Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS has been consider after it was pointed out that the Transmittal is identical to the IDS filed on 11/15/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-4 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Klug (US2002/0160197 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Klug discloses a method for making a graphite sheet material (abstract) comprising: blending an exfoliated graphite material [0035, 0041] to reduce the particle size thereof (implicit that a blender reduces the particle size); and form a graphite particulate material; and compacting said graphite particulate material to make a compacted graphite material [0010].
Regarding claim 4, Klug discloses wherein said exfoliated graphite material comprises exfoliated flakes [0028, 0008].
Regarding claim 9, Klug discloses wherein said method further comprises embossing an at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material to form a patterned compacted graphite material [0017].
Regarding claim 10, Klug discloses wherein embossing said at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material increases the through-plane thermal conductivity of said compacted graphite material [0044-0045].
Regarding claim 11, Klug discloses embossing said at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material comprises using at least one patterned reciprocating platen press or die press to emboss said at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material to form said patterned compacted graphite material [0049].
Regarding claim 12, Klug discloses wherein embossing said at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material comprises using roller embossing apparatus to emboss said at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material to form said patterned compacted graphite material [0049, 0051].
Regarding claim 13, Klug teaches further comprising compressing said patterned compacted graphite material to flatten said at least one major surface [0010].
Regarding claim 14, Klug teaches wherein compacting said graphite particulate material to make said compacted graphite material comprises simultaneously embossing said graphite particulate material so an at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material is patterned [0017].
Regarding claim 15, Klug teaches comprising compressing said compacted graphite material to flatten said at least one major surface [0010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klug (US2002/0160197 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Klug teaches wherein compacting said graphite particulate material to make said compacted graphite material comprises compressing said graphite particulate material in a die cavity [0009]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand molding under pressure would be obvious to modify the surface/cavity to match desired shaped so that the rolling pressing can happen on a die cavity shaping the material. MPEP 2144.05 states It has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claim 16, Klug teaches wherein compacting said graphite particulate material in said die cavity to make said compacted graphite material comprises using a patterned die press so that an at least one major surface of said compacted graphite material is patterned [0017].
Regarding claim 17, Klug teaches comprises flexible graphite sheet [0017], but doesn’t explicitly disclose the through-plane to in- plane thermal conductivity ratio of said graphite sheet material is lower than the through-plane to in-plane thermal conductivity ratio of said flexible graphite sheet. However, Klug discloses the thermal anisotropy can be controlled in order to provide desired heat dissipation capability [0015]. MPEP 2144.05 discloses In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the through-plane to in- plane thermal conductivity ratio of said graphite sheet material is lower than the through-plane to in-plane thermal conductivity ratio of said flexible graphite sheet based on the desired heat dissipation capability.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klug (US2002/0160197 A1) in view of Ko (US2008/0171194 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Klug doesn’t explicitly disclose graphite particular material is powder. However analogous art, Ko, discloses carbonaceous component is generally in the form of a powder [0013]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated powdered material since it is conventionally well known. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 6, Klug teaches wherein said exfoliated graphite material comprises exfoliated graphite flakes and blending said exfoliated graphite material comprises chopping up said exfoliated graphite material using an industrial blender (V-shaped blender is industrial) [0038].
Klug doesn’t explicitly disclose graphite particular material is powder. However analogous art, Ko, discloses carbonaceous component is generally in the form of a powder [0013]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated powdered material since it is conventionally well known. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Klug teaches wherein said exfoliated graphite material comprises exfoliated graphite flakes [0035, 0041], and blending said exfoliated graphite material comprises chopping up said exfoliated graphite material using an industrial blender (V-shaped blender is industrial) [0038].
Klug doesn’t explicitly disclose graphite particular material is powder. However analogous art, Ko, discloses carbonaceous component is generally in the form of a powder [0013]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated powdered material since it is conventionally well known. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klug (US2002/0160197 A1) in view of Kenna (US 2017/0006736 A1).
Regarding claims 18-20, Klug does not explicitly disclose wherein the through-plane thermal conductivity of said graphite sheet material exceeds 20 W/mK; wherein the through-plane thermal conductivity of said graphite sheet material is in the range of 20 W/mK to 30 W/mK; said graphite sheet material exceeds 40 W/mK. Analogous graphite sheet material art, Kenna, discloses with a through-plane conductivities of 20 W/mK to 30 W/mK and higher have been obtained by compressing exfoliated graphite and reducing the size of the graphite particles or flakes and/or by randomizing their orientation prior to compression [0074]. MPEP 2144.05 states overlapping range is a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a range of 20-30 W/mK and higher than 40 W/mK for the benefit of spreading heat laterally [0071].
Regarding claim 21, Klug does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of said graphite sheet material is in the range of 100-200 microns. Analogous graphite sheet material art, Kenna, discloses the thickness of said graphite sheet material is in the range of 100-200 microns [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the resulting flexible graphite material in 100-200 microns for the benefit of spreading heat laterally [0071].
Regarding claim 22, Klug does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of said graphite sheet material is in the range of 100-200 microns and wherein the through-plane thermal conductivity of said graphite sheet material exceeds 20 W/mK. Analogous graphite sheet material art, Kenna, discloses with a through-plane conductivities of 20 W/mK to 30 W/mK and higher have been obtained by compressing exfoliated graphite and reducing the size of the graphite particles or flakes and/or by randomizing their orientation prior to compression [0074]. Kenna further discloses the thickness of said graphite sheet material is in the range of 100-200 microns [0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a range higher than 20 W/mK and the resulting flexible graphite material in 100-200 microns for the benefit of spreading heat laterally [0071].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that it is not implicit for a blender to reduce the particle size of the exfoliated graphite material and that the term blending can have different meanings and further states the prior art, Klug, does not disclose blending in terms of reducing the particle size as mentioned in claim 3. Applicant then points to [0023-0026] to describe blending exfoliated graphite to form a powder and [0159] refers to a suitable quantity of blended graphite (in powder form after blending).
Examiner disagrees. 1.) In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., powder from) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
2.) Further Examiner has included a supporting evidence (under NPL) that discloses V-shaped blenders (Klug discloses the use of V-shaped blenders [0038]) to decrease the size of materials (under Benefits of V shaped blender). Also given the broad limitation, even a 0.01% reduction in size due to the V-shaped blender would read on the claim limitation. Therefore unless applicant specifically points out the process in which the graphite material is reduced in particle size or by how much the particle size is reduced, the current prior art reads on the claim language due to its broad language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754