DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. (US 2015/0265768 A1) in view of Dhami (US 2015/0184648 A1).
With regard to claim 21, Vazquez et al. teach a medication infusion device comprising: a patch pump configured to be removably adhered to a wearer's skin (Fig. 2 member 100, adhesive 114) for delivering doses of medication from a cartridge (Fig. 3 cartridge 116) through a transcutaneous portion (Fig. 3 160), the patch pump comprising a pump housing (Fig. 1 housing 106); a pump motor disposed within the pump housing (Fig. 9 member 138), the pump motor configured to pump the medication towards the transcutaneous portion ([0064]); a sensor configured to sense a parameter ([0056], [0065], [0079], [0082], [0097], [0100], Fig. 18 406 and 408); a vibration motor separate (Fig. 9 member 132 coupled via device structure/operation) from and coupled with the pump motor; and a controller operatively coupled to the sensor and the vibration motor, the controller configured to cause the vibration motor to vibrate to alert the wearer based at least in part on the parameter sensed by the sensor ([0066], [0085], [0087], [0135], Fig. 18 processor 420, couple to the sensors and vibration motor 410 which provides alerts which can be generated, for example, in a scenario when the cartridge sensor has not detected a cartridge); a circuit board including the controller and the motor driver thereon, the circuit board configured as a flexible substrate, wherein the circuit board has a plurality of sections having electrical components thereon, each of the plurality of sections connected by flexible electrical connections (see [0064], [0066], Figs. 8-10 flexible substrate 130. As combined the motor driver would also be included with the circuit board. As the entirety of the substrate is flexible the connections would necessarily be flexible, there is more than one component on such a substrate). Vazquez et al. teach the substrate to be flexible but do not explicitly show it bent or folded around the motors. However, Dhami teaches a circuit board which is flexible between sections so it may conform and fold to fit the enclosure of a pump and provide functionality proximate a point of use (Fig. 9, [0129], [0133]-[0136]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the substrate would in some way bend and fold around the motors in Vazquez et al. as Dhami teaches this is beneficial to conform to the pump enclosure and allow components to be proximate their point of use. Further as the substrate of Vazquez et al. is entirely flexible this necessarily allows the substrate to conform around components for space and allows flexion for electrical attachments.
With regard to claim 28, Vazquez et al. teach sensors may be used to detect occlusions based on a compared change in the rate ([0098]). As rejected above the circuit board is folded and the sensor would necessarily be adjacent the dosing pathway as no specific distance is recited. Such a sensor would necessarily be disposed on a section of the circuit board.
With regard to claim 30, Vazquez et al. teach a micro pump 136 for dosing fluid ([0136]) status sensors 408 monitor the delivery of the pump ([0082], [0097]). As rejected above the circuit board is folded and the sensor would necessarily be adjacent the microdosing system as no specific distance is recited. Such a sensor would necessarily be disposed on a section of the circuit board.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. (US 2015/0265768 A1) and Dhami (US 2015/0184648 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Yavorsky et al. (US 2016/0369790 A1).
With regard to claim 29, Vazquez et al. teach providing a sensor to determine the fluid level based on the plunger or piston location ([099], [0100]) but does not disclose a pressure sensor. However, Yavorsky et al. teach a patch pump and determining if a reservoir is empty based on pressure to alert the user ([0234]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure pressure to provide an alert to the user in Vazquez et al. as Yavorsky et al. teach this is beneficial for determining if the cartridge is empty. As rejected above the circuit board is folded and the sensor would necessarily be adjacent the pushing mechanism as no specific distance is recited. Such a sensor would necessarily be disposed on a section of the circuit board.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. (US 2015/0265768 A1) and Dhami (US 2015/0184648 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Newberry et al. (US 2017/0014572 A1).
With regard to claim 31, Vazquez et al. teach a device substantially as claimed. Vazquez et al. do not disclose a photoplethysmographic sensor. However, Newberry et al. teach a patch pump which includes a photoplethysmographic sensor to monitor a user heart rate and other physiologic parameters which are used to compare to threshold values to determine delivery and provide alerts (see at least [0035], [0076]-[0078], [0144]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alert the user in Vazquez et al. when values detected by the photoplethysmographic sensor fall outside threshold values as in Newberry et al. as this would be beneficial for allowing the user to seek medical attention if necessary. As rejected above the circuit board is folded and the sensor would necessarily be placed proximate to its function, a photoplethysmographic sensor would need to face the skin to work. Such a sensor would necessarily be disposed on a section of the circuit board.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. (US 2015/0265768 A1) and Dhami (US 2015/0184648 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Caspers (US 2017/0259015 A1).
With regard to claim 32, Vazquez et al. teach a device substantially as claimed. Vazquez et al. teach the device is adhered to the skin ([0049]) but do not disclose a skin detector. However, Caspers teaches using skin contact sensors to alert the user if the device becomes detached and stop injection to ensure safety (abstract). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a skin contact sensor in Vazquez et al. as Caspers teaches this is beneficial to enhance safety as it prevents delivery if the device is not attached. As rejected above the circuit board is folded and the sensor would necessarily be placed proximate to its function, a skin contact sensor would need to face the skin to work. Such a sensor would necessarily be disposed on a section of the circuit board.
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. (US 2015/0265768 A1) in view of Chiu et al. (US 2020/0384197 A1).
With regard to claims 22-25, Vazquez et al. teach a medication infusion device comprising: a patch pump configured to be removably adhered to a wearer's skin (Fig. 2 member 100, adhesive 114) for delivering doses of medication from a cartridge (Fig. 3 cartridge 116) through a transcutaneous portion (Fig. 3 160), the patch pump comprising a pump housing (Fig. 1 housing 106); a pump motor disposed within the pump housing (Fig. 9 member 138), the pump motor configured to pump the medication towards the transcutaneous portion ([0064]); a sensor configured to sense a parameter ([0056], [0065], [0079], [0082], [0097], [0100], Fig. 18 406 and 408); a vibration motor separate (Fig. 9 member 132 coupled via device structure/operation) from and coupled with the pump motor; and a controller operatively coupled to the sensor and the vibration motor, the controller configured to cause the vibration motor to vibrate to alert the wearer based at least in part on the parameter sensed by the sensor ([0066], [0085], [0087], [0135], Fig. 18 processor 420, couple to the sensors and vibration motor 410 which provides alerts which can be generated, for example, in a scenario when the cartridge sensor has not detected a cartridge). Vazquez et al. teach the housing is made of a plastic shell ([0064]) and protects the components from water ([0066]) but do not explicitly disclose a separate dry and wet zone. However, Chiu et al. teach using an o-ring between the fluid reservoir compartment and the pump compartment to prevent the ingress of fluid ([0212]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a seal between the fluid and electronic pump components of Vazquez et al. as Chiu et al. teach this is beneficial for preventing the ingress of fluid into where the pump is located.
Claim(s) 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vazquez et al. (US 2015/0265768 A1) and Chiu et al. (US 2020/0384197 A1) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Wenger et al. (US 2009/0156990 A1).
With regard to claims 26 and 27, Vazquez et al. teach a device substantially as claimed. Vazquez et al. do not disclose one or more vents with breathable fabric. However, Wenger et al. teach using a Gore-tex vent over an electronic compartment with a battery to provide air to the power source without allowing moisture in ([0079]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a vent in Vazquez et al. as Wenger et al. teach this is beneficial to allow air to reach the battery without allowing moisture.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783