DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 11/21/2025. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et. al. (US 20200329524 A1)(hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses a network access method, comprising: receiving, by a first apparatus, which is a terminal device or component in the terminal device, a broadcast message from an access network device (¶[0057]: A minimum SI may be transmitted via two different downlink channels using different messages (e.g. MasterInformationBlock and SystemInformationBlockType1). ¶[0057]: The minimum SI may be periodically broadcast. ¶[0169]: To support CAG, a base station may broadcast CAG related information via cells), wherein the broadcast message comprises identification information (¶[0185]: SIB (e.g., SIB1) may comprise access barring information (e.g., uac-BarringInfo) and/or cell access related information (e.g., cellAccessRelatedInfo) comprising the at least one first identifier indicating the at least one first CAG) of one or more closed access groups (CAGs) supported by a first cell (¶[0184]: The at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is associated with the at least one first CAG) and a first default network access indication (¶[0186]: the at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is a hybrid cell (e.g., a second range of a physical cell identifier of the first cell indicates that the first cell is a hybrid cell). A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell) and the first default network access indication indicates that the first cell can be accessed in a default access manner (¶[0186]: A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In ¶[0186], hybrid cell indication permits access by non-members of CAG and may provide deprioritized QoS. This suggests a relaxed/default policy which allows access when it is not part of CAG); and in response to determining a first closed access group (CAG) list does not comprise the identification information of the one or more CAGs supported by the first cell (¶[0187]: the wireless device may select (e.g., reselect, camp on, etc.) the first cell based on a list of allowed CAGs (e.g., CAG whitelist) of the wireless device and/or based on the at least one SIB. ¶[0187]: The wireless device may select the first cell based on the first cell being associated with the at least one first CAG that the list of allowed CAGs of the wireless device comprises. In ¶[0187], the device compares the CAGs in the SIB against its locally stored allowed CAG list, and conversely, if the identifiers are not found, a mismatched is determined, as supported by indicating selection is based on allowed CAGs), accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell based on the first default network access indication (¶[0188]: based on selecting the first cell, the wireless device may perform a random access to the first cell. ¶[0191]: if the wireless device is a non-member of the at least one first CAG and the first cell is a closed cell (e.g. CAG cell) … the first base station may reject the request for the RRC connection. ¶[0191]: if the wireless device is a member of the at least one first CAG and/or if the first cell is a hybrid cell, the first base station may allow the wireless device to access the first cell. In ¶[0188], the first cell does random access process based on the network access indication (hybrid/closed) and ¶[0191] confirms that even when the UE’s CAG list doesn’t match, access may be permitted if the cell is a hybrid cell, which has a default access procedure as in ¶[0186]), wherein the first CAG list is stored in the terminal device, (¶[0187]: the list of allowed CAGs may be preconfigured to the wireless device) and the first CAG list comprises identification information of a CAG that is allowed to be accessed (¶[0187]: the wireless device may select (e.g., reselect, camp on, etc.) the first cell based on a list of allowed CAGs (e.g., CAG whitelist) of the wireless device and/or based on the at least one SIB).
Regarding Claim 2, Park discloses wherein the first default network access indication comprises identification information (¶[0180]: A cell (e.g., closed cell (CAG cell) and/or hybrid cell) associated with a CAG) of a dedicated CAG (¶[0180]: A cell (e.g., closed cell (CAG cell) and/or hybrid cell) associated with a CAG), this associated CAG functions as a dedicated CAG for default network access) for default network access (¶[0186]: A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell. A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In ¶[0186], CAG-based permission varies by CAG-membership and non-members may still access hybrid cells with deprioritized QoS for default or fallback access. In ¶[0180], a hybrid cell may be associated with a CAG and in context of default access logic (fallback or deprioritized QoS for nonmembers). This is also supported in the 3GPP in TS 23.501 §5.30.3.3 pg. 291 v 16.6.0 Release 16, “to use CAG, the UE, … may be preconfigured or (re)configured with the following CAG information, included in the subscription as part of the Mobility Restrictions: an Allowed CAG list i.e. a list of CAG Identifiers the UE is allowed to access; and optionally, a CAG-only indication whether the UE is only allowed to access 5GS via CAG cells” where network may configure an Allowed CAG list for the UE and designate a specific CAG as always valid. This establishes a dedicated CAG whose identification is used for default access handling even in hybrid cell context).
Regarding Claim 4, Park discloses further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, a second CAG list from an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element (¶[0181]: The first base station may receive, from an AMF, membership status information indicating that the wireless device is a member of at least one second CAG. ¶[0183]: wireless device may receive the at least one second RRC message comprising: the cell configuration parameters of the second cell associated with at least one second CAG; at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG (e.g., that the wireless device is allowed to access); and/or a field indicating that the wireless device is only allowed to access a cell associated with at least one CAG. In ¶[0181], AMF sends information via base station to the terminal device, identifying CAGs that UE is allowed to access, effectively a second CAG list. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the “second CAG list” carried in the RRC message, may be a case of a singleton list), wherein the second CAG list is stored in a subscription database (¶[0195]: The AMF may determine the at least one second CAG for the wireless device based on the CAG list. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that AMF accesses/maps network access configurations in a subscription data (e.g., UDM/UDR) as per industry standard), and the second CAG list comprises identification information of a CAG that the terminal device is allowed to access (¶[0183]: wireless device may receive the at least one second RRC message comprising: the cell configuration parameters of the second cell associated with at least one second CAG; at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG (e.g., that the wireless device is allowed to access); and/or a field indicating that the wireless device is only allowed to access a cell associated with at least one CAG); and updating, by the terminal device, the first CAG list based on the second CAG list (¶[0223]: the wireless device may add the at least one second CAG to the list of allowed CAGs (e.g., based on the at least one second RRC message)).
Regarding Claim 5, Park discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a registration request message to the AMF (¶[0171]: the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In an example, the AN parameter may include CAG identifier (CAG 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a NAS message is between the terminal and 5GC entity), wherein the receiving, by the terminal device, a second CAG list from an AMF (¶[0224]: second RRC message may comprise a non-access stratum (NAS) message comprising the at least one second identifier (e.g., indicating the at least one second CAG). The NAS message may indicate that the wireless device is a member of the at least one second CAG and/or that the wireless device is allowed to access a cell associated with the at least one second CAG) comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a registration accept message from the AMF wherein the registration accept message carries the second CAG list (¶[0174]: If the wireless device is allowed to access cell with CAG 1, the AMF may include CAG 1 into a CAG white list of the wireless device and send a NAS accept message (i.e. registration accept) to the wireless device. In ¶[0174], CAG 1 represents a CAG identifier that is checked against the CAG whitelist and NAS accept carries the CAG whitelist. This is supported in Fig. 23 where Request for membership verification of UE for the requested CAG may be CAG1, CAG2, CAG3 etc.).
Regarding Claim 6, Park discloses further comprising: sending, by the terminal device, a registration request message to the AMF (¶[0171]: the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In an example, the AN parameter may include CAG identifier (CAG 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a NAS message is between the terminal and 5GC entity), wherein the receiving, by the terminal device, a second CAG list from an AMF (¶[0224]: second RRC message may comprise a non-access stratum (NAS) message comprising the at least one second identifier (e.g., indicating the at least one second CAG). The NAS message may indicate that the wireless device is a member of the at least one second CAG and/or that the wireless device is allowed to access a cell associated with the at least one second CAG) comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a registration reject message from the AMF, wherein the registration reject message carries the second CAG list (¶[0173]: If the wireless device is not allowed to access cell with CAG 1, the AMF may reject the wireless device by sending a NAS reject message. In ¶[0173], CAG 1 represents a CAG identifier that is checked against the CAG whitelist and NAS accept carries the CAG whitelist. This is supported in Fig. 23 where Request for membership verification of UE for the requested CAG may be CAG1, CAG2, CAG3 etc.¶[0176]: The AMF may send a NAS reject message with appropriate cause value to the wireless device in response to the determination. In an example, the cause value may indicate that the request is rejected since the wireless device is access via non-CAG cell. In ¶[0176], the reject message carries a cause value identifying the CAG at issue. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, this constitutes the “second CAG list” carried in the reject message, particularly in the case of a singleton list).
Regarding Claim 7, Park discloses further comprising: selecting, by the terminal device, a second cell based on a cell reselection procedure (Fig. 29, Access a cell associated with CAG2. ¶[0226]: In an example, based on the at least one second SIB, the wireless device may select/reselect and/or camp on the cell (e.g., the third cell) associated with the at least one second CAG. ¶[0169]: The mobility (e.g. cell-reselection for camping, handover) of a wireless device may be controlled/restricted by the CAG information of the wireless device and the CAG related information of the base station/cell. In [0226] and ¶[0169], the device may perform reselection based on broadcasted CAG relate info, which includes CAG identities in SIBs); and in response to determining the second CAG list comprises identification information of at least one CAG supported by the second cell (¶[0242]: The wireless device may receive at least one second RRC message comprising: cell configuration parameters of a second cell associated with at least one second CAG; at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG that the wireless device is allowed to access; and/or a field indicating that the wireless device is only allowed to access a cell associated with at least one CAG), accessing, by the terminal device, the second cell ¶[0242]: wireless device may transmit/receive transport blocks via the second cell. Fig. 33 3330. ¶[0245]: At 3330, the wireless device may select a second cell associated with the at least one second CAG), and initiating a registration procedure (¶[0242]: The wireless device may select a cell associated with the at least one second CAG. The wireless device may transmit a random access preamble via the cell. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “registration procedure” is interpreted to encompass initial access signaling such as random access and RRC setup, which are prerequisites for NAS registration. In ¶[0242], the UE transmits access preambles and completes configuration messaging after selecting the second cell ¶[0171]: The RRC message may comprise a NAS request message and access network (AN) parameter. In an example, the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In ¶[0171], the device includes a NAS registration request message in the RRC signaling sent to the network, which complements that the terminal accesses the second cell and initiates a NAS registration procedure to access the selected second cell. Fig. 33 3340. ¶[0245]: At 3340, the wireless device may transmit a random access preamble via the second cell).
Regarding Claim 8, Park discloses wherein the registration request message carries a second default network access indication (¶[0171]: The RRC message may comprise a NAS request message and access network (AN) parameter. In an example, the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In an example, the AN parameter may include CAG identifier (CAG 1) ¶[0181]: The first base station may send, to the wireless device, at least one second RRC message comprising at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG (e.g., the at least one second CAG that the wireless device is allowed to access). ¶[0175]: If the wireless device is allowed to access cell with CAG 1, the AMF may include CAG 1 into a CAG white list of the wireless device and send a NAS accept message (i.e. registration accept) to the wireless device), and the second default network access indication indicates that the terminal device accesses the first cell in the default access manner (¶[0186]: the at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is a hybrid cell (e.g., a second range of a physical cell identifier of the first cell indicates that the first cell is a hybrid cell). A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell. A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In the disclosed procedures for evaluating CAG-based access in ¶[0171], ¶[0175], and ¶[0186], identifier signaling, registration request formation, AMF validation and default access handling, are expressed in terms applicable to any CAG identifier. Since the second RRC message delivers configuration for a second cell associated with a second CAG in ¶[0181], and the network uses the same protocol stack (RRC + NAS in Fig. 2B) to manage CAG-based access control, it follows that the procedures disclosed for first CAG apply to the second CAG, with necessary changes made. This is further reinforced in ¶[0186], which states that hybrid cells associated with a CAG, implying that default access logic is applicable to any CAG broadcast).
Regarding Claim 10, Park discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3 Wireless Device 110), comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 3 314); and a memory storing instructions stored thereon (Fig. 3 315 316) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive a broadcast message from an access network device (¶[0057]: A minimum SI may be transmitted via two different downlink channels using different messages (e.g. MasterInformationBlock and SystemInformationBlockType1). ¶[0057]: The minimum SI may be periodically broadcast. ¶[0169]: To support CAG, a base station may broadcast CAG related information via cells), wherein the broadcast message comprises identification information (¶[0185]: SIB (e.g., SIB1) may comprise access barring information (e.g., uac-BarringInfo) and/or cell access related information (e.g., cellAccessRelatedInfo) comprising the at least one first identifier indicating the at least one first CAG) of one or more closed access groups (CAGs) supported by a first cell (¶[0184]: The at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is associated with the at least one first CAG) and a first default network access indication (¶[0186]: the at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is a hybrid cell (e.g., a second range of a physical cell identifier of the first cell indicates that the first cell is a hybrid cell). A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell), and the first default network access indication indicates that the first cell can be accessed in a default access manner (¶[0186]: A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In ¶[0186], hybrid cell indication permits access by non-members of CAG and may provide deprioritized QoS. This suggests a relaxed/default policy which allows access when it is not part of CAG); and in response to determining a first closed access group (CAG) list does not comprise the identification information of the one or more CAGs supported by the first cell (¶[0187]: the wireless device may select (e.g., reselect, camp on, etc.) the first cell based on a list of allowed CAGs (e.g., CAG whitelist) of the wireless device and/or based on the at least one SIB. ¶[0187]: The wireless device may select the first cell based on the first cell being associated with the at least one first CAG that the list of allowed CAGs of the wireless device comprises. In ¶[0187], the device compares the CAGs in the SIB against its locally stored allowed CAG list, and conversely, if the identifiers are not found, a mismatched is determined, as supported by indicating selection is based on allowed CAGs), access the first cell based on the first default network access indication (¶[0188]: based on selecting the first cell, the wireless device may perform a random access to the first cell. ¶[0191]: if the wireless device is a non-member of the at least one first CAG and the first cell is a closed cell (e.g. CAG cell) … the first base station may reject the request for the RRC connection. ¶[0191]: if the wireless device is a member of the at least one first CAG and/or if the first cell is a hybrid cell, the first base station may allow the wireless device to access the first cell. In ¶[0188], the first cell does random access process based on the network access indication (hybrid/closed) and ¶[0191] confirms that even when the UE’s CAG list doesn’t match, access may be permitted if the cell is a hybrid cell, which has a default access procedure as in ¶[0186]), wherein the first CAG list is stored in a terminal device (¶[0187]: the list of allowed CAGs may be preconfigured to the wireless device), and the first CAG list comprises identification information of a CAG that is allowed to be accessed (¶[0187]: the wireless device may select (e.g., reselect, camp on, etc.) the first cell based on a list of allowed CAGs (e.g., CAG whitelist) of the wireless device and/or based on the at least one SIB).
Regarding Claim 11, Park discloses wherein the first default network access indication comprises identification information (¶[0180]: A cell (e.g., closed cell (CAG cell) and/or hybrid cell) associated with a CAG) of a dedicated CAG (¶[0180]: A cell (e.g., closed cell (CAG cell) and/or hybrid cell) associated with a CAG.), this associated CAG functions as a dedicated CAG for default network access) for default network access (¶[0186]: A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell. A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In ¶[0186], CAG-based permission varies by CAG-membership and non-members may still access hybrid cells with deprioritized QoS for default or fallback access. In ¶[0180], a hybrid cell may be associated with a CAG and in context of default access logic (fallback or deprioritized QoS for nonmembers). This is also supported in the 3GPP in TS 23.501 §5.30.3.3 pg. 291 v 16.6.0 Release 16, “to use CAG, the UE, … may be preconfigured or (re)configured with the following CAG information, included in the subscription as part of the Mobility Restrictions: an Allowed CAG list i.e. a list of CAG Identifiers the UE is allowed to access; and optionally, a CAG-only indication whether the UE is only allowed to access 5GS via CAG cells” where network may configure an Allowed CAG list for the UE and designate a specific CAG as always valid. This establishes a dedicated CAG whose identification is used for default access handling even in hybrid cell context).
Regarding Claim 13, Park discloses the apparatus is further caused to: receive a second CAG list from an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element (¶[0181]: The first base station may receive, from an AMF, membership status information indicating that the wireless device is a member of at least one second CAG. ¶[0183]: wireless device may receive the at least one second RRC message comprising: the cell configuration parameters of the second cell associated with at least one second CAG; at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG (e.g., that the wireless device is allowed to access); and/or a field indicating that the wireless device is only allowed to access a cell associated with at least one CAG. In ¶[0181], AMF sends information via base station to the terminal device, identifying CAGs that UE is allowed to access, effectively a second CAG list. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the “second CAG list” carried in the RRC message, may be a case of a singleton list), wherein the second CAG list is stored in a subscription database (¶[0195]: The AMF may determine the at least one second CAG for the wireless device based on the CAG list. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that AMF accesses/maps network access configurations in a subscription data (e.g., UDM/UDR) as per industry standard), and the second CAG list comprises identification information of a CAG that the terminal device is allowed to access (¶[0183]: wireless device may receive the at least one second RRC message comprising: the cell configuration parameters of the second cell associated with at least one second CAG; at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG (e.g., that the wireless device is allowed to access); and/or a field indicating that the wireless device is only allowed to access a cell associated with at least one CAG); and update the first CAG list based on the second CAG list (¶[0223]: the wireless device may add the at least one second CAG to the list of allowed CAGs (e.g., based on the at least one second RRC message)).
Regarding Claim 14, Park discloses the apparatus is further caused to: send a registration request message to the AMF (¶[0171]: the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In an example, the AN parameter may include CAG identifier (CAG 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a NAS message is between the terminal and 5GC entity); and receive a registration accept message from the AMF (¶[0174]: If the wireless device is allowed to access cell with CAG 1, the AMF may include CAG 1 into a CAG white list of the wireless device and send a NAS accept message (i.e. registration accept) to the wireless device), wherein the registration accept message carries the second CAG list (¶[0174]: If the wireless device is allowed to access cell with CAG 1, the AMF may include CAG 1 into a CAG white list of the wireless device and send a NAS accept message (i.e. registration accept) to the wireless device. In ¶[0174], CAG 1 represents a CAG identifier that is checked against the CAG whitelist and NAS accept carries the CAG whitelist. This is supported in Fig. 23 where Request for membership verification of UE for the requested CAG may be CAG1, CAG2, CAG3 etc. ¶[0224]: second RRC message may comprise a non-access stratum (NAS) message comprising the at least one second identifier (e.g., indicating the at least one second CAG). The NAS message may indicate that the wireless device is a member of the at least one second CAG and/or that the wireless device is allowed to access a cell associated with the at least one second CAG).
Regarding Claim 15, Park discloses the apparatus is further caused to: send a registration request message to the AMF (¶[0171]: the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In an example, the AN parameter may include CAG identifier (CAG 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a NAS message is between the terminal and 5GC entity); and receive a registration reject message from the AMF, (¶[0173]: If the wireless device is not allowed to access cell with CAG 1, the AMF may reject the wireless device by sending a NAS reject message. In ¶[0173], CAG 1 represents a CAG identifier that is checked against the CAG whitelist and NAS accept carries the CAG whitelist. This is supported in Fig. 23 where Request for membership verification of UE for the requested CAG may be CAG1, CAG2, CAG3 etc.¶[0176]: The AMF may send a NAS reject message with appropriate cause value to the wireless device in response to the determination. In an example, the cause value may indicate that the request is rejected since the wireless device is access via non-CAG cell. In ¶[0176], the reject message carries a cause value identifying the CAG at issue. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, this constitutes the “second CAG list” carried in the reject message, particularly in the case of a singleton list). wherein the registration reject message carries the second CAG list (.¶[0176]: The AMF may send a NAS reject message with appropriate cause value to the wireless device in response to the determination. In an example, the cause value may indicate that the request is rejected since the wireless device is access via non-CAG cell. ¶[0224]: second RRC message may comprise a non-access stratum (NAS) message comprising the at least one second identifier (e.g., indicating the at least one second CAG). The NAS message may indicate that the wireless device is a member of the at least one second CAG and/or that the wireless device is allowed to access a cell associated with the at least one second CAG).
Regarding Claim 16, Park discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: select a second cell based on a cell reselection procedure (Fig. 29, Access a cell associated with CAG2. ¶[0226]: In an example, based on the at least one second SIB, the wireless device may select/reselect and/or camp on the cell (e.g., the third cell) associated with the at least one second CAG. ¶[0169]: The mobility (e.g. cell-reselection for camping, handover) of a wireless device may be controlled/restricted by the CAG information of the wireless device and the CAG related information of the base station/cell. In [0226] and ¶[0169], the device may perform reselection based on broadcasted CAG relate info, which includes CAG identities in SIBs); and in response to determining the second CAG list comprises identification information of at least one CAG supported by the second cell (¶[0242]: The wireless device may receive at least one second RRC message comprising: cell configuration parameters of a second cell associated with at least one second CAG; at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG that the wireless device is allowed to access; and/or a field indicating that the wireless device is only allowed to access a cell associated with at least one CAG), access the second cell ¶[0242]: wireless device may transmit/receive transport blocks via the second cell. Fig. 33 3330. ¶[0245]: At 3330, the wireless device may select a second cell associated with the at least one second CAG, and initiate a registration procedure (¶[0242]: The wireless device may select a cell associated with the at least one second CAG. The wireless device may transmit a random access preamble via the cell. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “registration procedure” is interpreted to encompass initial access signaling such as random access and RRC setup, which are prerequisites for NAS registration. In ¶[0242], the UE transmits access preambles and completes configuration messaging after selecting the second cell ¶[0171]: The RRC message may comprise a NAS request message and access network (AN) parameter. In an example, the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In ¶[0171], the device includes a NAS registration request message in the RRC signaling sent to the network, which complements that the terminal accesses the second cell and initiates a NAS registration procedure to access the selected second cell. Fig. 33 3340. ¶[0245]: At 3340, the wireless device may transmit a random access preamble via the second cell).
Regarding Claim 17, Park discloses wherein the registration request message carries a second default network access indication (¶[0171]: The RRC message may comprise a NAS request message and access network (AN) parameter. In an example, the NAS request message is a registration request message or a service request message. In an example, the AN parameter may include CAG identifier (CAG 1) ¶[0181]: The first base station may send, to the wireless device, at least one second RRC message comprising at least one second identifier indicating the at least one second CAG (e.g., the at least one second CAG that the wireless device is allowed to access). ¶[0175]: If the wireless device is allowed to access cell with CAG 1, the AMF may include CAG 1 into a CAG white list of the wireless device and send a NAS accept message (i.e. registration accept) to the wireless device), and the second default network access indication indicates that the terminal device accesses the first cell in the default access manner (¶[0186]: the at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is a hybrid cell (e.g., a second range of a physical cell identifier of the first cell indicates that the first cell is a hybrid cell). A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell. A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In the disclosed procedures for evaluating CAG-based access in ¶[0171], ¶[0175], and ¶[0186], identifier signaling, registration request formation, AMF validation and default access handling, are expressed in terms applicable to any CAG identifier. Since the second RRC message delivers configuration for a second cell associated with a second CAG in ¶[0181], and the network uses the same protocol stack (RRC + NAS in Fig. 2B) to manage CAG-based access control, it follows that the procedures disclosed for first CAG apply to the second CAG, with necessary changes made. This is further reinforced in ¶[0186], which states that hybrid cells associated with a CAG, implying that default access logic is applicable to any CAG broadcast).
Regarding Claim 19, Park discloses a network access method, comprising: sending, by an access network device, a broadcast message (¶[0057]: A minimum SI may be transmitted via two different downlink channels using different messages (e.g. MasterInformationBlock and SystemInformationBlockType1). ¶[0057]: The minimum SI may be periodically broadcast. ¶[0169]: To support CAG, a base station may broadcast CAG related information via cells), wherein the broadcast message comprises identification information (¶[0185]: SIB (e.g., SIB1) may comprise access barring information (e.g., uac-BarringInfo) and/or cell access related information (e.g., cellAccessRelatedInfo) comprising the at least one first identifier indicating the at least one first CAG) of one or more closed access groups (CAGs) supported by a first cell (¶[0184]: The at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is associated with the at least one first CAG) and a first default network access indication (¶[0186]: the at least one SIB may indicate that the first cell is a hybrid cell (e.g., a second range of a physical cell identifier of the first cell indicates that the first cell is a hybrid cell). A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell), the first default network access indication indicates that the first cell can be accessed in a default access manner (¶[0186]: A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In ¶[0186], hybrid cell indication permits access by non-members of CAG and may provide deprioritized QoS. This suggests a relaxed/default policy which allows access when it is not part of CAG),
in response to determining a first closed access group (CAG) list does not comprise the identification information of the one or more CAGs supported by the first cell (¶[0187]: the wireless device may select (e.g., reselect, camp on, etc.) the first cell based on a list of allowed CAGs (e.g., CAG whitelist) of the wireless device and/or based on the at least one SIB. ¶[0187]: The wireless device may select the first cell based on the first cell being associated with the at least one first CAG that the list of allowed CAGs of the wireless device comprises. In ¶[0187], the device compares the CAGs in the SIB against its locally stored allowed CAG list, and conversely, if the identifiers are not found, a mismatched is determined, as supported by indicating selection is based on allowed CAGs), accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell based on the first default network access indication (¶[0188]: based on selecting the first cell, the wireless device may perform a random access to the first cell. ¶[0191]: if the wireless device is a non-member of the at least one first CAG and the first cell is a closed cell (e.g. CAG cell) … the first base station may reject the request for the RRC connection. ¶[0191]: if the wireless device is a member of the at least one first CAG and/or if the first cell is a hybrid cell, the first base station may allow the wireless device to access the first cell. In ¶[0188], the first cell does random access process based on the network access indication (hybrid/closed) and ¶[0191] confirms that even when the UE’s CAG list doesn’t match, access may be permitted if the cell is a hybrid cell, which has a default access procedure as in ¶[0186]), wherein the first CAG list is stored in the terminal device, (¶[0187]: the list of allowed CAGs may be preconfigured to the wireless device) and the first CAG list comprises identification information of a CAG that is allowed to be accessed (¶[0187]: the wireless device may select (e.g., reselect, camp on, etc.) the first cell based on a list of allowed CAGs (e.g., CAG whitelist) of the wireless device and/or based on the at least one SIB).
and the first cell is a cell served by the access network device (¶[0187]: the wireless device may select (e.g., reselect, camp on, etc.) the first cell based on a list of allowed CAGs (e.g., CAG whitelist) of the wireless device and/or based on the at least one SIB. ¶[0187]: The wireless device may select the first cell based on the first cell being associated with the at least one first CAG that the list of allowed CAGs of the wireless device comprises. In ¶[0187], the device compares the CAGs in the SIB against its locally stored allowed CAG list, and in corollary, if the identifiers are not found, a mismatched is determined, as supported by indicating selection is based on allowed CAGs).
Regarding Claim 20, Park discloses wherein the first default network access indication comprises identification information (¶[0180]: A cell (e.g., closed cell (CAG cell) and/or hybrid cell) associated with a CAG) of a dedicated closed access group (CAG) (¶[0180]: A cell (e.g., closed cell (CAG cell) and/or hybrid cell) associated with a CAG.), this associated CAG functions as a dedicated CAG for default network access) for default network access (¶[0186]: A member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a closed cell. A non-member of the at least one first CAG may be allowed to access a hybrid cell, and/or may be served with a deprioritized QoS (e.g., lower QoS compared to a member of the at least one first CAG). In ¶[0186], CAG-based permission varies by CAG-membership and non-members may still access hybrid cells with deprioritized QoS for default or fallback access. In ¶[0180], a hybrid cell may be associated with a CAG and in context of default access logic (fallback or deprioritized QoS for nonmembers). This is also supported in the 3GPP in TS 23.501 §5.30.3.3 pg. 291 v 16.6.0 Release 16, “to use CAG, the UE, … may be preconfigured or (re)configured with the following CAG information, included in the subscription as part of the Mobility Restrictions: an Allowed CAG list i.e. a list of CAG Identifiers the UE is allowed to access; and optionally, a CAG-only indication whether the UE is only allowed to access 5GS via CAG cells” where network may configure an Allowed CAG list for the UE and designate a specific CAG as always valid. This establishes a dedicated CAG whose identification is used for default access handling even in hybrid cell context).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Baek et. al. (WO 2020036364 A1)(hereinafter Baek).
Regarding Claim 3, Park does not disclose wherein the default access manner is a manual selection access manner, and the accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell based on the first default network access indication, comprises: displaying, by the terminal device based on the first default network access indication through a user interface, identification information of a network that can be selected; and accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell in response to a user operation.
Baek discloses wherein the default access manner is a manual selection access manner (Pg. 8” If the terminal cannot access the public cellular network that the terminal subscribes to” Pg. 8: “the terminal selects the private network or switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”. In Pg. 8, it supports that manual selection is triggered when automatic access to a public network is not feasible and enters a manual mode where the user intervenes in the selection process and corresponds to “default access manner” being manual), and the accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell based on the first default network access indication (Pg. 7: “The 5G-RAN of the private cellular network broadcasts identification information on the private cellular network it is servicing through a system information block (SIB) message, etc., and the terminal receives the identification information (410)”. Pg. 7: “The UE determines whether the private communication network can be used through identification information of a subscribed private network (for example, MCC + MNC + private network ID) stored in a secure storage for a Universal Subscriber Identification Module (USIM)”. In Pg. 7, the terminal receives the SIB identification information and uses a stored subscription data (i.e., a “default” access indication) to determine whether to access a specific private cell. Pg. 8: “Registration may be performed in the private communication network (455)”. In Pg. 8, after identifying the private network, the terminal proceeds to initiate registration as accessing the first cell) comprises: displaying, by the terminal device based on the first default network access indication through a user interface (Pg. 4: “these computer program instructions may be mounted on a processor of a general purpose computer”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, a computer (Pg. 4) terminal allows user interaction through manual selection (Pg. 8) and necessarily implies the existence of a user interface capable of displaying information to the user given that the terminal is a computer-based device executing instructions via a processor (Pg. 4) and involving user decisions in a manual selection mode (Pg. 8)), identification information of a network that can be selected (Pg. 8: “switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”); and accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell in response to a user operation (Pg. 8: “When the terminal selects the private communication network by the user, the terminal may perform deregistration from the public cellular network when it is registered in the public cellular network (445). When the terminal registers with the private network 450, the terminal may register with the private network using a Private Network UE ID which is a subscriber ID assigned for the private cellular network subscriber (455) Pg. 8: “Registration may be performed in the private communication network (455)”. In Pg. 8, after identifying the private network, the terminal proceeds to initiate registration as accessing the first cell”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park which teaches network access procedures involving cell selection and transmission of registration messages, focusing on CAG-based access and apply it with the functionality of manually selecting of a private network which enables a user defined selection as taught by Baek. Doing so allows to “use the private cellular network to access and register the private cellular network and use the network” and because it the private network needs to be selected manually, the device must be able to “identify private networks (Baek, Pg. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Park does not disclose wherein the terminal device is set to a manual selection mode, and the network access method further comprises: in response to determining the first CAG list comprises the identification information of the one or more CAGs supported by the first cell, displaying, by the terminal device based on the identification information of the one or more CAGs through a user interface, identification information of one or more networks that can be manually selected; and accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell in response to a user operation.
Baek discloses wherein the terminal device is set to a manual selection mode (Pg. 8” If the terminal cannot access the public cellular network that the terminal subscribes to” Pg. 8: “the terminal selects the private network or switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”. In Pg. 8, manual selection is triggered when automatic access to a public network is not feasible and enters a manual mode where the user intervenes in the selection process), and the network access method further comprises: in response to determining the first CAG list comprises the identification information of the one or more CAGs supported by the first cell (Pg. 9: “the base station 620 is PLMN ID + NID (network ID) as network information for the private network. Or PLMN ID + closed access group ID (CAG ID) in the SIB message and broadcast (645)”. Pg. 9: “At this time, the CAG ID is used to indicate that only a terminal having a subscription to the CAG ID can access the CAG ID broadcast network”. Pg. 7: “The UE determines whether the private communication network can be used through identification information of a subscribed private network (for example, MCC + MNC + private network ID) stored in a secure storage for a Universal Subscriber Identification Module (USIM)”. In Pg. 9, the supported CAG identifiers via SIB (PLMN ID + CAG ID) messages is broadcasted and used by the device whether an identifier matches the subscribed or stored CAG list, as in Pg. 7. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the “first CAG list” can reasonably be construed to include a pre-stored list in the UE, such as one derived from subscription data (e.g., USIM in Pg. 7)) displaying, by the terminal device (Pg. 4: “these computer program instructions may be mounted on a processor of a general purpose computer”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, a computer (Pg. 4) terminal allows user interaction through manual selection (Pg. 8) necessarily implies the existence of a user interface capable of displaying information to the user given that the terminal is a computer-based device executing instructions via a processor (Pg. 4) and involving user decisions in a manual selection mode (Pg. 8)) based on the identification information of the one or more CAGs through a user interface (Pg. 8: “switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”), identification information of one or more networks that can be manually selected (Pg. 8: “switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”; and accessing, by the terminal device, the first cell in response to a user operation (Pg. 8: “When the terminal selects the private communication network by the user, the terminal may perform deregistration from the public cellular network when it is registered in the public cellular network (445). When the terminal registers with the private network 450, the terminal may register with the private network using a Private Network UE ID which is a subscriber ID assigned for the private cellular network subscriber (455)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park which teaches network access procedures involving cell selection and transmission of registration messages, focusing on CAG-based access and apply it with the functionality of taught by Baek. Doing so allows to “use the private cellular network to access and register the private cellular network and use the network” and because it the private network needs to be selected manually, the device must be able to “identify private networks (Baek, Pg. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Park does not disclose wherein the default access manner is a manual selection access manner, and the apparatus is further caused to: display, based on the first default network access indication through a user interface, identification information of a network that can be selected; and access the first cell in response to a user operation.
Baek discloses wherein the default access manner is a manual selection access manner (Pg. 8” If the terminal cannot access the public cellular network that the terminal subscribes to” Pg. 8: “the terminal selects the private network or switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”. In Pg. 8, it supports that manual selection is triggered when automatic access to a public network is not feasible and enters a manual mode where the user intervenes in the selection process and corresponds to “default access manner” being manual), and the apparatus is further caused to: display, based on the first default network access indication through a user interface (Pg. 4: “these computer program instructions may be mounted on a processor of a general purpose computer”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, a computer (Pg. 4) terminal allows user interaction through manual selection (Pg. 8) and necessarily implies the existence of a user interface capable of displaying information to the user given that the terminal is a computer-based device executing instructions via a processor (Pg. 4) and involving user decisions in a manual selection mode (Pg. 8)), identification information of a network that can be selected (Pg. 8: “switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”); and access the first cell in response to a user operation (Pg. 8: “When the terminal selects the private communication network by the user, the terminal may perform deregistration from the public cellular network when it is registered in the public cellular network (445). When the terminal registers with the private network 450, the terminal may register with the private network using a Private Network UE ID which is a subscriber ID assigned for the private cellular network subscriber (455). Pg. 7: “The 5G-RAN of the private cellular network broadcasts identification information on the private cellular network it is servicing through a system information block (SIB) message, etc., and the terminal receives the identification information (410)”. Pg. 7: “The UE determines whether the private communication network can be used through identification information of a subscribed private network (for example, MCC + MNC + private network ID) stored in a secure storage for a Universal Subscriber Identification Module (USIM)”. In Pg. 7, the terminal receives the SIB identification information and uses a stored subscription data (i.e., a “default” access indication) to determine whether to access a specific private cell. Pg. 8: “Registration may be performed in the private communication network (455)”. In Pg. 8, after identifying the private network, the terminal proceeds to initiate registration as accessing the first cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park which teaches network access procedures involving cell selection and transmission of registration messages, focusing on CAG-based access and apply it with the functionality of manually selecting of a private network which enables a user defined selection as taught by Baek. Doing so allows to “use the private cellular network to access and register the private cellular network and use the network” and because it the private network needs to be selected manually, the device must be able to “identify private networks (Baek, Pg. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Park does not disclose discloses wherein the terminal device is set to a manual selection mode, and the apparatus is further caused to: in response to determining the first CAG list comprises the identification information of the one or more CAGs supported by the first cell, display, based on the identification information of the one or more CAGs through a user interface, identification information of one or more networks that can be manually selected; and access the first cell in response to a user operation.
Baek discloses wherein the terminal device is set to a manual selection mode (Pg. 8” If the terminal cannot access the public cellular network that the terminal subscribes to” Pg. 8: “the terminal selects the private network or switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”. In Pg. 8, manual selection is triggered when automatic access to a public network is not feasible and enters a manual mode where the user intervenes in the selection process),, and the apparatus is further caused to: in response to determining the first CAG list comprises the identification information of the one or more CAGs supported by the first cell (Pg. 9: “the base station 620 is PLMN ID + NID (network ID) as network information for the private network. Or PLMN ID + closed access group ID (CAG ID) in the SIB message and broadcast (645)”. Pg. 9: “At this time, the CAG ID is used to indicate that only a terminal having a subscription to the CAG ID can access the CAG ID broadcast network”. Pg. 7: “The UE determines whether the private communication network can be used through identification information of a subscribed private network (for example, MCC + MNC + private network ID) stored in a secure storage for a Universal Subscriber Identification Module (USIM)”. In Pg. 9, the supported CAG identifiers via SIB (PLMN ID + CAG ID) messages is broadcasted and used by the device whether an identifier matches the subscribed or stored CAG list, as in Pg. 7. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the “first CAG list” can reasonably be construed to include a pre-stored list in the UE, such as one derived from subscription data (e.g., USIM in Pg. 7)), display (Pg. 4: “these computer program instructions may be mounted on a processor of a general purpose computer”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, a computer (Pg. 4) terminal allows user interaction through manual selection (Pg. 8) necessarily implies the existence of a user interface capable of displaying information to the user given that the terminal is a computer-based device executing instructions via a processor (Pg. 4) and involving user decisions in a manual selection mode (Pg. 8)), based on the identification information of the one or more CAGs through a user interface (Pg. 8: “switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”), identification information of one or more networks that can be manually selected (Pg. 8: “switches to manual selection mode so that the user or the user It may be determined whether the private communication network is selected based on the set value or the information (435)”); and access the first cell in response to a user operation (Pg. 8: “When the terminal selects the private communication network by the user, the terminal may perform deregistration from the public cellular network when it is registered in the public cellular network (445). When the terminal registers with the private network 450, the terminal may register with the private network using a Private Network UE ID which is a subscriber ID assigned for the private cellular network subscriber (455)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park which teaches network access procedures involving cell selection and transmission of registration messages, focusing on CAG-based access and apply it with the functionality of taught by Baek. Doing so allows to “use the private cellular network to access and register the private cellular network and use the network” and because it the private network needs to be selected manually, the device must be able to “identify private networks (Baek, Pg. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues the prior art does not teach or suggest that in response to determining a first CAG not including the identification information of the one or more CAGS, accessing the first cell based on first default network access indication because Park, Paragraph 187, teaches a match between the terminals CAG list and the cells CAG, not when there is no match. Applicant further argues the assertion that if the identifiers are not found, there is a mismatch is improper as Park does not discuss accessing based on a default indication when there is no match.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 184 of park teaches a base station sending to the terminal a first CAG identifier. This tells the UE what CAG the base station is associated with. Paragraph 186 further teaches that the devices can be members or non-members of a CAG which determines whether or not they can access the CAG. Paragraph 186 further teaches that the base station can notify non-member’s that the base station is a hybrid cell which tells the terminal that it can access the first CAG which it is not a member of. If a terminal is not a member of a CAG, then that terminal would not have the first CAG identifier on its own CAG list. Paragraph 187 makes it clear the terminal has its own CAG list (thus would be stored on the device). Therefore, broadly speaking, the terminal device receives information from the base station which states a first CAG list as well as the hybrid cell. A non-member of the first CAG (thus a mismatch between the terminals CAG list and the base station’s CAG list) can still access the hybrid cell. Thus, one can see the terminal knows it’s a non-member (i.e. determination due to a mismatch) and connects to the hybrid cell (i.e. access the first cell based on a default network access indication which is the hybrid identifier).
The Examiner suggest better defining what is occurring in the claimed “determining” step to overcome the cited art of record. In Park, the terminal determines the first CAG list stored on the UE does not include ID information of the one or more CAGs because it is a non-member of the CAG list; however, the claim, as written, does not preclude this interpretation from being proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411