DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to as it appears to contain a misspelling of “NVDs” in “a second subset of VNDs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, the claims recite “the first TOR” and “the second TOR”. Examiner understands these terms are meant to represent one of the previously claimed TOR switches which are assigned to a respective fault domain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated over Reddy US 20190068466 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Reddy teaches the invention as claimed including:
A method comprising:
providing an availability domain comprising a rack (Fig 2 Rack), the rack comprising a plurality of top-of-rack (TOR) switches and a plurality of host machines (Fig 2 Sleds; [0073] Each rack device is connected to one or more switches 1716, represented herein as top-of-rack switches 1716. Each top-of-rack switch 1716 is connected to one or more sleds 1718 (which may be placed inside or associated with a rack device 1714));
creating a first fault domain within the availability domain, the first fault domain comprising a first TOR switch from the plurality of TOR switches and a first subset of host machines from the plurality of host machines, the first subset of host machines being communicatively coupled to the first TOR (Fig 17 Fault Domain 1722); and
creating a second fault domain within the availability domain, the second fault domain comprising a second TOR switch from the plurality of TOR switches and a second subset of host machines from the plurality of host machines, the second subset of host machines being communicatively coupled to the second TOR ([0074] the compute device 1200 continues to execute the method 1500 for automatic discovery of fault domains. The method 1500 continues at block 1532, in which the compute device 1200 generates a fault domain mapping based on the sled data. More specifically, and referring to block 1534, the compute device 1200 generates the fault domain mapping based on switch data. For example, switch data for each sled 1718 is collated by sled and the sleds connected to each switch (e.g., a top-of-rack switch in a rack) are stored in a data structure (e.g., a tree or graph) in association with an identifier for the switch; Fig 17 multiple fault domains from different power sources).
Regarding claim 2, Reddy teaches the method of claim 1.
Reddy further teaches wherein the first TOR switch is different than the second TOR switch (Fig 17 Different TOR Switches TOR 1 TOR N within different fault domains).
Regarding claim 3, Reddy teaches the method of claim 1.
Reddy further teaches wherein the first subset of host machines is disjoint from the second subset of host machines (Fig 17 Different Sleds 1718 within different fault domains).
Regarding claim 4, Reddy teaches the method of claim 1.
Reddy further teaches wherein the availability domain corresponds to a datacenter located within a region (Fig 17 Datacenter 1).
Regarding claim 9, it is the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1 respectfully. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 respectfully.
Regarding claims 9-12, they are the non-transitory computer readable media of claims 1-4 respectfully. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-4 respectfully.
Regarding claims 17 and 19-20, they are the computing devices of claims 1-3 respectfully. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-3 respectfully.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Reddy US 20190068466 A1 in view of Bansal et al. US 20230269201 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Reddy teaches the method of claim 1.
Reddy does not explicitly teach wherein the rack comprises a plurality of network virtualization devices (NVDs), and wherein a first subset of NVDs from the plurality of NVDs connects the first subset of host machines to the first TOR.
However, Bansal teaches wherein the rack comprises a plurality of network virtualization devices (NVDs), and wherein a first subset of NVDs from the plurality of NVDs connects the first subset of host machines to the first TOR ([0003] A typical computing rack of a cloud service provider may have at least one top-of-rack (ToR) switch (two or more if redundancy is provided) and a number of servers. Each of the servers may have a special cloud-based network interface card (NIC), which may be referred to as a smart NIC (“SmartNIC”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Bansal’s smartNIC networking devices with the existing system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the resulting system with the advantage of coordinating virtual machine networking (see Bansal [0003] At a minimum, a SmartNIC may allow for each virtual machine (VM) to talk to any other VM through various types of virtual tunneling mechanisms. This may ensure that a virtual network can be instantiated in which all data communications are contained within the virtual network's boundaries and no other customer's VMs can communicate with it in any way).
Regarding claim 6, Reddy and Bansal teach the method of claim 5.
Bansal further teaches wherein a second subset of VNDs from the plurality of NVDs connects the second subset of host machines to the second TOR ([0036] other racks that contain servers with SmartNICs).
Regarding claim 7, Reddy teaches the method of claim 1.
Bansal further teaches further comprising: associating a first set of addresses corresponding to host machines included in the first subset of host machines with the first TOR; forwarding, by a control plane, a first packet destined for a first host machine included in the first subset of host machines to the first TOR ([0050] The network device may facilitate communications within networks in the data center, for example, by forwarding packets or other data communications as appropriate based on characteristics of such communications (e.g., header information including source and/or destination addresses, protocol identifiers, etc.) and/or the characteristics of the private network (e.g., routes based on network topology, etc.)).
Regarding claims 13-15, they are the non-transitory computer readable media of claims 5-7 respectfully. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 5-7 respectfully.
Regarding claim 18, it is the computing device of claim 5 respectfully. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5 respectfully.
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Reddy US 20190068466 A1 in view of Mohammed et al. US 20180262563 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Reddy teaches the method of claim 1.
Reddy does not explicitly teach providing one or more fault domains included in the rack to a customer; obtaining a request requesting allocation of one or more host machines in the rack to the customer; and assigning the one or more host machines included in the one or more fault domains in accordance with the request.
However, Mohammed teaches providing one or more fault domains included in the rack to a customer; obtaining a request requesting allocation of one or more host machines in the rack to the customer; and assigning the one or more host machines included in the one or more fault domains in accordance with the request ([0040] a tenant creates virtual machine sets to be allocated in the distributed computing system and a cluster-tenant is associated with fault domains; [0049] At a high level, virtual machine sets for a tenant can be allocated to a distributed computing system based on tenant-defined availability parameters that allow for virtual machine set spanning or virtual machine set non-spanning at zone-tier, fault-tier and update-tier isolation tiers to meet tenant availability goals. Allocating virtual machines instances can specifically be based on instantiating cluster-tenants, for the virtual machine instances, across several computing clusters in different availability zones. For example, the availability management system 200 can be configured to allow one or more cluster-tenants per computing cluster for a virtual machine set. The availability manager 230 also allocates virtual machine sets to computing clusters and availability zones when scaling-out and scaling-in).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined Mohammed’s cloud fault domain virtual resource allocation to tenants with the existing system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide the resulting system with the advantage of providing cloud customers with level of service availability guarantees (see Mohammed [0002] a comprehensive availability management system can be implemented to improve customer availability offerings and configurations for availability management in distributed computing systems).
Regarding claim 16, it is the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8 respectfully. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8 respectfully.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to HARRISON LI whose telephone number is (703) 756-1469. The
examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:30pm ET.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Aimee Li can be reached on (571) 272-4169. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/H.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195