DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 , 4-5, 8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Vieth (US2374513A). Regarding Claim 1 , Vieth discloses a battery cell 6 [ entire document; Figs. 1-4 ] comprising: a case accommodating an electrode assembly; a cap plate 5 covering the case; an electrode terminal disposed on the cap plate and electrically connected to the electrode assembly (shown as + and -) [Fig. 3] ; and a venting part (vent plug 1 ) including an active venting device ( e.g., device encompassed by and included within frame structure 2 , tubular sheath 23 , and cap 17 ) configure to be opened (i.e., valve 11 ) and capable of discharg ing gas from inside the case according to an electrical signal (i.e., via control switch 16 and coils 21,22 energized by battery) generated under a preset condition (e.g., upon tilting or returning to upright position ) . Regarding Claim 4 , Vieth discloses wherein the active venting device includes an actuator (control switch 16 , core 15 , plunger 12 ) configured to operate by receiving power from the electrode terminal [ entire document; Figs. 1-4 ] . Regarding Claim 5 , Vieth discloses wherein the active venting device includes an inlet (cavity 7 ) through which gas generated inside the case may be introduced, an outlet (vent openings 10 ) through which the gas introduced from the inlet is discharged, an actuator (switch 16 , core 15 , plunger 12 ) configured to operate to open the outlet, and a power supply unit (the battery itself) supplying power to the actuator, wherein the power supply unit is electrically connected to the electrode terminal (i.e., via coils 21,22 ) . Regarding Claim 8 , Vieth discloses wherein the active venting device further includes a first sensor (switch 16 ) configured to sense a voltage (i.e., potential) of the electrode terminal, and the actuator ( core 15 , plunger 12 ) is configured to operate when the voltage sensed by the first sensor is greater than a threshold value. Regarding Claim 17 , Vieth discloses wherein at least one of the cap plate and the case includes a venting hole ( thereaed filler opening 4 ) through which the gas inside the case is discharged externally, and the active venting device is installed to be exposed externally of the cap plate or the case through the venting hole. Regarding Claim 18 , Vieth discloses wherein the active venting device includes a casing ( frame structure 2 , tubular sheath 23 ) having an inlet (cavity 7 ) and an outlet, and an actuator ( core 15 , plunger 12 ) accommodated inside the casing and configured to operate to open the outlet, wherein the casing is installed in the venting hole. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 1- 5 , 8-12 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US20220069269A1) in view of Suzuki (US20110269000A1) . Regarding Claim s 1 - 3 , Ryu discloses a battery cell 200 ,800 [pars. 0046 -,0091-95 ; Figs. 3 -8C ] comprising: a case (enclosure/pouch 300 ) accommodating an electrode assembly (e.g., jellyroll structure) ; a cap plate (wall 410 ) covering the case; an electrode terminal electrically connected to the electrode assembly; and a venting part (gas release system 302 or pump 800 ) including an active venting device ( e.g., valve 502 including a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS)-based actuator or 808/810 including MEMS-based piezoelectric microvalve ) configure to be opened to discharge gas from inside the case according to an electrical signal generated under a preset condition [pars. 0009, 0048,0068-69; Fig. 5A -8C ] . Ryu fails to explicitly discloses wherein the electrode terminal disposed on the cap plate . However, providing at least one electrode terminal on the cap plate along with the venting part is a well-known configuration in the art for rectangular battery cells. For example, Suzuki, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a rectangular battery cell 10 comprising a case 13 accommodating an electrode assembly , a cap plate 12 covering the case , an electrode terminal 14,15 disposed on the cap plate and electrically connected to the electrode assembly; and a venting part 18 configure d to be opened to discharge gas from inside the case under a preset condition [Suzuki – pars. 0032-36; Fig. 1] . Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have modified the battery cell of Ryu to have included the electrode terminal disposed on the cap plate along with the venting part as a well-known configuration in the art. Regarding Claim 4 , Ryu teaches wherein the active venting device includes an actuator (not shown) c onfigured to operate by receiving power from the electrode terminal (i.e., Ryu teaches wherein the valve may be selectively actuated by a circuit substrate to be opened or closed , the circuit substrate connected to the battery terminals ) [par s . 0047, 0069 -72 ] . Regarding Claim 5 , Ryu discloses wherein the active venting device includes an inlet (e.g., hole 500 or 811 ) through which gas generated inside the case is introduced, an outlet (e.g., holes 506 or 812 ) through which the gas introduced from the inlet is discharged, an actuator 806 configured to operate to open the outlet, and a power supply unit (e.g., conductors – not shown) supplying power to the actuator, wherein the power supply unit is electrically connected to the electrode terminal (i.e., via circuit substrate) [par. 0069-73,0091-95] . Regarding Claim 8 , Ryu discloses wherein the active venting device further includes a first sensor (resistive sensor) configured to sense a voltage (i.e., resistance) of the electrode terminal, and the actuator is configured to operate when the voltage sensed by the first sensor is greater than a threshold value [par. 0051] . Regarding Claim 9 , Ryu discloses wherein the active venting device includes a second sensor (resistive sensor) configured to sense at least one of pressure (i.e., electrical values to pascal values) and temperature inside the case, and the actuator is configured to operate when the pressure or the temperature sensed by the second sensor is greater than a threshold value [par. 0051] . Regarding Claim 10 , Ryu discloses wherein at least one of the cap plate and the case includes a venting hole 671 through which the gas inside the case is discharged externally, and the active venting device is disposed in an internal space of the case [Fig. 6D] . Regarding Claim 11 , Ryu discloses wherein an outlet of the active venting device is disposed to face the venting hole [Fig. 6D] . Regarding Claim 12 , modified Ryu discloses wherein the electrode terminal includes an anode terminal connected to an anode foil of the electrode assembly and a cathode terminal connected to a cathode foil of the electrode assembly, the venting hole is disposed between the anode terminal and the cathode terminal, and the active venting device is disposed in a space between the anode foil and the cathode foil to face the venting hole [Ryu – Fig. 6D; Suzuki – Fig. 1] . Regarding Claim 16 , Ryu discloses wherein the active venting device includes an inlet (holes in 810 ) through which the gas generated inside the case is introduced, an outlet (hole 812 ) through which the gas introduced from the inlet is discharged, and an actuator 806 operating to open the outlet, wherein the gas generated inside the case is discharged externally through the venting hole by opening the outlet [pars. 0091-85; Fig. 8] . Regarding Claim 17 , Ryu discloses wherein at least one of the cap plate and the case includes a venting hole 500 through which the gas inside the case is discharged externally, and the active venting device is installed to be exposed externally of the cap plate or the case through the venting hole [Fig. 5] . Regarding Claim 18 , Ryu discloses wherein the active venting device includes a casing (frame member 512 and the valve 502 structure) having an inlet 500 and an outlet 506 , and an actuator (circuit substrate 510 partially extending within the valve) accommodated inside the casing and configured to operate to open the outlet, wherein the casing is installed in the venting hole [Fig. 5] . Regarding Claim 19 , Ryu discloses a battery device (electronic device 100,1100 ) [pars. 0029-30,0102 -110 ; Figs. 1,11]: a battery cell 200,800 ,1107 [pars. 0046-,0091-95; Figs. 3-8C] ; a housing 104 accommodating the battery cell; and a controller (processing units 1101 ) connected to the battery and controlling at least the battery cell [pars. 0102-110], wherein the battery cell includes a case (enclosure/pouch 300 ) accommodating an electrode assembly (e.g., jellyroll structure) , a cap plate (wall 410 ) covering the case , an electrode terminal electrically connected to the electrode assembly , and a venting part (gas release system 302 or pump 800 ) including an active venting device (e.g., valve 502 including a micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS)-based actuator or 808/810 including MEMS-based piezoelectric microvalve) configure to be opened to discharge gas from inside the case according to an electrical signal generated under a preset condition [pars. 0009,0048,0068-69; Fig. 5A-8C] , the controller controls an operation of at least one of the battery cells when the active venting device disposed in the battery cell operates (e.g., opening/closes the valve) [par. 0110]. Ryu fails to explicitly discloses wherein the electrode terminal disposed on the cap plate . However, providing at least one electrode terminal on the cap plate along with the venting part is a well-known configuration in the art for rectangular battery cells. For example, Suzuki, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a rectangular battery cell 10 comprising a case 13 accommodating an electrode assembly , a cap plate 12 covering the case , an electrode terminal 14,15 disposed on the cap plate and electrically connected to the electrode assembly; and a venting part 18 configure d to be opened to discharge gas from inside the case under a preset condition [Suzuki – pars. 0032-36; Fig. 1] . Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have modified the battery cell of Ryu to have included the electrode terminal disposed on the cap plate along with the venting part as a well-known configuration in the art. Ryu further fails to teach wherein the battery device comprises a plurality of battery cells. Ho wever, providing a plurality of battery cells in a battery device for a portable electronic device, such as a laptop computer, is well-known in the art and a mere duplication of parts. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skill in the art to have modified the battery device of Ryu to have included a plurality of battery cells for obtaining a higher capacity battery for portable electronics such as laptop computer. Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu and Suzuki , as applied to claim 5 above , and further in view of Schumm (US5449569A). Regarding Claim 6 , modified Ryu fails to teach wherein the active venting device further includes a first sensor configured to sense current flowing through the electrode terminal, and the actuator is configured to operate when the current sensed by the first sensor is greater than a threshold value. However, Schumm, from the same field of endeavor, teaches an active venting device (e.g., semiconductor microactuator as pressure relief valve) within a battery cell activated by an electrical signal [ Schumm – C5:L11- C6 :L 15 ; Figs. 1-3,6] . Schumm further teaches that the active venting device includes a first sensor (control mechanism 48 having current sensing characteristics) configured to sense current flow through the electrode terminal, and the actuator is configured to operate when the current sensed by the first sensor is greater than a threshold value [Schumm – C12:L1-23 ,C15:L61-68 ; Fig. 6]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have modified the active venting device of Ryu to have included a first sensor configured to sense current flowing through the electrode terminal, and the actuator is configured to operate when the current sensed by the first sensor is greater than a threshold value , the use of current sensor being a well-known variable in the art for determining pressure-relief conditions. Regarding Claim 7 , modified Ryu teaches wherein the electrode terminal includes an anode terminal and a cathode terminal (implicit) , and the first sensor is electrically connected to the anode terminal and the cathode terminal, respectively [Schumm – C15:L61-68; Fig. 6] . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 13 -15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT HAROON S SHEIKH whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0302 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9-6 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT JONATHAN LEONG can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-1292 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT HAROON S. SHEIKH Primary Examiner Art Unit 1751 /Haroon S. Sheikh/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751