DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 17, 23-24 & 26-28 are pending in the application. Claim 23 is withdrawn. Claims 1-16, 18-22 & 25 are cancelled. Claims 27-28 are entered as “New”.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species Set A, Species XXVIII in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s 08/12/2026 Remarks indicate the rupturable element is meant to be Element 4608 in instant application Figures 46A/46B. As such, any claims claiming the rupturable element with the structure shown in Figures 46A/46B are withdrawn.
As such, Claim 23 is withdrawn, since the rupturable element being made of metal foil is exclusive to Figures 46A/46B, and elected Species Set A, Species XXVIII does not include this feature.
Regarding Claims 17 & 26-27, the claimed rupturable element will be broadly interpreted as plug 4508 for the purpose of examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner notes that the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submissions (see attachments) are extremely long, citing over 200 references for consideration. The Examiner has considered all of the references submitted as part of the Information Disclosure Statements, but has not found any to be particular relevance. If Applicant is aware of pertinent material in the references, it should be stated in a response to this Office action. Applicant is reminded of MPEP § 2004, paragraph 13:
It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Moreover, an IDS should comply with 37 CFR 1.56 (b) which states that "information is material to patentability which is not cumulative to information already of record or being made of record in the application …" [emphasis added]. The cited references, in addition to being extensive in volume, also appear to be largely cumulative, therefore, based upon the large number of references cited, the initialed references have been considered in a cumulative manner. Examiner further notes that numerous cited references appear to have little or no relevance at all to the disclosed/claimed invention, many of which do not even mention gas elements, plugs, or rupturable elements.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The rupturable element of Species Set A, Species XXVIII
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the term “compressed gas force element” is not used in the specification; the term “rupturable element” is not used to describe elected Species Set A, Species XXVIII.
Claim Objections
Claims 17, 24 & 26-28 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 17 should read -- An ingestible device for delivery of a liquid dispensable substance, comprising:
a housing;
a storage reservoir in the housing for storing the liquid dispensable substance;
a piston slidable in the housing;
a compressed gas force element configured to exert force on the piston when the device is actuated;
the piston located between the compressed gas force element and the storage reservoir;
the storage reservoir connecting with at least one outlet;
a rupturable element between the storage reservoir and the at least one outlet;
wherein when actuated, the compressed gas force element exerts force on the piston, and the piston exerts pressure on the liquid dispensable substance, rupturing the rupture element when the pressure on the liquid dispensable substance reaches a threshold level, with the liquid dispensable substance flowing out of the housing as a jet of liquid from the at least one outlet.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows.
“compressed gas force element” in Claim 17, where the generic placeholder is “element”, the functional language is “compressed gas force” or “configured to exert force on the piston”, and sufficient modifying structure is not provided; instant application Paragraph 0436 describes structure which performs a function similar to the claimed function, but does not directly link the compressed gas force element as the pre-pressurized gas chamber 4503; Applicant should directly connect these structures by amending the specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 24 & 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gross (U.S. PGPub 2004/0253304).
As to Claim 17, Gross teaches an ingestible device (Figures 29A/29B) for delivery of a liquid (Paragraph 0430) dispensable substance (106), comprising:
a housing (102);
a storage reservoir (the reservoir within 102, to the right of 122, as viewed in Figure 29A) in the housing (102) for storing (as shown in Figure 29A) the liquid dispensable substance (106);
a piston (122; Paragraph 0439) slidable in (one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude a piston, as taught in Paragraph 0439, would need to slide to operate as intended) the housing (102);
a compressed gas force element (118) configured to exert force on (Paragraph 0439) the piston (122) when the device (Figures 29A/29B) is actuated (Paragraph 0439);
the piston (122) between (as shown in Figure 29A) the compressed gas force element (118) and the storage reservoir (the reservoir within 102, to the right of 122, as viewed in Figure 29A);
the storage reservoir (the reservoir within 102, to the right of 122, as viewed in Figure 29A) connecting with (as shown in Figure 29A) at least one outlet (the outlet within 102 through which the needle portion of 220 extends, as shown in Figure 29B, shown as 110 in other figures);
a rupturable element (the portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A; Paragraphs 0464/0465) between (as shown in Figures 29A/29B) the storage reservoir (the reservoir within 102, to the right of 122, as viewed in Figure 29A) and the at least one outlet (the outlet within 102 through which the needle portion of 220 extends, as shown in Figure 29B, shown as 110 in other figures);
wherein when actuated (Paragraph 0440), the compressed gas force element (118) exerts force on (Paragraph 0439) the piston (122), and the piston (122) exerts pressure on (Paragraph 0440) the liquid dispensable substance (106), rupturing (Paragraphs 0464/0465) the rupture element (the portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A; Paragraphs 0464/0465) when the pressure on (Paragraphs 0440/0465) the liquid dispensable substance (106) reaches a threshold level (the force generated by elastic elements 222, as described in Paragraph 0465), with the liquid dispensable substance (106) flowing out of the housing (102) as a jet of liquid from (Paragraph 0465) the at least one outlet (the outlet within 102 through which the needle portion of 220 extends, as shown in Figure 29B, shown as 110 in other figures).
As to Claim 24, Gross teaches all the limitations of Claim 17, and continues to teach the at least one outlet (the outlet within 102 through which the needle portion of 220 extends, as shown in Figure 29B, shown as 110 in other figures) comprises a nozzle (as shown in Figure 29B) configured to create a high-pressure jet of the liquid dispensable substance (106) able to penetrate an intestinal wall (Paragraph 0465).
As to Claim 26, Gross teaches all the limitations of Claim 17, and continues to teach the rupturable element (the portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A; Paragraphs 0464/0465) comprises a burst disc (the disc portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A) which bursts (via needle 220, as described in Paragraph 0465) at the threshold pressure (the force generated by elastic elements 222, as described in Paragraph 0465).
As to Claim 27, Gross teaches all the limitations of Claim 17, and continues to teach the rupturable element (the portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A; Paragraphs 0464/0465) purposefully fractures (via needle 220, as described in Paragraph 0465) at the threshold pressure (the force generated by elastic elements 222, as described in Paragraph 0465).
As to Claim 28, Gross teaches all the limitations of Claim 17, and continues to teach the at least one outlet (the outlet within 102 through which the needle portion of 220 extends, as shown in Figure 29B, shown as 110 in other figures) comprises a nozzle (220, as shown in Figure 29B) in a sidewall (the top sidewall of 102, as viewed in Figure 29A) of (as shown in Figure 29B) the housing (102) adjacent to (as shown in Figure 29A) one end (the right end of 102, as viewed in Figure 29A) of the housing (102).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 0812/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the election of Species XXVIII, the 03/05/2026 Requirement for Restriction clearly stated Species XXVIII is embodied by instant application Figure 45. The 03/05/2026 Requirement for Restriction also clearly stated Figures 46A/46B is generic to Species Set A(XXIX & XXXII), neither of which are elected Species Set A XXVIII. Of note, Applicant’s 08/12/2026 Remarks on Page 4 explicitly states “the device uses either the plug 4508 shown in Fig. 45, or the burst disk 4608 shown in Fig. 46A, but not both.” Applicant continues to argue Figures 45 and 46 were elected. However, the combination of these figures was not an option for election. If Applicant felt the defined species in the 03/05/2026 Requirement for Restriction were incorrect, Applicant should have elected with traverse, stating what Applicant thought was the correct definition of the species. Applicant failed to do this. As Applicant clearly stated, Figures 45 and 46 are not compatible with each other. Applicant did not traverse the definition of species at the time of election, so Applicant’s arguments at this point in prosecution are moot.
Applicant continues to argue instant application Paragraph 0436-0439 clearly show Figures 46A/36B are alternative embodiments of Figure 45. Although Examiner does not agree with Applicant, this is a moot point. Applicant elected Species Set A XXVIII, which includes plug 4508, and made no attempt to clarify the election to not include plug 4508, but to include burst disk 4608. As such, when Applicant elected Species Set A XXVIII, the election included plug 4508, and any reference to the structure of the burst disc shown in Figures 46A/46B will result in the respective claims being withdrawn, if the structure cannot be broadly interpreted as part of plug 4508.
In addition to the above election, the embodiments shown in Figures 45/46A/46B are not compatible with each other. Figure 45 has plug 4508 which dissolves to create a pressure imbalance between reservoir 4505 and chamber 4503, forcing piston 4504 to the left in Figure 45. Figures 46A/46B do not show plug 4508, but instead show burst disc holder 4610 and burst disc 4608. As stated in the 112(a) rejection above, the rupturable element –burst disc 4608 in Figure 46A— prevents the pressure imbalance between reservoir 4505 and chamber 4503 when plug 4508 dissolves, preventing plug 4508 from acting as designed. As such, the original disclosure does not provide sufficient written description for the embodiment of Figures 46A/46B from being utilized within the embodiment if Figure 45.
Regarding the 102 rejection for Claim 17, Applicant argues Gross does not teach the rupturable element, since Gross teach a needle extending through wall 102, where the release occurs due to needle penetration, not from rupturing the rupture element. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s overall conclusion.
While the needle is what ruptures rupture element (the portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A; Paragraphs 0464/0465), the rupture element is still ruptured nonetheless. The claim does not describe how the rupture element is ruptured only that the rupture element is ruptured at a threshold pressure.
Regarding Claim 23, Applicant argues Gross does not teach the rupture element is made of a metal foil. This argument is moot, since Claim 23 is withdrawn for not reading on the elected species.
Regarding the 102 rejection for Claim 26, Applicant argues Gross does not teach the rupture element as a burst disc which bursts. Examiner disagrees.
The Gross rupture element (the portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A; Paragraphs 0464/0465) is broadly interpreted as a disc, since the Gross rupture element is only the portion of 104 around outlet 110, as viewed in Figure 29A. Additionally, the Gross rupture element bursts when the needle penetrates the burst element.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID N BRANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783