DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The embodiment from claim 1 wherein “the non-rotatable element is movable in an axial direction” and/or the non-rotatable element holding a gasket and the rotatable element defining a contact area for the gasket
The embodiment from claim 5 wherein “the gasket is provided on the non-rotatable element and the contact area is provided on the rotatable element.”
The embodiment from claim 8 “wherein the protrusion is provided on a radially outer element of the non-rotatable element and the rotatable element by way of a decreased inner diameter of the outer element.”
The embodiment from claim 11 “wherein the rotatable element forms a radially inner element, in particular an inner shaft, and the non-rotatable element forms a radially outer element, in particular an outer shaft, the non-rotatable element at least sectionally surrounding the rotatable element.”
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (q) because the lead lines all contain either dots or arrows on the end. Lead lines should not contain dots and should only contain arrows when referencing an assembly as a whole.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (q) because the figures are labeled as Figure # but should be labeled as FIG. # where # is replaced by the number of the figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is no description in the specification or drawings of how the present invention could have an embodiment where the non-rotatable element is movable in an axial direction in order to seal and unseal the air passageway. With the configurations as shown and described, there would be no way to implement a bias spring to return the engaging element if the element were non-rotatable without redesigning the engaging element and the surrounding components. Furthermore, there is no provision for the rotatable element 2 to be rotatable in relation to the hub flange 19 (e.g. bearing or bearing surface).
Regarding claim 11 there is no description in the specification or drawings of how the present invention could have an embodiment “wherein the rotatable element forms a radially inner element, in particular an inner shaft, and the non-rotatable element forms a radially outer element, in particular an outer shaft, the non-rotatable element at least sectionally surrounding the rotatable element.”
Claims 2-10 and 12-16 are dependent on claim 1 and are therefore also rejected.
Claims 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsiberidou US 20170246922 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Tsiberidou discloses tire inflation system having a non-rotatable element 56 and a rotatable element 58 mounted at the non-rotatable element 56, a fluid path 68 extending through a cavity of the non-rotatable element and through a cavity of the rotatable element, for passing a fluid from the non-rotatable element 56 to the rotatable element 58, wherein at least one of the rotatable element 58 and the non-rotatable element 56 is movable in an axial direction with respect to the other, between a standard position and an inflation position, and is configured to slide towards the inflation position, against the bias of a return spring 78, in response to a fluid pressure being provided in the fluid path 68, wherein a gap is provided between the non-rotatable element 56 and the rotatable element 58, one of the non-rotatable element 56 and the rotatable element 58 holding a gasket 60 that extends within the gap, and a remaining one of the non-rotatable element 56 and the rotatable element 58 defining a contact area for the gasket 60, wherein, in the inflation position, the gasket 60 is in sealing engagement with the contact area (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Tsiberidou discloses the tire inflation system of claim 1, wherein the gap is a radial gap. (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 5, Tsiberidou discloses the tire inflation system of claim 1, wherein the gasket 60 is provided on the rotatable element 58 and the contact area is provided on the non-rotatable element 56. (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 6, Tsiberidou discloses the tire inflation system of claim 1, wherein the contact area is provided on a protrusion protruding from the respective element which defines the contact area, the protrusion being arranged to axially align with the gasket in the inflation position. (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 7, Tsiberidou discloses the tire inflation system of claim 6, wherein the protrusion is provided on a radially inner element of the non-rotatable element 56 and the rotatable element 58 by way of an increased outer diameter of the inner element, for example at an end portion thereof. (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 9, Tsiberidou discloses the tire inflation system of claim 6, wherein the protrusion includes a widening section, such as a conical section, wherein, in response to the fluid pressure being provided in the fluid path, the gasket is configured to slide across the widening section to the contact area during transition from the standard position towards the inflation position. (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 10, Tsiberidou discloses the tire inflation system of claim 1, wherein the sealing engagement between the gasket and the contact area includes the gasket being compressed. (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 11, Tsiberidou discloses the tire inflation system of claim 1, wherein the non-rotatable element 56 forms a radially inner element, in particular an inner shaft, and the rotatable element 58 forms a radially outer element, in particular an outer shaft, the rotatable element at least sectionally surrounding the non-rotatable element (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/AP/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615