entities/concepts that are similar to observed entities/concepts at a particular time and be able to determine respective hints/warnings/constraints associated with those observed entities/concept).
Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan in further view of Chaudhury do not appear to explicitly teach:
the semantic analyzer determines a lemma form of an antonym for the entity attribute to generate the safety hint.
Tian teaches finding a lemma form of an antonym (see paragraph [0046]; the system can utilize word analysis of various language forms such as being able to lemmatize noun forms of synonyms and antonyms).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the knowledge-aware and commonsense agents as taught by Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan in further view of Chaudhury by being able to utilize language analysis techniques including lemmatizing noun forms of antonyms as taught by Tian in order to structure the various natural language texts into a standardized form including making sure that anonyms are in a more understandable form so that the system can accurately interpret and understand the respective natural language text without forcing the natural language understanding portion of the system (and/or agents) to be larger and trained to understand all possible natural language input when training understanding on the base forms of the words/phrases can achieve high-quality results while allowing the model/understanding module not be overly bloated.
Hoang in view of Yang and Murugesan in further view of Chaudhury and in further view of Tian teach the semantic analyzer determines a lemma form of an antonym for the entity attribute to generate the safety hint (see Tian, paragraph [0046]; see Hoang, page 7; see Chaudhury, paragraph [0044]; see Murugesan section (3) on page 5; see Yang, sections (1) and (2) on page 6; the system has various constraints that can be utilized to determine if they are applicable to the current observations including by being able to change respective textual input into a lemma form).
With regard to claim 19, this claim is substantially similar to claim 13 and is rejected for similar reasons as discussed above.
Examiner Comments
During review of the applicant’s amendments and arguments, the Examiner noticed that details regarding paragraph [0058] of applicant’s specification related to the constructed safety hints and their evaluation to all current state possible actions and being able to either output safety hint string and safety hint action commands or updates the safety hint action list with the closely ranked available actions in the current state and subsequently outputs safety hint string and safety hint action commands; which will be used by the dynamic constraint cost function (similar to claims 6 and 7 combined). Additionally, or alternatively, expanding upon the SCNG as discussed in Figure 4 and paragraphs [0053].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (see the last paragraph on page 7 through first paragraph on page 8) with respect to objections to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of the specification have been withdrawn. The applicant amended the specification and thus the respective objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments (see the second paragraph on page 8 through the third paragraph on page 8) with respect to objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of the claims have been withdrawn. The applicant amended the claims and thus the respective objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments (see the fourth from last paragraph on page 8 through the second paragraph on page 9) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the claims do not merely recite an abstract idea but provide a specific and concrete solution to the problem of ensuring safety of reinforcement learning in a text-based environment with specific steps of generating a Safety Concept Net Graph (SCNG) data structure and extracting safety entities of interest, determining semantic closeness and generating safety hints with the generating safety hints is far more than insignificant extrasolution activity that transform the abstract idea into a practical method. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the 35 USC 101 rejections, the generation of the SCNG relates to field of use limitations of describing a data structure, although applicant provided a name/label to the data structure, it is recited at a high-level of generality. Additionally, the other above cited elements relate to the mental process steps. With regard to applicant’s arguments regarding an improvement or specific and concrete solution, the Examiner notes that, per MPEP 2106.05(a), that “[a]n important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107.” (emphasis added). Additionally, it is important to note that “the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement” and that “the claim reflects the asserted improvement”. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments (see the third paragraph on page 9 through the last paragraph on page 11) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the Murugusan reference neither teaches nor suggests the amended generating a SCNG limitations since Murugusan does not teach or suggest “hints” nor determining hints based on semantic closeness of an attribute of an entity to a node/edge in the ConceptNet. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although different terms are used, the Examiner notes that the requirements for patentability is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identify of terminology is not required. As shown above in the 35 USC 103 rejections, the prior art reference(s) perform(s) the same functionality of the claim limitations in that the combination teaches the limitation with the various references illustrating and discussing commonsense knowledge with various examples as well as providing information to agents as warnings so as to improve safety (see Hoang, section 4.3 about warnings; see Yang, section 5.1 about safety criteria based on a constraint interpreter being used to determine an action for the agent and Hoang, sections 3.1 and 4.1 about general safety knowledge such as electric or hot items being a fire hazard if not turned off and avoid eating rotten eggs). Additionally, as shown in the 35 USC 103 rejections, the Murugusan reference was not relied upon by itself to teach the limitation. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC S SOMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159 7/21/2026