DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 03/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/26/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 28 in Fig.1 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Interior chamber 204 in paragraphs [0062], [0064]-[0065], [0067]-[0068]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by (Gish et al. US Pub No. 20190381306 A1, herein, Gish).
Regarding claim 1, Gish discloses a fluid connector assembly comprising:
a first connector (100 – Fig.1B) having a first end and a second end (See annotated Fig.2B below);
a second connector (See annotated Fig.3 below) configured to couple to the first connector (Fig.3, “the inlet being configured to receive a male luer” – Para [0023]); and
a connecting mechanism disposed on the first connector (108 – Fig.1B), wherein the connecting mechanism comprises a first end and a second end opposite the first end (See annotated Fig.2B below),
wherein the second end of the connecting mechanism extends past the second end of the first connector (See annotated Fig.2B below), and
wherein when the first connector and the second connector are disconnected, the connecting mechanism remains disposed on the first connector (“A sleeve or cover may be positioned to envelop at least a portion of the connector body” - para [0023], Fig.2B).
Regarding claim 2, Gish discloses the fluid connector assembly set forth above, wherein the connecting mechanism is formed of an elastomeric material (“acrylic resin, butyl rubber, epoxy, latex, polyurethane, rubber, silicone, urethane” – Para [0032], since the connecting mechanism 108, comprises sealants that are elastomeric material, the connecting mechanism is formed of an elastomeric material)
Regarding claim 3, Gish discloses the fluid connector assembly set forth above, wherein the connecting mechanism is slidable (“lateral movement of the cover” – Para [0024]) along the first connector and comprises a deployed position (“expanded position” – Para [0024], Fig.1A) and a retracted position (“retracted position” – Para [0024], Fig.1B).
Regarding claim 4, Gish discloses the fluid connector assembly set forth above, wherein in the deployed position (Fig.1A), the second end of the connecting mechanism extends beyond the second end of the first connector such that the second end of the first connector is positioned within an interior chamber (206 – Fig.2A) of the connecting mechanism (Fig.2A), and wherein, in the retracted position (Fig.2B), the second end of the connecting mechanism is positioned closer to the first end of the connecting mechanism such that the second end of the first connector is positioned outside of the interior chamber (Fig.2B).
Regarding claim 5, Gish discloses the fluid connector assembly set forth above, wherein in the retracted position (Fig.2B), the second connector is capable of being coupled to the first connector (“a first position to a second position (e.g. opens and closes) to expose the inlet (see FIG. 1B), the inlet being configured to receive a male luer” – Para [0023], Fig.3), and wherein, in the deployed position, when the first connector and the second connector are coupled, the first connector and the second connector are disposed within the interior chamber of the connecting mechanism (See annotated Fig.2A and 3 below, when actuating the connecting mechanism, the user may place the connecting mechanism in the deployed position after coupling the first and second connectors, therefore the first and second connector would be disposed in the interior chamber of the connecting mechanism).
Regarding claim 6, Gish discloses the fluid connector assembly set forth above, although Gish does not explicitly disclose that the first connector and second connector decouple when a threshold is applied to one of the connectors, such functionality is inherent in any mechanically coupled connectors configured to decouple under load. Accordingly, the claimed threshold force represents an inherent characteristic of the disclosed coupling arrangement because the connectors must withstand forces below a certain level and decouple at forces exceeding that level.
Regarding claim 7, Gish discloses the fluid connector assembly set forth above, wherein when the first connector and the second connector are decoupled, the connecting mechanism remains coupled to the first connector in the deployed position (“A sleeve or cover may be positioned to envelop at least a portion of the connector body” - para [0023], Fig.2B).
Regarding claim 8, Gish discloses the fluid connector assembly set forth above, wherein when the first connector and second connector are decoupled and the connecting mechanism is in the deployed position, the connecting mechanism prevents the first connector and the second connector from being coupled (Fig.2A, “when the access point is in a closed position, the inlet may be enclosed or protected within the cover”, “In some instances, the access point may be a solid surface” – Para [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Leone et al. (US 20230355950 A1): Comprising a first and second connector with a connecting mechanism for medical port protection.
Walterspiel (US 20200408350 A1): Comprising a first and second connector with a connecting mechanism as a protective guard.
Dong et al. (CN 104415404 A): Comprising a first and second connector with a connecting mechanism as an auxiliary sealing member.
/MARISSA TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783