DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation No claim limitations are interpreted under 112(f). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura (JP H05-64615, with reference to the full English translation added to the file herewith). Regarding claim 1 , Kimura (JP H05-64615) discloses: A beverage extraction apparatus (see Fig 1, ¶1) for extracting a beverage by discharging heated water toward a dripper (coffee basket 7, see Fig 1, ¶14) , the beverage extraction apparatus comprising: a water tank (4, see Fig 1) configured to store water; a heater (11, ¶14) configured to heat the water supplied from the water tank; and a water distribution module configured to discharge the heated water toward the dripper from a plurality of locations, wherein the water distribution module comprises: a pipe member (discharge pipe 15, ¶15) configured to provide at least one flow path for receiving the heated water and a water outlet member (basket lid and diffusion plate 16, ¶15) including a water outlet plate (body of 16/17, see figs 2, 3, and 8) and a plurality of water outlets (holes 18, ¶15) provided to pass through the water outlet plate, wherein the water distribution module is configured such that discharge times at which water begins to be discharged from the plurality of water outlets are different (Fig 2 shows different path length from the pipe to the various holes. Fig 3 show different heights of hole inlets. ¶15 describes different size holes: “increasing the size of the hole 18 from the starting point (discharge pipe 15 side) to the end point of the spiral-shaped water channel 17.” Each of these features meets the limitation individually and collectively) . Regarding claim 2 , Kimura discloses: in the water outlet member, at least one of lengths of water discharge through the plurality of water outlets, diameters of the plurality of water outlets (¶15) , lengths of paths along which water moves to the plurality of water outlets (spiral shape in Fig 2) , or protrusion heights (Fig 3) of the plurality of water outlets are different such that the discharge times for the plurality of water outlets is different. Regarding claim 5 , Kimura discloses: diameters of at least some of the plurality of water outlets are different from one another (¶11 “the diameter and shape of the holes in the diffusion plate are formed to be non-uniform”). Regarding claim 7 , Kimura discloses: the plurality of water outlets (18, see Fig 2) comprises a plurality of peripheral water outlets (all but one of the outlets 18 are spaced from the center) spaced apart from a center of the water outlet member, and the water outlet plate further comprises a guide wall (wall of “spiral-shaped water channel 17,” ¶15) configured to guide a flow path of water along a top surface of a central region (toward the center along the spiral) of the water outlet plate such that lengths of paths along which the water supplied from the pipe member moves toward the plurality of peripheral water outlets, respectively, are different (holes closer to the center require the water to travel a longer path around the spiral) . Regarding claim 11 , Kimura discloses: [all limitations of claim 1] , wherein the water distribution module is configured such that at least one of diameters (¶15 “The holes 18 are formed to have different diameters”) of the plurality of water outlets or lengths of paths along which water supplied from the pipe member moves until it is discharged through the plurality of water outlets is different (see Fig 2, holes closer to the center require the water to travel a longer path around the spiral) . Regarding claim 13 , Kimura discloses: in the water outlet member, lengths of water discharge through the plurality of water outlets, diameters of the plurality of water outlets (¶15) , lengths of paths along which water moves to the plurality of water outlets (spiral shape in Fig 2) , or protrusion heights (Fig 3) of the plurality of water outlets are different such that discharge times at which the water is discharged through the plurality of water outlets is different. Claims 1, 2, 5, 10-13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 101152836). 4343400 3408045 0 0 Regarding claim 1 , Kim discloses: A beverage extraction apparatus (see Fig 4) for extracting a beverage by discharging heated water toward a dripper (3, 4, in Fig 3) , the beverage extraction apparatus comprising: a water tank (21, see Fig 4) configured to store water; a heater (implied from “Water tank 21 In controls the hot water supply to the first feed pipe 8 and the second water supply pipe (7).”) configured to heat the water supplied from the water tank; and a water distribution module configured to discharge the heated water toward the dripper from a plurality of locations, wherein the water distribution module comprises: a pipe member (7, 8 in Figs 2 and 3) configured to provide at least one flow path for receiving the heated water and a water outlet member (10 in Fig 3, also shown in the lower portion of Fig 2) including a water outlet plate (bottom portion of 9 and 10) and a plurality of water outlets (11, 12 in the lower portion of Fig 2) provided to pass through the water outlet plate, wherein the water distribution module is configured such that discharge times at which water begins to be discharged from the plurality of water outlets are different (although the reference discloses that the outer ring of holes 12 is intended to spray simultaneously, it is evident that there would be some variation, noting the different path lengths from the pipes to the holes and/or different diameters between holes 11 and 12) . Regarding claim 2 , Kim discloses: in the water outlet member, at least one of lengths of water discharge through the plurality of water outlets, diameters of the plurality of water outlets (“The diameter of the second discharge hole (12), which is positioned above the part with less coffee, is formed to be smaller than the diameter of the first discharge hole (11), which is positioned above the part with more coffee”) , lengths of paths along which water moves to the plurality of water outlets (11 would be different from 12, and holes 12 are fed by two pipes 180° apart) , or protrusion heights of the plurality of water outlets are different such that the discharge times for the plurality of water outlets is different. Regarding claim 5 , Kim discloses: diameters of at least some of the plurality of water outlets are different from one another (“The diameter of the second discharge hole (12), which is positioned above the part with less coffee, is formed to be smaller than the diameter of the first discharge hole (11), which is positioned above the part with more coffee”) . Regarding claim 10 , Kim discloses: the pipe member comprises a first pipe (8, p.2 ¶2) configured to supply water to a central region (to holes 11) of the water outlet plate and a plurality of second pipes (7) configured to supply water to an outer region (to holes 12) of the water outlet plate, and the plurality of water outlets includes a plurality of drip water outlets (11) provided in the central region and a plurality of rinsing water outlets (12, p.2 ¶2 “spraying hot water onto the coffee in the circular rim”) provided in the outer region. Regarding claim 11 , Kim discloses: A beverage extraction apparatus (see Fig 4) for extracting a beverage by discharging heated water toward a dripper (3, 4, in Fig 3) , the beverage extraction apparatus comprising: a water tank (21, see Fig 4) configured to store water; a heater (implied from “Water tank 21 In controls the hot water supply to the first feed pipe 8 and the second water supply pipe (7).”) configured to heat the water supplied from the water tank; and a water distribution module configured to discharge the heated water toward the dripper from a plurality of locations, wherein the water distribution module comprises: a pipe member (7, 8 in Figs 2 and 3) configured to provide at least one flow path for receiving the heated water and a water outlet member (10 in Fig 3, also shown in the lower portion of Fig 2) including a water outlet plate (bottom portion of 9 and 10) and a plurality of water outlets (11, 12 in the lower portion of Fig 2) provided to pass through the water outlet plate, wherein the water distribution module is configured such that at least one of diameters of the plurality of water outlets (“The diameter of the second discharge hole (12), which is positioned above the part with less coffee, is formed to be smaller than the diameter of the first discharge hole (11), which is positioned above the part with more coffee”) , or lengths of paths along which water supplied from the pipe member moves until it is discharged through the plurality of water outlets (As shown in Fig 2, outer ring of holes 12 is fed by two pipes, 180° apart, thus some holes are closer to the pipe than others. ) is different. Regarding claim 12 , Kim discloses: the plurality of water outlets comprises a plurality of main water outlets (11) spaced apart along an imaginary straight line passing through a center of the water outlet member (see dashed line added to Fig 2 above) , and a plurality of auxiliary water outlets (12) that are equidistant radially from the center of the water outlet member, and a diameter of each of the plurality of main water outlets is greater than a diameter of each of the plurality of auxiliary water outlets. Regarding claim 13 , Kim discloses: in the water outlet member, lengths of water discharge through the plurality of water outlets, the diameters of the plurality of water outlets (“The diameter of the second discharge hole (12), which is positioned above the part with less coffee, is formed to be smaller than the diameter of the first discharge hole (11), which is positioned above the part with more coffee”) , the lengths of paths along which water moves to the plurality of water outlets (11 would be different from 12, and holes 12 are fed by two pipes 180° apart) , or protrusion heights of the plurality of water outlets are different such that discharge times at which the water is discharged through the plurality of water outlets are different. Regarding claim 15 , Kim discloses: the pipe member comprises a first pipe (8, p.2 ¶2) configured to supply water to a central region (to holes 11) of the water outlet plate and a plurality of second pipes (7) configured to supply water to an outer region (to holes 12) of the water outlet plate, and the plurality of water outlets includes a plurality of drip water outlets (11) provided in the central region and a plurality of rinsing water outlets (12, p.2 ¶2 “spraying hot water onto the coffee in the circular rim”) provided in the outer region. Regarding claim 20 , Kim discloses: the water outlet plate further includes a border wall between the central region and the outer region to separate the central region from the outer region (As is best understood from the description and Figs 2-3, holes 12 are formed in the bottom of a ring-shaped pipe that is completely separated from middle portion 9. The sides of the ring-shaped pipe form the claimed border wall.). Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pope (US 2006/0102012). Regarding claim 1 , Pope discloses: A beverage extraction apparatus (36, see Fig 2, ¶2) for extracting a beverage by discharging heated water toward a dripper (funnel 61, see Fig 4, ¶28) , the beverage extraction apparatus comprising: a water tank (¶28 “hot water reservoir”) configured to store water; a heater (implied by the “hot water reservoir” in ¶28) configured to heat the water supplied from the water tank; and a water distribution module (10a , see Figs 4-7) configured to discharge the heated water toward the dripper from a plurality of locations (interior holes 12a, perimeter holes 20a, dimple holes 27, ¶50) , wherein the water distribution module comprises: a pipe member (42a, ¶48-¶49) configured to provide at least one flow path for receiving the heated water and a water outlet member (see Figs 6-7) including a water outlet plate (10a in Figs 6-7) and a plurality of water outlets ( interior holes 12a, perimeter holes 20a, dimple holes 27, ¶50 ) provided to pass through the water outlet plate, wherein the water distribution module is configured such that discharge times at which water begins to be discharged from the plurality of water outlets are different (based on the various diameters, ¶50 and protrusion heights, see Fig 7) . Regarding claim 2 , Pope discloses: in the water outlet member (10a) , at least one of lengths of water discharge through the plurality of water outlets, diameters of the plurality of water outlets (¶50) , lengths of paths along which water moves to the plurality of water outlets (distance from center/42 is different) , or protrusion heights (see dimple holes 27) of the plurality of water outlets are different such that the discharge times for the plurality of water outlets is different. Regarding claim 6 , Pope discloses: protrusion heights of at least some of the plurality of water outlets from a reference surface (flat portion of 10a) in a direction opposite to a direction in which the water is discharged are different from one another (dimple holes 27 protrude more than perimeter holes 20a, which protrude more than interior holes 12a) . Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jouatel (WO 96/10355). Regarding claim 1 , Jouatel discloses: A beverage extraction apparatus (¶13, see Fig 1) for extracting a beverage by discharging heated water toward a dripper (20) , the beverage extraction apparatus comprising: a water tank (cold water reservoir 4, ¶13) configured to store water; a heater (water heater 6, ¶13) configured to heat the water supplied from the water tank; and a water distribution module configured to discharge the heated water toward the dripper from a plurality of locations, wherein the water distribution module comprises: a pipe member (tube 8, ¶19) configured to provide at least one flow path for receiving the heated water and a water outlet member (spray nozzle 10) including a water outlet plate (94, see Fig 5) and a plurality of water outlets (95, 96, 99, see Fig 5) provided to pass through the water outlet plate, wherein the water distribution module is configured such that discharge times at which water begins to be discharged from the plurality of water outlets are different (due to the different elevations of each outlet and the different lengths of each outlet) . Regarding claim 2 , Jouatel discloses: in the water outlet member (94) , at least one of lengths of water discharge through the plurality of water outlets (because 96 and 99 are thicker and built up relative to the plate, while 95 is not) , diameters of the plurality of water outlets, lengths of paths along which water moves to the plurality of water outlets (from nozzle 9) , or protrusion heights of the plurality of water outlets are different (due to the terraced shape of 94 in Fig 5) such that the discharge times for the plurality of water outlets is different. Regarding claim 3 , Jouatel discloses: thicknesses of the plurality of water outlets vary along a direction in which the water is discharged therefrom so that the lengths of water discharge vary (96 and 99 are thicker and built up relative to the plate, while 95 is not) . It is noted that Figs 2-4 may show the center hole at 14 also built up with respect to the thickness of the plate. However, Fig 5 is a different embodiment (see ¶24 and different reference numbers), and Fig 5 is enlarged and in sufficient detail to note that center hole 95 is not thicker than the plate. Regarding claim 4 , Jouatel discloses: thicknesses of at least some of the plurality of water outlets are greater than a thickness of the water outlet plate (96 and 99 are thicker and built up relative to the plate) . Claims 1-2 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko (JP 2007313004). Regarding claim 1 , Kaneko discloses: A beverage extraction apparatus (¶1) for extracting a beverage by discharging heated water toward a dripper (38, see Fig 1, ¶28) , the beverage extraction apparatus comprising: a water tank (30, ¶27) configured to store water; a heater (20, ¶27) configured to heat the water supplied from the water tank; and a water distribution module (scatter 40/240, see Fig 4A, ¶29) configured to discharge the heated water toward the dripper from a plurality of locations, wherein the water distribution module comprises: a pipe member (24, see Fig 4A, ¶21) configured to provide at least one flow path for receiving the heated water and a water outlet member (240) including a water outlet plate (244), and a plurality of water outlets (248) provided to pass through the water outlet plate, wherein the water distribution module is configured such that discharge times at which water begins to be discharged from the plurality of water outlets are different (this arises from the spiral terraced shape of 240/244 in Fig 4A, ¶39-¶40 ) . Regarding claim 2 , Kaneko discloses: in the water outlet member (200) , at least one of lengths of water discharge through the plurality of water outlets, diameters of the plurality of water outlets, lengths of paths along which water moves to the plurality of water outlets, or protrusion heights of the plurality of water outlets are different such that the discharge times for the plurality of water outlets is different. Regarding claim 16 , Kaneko discloses: the plurality of water outlets includes a central water outlet (at center of 240/244 in Fig 4B, on dashed axis) provided at a center of the water outlet plate and a plurality of peripheral water outlets (any ring of holes outboard of the center) provided around the central water outlet, wherein the discharge time at the central water outlet is earlier than the discharge times at the plurality of peripheral water outlets (the pipe is shown at the center, and ¶40 refers to the [water] level rising. See, for example, ¶34, which describes a related embodiment.) . Regarding claim 17 , Kaneko discloses: water is discharged from the plurality of peripheral water outlets sequentially in a clockwise or counter-clockwise direction (as the water level rises, the water will arrive at additional holes in a clockwise pattern) . Claims 1, 8-9, 11, 14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (KR 102156392). Regarding claim 1 , Kang discloses: A beverage extraction apparatus (¶1) for extracting a beverage by discharging heated water toward a dripper (200, see Fig 2, ¶16) , the beverage extraction apparatus comprising: a water tank (310, see Fig 1, ¶13) configured to store water; a heater (320, ¶17) configured to heat the water supplied from the water tank; and a water distribution module configured to discharge the heated water toward the dripper from a plurality of locations, wherein the water distribution module comprises: a pipe member (330 or water inlet part 130, which has a ring shape) configured to provide at least one flow path for receiving the heated water and a water outlet member including a water outlet plate (water flow plate 120, ¶32) and a plurality of water outlets (121-3, see Fig 6, ¶70-¶71) provided to pass through the water outlet plate, wherein the water distribution module is configured such that discharge times at which water begins to be discharged from the plurality of water outlets are different (¶71 “further away from the joint as they move in the circumferential direction.” ¶69) . Regarding claim 8 , Kang discloses: the water outlet member further comprises a blade (132, see Fig 5, ¶73) configured to rotate and provided in an upper portion of the water outlet plate, and the blade (132) comprises: a wing (132) configured to be rotated by the water supplied through the pipe member (¶73) , and a body portion (several other wings 132 together with hub 131 and outer ring) fixed to the wing to rotate together when the wing rotates and including a discharge opening (spaces between blades 132, hub 131, and outer ring) through which water is discharged toward some of the plurality of water outlets. Regarding claim 9 , Kang discloses: the water outlet plate includes a partition wall (upper protrusion 121-2, ¶69) provided to separate the plurality of water outlets from each other. Regarding claim 18 , Kang discloses: the water outlet plate includes a rotation-support shaft (122, ¶73) that supports the blade to be rotatable with respect to the water outlet plate. Regarding claim 19 , Kang discloses: the partition wall (121-2, see Fig 6, ¶69) is provided in plural (Fig 6 shows six protrusions 121-2) , two adjacent partition walls among the plurality of partition walls form a channel (218) that extends toward a center of the water outlet plate. Regarding claim 11 , Kang discloses: [all limitations of claim 1] wherein the water distribution module is configured such that at least one of diameters of the plurality of water outlets or lengths of paths along which water supplied from the pipe member moves until it is discharged through the plurality of water outlets is different (¶71, “further away from the joint as they move in the circumferential direction.”) . Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8 above. Pertinent Prior Art The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morimoto (JP 2002051913) discloses a water distribution plate that rotates due to the force of the water impacting blades 13. Lefevre (EP 0278197) discloses a wing 55 rotated by a jet of water to rotate a water distribution plate 34 with a single hole (35, see Fig 10). SEB (DE 202019101441) discloses a turbine driven (7) by the hot water, and above a funnel (10). The turbine is attached to a spout (14, 16) below the funnel, which is driven in rotation by the turbine. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TOPAZ L ELLIOTT whose telephone number is (571)270-5851. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ibrahime Abraham can be reached on (571) 270-5569. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761